X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Downtown Reviews

Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
6851 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Very social atmosphere, great place for meeting new people to explore (or at least drink) with! Not the cleanest hostel in the world but not bad considering it is a 'party hostel'. Plenty happening around the reception area but up in the rooms you can't hear a thing! Great location with nice people. Would recommend

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there! Thank you so much for commenting about your stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our social atmosphere and were able to meet other travellers to hang with! Great that although reception and bar are always happening that you did not experience any noise discomfort in your room! Thanks again for recommending us! The Piggies :)

91%

Such a great place to hang out and meet other travelers. And the staff are amazing!! I will definitely stay there again next time I'm in Amsterdam.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you so much for taking the time to write such lovely comment about your stay with us! We are so pleased that you found our staff amazing and would definitely stay again! We cant wait to welcome you home ;) Take care and happy travelling! The piglets

94%

THE place to stay in Amsterdam if you're looking to chill and have a good time. Amazing hostel bar & chill out area - super easy to meet new people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you so much for saying that we are THE place to stay in Amsterdam! We love to hear this! Great that you found us an amazing hostel and were able to meet cool travellers in our common bar and smoking areas :) We very much hope that you will visit us again soon! Take care and happy travels! The Piglet team ;)

83%

Fun place to stay! Really awesome staff! If you are looking for a quiet place I would not recommend this place it is more of an upbeat fun place to be! The breakfast is simple but good! Also if you are just looking for a chill night you can head downstairs and Watch Netflix or play video games! I would really recommend it and I thought the beds were very comfy! If you like shopping it is right outside your door and very close to central station.

  • 26th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there ! :) Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay! We are very pleased you found us fun and upbeat! Great that you were able to enjoy our chill out area downstairs when you didnt want to party ;) We hope to see you again some day :) Thanks once again and safe travelling! The Piglets

100%

Excellent location and one of the best hostels i stayed at.

  • 26th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there :) Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our central location and found us one of the best hostels you have stayed at :) We hope that we can welcome you back someday soon! Thanks again and happy travelling! The Piggies

89%

The flying pig! Feels like something other than a hostel. Like a coffee shop in the day and a club in the night! Don't come here if you don't like socialising because it's a very social hostel! Loved it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Thank you so much for your kind words! Great that you loved it here! We hope to see you again some day! Cheers, The Piggies

91%

Cool staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you so much for leaving a comment about your stay :) We are pleased you found our staff cool! They love their jobs so will be very pleased to hear this! We hope to see you again some day! Thanks again and safe travels. The Piglet family

77%

Claustrophobic room

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a comment about your experience with us, this can help us learn about how to improve for the future. We are sorry to hear that you found the room you stayed in a little claustrophobic. The 32 bed dorm is the largest dorm we have, we will be sure to look into the lighting and spacing in that room and see how we can improve ourselves. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention Safe travels, the piggies

74%

If you like the smell of pot you'll love this place. Beds are small and the mattress isn't a mattress...it's a gym mat with a sheet. Not enough toilets. Way too hot in the room. Bar staff are great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you so much for taking the time to comment about your stay. Your experiences mean a lot to us as we can learn how to improve ourselves. Thank you for mentioning our great bar staff! We hope this means you had fun here. We are sorry you found your mattress thin, we will be sure to take a look at the mattresses in the room you stayed in as soon as possible, thank you for bringing this to our attention, we will action this right away! Take care and safe travels The Piggies

100%

Best hostel in Amsterdam! Really awesome atmosphere and the staff make it a wonderful environment! Thank you for the best 4 nights Flying Pig!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there :) WOW thank you so much for such wonderful comments about your stay with us! We are so pleased to hear that you found the atmosphere awesome and that you had the best 4 nights here :) Thank you for the title of best hostel in Amsterdam! We love this ;) We hope you will visit us again some day soon! Take care and happy travels! The Piggies

100%

This is one of the best hostels in Amsterdam. Great location, amazing atmosphere, and enchanting staff combine to create a truly unique experience. Sophie, Dame, Lelde, Courtney, and all of the crew at the flying pig downtown are absolutely wonderful!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there Woweeee! Thank you so much for such an awesome review! Thank you for saying that we are one of the best hostels in Amsterdam! We LOVE this title ;) Great that you found our staff enchanting and you had a unique experience. We will be sure to pass your kind words on to our staff members, they will love to hear this! Thank you so much and we hope to welcome you home soon! The Piggies

100%

Fun place, good looking girls, weird guys, nice staff, cool housekeeping, lazy smokers in the smoking room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review! We are happy to hear that you found us a fun place with good looking girls ;) We hope that you will visit us again some day! Happy travels! The Piggies

100%

Such a lovely place with wholehearted staff working there. Would go back to Amsterdam just to stay there again.

  • 17th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there :) Wow thank you so much for such an awesome review! Great to hear that you would come back to the Dam just to stay with us!!! Please do ;) We hope to welcome you back soon :) Take care and happy travels! The Piggies

80%

I liked this hostel for the location. Its got a smoking room where everyone is basically getting stoned or are already stoned :p This is Amsterdam so what do u expect. Its a 10 min walk from the Centraal Station. The rooms could be a lot better but the beds were comfy so I would stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to feedback about your experience with us. Great that you enjoyed our central location! Indeed we do have a smoking room, but also a pool table, chill out area and bar with bands and DJs....if smoking isnt your thing ;) Thank you and happy travels! The Piggies

89%

Love staying here, great hostel!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thank you so much for the lovely review and comments about your stay :) We are pleased to read that you loved staying here and found us a great hostel! We hope to welcome you back one day! Take care and happy travels The Piglets

89%

Lovely hostel and great staff at the front. Mix up with the room was quickly fixed. Facilities great - pool table, bar, smoking room and lockers. Room was clean, bathroom was fine. My only suggestion is to find a better process for check-in / check out as it can take quite a while when everyone is leaving at the same time!

  • 15th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us some comments about your stay! We can learn a lot from your experiences with us in order to improve for the future. Great that you utilised all of our facilities and clean rooms. We have a speedy check out by which you can drop your card in the box and you are already checked out :) Thank you for mentioning this, we will be sure to remind our staff to make this clear ;) Thanks again and we wish you safe travels The Piggies

100%

Nothing to complain about at all!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) WOWEE! Thank you so much for the awesome review! We are happy to read that you had nothing to complain about :) We hope to welcome you back some day! Happy onward travels, the piggies

94%

Myself and my 4 friends stayed here for two nights. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Excellent location, excellent staff and a fab atmospher. My only complaint was after we checked in and went up to our room it had yet to be cleaned, beer cans everywhere and a really horrible stench. We dropped off our bags and went exploring for a few hours and arrived back to a lovely clean room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know a bit more about your stay. Great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time here and found our staff excellent! Indeed we let our new guests go to the rooms at 11am to drop their bags for the day when the rooms are not fully cleaned yet if they would like to. We apologise that your room was in a less than ideal state when you arrived, but good to hear our cleaning team rectified this promptly. Thanks and safe travels! The Piggies

100%

Bes time ever!

  • 15th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there :) WOW! :D Thank you so much for the wonderful review :) We are pleased that you had the best time ever here! Please visit us again soon! ;) Take care, happy travels! The Piggies

86%

Great location and comfy beds. The smell of the smoking area just outside of our room wasn't welcome first thing in the morning and it was a bit of a trek to the toilets but they were clean and tidy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello ! Thank you so much for feeding back about your experience with us. Great that you found our beds comfy! You will be happy to hear that our new toilet block on the floor you stayed on has just been finished and so the toilets are now much more convenient :) Thanks again and happy travels! The Piggies

(200 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback