X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Downtown Reviews

Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
6429 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

The music was very loud when I arrived in the hostel, I couldn't even understand the instructions at the reception. The breakfast was a little poor of options. The bedrooms was small. Beside of that, has a nice place to share (eat and drink) and a perfect location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to fill in a review, we can learn a lot from your experience with us. We are really sorry to hear that the breakfast was not what you expected. We would love to hear more about your stay so will contact you personally so that we can improve. Cheers, The Piggies.

86%

The shower was the only negative; bad water pressure and it was very cold.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are very sorry about the water. We indeed had a maintenance issue during your stay. During those days we didn't have hot water downstairs but it was working upstairs. We hope that you mentioned this to the reception. We will contact you personally to find out more. We hope to hear back from you. Cheers, The Flying Piggies

86%

I only stayed for one night, so I didn't get to experience all this hostel had to offer. The location was EXCELLENT, close to Centraal Station and Dam Square. The bed of comfy and the wifi signal was great. I didn't go into the smoking room, but I liked that the option was there. My only complaint was no other toilets on the floor except for the one in the room. That's a minor issue though. I would totally stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you so much for the great review. We hope to see you back at the pig some day! Happy travels! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

100%

Didnt spend much time in the hostel as I was visiting friends, however for the times I was there it was spot on. Literaly everything you want from a hostel is here and done right. Location is especially good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you so much for this amazing review. We are so happy to hear you loved your stay. Again thank you and we hope to see you back some day. Cheers, The Flying Piggies

100%

Favorite hostel in Europe thus far! The atmosphere is awesome and the staff and all the people staying here are simply awesome. If you dislike getting little sleep and people being awake at all hours then this might not be the place for you but I loved the relaxed and chill atmosphere. Bathrooms and showers are clean, breakfast is good and wifi works all over the hostel. Smoke room is awesome! Tons of pillows and books. Location is also awesome, close to everything.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you so much for this amazing review. You are making us blush! Best hostel in Europe! Wauw. Again thank you and we hope to see you back some day. Cheers, The Flying Piggies

71%

This hostel is perfectly located in the city center, right near the Red light District. In the lobby it has a bar/club . There were a lot of people partying there until 2-3 pm. If you want to party and have a lot of fun this is the place to stay , but if you want to have a quiet vacation this is not the place for you :)


100%

Great stay, very happy all round

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for taking the time to fill out a review. We love to hear that you had a great stay with us :) We hope we can welcome you back in the future :) Happy Travelling! The Piggies

100%

I had an excellent stay at the flying pig. I was only in Amsterdam for one night and the flying pig met all my needs. Great atmosphere makes finding new friends easy, great location is only a few minutes from tons of sights and the red light district. There's a smoking room downstairs where you can smoke and make additional new friends. All in all a great stay! 10/10

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for this amazing review. We are so happy to hear you loved your stay. Again thank you and we hope to see you back some day. Cheers, The Flying Piggies

69%

Great location right in the middle of everything and you can walk everywhere. Overpriced for what it is, we had a private room and it was tiny and not the cleanest.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for your review. We are always looking for ways to improve our hostel. We will contact you personally to find our more about your stay. We hope to hear back from you. Cheers, The Flying Piggies

100%

Amazing location, fun bar and real friendly. Lots recommended to us by staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for the great review. It is so nice to read you loved your stay with us. We hope to see you back some day! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

100%

Exactly what we were looking for in an Amsterdam Hostel. Will stay here again and recommend it to others.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you so much for the great review! It is always so nice to read when our piggies want to return and would even recommend us to others. We hope to see you very soon! Happy travels! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

89%

Great location for party and sightseeing Trips around Amsterdam. Good Location in the Center of the city, you can see everything by feet or bike. Great smokers room and bar, good to socialize to other travelers. Not the best choice for couples. Its more a Party location, but if you like to party. Its the location for you.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for your review and letting us know about your stay! It is so nice to read that you like our very central location. We hope to see you back some day! Happy travels! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

91%

Flying Pig has really good locations and really good staffs. The breakfast is really good. everything will be perfect if the music will not continued untill midnight. However, they provide earplugs to help me go to sleep. I highly recommended it!

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for the amazing review. We can always learn a lot from our reviews. It is great to read you enjoyed our location, extended breakfast and the staff was helpful. We will make sure your nice words will be passed on to them. We hope to see you back some day! Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

97%

Super easy to find once you leave Central Station. You have everything you could need nearby. Also, the breakfast is BOMB so don't miss out since it's free. People were friendly and the smoking room was great. Wish I could've stayed longer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it! We can always learn a lot from them. We are happy to read you enjoyed our very central location and our extended breakfast! We will make sure your message gets passed on to our staff, they love to read messages like these ;) We hope to see you back at the Pig some day! Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

89%

The showers are pretty medieval. Beyond that, great location, awesome staff, and the smoking room is too good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are happy that you enjoyed the common areas and central location. I will be sure to pass on your message on to our staff that they are awesome...they love to hear this! We do indeed have an old Amsterdam building, so are constantly working on updating our hallways and rooms to keep them fresh. We hope you will visit us again one day Happy Travelling! The Piggies

86%

One of the best hostel breakfasts!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for the nice words! We are always looking for ways to improve and it is so nice to notice our guests enjoy our recently extended breakfast :D This makes us very happy! Happy travels! Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

97%

I enjoyed the hostel. I stayed in a private room, which had a toilet and shower. The private rooms are on the top floor (4th), so it's rather quiet. I didn't hang out much at the hostel, but from what I saw it looked like a great place to meet people. Common area had a bar (drinks/some food), pool table, tables/chairs, etc. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good - typical cereals, juice, milk, breads, etc. Overall good experience!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Thanks so much for taking the time to fill out a review about your stay with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your private room and that it was quiet. We are delighted that you found the staff helpful and enjoyed our free breakfast :) We hope you will visit us again Safe Travels The piggies

100%

I loved the Flying Pig! And that's an understatement I'd say! We had rollaway lockers which were very convenient and I loved the hang out areas! Free breakfast with quite a few options! Wifi worked great and staff were very friendly and helpful!! The shower area was also very well kept and looked newly renovated or something it was so nice! It was such a great experience that it ruined me for all other hostels I stayed at for the rest of my journey. Cannot give enough praise!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wauw! Thank you so much for the amazing review. It is so nice to read you loved your stay with us. This makes us so very happy! We really hope that you will visit us soon again! Happy travels. Cheers, The Flying Pig Downtown

100%

Great place to stay, very easy to meet people if single traveler. Awesome bar

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Wauw! Thank you so much for the amazing review. We really appreciate it. Come visit us soon again :D Cheers, The Flying Piggies

97%

Great location, 5 mins walk to Central Station and surrounded by many other bars and restaurants. Great amenities, bar had descent prices. If you're for a quiet night of sleep, definitely not the place for you, but if you're looking to party and stay up late, you've found the right place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Thanks for leaving a review about your stay. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our bar deals and central location! Hopefully we will see you again someday! Cheers, The Piggies

(176 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback