Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Flying Pig Uptown

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 4,438 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 4,438 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
Flying Pig Uptown Located at Vossiusstraat 46, , Amsterdam.
Flying Pig Uptown
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1071 AJ Vossiusstraat 46
88% 4438
52.3604797 4.8783588
Flying Pig Uptown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2016
8.9

Quite expensive and wasn't a central location but was a really great experience once inside.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Jul 2016
10.0

Amazing hostel. Staff are so friendly and the overall vibe is great. Breakfast was good, showers and toilets good, rooms good... couldn't say a bad word. Would definitely come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
9.4

Brilliant staff, great atmosphere and so friendly. It's right next to Vondelpark so it's great to hire bikes from close by and cycle round there, and trams make getting into the centre at any time of day incredibly easy and value for money, especially with a day ticket. Would recommend strongly!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jul 2016
7.7

Rooms needed a little airing out, showers not great but great location and beds were super comfy

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey There, Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time! We are glad that you enjoyed our uptown location and found our beds to be comfy :) We will bring up your constructive feedback with our cleaning team to make sure the rooms and showers are being cleaned to the high standard we always aim to maintain, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future, thanks again- The Flying Pig Uptown

  • vlathrop23
  • Vanuatu, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
7.4

Good location, the atmosphere wasn't as wild as they told us. But it was pretty good. The only negative thing where no a/c and the toilets were extremely small, not recommended for tall people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey There! Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback about your stay! We are glad you enjoyed our uptown location and overall our piggy atmosphere :) Yes, it is true, the room in which you stayed there is no air con , this is because the room in which you stayed has large balcony doors that open and a fan attached to the wall too. Other rooms in our hostel do have aircon though! We understand Amsterdam has been going through a slight heat wave the past week so it has been warmer than usual, luckily Amsterdam does not experience this very often. We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused by the warmer weather, we do hope you let our reception team know so we could set up more fans in the room? Thanks again for your feedback, we do hope to welcome you back again in the future!- The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Jul 2016
9.1

This place was located centrally, the bathroom and kitchen facilities were really good. The free breakfast was nice and the general atmosphere was great. It was a shame that the lockers in the rooms were only for luggage, and not small valuables. Also, slightly annoying that you have to pay to store your luggage after check out. Overall I enjoyed my stay here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dagunz
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
8.3

This hostel met all our needs. It was clean and had good facilities. Our room was above the bar/smoking area which did get loud one night. Nothing a pair of earplugs couldn't take care of.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time! We are glad that we could meet your expectations :) We hope to welcome you back in the future! The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
10.0

Can't say enough good things about this place. Starting with the location, it's a twenty minute walk from downtown but it's a really nice walk and after a couple pre drinks really feels like nothing. Plus there is a park directly in front of the hostel which was a great place to hang out for a couple more beers before bed. The best part of this hostel is the atmosphere. It's pretty much impossible not to meet new people. Couldn't have been better. For sure will be coming back for next ti

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate you taking the time! It's brilliant you enjoyed our atmosphere as we as our uptown location by the Vondelpark, definitely the best place to chill and have a beer in :D Thanks again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future! -The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Jul 2016
9.4

Fun hostel. Bathrooms and showers were great and there were lots of them. Staff were super nice. Breakfast included and good. Rooms were small and squishy, that's my only complaint. Location super cool just a 30 minute walk from the red light district. Overall fun!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey There! Thank you so much for your review! We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us as well as our free breakfast :) we will make sure to pass on your kind words to the staff here, they'll be delighted! We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future! Thanks again for your time, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jul 2016
10.0

Best hostel I have ever stayed in. The atmosphere downstairs is both really chilled and also really fun- hostel was buzzing every day! The staff were unbelievably helpful as they went above and beyond to help my friend when her passport/phone/ cards were stolen. One even gave her his inhaler so that we didn't have to buy a new one! The rooms served their purpose- a bit on the small side but the building itself would not have allowed any bigger! Overall a fantastic stay, can't recommend it enough

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a million for your feedback! What a huge compliment to say we are the best hostel you have ever stayed in, thank you so much for this! :D We are so happy our staff could be so helpful, our team are always happy to help, we will make sure to pass on your kind words! Thank you again for your review and recommendations, we hope to welcome you back in the future :) -The Flying Pig Uptown

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.