Hostelworld.com

Flying Pig Uptown

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 4,356 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 4,356 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
Flying Pig Uptown Located at Vossiusstraat 46, , Amsterdam.
Flying Pig Uptown
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1071 AJ Vossiusstraat 46
89% 4356
52.3604797 4.8783588
Flying Pig Uptown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Jun 2016
5.1

I was disappointed in the quality of the accommodations. I was expecting a much nicer place for the money spent. Overall the place looked and felt dingy. There was a maze of staircases to get in and around the hostel which are particularly dangerous when carrying luggage.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review our stay, we appreciate your feedback. We are sorry to read your stay with us was not as expected. We are sorry you did not think our cleanliness was at the standard we are always working towards. We have a cleaning team who clean throughout the day, as well as a bathrooms check and clean 3 times a day. It is true, we do have stairs here in the hostel, the room in which you stayed was two floors up from our reception, we are sorry you found it difficult with your luggage. We do remember our reception team helping you with your luggage which we hope helped on check in. Our team is always happy to help of course :) Thank you again for your feedback, we wish you all the best with your future travels, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Jun 2016
8.9

The staff was great!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a million for the short and sweet review :) We hope to welcome you back in the future! Thanks again, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Jun 2016
9.1

Amazing :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a million for the short but sweet review :D Hopefully we will see you again in the future! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

19th Jun 2016
7.7

Ir was a very good hostel, my only complain would be that they don't have a free storage for your laugage like after u check out and u are still in the city, u have to pay for lockers... Which in other hostels has never happened, specially if they are already quite expensive. The showers were great, clean, the toilets as well, nice beds. We were in the 4th floor, which from the reception in the basement made it 6 floors... That was a bit inconvenient, for the rest is nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey There, Thanks you very much for giving us some feedback about your stay, we appreciate you taking the time! We are glad overall you enjoyed your time with us and found the hostel bathrooms facilities good and clean :) We are sorry you did not like our automated locker system for luggage storage which costs 40 cents per hour or 2 euros for 24 hours . We feel that, electronic lockers which the guest who rented it only has access to is the safest way to store luggage, as it eliminates any security issues/ damaged luggage which is always possible in luggage rooms. We are glad this did not affect your stay too much :) It is true, we do not have an elevator, our piggy team are always happy to assist with carrying luggage to the rooms though! Thank you again for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back again in the future- The Flying Pig Uptown

16th Jun 2016
7.7

If you're on the first floor, the bar underneath is too loud. But I guess no one comes to Amsterdam to sleep.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your feedback! We are glad overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry you found the rooms to be louder than you expected. As the bar fills up, the music can be louder downstairs.We do always try to make sure the music is at a decent level as we are aware guests are also here to sleep, we will keep an eye on this, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We do also offer free earplugs at reception which are available 24/7 which can help with noise at night :) Thank you again for your time, we hope to welcome you back again in the future, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2016
9.4

Unreal hostel. The staff and the people were so friendly and helpful. Would strongly recommend to anyone going to Amsterdam whether they're in groups or on their own. Is also walking distance to anywhere you'll need to go

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey There! Thanks a million for your review :D We are delighted you had such a great stay here and found our piggy team so helpful :) we'll make sure to pass on your comments, they'll be delighted! We hope you'll choose to stay with us again in the future! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • gearoidirvine
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
14th Jun 2016
7.4

First, the positives. Lovely rooms, helpful staff, decent breakfast, great wifi, and a high level of cleanliness. However, this hostel is definitely more suited to a younger party crowd. This is not a criticism, it's the perfect place if this is what you're looking for. What I missed most was a place to just chill out in a quieter environment without music constantly blaring in the back ground. Also, it's a little far from the city centre although there are great transport links.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey There, Thanks a million for taking the time to give us some feedback about your stay, we appreciate you taking the time! We are glad overall you enjoyed your time here and found our staff to be helpful and the rooms clean, thank you for this. It is true, we are located about 30 minutes walk from Dam Square as we are by the Leidseplein square and museum square! It is true, we do not have a common area without music playing, perhaps if you were to stay again, you would prefer to stay at The Flying Pig Downtown who has a quieter chill area. Thanks again for your time, we hope you will stay with the Pigs again in the future :) - The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jun 2016
8.3

Rooms are huge, which was good but the toilets are tiny. The best part of this place was the showers, a seriously big, hot water and great shower head! The location is a little out of the centre but Amsterdam is pretty small you can jump on a tram or literally walk everywhere. Be willing to walk up a fair few stairs to get to the rooms, which I didn't find to be too bad, bit of holiday exercise. The bar and entertainment area was a little small but it did the job and had a good atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay here :) We are glad you thought our facilities were great and the rooms nice! It is true, we only have stairs here as our architecture means we cannot install an elevator. Our staff are always more than happy to help with lifting bags though :) We are currently in the process of extending our basement level which means our commmon area will be extended very soon! We hope you will come by to check it out! Thanks again for your time, we hope to welcome you back in the future, The Flying Pig Uptown

12th Jun 2016
9.1

Great hostel just outside of the city center so the location could be better but Amsterdam is small enough that it doesn't really matter. The breakfast was great and the whole place was kept very clean. The atmosphere at the bar was maybe a little more rambunctious than I would have liked but that's personal preference. Also, I thought it was a really nice gesture that the staff invited me to grab breakfast the morning I arrived, a very welcome invitation after a long night bus ride.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thanks a million for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are happy that you enjoyed your time here as well as our cleanliness standards and free breakfast :) We hope you to welcome you back again in the future! Thanks again for your time!- The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2016
9.1

It was a great place to stay with a really cool atmosphere going on every night! I found our room to lack proper ventalation as it got very hot and stuffy in it throughout the nights there. Otherwise, great area to be at!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey There, Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time! It is fantastic you enjoyed your time with us and our piggy atmosphere :) We are sorry your room was warmer than you would of liked during your stay. The windows in the room you stayed can open which means the air can circulate, we also have fans available at reception to help with circulating, we are sorry you missed this during your time here and are glad it did not affect your time too much! Thanks again for your time, we hope you will choose to stay with us again- The Flying Pig Uptown

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.