X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
3677 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Brilliant !

  • 27th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice hostel, a bit away from the city center but still in walking range. Stairs, stairs, stairs. Lots of stairs, definitely must have an able body. Still a solid place. I'd stay again.


89%

Couple of things - the atmosphere at this hostel is just amazing. The bar is wonderful, happy hour has amazing prices, and all of the staff/bartenders were friendly and helpful. Not enough good things to say!! Second, the bathroom situation here is not ideal. Two showers and one toilet per floor. I never found myself waiting for a shower or anything, but there was a definite lack of space. Overall, awesome place to stay and would highly recommend it!


94%

Very friendly staff, hopping bar and extremely packed and social smoking room. This hostel is a great place to hang out for the night and meet people, as it's a very unique and fun atmosphere. My only complaint is the early 10:30 checkout time and they didn't have a free storage rooms for my bags while I went to Anne Frank museum before my flight that afternoon. Breakfast was included, tasty, and well maintained beginning at 7:30 am. The beds are extremely comfortable with outlets by your head!

  • 23rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Fantastic party hostel with a great atmosphere and really friendly, welcoming staff - who even insisted on doing our washing up after we cooked in the (well-equipped and very handy) kitchen! The bar was very lively and you can bring your own drinks, but on Friday / Saturday nights you'll hear the music in your room. Top location right opposite a lovely park with supermarkets nearby. Could do with more showers and toilets, though.


77%

Would have loved a laundry and the stairs to level 4 were something else!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback! We really appreciate this and we are happy to see you had a great time staying with us :) Sorry we don't have a laundry, but there is one close to the hostel! We don't have an elevator unfortunately, due to the traditional Dutch architecture of our building. Our staff is always ready to help out bringing luggage upstairs, though! Thanks again for your time. The Flying Pig Uptown

46%

Bathrooms really really small. Stairs everywhere.


94%

A lovely, easy going hostel with excellent staff and location! Full of lovely guests as well!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving this great feedback! We really appreciate it you took the time to fill this out and we are very happy you had such a good time with us! Thanks again :) The Flying Pig Uptown

77%

This is the hostel for weed smokers. Almost everyone is constantly high, even the staff members. Perfect for weed addicted. But I think that's too much.. Moreover, rooms and bathrooms are not that perfect, and the money asked was exagerated.


94%

Lively backpacker hostel with a great atmosphere. It is located right across from Vondelpark so it is away from the canal area, but it is still close enough to walk or get public transport to those areas. Plus it was nice being away from the tourists! The rooms were clean with good storage for backpacks. Ensuite bathroom was small but clean. The bar was really good and offered pizza as well as drinks. The staff were helpful. Overall I would definitely recommend this hostel.


97%

Only stayed for 36 hours, but a very chill hostel. Smoking area by bar. Offer standard breakfast(cereal, toast, juice/coffee), as well as daily supper specials that you can pay and get. Cash only bar. Need to be buzzed inside, so felt safe. Under bed lockers, good showers, clean bathrooms. Close to central area(not far to be anywhere in Amsterdam, especially if you rent a bike). Staff had good tips on where to go, what shops to see, etc. Most expensive hostel on my trip, but it was worth it.


80%

Get place to stay and very friendly people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much! We really appreciate it you took the time to write a review about your stay with us. It's great to see you enjoyed yourself here! Hopefully we will see you again on your next visit to Amsterdam :D Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

Fantastic as usual. My favorite place to stay in the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot! It was great to see you again :) We hope to see you again on your next visit to Amsterdam! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

This hostel was one of the best! Staff were super welcoming and helpful! The bar downstairs offered great happy hour specials! Rooms were spacious and the beds were comfy! This place was also close to main city centre area which had tons of bars and shops.


91%

Really great hostel - a bit of a walk away from the red light district and all that but the neighbourhood the hostel is in is so lovely you don't even want to leave. The room was smallish but it had air con!! The staff were super nice and the bar was great. It was on the pricey side though - but Amsterdam is expensive anyway.


60%

The hostel was alright but the vibe was strange, it's very pokey, dark and gloomy. No kitchen was really annoying and the staff (one guy) seemed grumpy. Would have been really nice to have yoghurt and some fruit at brekky! Location is quite far out! I'm definitely staying more in the centre next time

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving a review of your stay! We are sorry to hear though, your stay was not quite as expected. We actually do have a fully equipped kitchen available for everyone to use! Sorry you missed this. Our breakfast is a buffet with cereal, bread, boiled eggs, fresh fruit, yoghurt and more! We would love to know more about your stay with us and the grumpy staff member. Therefor we will contact you personally. Thanks again! The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

Really friendly staff, great atmosphere and nice location.

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Nice!! Thank you so much for this great review of your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you back soon! :) Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

Good stay, really great staff and friendly atmosphere

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much! It's great to see you had such a good time here :) We will pass on your kind words to our staff too, they would love to hear this. Thanks again! The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

Was a great chilled place. Lots of interesting people.

  • 9th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for leaving such a nice review! We are very happy to see you enjoyed yourself while staying with us :) We hope to see you again one day! Safe travels, The Flying Pig Uptown

71%

Amazing staff super nice and accommodating , bathrooms are really small and kitchen closes to early 10:30. But pretty good location close enough to walk everywhere but far enough not to hear any loud noise at nice , all and all would stay there again mainly because how amazing the staff is

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot! It's great to hear you enjoyed yourself with us. We will pass on your kind words to our staff as well! They would love to hear this :) We hope to see you again one day! Safe travels, The Flying Pig Uptown

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(163 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback