X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Downtown Reviews

Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
6007 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Wonderful place. Only stayed one night, in one of the double private en suites with my ladyfriend, which was very clean and well put together, all modern sinks and showers in the bathroom. Staff were ever so courteous and friendly and did everything they could to make our stay a memorable one. Would recommend without hesitation.

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Great place to sleep if you do any of it in Amsterdam!


91%

Great place to stay. I had only one problem, the shower in my room that was terrible. Besides that evertything was cool, they have good facilities to hang out and great staff. Very close to the Central Station as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We always try to learn from from them as much as possible. It is great to read you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning the shower. Our maintenance team will fix the shower straight away. Again thank you and we hope to see you back some day. Cheers, The Flying Piggies

97%

Place was incedibly well maintained and staff v friendly. Breakfast really good esp. muslei yogurt and fruit :) Thanks for finding my jumper, wish I had remembered my other things too!

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving us such a nice review. It is great to read you enjoyed our free breakfast and it is even better to read that the reception was able to reunite you with your jumper ;) We hope to see you back some day, happy travels! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

89%

Great location near the main areas of Amsterdam. I had a very good experience while staying at the Pig for over a week in September. The staff is extremely friendly. I am even still in contact with a few people I met while there. You're guaranteed to have a good time.


83%

Amazing location. Great kitchen. Good bar and common areas. Only issue was dorm wasn't clean and bathrooms smelt horrible all the time. Worth the location though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We always try to learn from our reviews as much as possible. We looked up your booking and room number and have our plumber looking into the bathroom straight away, thank you for mentioning this. Great to read you have enjoyed our renewed kitchen and the bar. Have a great trip and we hope to see you back some day. Cheers, The Flying Piggies

94%

The staff were incredibly friendly and allowed the Hostel to be more than just an over night stay, but an environment for fun, laughter and a place to chill.

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wauw! Thank you so much for this amazing review and taking the time to rate us on Hostelworld. It is always great to hear people enjoyed their time with us. We will make sure your message gets passed on to all our staff members and we definitely hope you will return to the pig one day. Happy travels! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

86%

friendly staff and nice location


94%

The staff here were excellent!! The location was very central, walking distance to majority the main sights. The wifi works throughout the accommodation and even in the street outside the hostel. Breakfast was nothing fancy, but was great not having to worry about going out in search of something. Definitely recommend this hostel!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your review! We hope to see you back one day. Safe travels, The Flying Pig

89%

Stayed only for a single night but overall great experience. Staff is friendly and helpful, rooms are cozy and clean and it is located just a few minutes from the central train station (and city centre). Great experience during my time at the Flying Pig!


91%

Really awesome place for young travelers!! Definitely laid back and we met some nice people! Location is the best part about this place.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Wow thank you so much for the nice words! It is always great to read people have enjoyed their stay with us. We will make sure your nice words are passed on to all our staff members. Have a great trip and hope to see you back some day! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

91%

Great hostel with great people. Shame about the rowdy Scottish people on one night. But other than that can't fault it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and telling us about your experience while staying with us. We will contact you personally to find out more about the rowdy group in your room. Hope to hear back from you soon. Cheers, The Flying Piggies

86%

The breakfast is great. The hostel sits on a noisy street so make sure you bring earplugs. The 16 person dorms are a little crowded (as expected). It is easy to meet people and the bar has decent prices. The kitchen is great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving us a nice review and telling us about your stay with us. We are always trying to learn from our reviews as much as possible. Indeed, the street can be a little bit noisy during the weekend with the windows open. We offer free earplugs at the reception for snoring roommates and other noises. Hopefully it wasn't too bad. Great to read you have enjoyed our breakfast and the renewed kitchen :D We hope to see you back some day! Safe travels!

77%

All around great hostel but definitely on the pricier side. Had all the amenities and wifi was great but not worth the price. Atmosphere was also good but definitely better suited for younger travelers that just want to party. Nice location right by the Central Station. Staff were pretty helpful but did not know that much.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. It is great to hear you have enjoyed your stay:D We will contact you personally to see if you have some tips on how to keep improving our hostel. We hope to hear from you soon. Safe travels! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

91%

I love the location and the friendly staff. I was in a 6 bed dorm my first night with a bathroom in room. The bathroom was honestly one of the most disgusting I had ever seen and had a broken shower. I changed rooms the next night and discovered the wonderfully clean dorm style bathroom downstairs (co-ed) and was very much relieved to see the improved facilities. Wish I had known that the first night! Great overall to meet people and chill in the smoking room.


97%

Best hostel we have stayed in by far! location is perfect,.staff are the nicest bunch you'll ever meet and couldn't have been more helpful. the bar is pumping but noise doesn't effect you once you leave the area, and the downstairs chill out is perfect with the couches and fully equiped kitchen. couldn't recommend this place anymore, you must stay here if coming to Amsterdam! this might sound like an add for the hostel but it really is that good

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for this amazing review. It is so great to read you enjoyed every second of your stay. We will pass your nice words on to all our staff members :D Hope to see you back some day! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

100%

Stay here, get stoned, have fun.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a rating. It is nice to read you have enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed Amsterdam ;) Have a great trip! Cheers, The Flying Piggies

80%

Everything was great except I woke up to find a mouse digging around through all my stuff and eating my stroopwaffels! Front desk staff is lovely, very helpful and patient. Decent sized rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We really appreciate it that you took the time to fill this out. We can learn a lot from your experience with us. We are so sorry to read about your stroopwafels. We have contacted pest control and promise you he will not be enjoying others travelers food anymore. Thank you for letting us know. Safe travels and we hope to see you back one day. Cheers, The Flying Piggies

89%

I love the facility itself but I was only able to one night because after being sick before I got to Amsterdam my 4th roommate was sick and they couldn't accommodate me and the rest of my party. The 2nd night we returned and the new 4th roommate was ok and turned creepy. We couldn't stay. We felt awkward and unsafe.

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Fantastic place. The staff actually know you by name and it truly makes you feel like you are at home, whether you are just stopping in for a night or several, they make you feel so welcomed. The atmosphere is phenomenal, but with that being said I wouldn't come here if I was wanting a quiet few nights in Amsterdam... But then who actually wants a quiet night in Amsterdam?? Stop looking for places to stay and pick this one. Thank you so much to the amazing staff, I will definitely be back!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Wow! Thank you for the amazing review! It is great to read you enjoyed your stay this much! We will pass your message on to the staff :D Hope to see you back one day! Safe travels. Cheers, The Flying Piggies

(155 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback