X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
3082 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This hostel is AWESOME!! The staff is SO friendly! Really good free breakfast...3 cereals, toast/jam, fresh fruit, juice/coffee. Sweet in-house bar with reasonably priced drinks & their smoking room is a great place to relax & enjoy some of Amsterdam's famous "coffee". 10 min walk to Museums & "I Amsterdam" sign. I really enjoyed my stay at Flying Pig & will def be staying here the next time I visit Amsterdam.


94%

The hostel is cosy and true traditional Amsterdam house! The atmosphere was brilliant and the staff super friendly!


71%

Great location and appreciated the free breakfast, however it was a shame to hear one of the staff (might have been maintenance or one of the cleaners) embarrass one of the guests by carrying on about how he wasn't going to help her with her bag down the stairs as it was her responsibility and why should he break his back for her? Apart from that one small incident I enjoyed my brief time at the Flying Pig Hostel.


86%

It's a really good location for leidersplein but a long walk to the red light district. There were cages under the bed for the normal bunks, but not for the queen size bunk which we shared. The atmosphere was pretty chilled and the staff really helpful. Free breakfast was great!

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Super chilled place would definitely go back

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

80%

Decent hostel. Rooms a bit tight but not too bad, everything is perfectly clean. Expensive but so is everything in A-Dam. Would definitely stay again if nothing cheaper was available.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

Great hostel. The staff were brilliant, so nice and helpful. There is no elevator and plenty of steep stairs but that had people carry our suitcases up the stairs! Great help. The rooms were very small but clean and had a sink etc. Also had good curtains and windows for light and fresh air! My only complaint would be that the showers were extremely hot, almost boiling. I avoided having showers as it was even painful!! On our last day they were all out of use, so they may have been fixing them.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. It is absolutely great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We will take a look at the showers, all of them should be adjustable in temperature. We hope to see you back some day! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

Great location, very clean and comfy!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review. We hope to see you again soon! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

The staff were friendly to help and informed. Thanks for helping carrying our heavy luggages. The facilities are clean and workable. You can bring your own lock for the locker inside room. If you bring something luxury such as laptop, there is also a keeping place provide in front desk. Good experience!

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Flying pig is a party hostel in a party city. This attracts all kinds of characters some good some bad. The hostel had accommodating staff along with a great bar and smoking room. The rooms were simple but the beds were surprisingly comfy. I would recommend the Flying Pig Uptown to anyone looking to make the most of the nightlife available in Amsterdam.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Security is one of our highest priorities so we try to make it clear to any bad characters that they're not welcome here! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

finally i didnt stay at the hostel i cancelled the reservation two days before the arrival time.

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Room and bathroom were very small but the basement had a bar that was fairly lively all the time. Staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about the city and things to do. Only downside was the location - not very close to the city centre or to the train station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your review. Due to our architecture we opted for a larger number of slightly smaller bathrooms so that we were able to reduce bathroom/shower waiting times. Our hostel is located next to Vondel park and a number of museums and late clubs a 10 minute tram ride from Central Station. We hope our location did not negatively affect your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

69%

Very limited bathroom and shower facilities. Too many people allocated to amount of bathrooms. Very expensive for the service received.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you found our shower/bathroom facilities limited. There are a number of toilets and showers throughout every floor of the hostel. We apologise for your stay not being completely satisfactory and hope give us another chance next time you are in Amsterdam. - The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

This hostel was great, I was happy with everything however felt it was a little over priced!


100%

Great location , clean, fun, 24 hour smoking room, keep your bags in the lockers even after you have left! thye keep your important belongings behind the desk for free, they let us stay in the bar/ smoking room all night when we had no where to stay. Free breakfast, a nice one too! Stayed in two different rooms, both clean, one had a private bathroom/shower, great atmosphere, wanted to stay for longer but they were fully booked. Staff could not have been nicer, polite, friendly. Loved it here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your fantastic review, guests like you are the reason we love what we do! We hope to see you again soon. Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

Great hostel, my major issue was although I had booked a ten bed mixed dorm, I wasn't prepared for it to be me and nine guys in the one room. I spoke to other females and they said the same thing had happened to them.


91%

Second time here and it's a awesome place to stay. Great atmosphere and a place I always look forward to coming back to after a night out. Always meet cool people here. Great for a solo backpacker, or In a group. Wish the staff offered a private pub crawl, as the one they offer sucks.


97%

Clean / great location and good vibes


77%

Lots and lots of stairs to get to your room and bar. Staff were friendly. Opposite a nice park to picnic in and walk around. Had to catch the tram into city centre. We stayed in an 8 bed dorm and it was quite expensive (about 35euro per person per night ).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review. Unfortunately due to our traditional architecture we are unable to accommodate an elevator, but our staff are always happy to carry luggage for guests. The city centre is a 20min walk or 10min tram ride depending on your preference. We apologise for any inconvenience the stairs might have caused and hope to see you again soon! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

80%

so many steep stairs. no elevator. made us change rooms three times due to renovations. long walk to red light district, but very close to rijksmuseum/van gogh museum. close to lots of nightlife.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review. Our architecture does not allow for the installation of an elevator but our staff are always happy to help carry luggage for guests. After reviewing your reservation it seems that you were only required to change rooms once and were given a free upgrade for the first two nights. We always try to minimise guest room changes, but on some occasions this is unavoidable. We apologise if this caused any inconvenience and hope to see you again. - The Flying Pig Uptown

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(117 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback