NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Flying Pig Downtown Reviews

Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained


5692 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Highly recommend, was very satisfied with everything here.


Probably the best hostel to stay at in Amsterdam. It was the first hostel we have ever stayed in and it worked out just fine for us. Beds were comfortable and the people were friendly. Nice bar and smoke room in the lobby as well.


Couldn't be in a better location...close to centraal station and within walking distance from everything. Good security--needed cards to get into the building, and 24 hour reception was attentive to who was coming and going. Couldn't often get a drink at the bar, as we were ignored by the bartender, and the music in the bar was too loud to build any sort of atmosphere with others...you would need to be in the smoking room. All in all, great location, but we didn't love the "vibe" of the place.


Yeah I really enjoyed my time, the smoking room is the main attraction.


Mice in the rooms While I was there one person was stolen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for your feedback! We can learn a lot from it, so we really appreciate it you took the time to fill this out.. We are sorry to hear you discovered a mouse, we take this very serious! We called pest control straight away. We will contact you personally to find out more about your stay. Thanks again for letting us know! Cheers, The Flying Pig


Had a great time here! Really easy meeting people and finding things to do. Awesome location and everyone is here to have a good time.


Had an amazing stay here, everyone was really friendly, and the bar has a great atmosphere for meeting all sorts of different people. We stayed in a 32 person dorm for 4 nights and slept like babies the whole time! Would definitely recommend and return


that would be perfect if its free stair access to luggage storage room! Kitchen is always messy......though I always see your guys doing the cleansing jobs everywhere


Was ok,hard gettin to sleep,but close to everything

  • 14th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


Location is perfect, Average Clean and There is a Good Bar in the lobby.


Known as the best hostel in Amsterdam, the FP has a lot to offer. Security meaning that no one will get in unless youre staying there, a smoking room, pool table, and a decent kitchen. But, it's not perfect. The staff tried to deal with you as fast as possible (obviously because its a very busy hostel) and it can be very squishy moving from place to place. It's obvious they are just trying to fit in as many people as possible, which is fine, but don't expect to have your own space.


One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in!


We had a great time at the hostel. The set up makes it real easy to meet people and the bar was great every night. The showers were quite good as well. We were in the dorms which were quite loud, especially on the weekend nights, which would be really the only concern we had.


We were put in a basement room. It was a million degrees and the window didn't open, and it was extremely dirty in our room. When we got to our beds, someone had taken our locker and we were forced to keep all our belongings in lockers upstairs, which was very inconvenient. We left after one night of not sleeping...worst hostel I've ever stayed at.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay and you check-out early. All our rooms have windows that can be opened. We will have our maintenance team look into it straight away. Thank you for mentioning this. Again, we are so sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay. We will contact you personally to find out more about your stay. Safe travels, The Flying Pig staff


The staff are beyond excellent, the atmosphere is beyond excellent! This place is a little diamond and if you're considering a stay in Amsterdam then you should certainly consider staying here! The communal area downstairs takes the place from a great hostel to an incredible one! I travelled with 4 others and we all felt exactly the same about the place! Intently perfect!

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for your review! It is absolutely great to read you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us :D We will pass your message on to our staff members as well. Hope to see you back some day! Happy travels!


This hostel for teenage like enjoy the party because the around reception counter can drinking and have music on night time. The room have garbage from the teenage guest throw on the floor. Hostel should have notice to keep clean in the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving us a review. We always try to learn from all our travelers experiences. We try to keep the hostel cleaned as often as possible. Our cleaning team cleans all the rooms every morning and in the evening we have a extra person checking all the rooms. We are sorry the room was not cleaned again in the evening. We will talk to our staff and see what went wrong. We hope to see you back again and thanks again for the review. Happy travels


This place is so awesome. Plan a long stay in Amsterdam and STAY HERE. So social, perfect for meeting new people but also really clean and comfy for sleeping. Good amount of bathrooms and showers, HUGE kitchen and downstairs hangout area. Staff is helpful. If you don't stay here you will regret it. 10/10!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wauw! Thank you so much for leaving us such a great review! It makes us very happy to read you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. We will pass your message on to our staff members ;) Thanks again and we hope to see you and your friends back one day. Happy travels!


Great Hostel if you are on the "Amsterdam Mood", meaning partying, coffee shops, etc. Very close from Central Station, Dam Plaza and Red light District, it has it's own bar and smoking place. Wouldn't recommend it for people that is looking for a more quiet enviroment.


When I arrived at the hostel and entered the room I was assigned to, there was someone sprawled out on the bed that was assigned to me, and there were four people crushed into the bunk on top of mine, all of whom were drinking beer and wreaked of alcohol, sweat, and smoke. There were beer cans on the floor next to my bed, and the window opened right onto the patio where people were smoking. I ended up leaving and finding another place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for leaving us a review. We are very sorry to hear that you left the hostel early to find another place to stay. We will contact you personally to find out what happened and learn more about your experience. Hopefully you still enjoyed Amsterdam. Safe travels


Nice location, great if you're a partier. Double bed dorm was nice since we were a couple. Good facilities. They had all the things you would want in an Amsterdam hostel - games, food, smoking room, bar, DVDs, etc.

(157 results)

View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback