Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Flying Pig Uptown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 5063 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 5063 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2017
7.7

Staff answered my questions when needed. Good breakfast options included in the price of the room including hard-boiled eggs, bread with various jams/butter/nutella, fruit, cereal, etc. Quite a comfortable bed, likely the most comfortable I've had in a hostel. Has a bar and smoking room which are usually crowded and a way to meet people. Plenty of pamphlets for discounted things to do in the area. Location is near Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum, but 30 min walk from the lively scene.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we really appreciate it. It is brilliant to read that you liked our free breakfast and that you had a good nights rest in one of our beds. The bar and smoking room are small compared to other bars, because of our traditional Amsterdam architecture so understand that every now and again it can be busy. We hope it didn't affect your stay too much and we hope to welcome you back again. Thank you again for your time. the Flying Pig Uptown.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2017
8.9

Checking in took a long time because I happened to arrive just after two other groups, but it also was a bit of a drawn out process. Rooms, bathrooms, and showers all very clean! The bathrooms and showers are separate small rooms that can lock (good setup for a place shared by lots of people). The provided breakfast was good - selection of cereals, fruit, toast, and spreads. There are drawers under the beds that can be locked with any padlock, or pay 2 pound per 24hr for a locker.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for leaving such a detailed review, we really appreciate it. We are happy to read that you enjoyed staying with us and that you are so positive about our facilities and free breakfast! :) Thank you again for your time and we hope to welcome you back some day! The Flying Pig Uptown.

  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Apr 2017
8.9

Lovely staff at the reception, always ready to help! I recommend carrying huge padlocks to keep your baggage secure in the dorm. For other electronics, they have lockers available on the 1st floor. Overall an amazing staff. Cheers! :*

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving a review. we really appreciate you taking the time. We are delighted to read that you had a great time at the Pig and that you found our staff to be helpful and amazing! :) We also have a free safe at reception to store valuables like laptops and passports. Thank you again for leaving a review and we hope to welcome you back some other time! the Flying Pig Uptown.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2017
10.0

Great staff, great location! Will definitely be back again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave this awesome review, we really appreciate it! It is brilliant to read that you enjoyed staying at the Flying Pig Uptown and that you really liked our location and last but not least, our staff! :) Thanks again for your time! The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2017
6.9

I booked 6 months in advance, requesting a TWIN room as we are 2 retired ladies travelling together, and I also asked for a lower floor. We were assigned a room on the 5th floor (4th but 5 up from reception in the basement) with bunk beds. The staff were very kind as they did carry our suitcases up (and back down) the very steep, narrow staircase, but it was a chore for us to get up and down. There is no comfy common area, just the pub.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Apr 2017
10.0

Absolutely loved this place. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms and common space were clean, the bar was reasonably priced, the breakfast was better than most hostels, and the location was ideal. The only thing was that there was no elevator so carrying our bags up to the 4th floor was a nightmare. I would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • whatthebeeb
  • Sri Lanka, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2017
9.1

I just checked out last night and I've never wanted to extend my stay and go back to a place as much as this. Absolutely amazing vibe in there, Sara and the other staff there were super helpful and always tend to treat you like one of their own. Staying at the Pig made my holiday at Amsterdam an incredible experience. Good on you guys! Can't wait to be back x - Shabeeb

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2017
9.7

This was the best hostel I've stayed at! Be warned that the stairs up to the rooms don't look intimidating at first but once you get started you're in for a hike. The location was absolutely amazing. It's about a 25 minute walk to the Red Light District and about 15-20 from everything else. The staff was full of suggestions and really try and make sure you don't blow your money on silly things. I would 100% recommend this hostel. Enjoy Amsterdam it's wonderful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Apr 2017
9.1

We had a great time at flying pig hostel. Perfect location, clean, spascious dorms with numerous showers. We found the city of Amsterdam relatively expensive so the free breakfast provided in the hostel was ideal! It sorted our hangovers out instantly!! The location was perfect, allowing us to walk to most places! The cost was pretty expensive for a hostel but would definitely recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2017
8.6

I only stayed one night at The Flying Pig, it's a nice place. The only thing that was strange was that the room I booked was for 8 people and there were only 3 bunk beds, so it was very small space with a lot of people inside.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.