X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Downtown Reviews

Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
5892 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Not to much to say! I love this hostel; I came here everytime....I love, good and complete breakfast, the beds are so clean, the people there is quiette so you can feel confortable

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for your review. It is great to hear you come back to The Flying Pig every time. We hope to see you soon again! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

60%

some people might consider a great location as it is on city center, but i though the street was just to busy and noisy even during late night and morning. The rooms are nice, but the hostel just seemed too crowded of people Recently emerging from adolescence which caused embarassing moments even in our room with people having "visitors" during night, so that has to be taken in consideration when choosing flying pig.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for leaving a review. We can learn a lot from it! We are sorry to hear that people in your room brought visitors. We have a very strict policy for letting people into the hostel, only people who stay at our hostel are allowed in. Unfortunately we are unable to check the rooms to see if everyone is in their assigned room. We are very sorry to hear not everyone behaved themselves. We will contact you to find out more about your stay. Cheers, The Flying Pig

94%

best hostel in amsterdam

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for the nice comment! It is great to hear you consider us as the best hostel in Amsterdam :D This makes us really proud! We hope to see you back some day! Cheers, The Flying Pig

94%

Absolutely loved this hostel! My whole room were solo travellers and we basically all hung out togeter for 3 days was great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for your review. It is so nice to read you made friends during your stay with us. Happy travels and we hope to see you back some day. Cheers, The Flying Piggies

60%

Staff are very friendly, but it's full of hippies and kind of insecure (Got a phone stolen while sleeping in my room). Not worth what I payed for, could have gone to a 1 * hotel for the same price. It does not have a party ambiance as I expected.

  • 22nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for leaving a review. We can learn a lot from it! We are sorry to hear about your phone :( We will contact you personally to find out more about it. Security is really important to us. There are lockers under each bed, there is a free safe at the reception, there are electronic lockers and the hostel is only accessible for guests who are staying with us. We are sorry this was not enough :( Thanks again for your time! Cheers, The Flying Pig

100%

Great atmosphere the staff really interacted well with the guests and were very helpful :)


97%

The Flying Pig Downtown was awesome as always! This is the best hostel in Amsterdam. The location couldn't be better, and it has a bar right by reception.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your nice words! We are very happy to read you had such a great time with us. We hope to see you soon again! Cheers, The Flying Pig

89%

Great hostel, in a perfect location...less than 5 minute walk from the train station, and in the centre of where you want to be! Bar and smoking room were chilled with a great atmosphere! breakfast was good. The staff are very helpful and friendly! We are a couple and stayed in a 16 bed dorm which was fine..not too much noise and two bathrooms within the room..the beds were super comfy! two lockers under the bottom bunk meant that belongings felt safe. I would definitely recommend this hostel.


100%

Wonderful place. Only stayed one night, in one of the double private en suites with my ladyfriend, which was very clean and well put together, all modern sinks and showers in the bathroom. Staff were ever so courteous and friendly and did everything they could to make our stay a memorable one. Would recommend without hesitation.

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Great place to sleep if you do any of it in Amsterdam!


91%

Great place to stay. I had only one problem, the shower in my room that was terrible. Besides that evertything was cool, they have good facilities to hang out and great staff. Very close to the Central Station as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We always try to learn from from them as much as possible. It is great to read you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning the shower. Our maintenance team will fix the shower straight away. Again thank you and we hope to see you back some day. Cheers, The Flying Piggies

97%

Place was incedibly well maintained and staff v friendly. Breakfast really good esp. muslei yogurt and fruit :) Thanks for finding my jumper, wish I had remembered my other things too!

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving us such a nice review. It is great to read you enjoyed our free breakfast and it is even better to read that the reception was able to reunite you with your jumper ;) We hope to see you back some day, happy travels! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

83%

Amazing location. Great kitchen. Good bar and common areas. Only issue was dorm wasn't clean and bathrooms smelt horrible all the time. Worth the location though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We always try to learn from our reviews as much as possible. We looked up your booking and room number and have our plumber looking into the bathroom straight away, thank you for mentioning this. Great to read you have enjoyed our renewed kitchen and the bar. Have a great trip and we hope to see you back some day. Cheers, The Flying Piggies

94%

The staff were incredibly friendly and allowed the Hostel to be more than just an over night stay, but an environment for fun, laughter and a place to chill.

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wauw! Thank you so much for this amazing review and taking the time to rate us on Hostelworld. It is always great to hear people enjoyed their time with us. We will make sure your message gets passed on to all our staff members and we definitely hope you will return to the pig one day. Happy travels! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

86%

friendly staff and nice location


94%

The staff here were excellent!! The location was very central, walking distance to majority the main sights. The wifi works throughout the accommodation and even in the street outside the hostel. Breakfast was nothing fancy, but was great not having to worry about going out in search of something. Definitely recommend this hostel!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your review! We hope to see you back one day. Safe travels, The Flying Pig

89%

Stayed only for a single night but overall great experience. Staff is friendly and helpful, rooms are cozy and clean and it is located just a few minutes from the central train station (and city centre). Great experience during my time at the Flying Pig!


91%

Really awesome place for young travelers!! Definitely laid back and we met some nice people! Location is the best part about this place.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Wow thank you so much for the nice words! It is always great to read people have enjoyed their stay with us. We will make sure your nice words are passed on to all our staff members. Have a great trip and hope to see you back some day! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

91%

Great hostel with great people. Shame about the rowdy Scottish people on one night. But other than that can't fault it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and telling us about your experience while staying with us. We will contact you personally to find out more about the rowdy group in your room. Hope to hear back from you soon. Cheers, The Flying Piggies

86%

The breakfast is great. The hostel sits on a noisy street so make sure you bring earplugs. The 16 person dorms are a little crowded (as expected). It is easy to meet people and the bar has decent prices. The kitchen is great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving us a nice review and telling us about your stay with us. We are always trying to learn from our reviews as much as possible. Indeed, the street can be a little bit noisy during the weekend with the windows open. We offer free earplugs at the reception for snoring roommates and other noises. Hopefully it wasn't too bad. Great to read you have enjoyed our breakfast and the renewed kitchen :D We hope to see you back some day! Safe travels!

(163 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback