Hostelworld.com

Flying Pig Uptown

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 4929 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 4929 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • annalise
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Feb 2017
6.9

The pig was recommended to me by a friend who stayed there years ago - overall the place is great, cheap breakfast provided in the morning, a bar, smoking room, etc. the rooms/bathrooms were clean enough. For me though, I think I was just too old for the atmosphere. It's definitely a party hostel with a pretty young, rowdy crowd.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we can learn a lot from your experiences here so we really appreciate you taking the time. We are glad that, overall, you enjoyed your time with us as well as our free breakfast. We are sorry you did not enjoy the party atmosphere here :( We welcome guests of all ages (as long as they are over 18) here and always aim to cater for all our guests in the bar. Indeed there can be a party atmosphere here, as we have a private bar for guests only, if our guests want to party it will certainly be the atmosphere here, we are sorry this was not what you wanted during your time with us. Thank you again for your time- The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Feb 2017
7.1

The free breakfast was great. The washrooms were tiny and not always the cleanest, but I appreciate the sanitizing spray in the washrooms. There was no lounge other than the bar to eat or chill in, which sucked as the bar was often packed and too noisy. Bring a bigger padlock if you plan on using their storage lockers in the rooms as normal sized locks don't fit.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey There, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our free hostel breakfast but are sorry your stay was not exactly as expected. We are sorry the bathrooms were not always at our expected standard of cleanliness. From 8 am until midnight, we have regular checks on the bathrooms and toilets, as well as the thorough cleaning in the late morning/ early afternoon, we will bring this to the attention of our cleaning team to see what went wrong here, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to see your lock did not fit correctly, a standard size lock does fit as this is what we sell at the hostel, however, we will check your locker to make sure it is in working order. Thank you again for your time, we wish you all the best with your future travels- The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Feb 2017
8.6

The staff were very friendly and helpful! Out of all the hostels we stayed at this was the most expensive and was not the nicest and the least clean. I found it expensive for what you got. Overall, the continental breakfast was good! The bar and lounge was very nice and there was a smoking portion to allow smokers to sit down.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Feb 2017
8.3

Nice bar and free breakfast

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your short but sweet review! We hope to welcome you back in the future! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
8.9

Thank you for a great stay! For those who haven't stayed at the Flying Pig Uptown: the breakfast is included in the price and it is great!! You have various options for most diets, they even have soya milk to go with your cereal! :) The 4th floor though?! Yeah, it's good exercise! The pool table in the smoking area was fun, the bar was pretty chilled too! See you soon.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your review :) We really appreciate you taking the time. We are delighted you enjoyed your time here and that you will stay with us again! We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Feb 2017
6.9

REALLY overpriced and over-rated. Nice lounge to chill, but the rooms were really small and uncomfortable, the bathrooms always dirty, and everything tight and cramped. It was OK, but not worth what I payed.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we can learn a lot from your experience here, so we appreciate you taking the time. We are sorry to see that your stay with us was not quite as expected and that you felt you did not receive your value for money. Unfortunately, Amsterdam is an expensive city, with high operating costs in comparison to other European capital cities. We will take your constructive feedback on board going forward. We hope that, regardless, you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam. Thank you again for your time, The Flying Pig Uptown

3rd Feb 2017
10.0

Awesome staff awesome location. Very accommodating and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! We are delighted our piggy team made such a positive impact on your stay with us :) We hope to welcome you back again! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Feb 2017
8.3

I loved the Flying Pig. I will definitely be staying there again the next time I go to Amsterdam. While the price was expensive, this is a reflection on the city and not the hotel. The staff is extremely friendly, most being young travelers themselves. Downstairs there is a bar and a smoke room, and going down to get a drink is a great way to meet some amazing people. The location was perfect, 40 minute walk to the train station, next to a park to run in. Loved it. Great breakfast.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
1st Feb 2017
10.0

Loved this hostel, such a good vibe and close to trams and museums

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the awesome review :) We hope to welcome you back again! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jan 2017
8.3

My stay at the Hostel was quite pleasant. Good ambiance and breakfast. Room was quite clean. Great location. Within a walking distance of Major museums. Very helpful staff. Just a few words to the girl (with an american accent) at the reception whom i met on the first day and never seen her again during my stay: "Hello. FYI, No, not everywhere in Europe people drinks Tap water. You're welcome".

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.