X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Downtown Reviews

Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
6869 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Love staying here, great hostel!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thank you so much for the lovely review and comments about your stay :) We are pleased to read that you loved staying here and found us a great hostel! We hope to welcome you back one day! Take care and happy travels The Piglets

89%

Lovely hostel and great staff at the front. Mix up with the room was quickly fixed. Facilities great - pool table, bar, smoking room and lockers. Room was clean, bathroom was fine. My only suggestion is to find a better process for check-in / check out as it can take quite a while when everyone is leaving at the same time!

  • 15th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us some comments about your stay! We can learn a lot from your experiences with us in order to improve for the future. Great that you utilised all of our facilities and clean rooms. We have a speedy check out by which you can drop your card in the box and you are already checked out :) Thank you for mentioning this, we will be sure to remind our staff to make this clear ;) Thanks again and we wish you safe travels The Piggies

100%

Nothing to complain about at all!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) WOWEE! Thank you so much for the awesome review! We are happy to read that you had nothing to complain about :) We hope to welcome you back some day! Happy onward travels, the piggies

94%

Myself and my 4 friends stayed here for two nights. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Excellent location, excellent staff and a fab atmospher. My only complaint was after we checked in and went up to our room it had yet to be cleaned, beer cans everywhere and a really horrible stench. We dropped off our bags and went exploring for a few hours and arrived back to a lovely clean room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know a bit more about your stay. Great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time here and found our staff excellent! Indeed we let our new guests go to the rooms at 11am to drop their bags for the day when the rooms are not fully cleaned yet if they would like to. We apologise that your room was in a less than ideal state when you arrived, but good to hear our cleaning team rectified this promptly. Thanks and safe travels! The Piggies

100%

Bes time ever!

  • 15th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there :) WOW! :D Thank you so much for the wonderful review :) We are pleased that you had the best time ever here! Please visit us again soon! ;) Take care, happy travels! The Piggies

86%

Great location and comfy beds. The smell of the smoking area just outside of our room wasn't welcome first thing in the morning and it was a bit of a trek to the toilets but they were clean and tidy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello ! Thank you so much for feeding back about your experience with us. Great that you found our beds comfy! You will be happy to hear that our new toilet block on the floor you stayed on has just been finished and so the toilets are now much more convenient :) Thanks again and happy travels! The Piggies

74%

The elevateur in The FlyingPig hostel has an issue. I used the elevateur multiply times and when pushing a button it responds a little slow. A few times I had to push a button at least twice before the doors would close. Also, the hostel doesn't carry ice in the community refrigerateur for the guests. I had to go upstairs to the bar each time I needed ice and request for a glass of ice to take downstairs. Some simple ice cube containers would be convient for the refrigerateur.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay, we can learn a lot from your experience to help us improve. We are sorry to hear about the elevator, the 'close door' button needs replacing, this is on order and will be replaced soon! We hope that this did not inconvenience you too much. We do not have any freezers in our communal kitchen to freeze the water into ice, but the bartenders do not mind providing you some! Thanks and happy travels The Piggies

71%

Shower didn't work in our private room, and while the issue was eventually resolved, they were kind of mean about it and acted like it was our fault for not reporting it earlier; Cheap policy of holding a deposit for the room keys, then acting all outraged that we didn't want to wait in a huge line in the morning just to return the keys

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you for taking the time to feedback about your stay, your comments mean a lot to us as we can learn how to improve ourselves. We always want our guests to have the best possible time here so were sorry to hear about the shower in your room, but were pleased to hear that you got compensation for your stay and that it was resolved. It was completely not our intention to make you feel in any way like anything was your fault. Our sincere apologies again, take care, The Piggies

100%

I stayed in a few hostel in Amsterdam (Bulldog, Winston...) and flying pig is probably the best. Very close from train station but also from the pedestrian street and the center. Rooms are clean and they provide breakfast. They have a very cosy smoking room and a nice bar. Staff is really nice, from the bar to the reception. Good atmosphere and easy to talk with other guests, which is rare for a hostel of this size in the center of amsterdam. See you soon!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello :) Aw thank you so much for such a lovely review! We are very happy and proud to hear that you found us the best hostel in Amsterdam :) Great that you found our rooms clean and enjoyed our bar and smoking areas. It is good to hear that you enjoyedour atmosphere and were able to meet other guests easily. We hope to welcome you home soon ;) Take care and happy travels! the Piggies

94%

Really cool people gravitate to this hostel. A lot of fun if youre looking to live it up a little in Amsterdam. Its not a quiet little hostel to rest in, it ends up being a great way to start out and end any night, which if thats what youre looking for, is perfect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for leaving us some comments about your stay, we can learn from your experiences with us. Thank you for saying that you had a lot of fun here! Great that you were able to end your nights hanging out in our bar and smoking room areas. We hope you will visit us again someday! Thanks again and happy travels The piggies

69%

Average hostel in Amsterdam. It's all right. Mattresses not very comfy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you for taking the time to let us know a bit about your stay. Your comments mean a lot to us as can help us learn how to improve ourselves for the future. We are happy that you found us alright, but keen to find out how we could be better. We will email you personally to find out more. Thanks again! Safe Travels The Piggies

100%

Amazing hostel! Really close to the central station and staff was always kind and helpful. The breakfast was a big surprise for me. Was expecting just toast and coffee but there was so much more - juice, eggs, fruits, cereal and even soy milk! Would just change the kind of storage. The cage one can be a bit noisy - especially if you need to get your stuff really early in the morning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thank you very much for your positive and constructive feedback! It's great to see that you liked our staff. They love their jobs, and it will be good for them to know that what they're doing is the right thing! We appreciate your feedback about the storage under the beds, and will assess them, and the ones in your room in particular, to see what we can change in order to improve this. Thanks again! The Piggies

97%

Stayed here for 5 nights. Great staff & social/smoking room/bar area. good tunes in the evening. The shower in room 207 (6 bed mixed dorm) was rubbish. Use the communal shower instead!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there ! Thank you for taking the time to feedback about your stay with us. Great that you had a great time here! Sorry for the shower pressure in your room, we will get our maintenance team to take a look at this right away, thank you for bringing this to our attention! Thanks again and happy travels The Piggies

100%

Location is good. Staffs here are really nice!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi :) Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such lovely comments about your experience :) We are pleased that you enjoyed our central location and nice staff! We hope to see you again some day! Happy Travelling! The Piggies

100%

Great hostel! It was my first time travelling alone and I could have not picked a better hostel. Made so many acquaintances and never felt bored.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely comment about your stay! We are so pleased that you found comfort here whilst travelling alone, great that you were able to meet lots of people in our common bar and smoking area :) We hope you will visit us again some day! Happy Travels The Piggies

89%

This was a solid hostel. The location was great, the staff were great, and it was an all together cool atmosphere. I booked this hostel because it had such good reviews, and it did not disappoint. If you like to party and have fun, this is the place for you.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such lovely comments about your stay with us! We are pleased that you enjoyed our staff and cool atmosphere! We hope to see you again one day! The Piggies

100%

Great place to stay!

  • 6th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for leaving such a great review about your stay! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here and hope that you will visit us again soon! Take care, happy travels, The Pigsters!

91%

The hostel is nice, definitely a party place

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay. Great to hear that you liked staying here. We hope to see you again some day! Happy travelling The Piggies

94%

Great hostel with a fabulous location. The staff were so helpful and friendly, and the place had a fun, relaxed atmosphere. Couldn't fault the cleanliness of it either - didn't see a single unclean room/bathroom.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you so much for the kind review about your stay with us :) We are happy to hear that you couldnt fault our cleanliness :) We love to hear this as we work very hard to keep the hostel as clean as possible :) We hope to see you again someday! Happy Travels! The Piggies

97%

Perfect place to stay in Amsterdam. Great atmosphere at the bar and smoking room and actually the best location. Staff was super helpful with everything and rooms were much cleaner than any other hostel I have been at during my travels. 100 percent recommended

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there :) Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review! Great that you found us cleaner than any hostel you have visited so far! This makes us very proud :) We hope that you will visit us again one day! Happy Travels, The Piggies

(198 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback