X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Downtown Reviews

Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
6433 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

I didnt like the location at all. Had a friend in flying pig uptown and ended up hanging out there. Stay at uptown if u can

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. Indeed we have 2 locations, one is The Downtown which is located right by the Central Station and the other is The Uptown which is located next to the Vondelpark. This way we try to offer something for everyone :) Thanks and safe travels, The Piggies

89%

By far one of the best hostels i have ever stayed in. Awesome vibes, the staff members are really cool and super helpful. Rooms were big and clean. Nice place to come back to after a long day of traveling/ sightseeing/ getting stoned.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Wow, thanks so much for leaving such an amazing review about your stay with us! We are thrilled that you said we are by far one of the best hostels you have ever stayed in! This makes us very happy :) I will be sure to tell the staff members that you thought they were cool, they willlove to hear this ;) We hope that you will come back and stay with us soon! Happy Travelling! The Piggies

97%

This was my fourth time in the Flying pig hostel and it will not be the last. Again everything went smoothly with the booking, staff were 100%, the atmosphere perfect and above all location couldn't be better. I would live here if I could ;) Thanks again for making our stay perfect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for staying with us again. It is so great to read you love your stay with us over and over again. We hope to keep seeing you back soon again! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

83%

A great stay! Good location, yummy breakfast and excellent services as they even provides free ear plugs!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for the nice review and for letting us know you loved our extended breakfast and the free earplugs. That is great to read! We hope to see you back some day! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

80%

The location is great. I enjoyed staying in the smoking room where you can meet many people. The thing that I didn't like the safe boxes under the beds where they are not safe and mine wasn't easy to pull out. Also the hostel is overpriced during the weekend. when I checked out the staff asked me if I can donate the deposite of the key to charity or I will want it back which I didn't like how it sounded. they could easily put a charity box next to the counter. Everything else was good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thanks so much for taking time to fill out a review about your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you liked our central location and met some new friends. We have lockers under every bed as well as a free safe at the reception desk for your valuables. We have found out which bed you stayed in and will make sure maintenance check the locker straight away. We support Team Margot which is a charity for stem cell research, please feel free to have a look on their website. Cheers!

74%

The breakfast and the showers were very good, and excellent location! There were no bathrooms close to the room, slightly inconvenient for middle of the night. The lockers under the bed could be fixed or replaced - the wires were poking out and they did not roll well. Overall would recommend during the week though I think the prices jump quite a bit the weekends...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it that you took the time to let us know about your stay. We are happy to read you loved our very central location. We will make sure our maintenance team will fix the locker straight away. Thank you for letting us know. Happy travels! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

91%

Great place! Everyone was so friendly (staff and guests alike) and it was a great atmosphere. It was always fun hanging out by the bar and talking to other guests. Rooms were clean and had locker storage under the bed, which was perfect. Great location and knowledgeable staff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your review and for the amazing nice words! It is nice to read you loved our location and the staff. We will definitely make sure the staff will read your message as well. We hope to see you back some day! Happy travels! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

100%

It was a great! The Flying Pig is the best hostel in Amsterdam!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your review and for the amazing nice words! We hope to see you back some day! Happy travels! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

89%

Great hostel for meeting people especially at the bar and smoking area. Very clean and well kept rooms and common areas and the free breakfast is a bonus! Staff are few and far in between especially at the front counter, there is only one person ever working there so waiting in line for a while is quite common.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for your review and letting us know about your stay! It is so nice to read that you loved our bar and smoking area. We are sorry to read that you had to wait in line at our front desk. We have 2 receptionists all day so we will look in to this matter straight away. Thank you for mentioning this. Happy travels! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

91%

I really loved this place, The staff was really nice and really seemed to love working there. Breakfast was good, differentk bread for toast (and available all day) and this was the first hostel I have ever seen with soy milk!!! The smoking room is really laid back with tons of pillows, great for smoking or just chilling with your laptop. Theres a tour everyday which i found out on my last day that comes to get you at the hostel. Pool Table, foosball, great TV and huge kitchen, clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for your review and for the amazing nice words! It is so nice to read that you loved our extended breakfast. We started our own travel agency within the hostel recently so we hope to see you back some day so we can take you on a tour ;) Happy travels! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

100%

Great location! The bar downstairs is always fun!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review and for the amazing nice words! We hope to see you back some day! Happy travels! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

66%

Loud, busy, not particularly clean. Great location especially if you are looking to party and be in the centre of downtown! The included breakfast is excellent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for your review and letting us know about your stay! It is so nice to read that you our breakfast. We are sorry to read that the room was not really clean. We will contact you personally to find out more about your stay. We hope to hear back from you. Happy travels! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

89%

Amazing atmosphere great staff so helpful and friendly, perfect location ! Me and my friend shared double bed which we loved ! Unfortunately the people Above us (guys) didn't like this and one decided to sleep on the floor facing me ! Would stare all night and wake up super early at 8:00am and watch me sleep which I found so uncomfortable. Obviously not the fault of the hostel. Breakfast room is small so couldn't sit down as no seats, breakfast is ok. Overall still an amazing place!!

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay! We are happy to hear that you found our staff helpful and friendly and enjoyed our central location :) We are sorry to hear about your room mates. We really hope that you mentioned this to our receptionists so that they were able to help you out. We hope to see you again! Happy Travels. The Piggies

91%

The Flying Pig staff and location are amazing. They're also sticklers for security, which is always nice. The rooms were kind of dark and the under bed cages were very squeaky, but the bar is a nice place to sit and hang out. There's also a lounge, but it doubles as a smoke room, so beware of that if you have any troubles with smoke.


97%

I love this hostel, I've stayed before and I'll never stay anywhere else in Amsterdam, it's a great place for literally any type of traveller.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for the amazing review and letting us know about your stay! It is so nice to read that you like our very central location. We hope to see you back some day! Happy travels! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

89%

Great location, staff, showers and bar. The smoking room is good, but lots of the people just chill in there all day. If you want to smoke weed then it's perfect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thank you so much for your great review! We love to read that you enjoyed our location, staff, showers and bar :) We hope that we can welcome you back some time in the future! Happy Travels. The Piggies

91%

Good place. Only issue is light shining into room from outside all night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you so much for the amazing review and letting us know about your stay! We checked your booking and the room you stayed in. Thank you for mentioning this. We will have our maintenance team looking into this. We hope to see you back some day! Happy travels! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

66%

Overall an okay hostel but could do a lot better. Atmosphere and cleanliness was good but unfortunately facilities were quite poor. Due to no air conditioning, the room windows were kept open but smoke from the bar got into the room and it smelled my entire stay. Also there was no warm water to shower and I didn't shower for three days. Otherwide the bed was comfy, location great, and staff pretty good, but overpriced considering the facilities condition.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are very sorry about the hot water. Did you mention this to our reception? We indeed had a maintenance issue during your stay. During those days we didn't have hot water downstairs but it was working upstairs. We hope that you mentioned this to the reception. We will contact you personally to find out more. We hope to hear back from you. Cheers, The Flying Piggies

83%

Hilarious spot - mets loads of cool people and amazing location in the centre of everything. Everyone was super friendly and we had a blast. If you're looking for a chill place to meet people and smoke, this is it! Next time I'd maybe book a smaller room as the 14 person dorm was understandably loud with lots of people coming and going all hours of the day and night. Showers were absolutely freezing downstairs - but apparently upstairs bathroom gets all the hot water, so keep that in mind.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for the nice review. Hilarious spot, we can agree with that ;) We are sorry to hear that the showers were cold during your stay. We had a issue with our water at that time, but we can happily say that everything is fixed again. We do hope to see you back some day. Cheers, The Flying Piggies

89%

Great hostel, awesome atmosphere around the bar. Big lockers with tons of room for stuff. The only thing I would change is how loud the door was in my group room, it squeaked so loud and slammed every time someone went in or out which woke everyone up.

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for the nice review. It is great to hear you liked the atmosphere and our bar. We looked into your booking and your room door. We passed on your message to our maintenance. Thank you for mentioning this. We do hope to see you back some day. Cheers, The Flying Piggies

(175 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback