Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Flying Pig Uptown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 4945 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 4945 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Feb 2017
9.1

Went to Amsterdam on a little solo trip and chose the Uptown Flying Pig. Location is great! Bar and food prices are super cheap as well! One thing, I brought my own towels so it wasn't an issue but I would double check with staff for some reason I was under the impression the had them? Overall super great, probably staying again next time I'm in town!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Feb 2017
9.4

One of those places that really think about you. without trying to give you the best experience, just the right atmosphere to get there by yourself. Arriving to the hostel super high and confused and receiving a huge smile, I would like to receive this smile once again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we appreciate it! It is brilliant that our staff gave you a great experience! We will let the receptionist who checked you in know that her smile went a long way :) We hope to welcome you back again, Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Feb 2017
6.0

Don't really get what all the hype is about. I'm used to staying in party hostels, so it didn't really compare in terms of atmosphere. The staff was friendly-ish. The lockers suck and make a lot of noise/are annoying to use. Nothing is very nice or new such as the showers and bathrooms so considering this is the most expensive hostel I've stayed in I wasn't impressed. Still had a good time but was a bit disappointed overall.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we appreciate your feedback as we can learn a lot from your experiences here. We are sorry to see that your stay with us was not quite as expected. We are sorry you did not enjoy our piggy atmosphere. As we have a private bar, only our guests are the only people allowed in the bar, if we have guests who want to party our atmosphere will be more of a party atmosphere, however, if we have more relaxed guests, this is more likely to be our atmosphere. Unfortunately, Amsterdam is an expensive city with high operating costs, this does mean our hostel would be more expensive comparison to most European cities. It is true, we are not a new building, we are a Dutch traditional townhouse but we always aim to maintain our facilities to the highest standard, the toilet and shower in the room in which you stayed is to be renovated in the coming months. Thank you again for your time, we hope that, regardless, you enjoyed your time here in Amsterdam! We wish you all the best for your future travels, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • annalise
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Feb 2017
6.9

The pig was recommended to me by a friend who stayed there years ago - overall the place is great, cheap breakfast provided in the morning, a bar, smoking room, etc. the rooms/bathrooms were clean enough. For me though, I think I was just too old for the atmosphere. It's definitely a party hostel with a pretty young, rowdy crowd.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we can learn a lot from your experiences here so we really appreciate you taking the time. We are glad that, overall, you enjoyed your time with us as well as our free breakfast. We are sorry you did not enjoy the party atmosphere here :( We welcome guests of all ages (as long as they are over 18) here and always aim to cater for all our guests in the bar. Indeed there can be a party atmosphere here, as we have a private bar for guests only, if our guests want to party it will certainly be the atmosphere here, we are sorry this was not what you wanted during your time with us. Thank you again for your time- The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Feb 2017
7.1

The free breakfast was great. The washrooms were tiny and not always the cleanest, but I appreciate the sanitizing spray in the washrooms. There was no lounge other than the bar to eat or chill in, which sucked as the bar was often packed and too noisy. Bring a bigger padlock if you plan on using their storage lockers in the rooms as normal sized locks don't fit.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey There, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our free hostel breakfast but are sorry your stay was not exactly as expected. We are sorry the bathrooms were not always at our expected standard of cleanliness. From 8 am until midnight, we have regular checks on the bathrooms and toilets, as well as the thorough cleaning in the late morning/ early afternoon, we will bring this to the attention of our cleaning team to see what went wrong here, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to see your lock did not fit correctly, a standard size lock does fit as this is what we sell at the hostel, however, we will check your locker to make sure it is in working order. Thank you again for your time, we wish you all the best with your future travels- The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Feb 2017
8.6

The staff were very friendly and helpful! Out of all the hostels we stayed at this was the most expensive and was not the nicest and the least clean. I found it expensive for what you got. Overall, the continental breakfast was good! The bar and lounge was very nice and there was a smoking portion to allow smokers to sit down.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we can learn a lot from your experiences here so we appreciate you taking the time. We are glad that, overall you enjoyed your time here with us and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful :) We are sorry that your stay in Amsterdam was the most expensive, unfortunately, Amsterdam is an expensive city with high operating costs, meaning that in comparison to most European cities, we are more expensive. We are sorry to see our cleanliness was not at the high standard we always aim for. We will make sure to pass on your comments to our cleaning team and will look to see what went wrong during your stay with us, thank you for your constructive feedback. Thank you again for your time, we hope to welcome you back again, The Flying Pig Uptown

9th Feb 2017
8.3

Nice bar and free breakfast

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your short but sweet review! We hope to welcome you back in the future! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
8.0

Very easy stay at the hostel. Considering hostels and apartments are relatively expensive in Amsterdam, Flying Pig is probably one of the better options. Very clean as you cannot eat in the room and they have staff cleaning the rooms. Private showers and toilets are a definite pro! Location was awesome, very close to things you would want to see as a tourist and very accessible to most tram lines. Cool place to hang out downstairs, except I would really recommend a bigger smoking room, cramped!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we appreciate you taking the time! We are glad to see that you found us to be a clean, friendly, well located hostel in Amsterdam. It is true, Amsterdam is an expensive city but we are glad you felt you received good value for money :) Thank you again for your time, we hope to welcome you back again, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
8.9

Thank you for a great stay! For those who haven't stayed at the Flying Pig Uptown: the breakfast is included in the price and it is great!! You have various options for most diets, they even have soya milk to go with your cereal! :) The 4th floor though?! Yeah, it's good exercise! The pool table in the smoking area was fun, the bar was pretty chilled too! See you soon.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your review :) We really appreciate you taking the time. We are delighted you enjoyed your time here and that you will stay with us again! We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Feb 2017
6.9

REALLY overpriced and over-rated. Nice lounge to chill, but the rooms were really small and uncomfortable, the bathrooms always dirty, and everything tight and cramped. It was OK, but not worth what I payed.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we can learn a lot from your experience here, so we appreciate you taking the time. We are sorry to see that your stay with us was not quite as expected and that you felt you did not receive your value for money. Unfortunately, Amsterdam is an expensive city, with high operating costs in comparison to other European capital cities. We will take your constructive feedback on board going forward. We hope that, regardless, you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam. Thank you again for your time, The Flying Pig Uptown

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.