X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Downtown Reviews

Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
6862 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

great location (5 mins from central station) good free breakfast, nice bar/smoking room. all round a great hostel for amsterdam - would return! some areas of the hostel could have done with a clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you so much for the lovely review! Great to hear that you would return some day! Take care and see you soon! The Piggies

77%

The shared room and bathroom were very messy. Our bed was not prepared until we complained in the evening. Otherwise very nice smoking room and bar. Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay, your experience is important to us as we can learn a lot about how to improve ourselves for the future. Thank you for mentioning our accommodating staff :) We apologise that your room mates were perhaps not as considerate as you would have hoped them to be. We get our cleaners to clean the rooms twice a day to try and combat this. Thanks again and safe travels! The Piggies

91%

If you want a cheap stay in Amsterdam this is the place for you, I personally had a fantastic stay, and i recommend it to anybody travelling there, There breakfast alone is amazing, there smoking area is where you will probably end up for the best part of the night, The drink offers are always going, showers are piping hot, believe me this hostel will not disappoint you.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there WOW thank you so much for such a great review about your stay! We are happy to hear that you had a fantastic stay and would recommend us :) We hope to welcome you back soon! Thanks again and happy travels! The Piggies

100%

Everything was spot on and couldn't have went any better. Will defo stay here again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi :) Thank you so much for your great review! We are happy that you would stay here again :) Happy Travelling! The PIggies

100%

Brilliant stay. We will definitely be returning. Had a really great time and it was so much better to be in the centre of the city. The staff were brilliant, so friendly and accommodating. Cannot fault The Pig at all.

  • 1st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Ah thank you so much for your lovely words :) We are happy that you had a brilliant stay and will definitely be returning! We cant wait to see you again! Happy Travels and see you next time! The Piggies

100%

Location was absolutely amazing. The centre of the centre. I stayed in the 14 bed dorm, there was plenty of room for people's things & th lockers under the beds were HUGE. Bar atmosphere was great, didn't really make use but seemed like a good place to make friends.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! :) Wowee thanks so much for such a great review! Great that you had lots of space to store your bags in our lockers and loved our central location! We hope that you will visit us again one day! Happy Travels! The Piggies

86%

Lets begin with the location which was great. Everything about the hostel was good. We got a double bed in a 10-bed-dorm and it was super confortable and actually quiet. The bar downstairs was open until 3am, so I would expect lots of noise but no. The breakfast also, one of the best you can expect from a hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there Thank you so much for your kind review! :) We are happy that you found everything about the hostel good! Great that you enjoyed our free breakfast too! We hope to see you again some day! Take care and happy travels! The Piggies

97%

My first time in a hostel and because of this place, not the last one! We had so much fun.

  • 31st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Ah thats so great to hear that this was your first stay in a hostel and because of us it wont be your last! We love to hear this :) We are so happy that you had so much fun here and hope we will see you again one day! Thanks and happy travels! The Piggies

97%

This is the best hostel in Amsterdam (if you like to party and have fun). Great atmosphere with lots of like minded travelers, very friendly and helpful staff, cheap drinks at their happening bar, smoking lounge, clean rooms with showers, and a decent breakfast. What more can you ask for? Also easy walking distance everywhere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there :) Thank you so much for saying that we are the best hostel in Amsterdam! We are glad that you found us with a great atmosphere and very friendly like minded staff and travellers! Thank you for mentioning also our clean rooms! We work very hard to keep them this way :) Thanks and we hope to welcome you back some day The Piggies

89%

great hostel in an amazing location, and the staff were beyond excellent. super helpful and super friendly, this was one of the best hostels I stayed at in a solid 2 months of backpacking through europe. the worst thing about this hostel was having to leave at the end of my stay.

  • 26th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! AW that is so lovely of you to say that you had a great time here and didnt want to leave! We are so happy that you had a great time here and found the staff beyond excellent! We hope to see you again some day! Take care and happy travels The Piggies

83%

The Flying Pig gets a lot of attention because of the smoking room. This feature is obviously awesome. The hostel is in an amazing location. The only warning I would give is not to book large rooms. Typically they only have one bathroom and you have no idea how big some of these rooms are. Although the place is advertised as a "party hostel", it is actually relatively mellow, probably because everyone is stoned. While there are plenty of reasons to stay here, there are better options too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you for taking the time to leave some comments about your stay with us! Great that you enjoyed our central location. ;) Indeed you booked a 14 bed dorm, which actually has 2 ensuite bathrooms. Perhaps you missed this! Indeed we have a 24 hour smoking room, but also we have a bar open until 3am everyday and a chill out area downstairs for those who do not like to party. Thanks again and safe travels! The Piggies

94%

Awesome place to meet people. Staff are very friendly and would assist you in all possible ways. Clean showers and a nice breakfast. If you are there on a weekend, try the pub crawl. Its guaranteed fun. If not there's always the smoke room and the bar.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such nice things about your stay! We are happy to hear that you found us an awesome place to stay and guaranteed fun! ;) We love to hear this and very much hope that you will visit us again some day! Happy Travels The Piggies

94%

Outstanding hostel . Awesome staff. The only place to stay in Amsterdam

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! WOWWWW! Thanks so much for such an awesome review! We hope to see you again some day! Happy travels, The Piggies

97%

Even for somebody like me who doesn't usually like noisy party hostels, the Flying Pig Downtown is awesome. A bit pricey especially on the weekends, but - you get what you pay for. Perfect location, clean, spacious rooms which are actually pretty quiet (even the huge dorms), clean facilities, fantastic and helpful staff, a great atmosphere... thoroughly recommend. When next I'm in Amsterdam, I will definitely stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you so much for taking your time to leave us such a lovely review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found we had a great atmosphere! We hope you will stay with us again! Take care and happy travels! The Piggies

91%

Just bear in mind that it is a party hostel, then it's all good. :) Great location and atmosphere! Helpful staff as well.


66%

I was terribly disappointed with this hostel. The locker in my room was locked by a previous person. So i was out of luck when it came to being able to lock my stuff up. They refused to cut off the lock so I guess everyone else in that room will never have a locker. 2nd, the bathroom was disgusting. Like, when it opened, it woke me from a dead sleep. The smell was so awful. Last, people banging on my door all night. I understand this is a party spot. But 4am people fighting in the hall?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you for taking the time to comment about your experience with us, we can learn a lot from this. We were very disappointed to hear that your stay was not what you would have expected. We hope that the receptionist offered you money for an electronic locker as unfortunately we can only cut our own locks. We apologise that other hostel guests were not as courteous as you would have hoped them to be. We will contact you personally to find out more. Safe Travels, The Piggies

77%

We came in the evening and the person who worked and taked us in spoked very quickly and i could understand like half of it. It could be nicer to take people to their rooms. Showers was clean and there was also hairdryers, toilets were clean but there was never paper for hands to dry. Drinks were cheap and the atmosphere was nice. There was breakfast every morning, but we hoped to get other bread covers then jam and eggs... maybe cheese, ham, tomato. :) We will be coming back to this hostel. Tnx

  • 20th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you for taking the time to feedback about your experience with us, we can learn a lot from your comments in order to improve ourselves in the future. We are happy that you found the showers clean and atmosphere nice!! We would love to take you to your rooms unfortunately for security we man our reception desk 24 hours a day :) Apologies that our receptionist spoke to quick, we will be sure to remind all our receptionists to be clear :) thank you for mentioning this :) The piggies

100%

Great atmosphere in the center of town. Close to everything and staff was friendly

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you so much for leaving some comments about your stay! We are happy that you found the staff friendly and enjoyed our central location! We hope to see you again someday! Happy Travels The Piggies

86%

The lobby is a bar (and a good one at that). Do yourself a favor and book this place, muster up the courage to talk to some people there, drink & smoke, and have a great time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you so much for such a lovely review! We are pleased to read your nice comments! We hope to see you again some day! Happy Travels! The Piggies

94%

Besides for a rodent rummaging through my McDonald's 20 minutes after leaving my room unattended, the place is flawless. Very welcoming, great location, would recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay in Amsterdam.

  • 19th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay, your experience helps us learn how to improve for the future. We are pleased to hear that you would recommend us! Our apologies that there was a rodent at your McDonalds, we have a pest control team who check the hostel very regularly but unfortunately leaving food on the floor can attract unwanted guests :( we will be sure to get them in again right away! Thank you for bringing this to our attention! Take care! The Piggies

(198 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback