X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Downtown Reviews

Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
6374 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Great hostel for meeting people especially at the bar and smoking area. Very clean and well kept rooms and common areas and the free breakfast is a bonus! Staff are few and far in between especially at the front counter, there is only one person ever working there so waiting in line for a while is quite common.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for your review and letting us know about your stay! It is so nice to read that you loved our bar and smoking area. We are sorry to read that you had to wait in line at our front desk. We have 2 receptionists all day so we will look in to this matter straight away. Thank you for mentioning this. Happy travels! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

91%

I really loved this place, The staff was really nice and really seemed to love working there. Breakfast was good, differentk bread for toast (and available all day) and this was the first hostel I have ever seen with soy milk!!! The smoking room is really laid back with tons of pillows, great for smoking or just chilling with your laptop. Theres a tour everyday which i found out on my last day that comes to get you at the hostel. Pool Table, foosball, great TV and huge kitchen, clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for your review and for the amazing nice words! It is so nice to read that you loved our extended breakfast. We started our own travel agency within the hostel recently so we hope to see you back some day so we can take you on a tour ;) Happy travels! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

100%

Great location! The bar downstairs is always fun!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review and for the amazing nice words! We hope to see you back some day! Happy travels! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

66%

Loud, busy, not particularly clean. Great location especially if you are looking to party and be in the centre of downtown! The included breakfast is excellent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for your review and letting us know about your stay! It is so nice to read that you our breakfast. We are sorry to read that the room was not really clean. We will contact you personally to find out more about your stay. We hope to hear back from you. Happy travels! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

89%

Amazing atmosphere great staff so helpful and friendly, perfect location ! Me and my friend shared double bed which we loved ! Unfortunately the people Above us (guys) didn't like this and one decided to sleep on the floor facing me ! Would stare all night and wake up super early at 8:00am and watch me sleep which I found so uncomfortable. Obviously not the fault of the hostel. Breakfast room is small so couldn't sit down as no seats, breakfast is ok. Overall still an amazing place!!

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay! We are happy to hear that you found our staff helpful and friendly and enjoyed our central location :) We are sorry to hear about your room mates. We really hope that you mentioned this to our receptionists so that they were able to help you out. We hope to see you again! Happy Travels. The Piggies

91%

The Flying Pig staff and location are amazing. They're also sticklers for security, which is always nice. The rooms were kind of dark and the under bed cages were very squeaky, but the bar is a nice place to sit and hang out. There's also a lounge, but it doubles as a smoke room, so beware of that if you have any troubles with smoke.


97%

I love this hostel, I've stayed before and I'll never stay anywhere else in Amsterdam, it's a great place for literally any type of traveller.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for the amazing review and letting us know about your stay! It is so nice to read that you like our very central location. We hope to see you back some day! Happy travels! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

89%

Great location, staff, showers and bar. The smoking room is good, but lots of the people just chill in there all day. If you want to smoke weed then it's perfect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thank you so much for your great review! We love to read that you enjoyed our location, staff, showers and bar :) We hope that we can welcome you back some time in the future! Happy Travels. The Piggies

91%

Good place. Only issue is light shining into room from outside all night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you so much for the amazing review and letting us know about your stay! We checked your booking and the room you stayed in. Thank you for mentioning this. We will have our maintenance team looking into this. We hope to see you back some day! Happy travels! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

66%

Overall an okay hostel but could do a lot better. Atmosphere and cleanliness was good but unfortunately facilities were quite poor. Due to no air conditioning, the room windows were kept open but smoke from the bar got into the room and it smelled my entire stay. Also there was no warm water to shower and I didn't shower for three days. Otherwide the bed was comfy, location great, and staff pretty good, but overpriced considering the facilities condition.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are very sorry about the hot water. Did you mention this to our reception? We indeed had a maintenance issue during your stay. During those days we didn't have hot water downstairs but it was working upstairs. We hope that you mentioned this to the reception. We will contact you personally to find out more. We hope to hear back from you. Cheers, The Flying Piggies

83%

Hilarious spot - mets loads of cool people and amazing location in the centre of everything. Everyone was super friendly and we had a blast. If you're looking for a chill place to meet people and smoke, this is it! Next time I'd maybe book a smaller room as the 14 person dorm was understandably loud with lots of people coming and going all hours of the day and night. Showers were absolutely freezing downstairs - but apparently upstairs bathroom gets all the hot water, so keep that in mind.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for the nice review. Hilarious spot, we can agree with that ;) We are sorry to hear that the showers were cold during your stay. We had a issue with our water at that time, but we can happily say that everything is fixed again. We do hope to see you back some day. Cheers, The Flying Piggies

89%

Great hostel, awesome atmosphere around the bar. Big lockers with tons of room for stuff. The only thing I would change is how loud the door was in my group room, it squeaked so loud and slammed every time someone went in or out which woke everyone up.

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for the nice review. It is great to hear you liked the atmosphere and our bar. We looked into your booking and your room door. We passed on your message to our maintenance. Thank you for mentioning this. We do hope to see you back some day. Cheers, The Flying Piggies

74%

Location was good- within walking distance to the Red Light District and other places. We had a double bunk bed which was fine for us as a couple but I expect that could get a little awkward. The downstairs bar did get quite lively and packed with people partying. There was a smoking room (when in Amsterdam;)) The rooms were a little dated and the showers were very cold. Overall not bad.


83%

The music was very loud when I arrived in the hostel, I couldn't even understand the instructions at the reception. The breakfast was a little poor of options. The bedrooms was small. Beside of that, has a nice place to share (eat and drink) and a perfect location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to fill in a review, we can learn a lot from your experience with us. We are really sorry to hear that the breakfast was not what you expected. We would love to hear more about your stay so will contact you personally so that we can improve. Cheers, The Piggies.

86%

The shower was the only negative; bad water pressure and it was very cold.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are very sorry about the water. We indeed had a maintenance issue during your stay. During those days we didn't have hot water downstairs but it was working upstairs. We hope that you mentioned this to the reception. We will contact you personally to find out more. We hope to hear back from you. Cheers, The Flying Piggies

86%

I only stayed for one night, so I didn't get to experience all this hostel had to offer. The location was EXCELLENT, close to Centraal Station and Dam Square. The bed of comfy and the wifi signal was great. I didn't go into the smoking room, but I liked that the option was there. My only complaint was no other toilets on the floor except for the one in the room. That's a minor issue though. I would totally stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you so much for the great review. We hope to see you back at the pig some day! Happy travels! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

100%

Didnt spend much time in the hostel as I was visiting friends, however for the times I was there it was spot on. Literaly everything you want from a hostel is here and done right. Location is especially good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you so much for this amazing review. We are so happy to hear you loved your stay. Again thank you and we hope to see you back some day. Cheers, The Flying Piggies

100%

Favorite hostel in Europe thus far! The atmosphere is awesome and the staff and all the people staying here are simply awesome. If you dislike getting little sleep and people being awake at all hours then this might not be the place for you but I loved the relaxed and chill atmosphere. Bathrooms and showers are clean, breakfast is good and wifi works all over the hostel. Smoke room is awesome! Tons of pillows and books. Location is also awesome, close to everything.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you so much for this amazing review. You are making us blush! Best hostel in Europe! Wauw. Again thank you and we hope to see you back some day. Cheers, The Flying Piggies

100%

Great stay, very happy all round

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for taking the time to fill out a review. We love to hear that you had a great stay with us :) We hope we can welcome you back in the future :) Happy Travelling! The Piggies

100%

I had an excellent stay at the flying pig. I was only in Amsterdam for one night and the flying pig met all my needs. Great atmosphere makes finding new friends easy, great location is only a few minutes from tons of sights and the red light district. There's a smoking room downstairs where you can smoke and make additional new friends. All in all a great stay! 10/10

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for this amazing review. We are so happy to hear you loved your stay. Again thank you and we hope to see you back some day. Cheers, The Flying Piggies

(163 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback