Hostelworld.com

Flying Pig Uptown

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 4,260 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 4,260 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7
Flying Pig Uptown Located at Vossiusstraat 46, , Amsterdam.
Flying Pig Uptown
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1071 AJ Vossiusstraat 46
89% 4260
52.3604797 4.8783588
Flying Pig Uptown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th May 2016
9.7

Loved this hostel, my only complaint is the shower; there was a short shower curtain and the ground was completely flat. Water would reach all the way to the toilet and with 8 people in the room the floor was always wet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey There! Thank you for your review, we appreciate your constructive feedback! We are delighted you enjoyed your time here with us :) We will have a look at the ensuite in the room you stayed and see if we need to replace the shower curtain, thank you for bringing this to our attention! We hope to welcome you back again in the future! Thanks again for your time, the Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2016
8.6

Great hostel. People were very friendly and the staff were knowledgable. The free breakfast in the morning was a major plus.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us! We are delighted you enjoyed your time here and enjoyed our free breakfast :) We hope to welcome you back in the future! Thanks again, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2016
9.4

Overall it was very clean, the showers were great, and breakfast was good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a million for the short but sweet review! Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future. Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2016
8.9

Great facility. Beds were comfy and linens were clean. Spacious. Free breakfast was delicious. Staff was very helpful. Bathrooms were a little tight but what can u expect! Overall a great time here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for giving us some feedback about your stay! It is great you enjoyed your time here with us and found our hostel to be a clean and friendly environment :) Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the future! Thanks again for your time, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th May 2016
8.9

Great hostel, really clean and a fantastic location. The free breakfast was the best one we've had yet! The staff were helpful and had a great atmosphere. But the stairs really suck.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thanks a million for taking the time to review your stay! We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us here. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future. Thanks again for your time, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th May 2016
6.6

Not the best hostel I've been in by a long shot, although it was a decent place to stay. There was little floor-space in the room and the city was about a 15-20 minute walk in. The whole building was quite cramped but, to be fair, that's probably characterisic of Amsterdam buildings. Probably the best place in Amsterdam to stay for the price but if I were to go again I'd pay a little more and stay somewhere else

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback about your stay, we are always looking to improve our guest experience, so your feedback is invaluable to us. We are disappointed to see your stay was not as expected, we are sorry for this. It is true, we are located 20 minutes walk from Dam square, as we are located uptown in between the museum district and Leidseplein entertainment area, which is filled with night clubs bars and restaurants. We are sorry again you were not completely happy with your stay but appreciate your feedback! We wish you all the best with your future travels, Thanks again- The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2016
8.6

Really enjoyed my stay here! Cool ambiance, friendly staff, good location - right next to Vondelpark and short walk to Leidseplein with lots of good bars and restaurants. Also quite cozy - the beds were comfortable (decent pillows) and the bathrooms on our floor were new and very clean, which was a huge plus. Negatives: No lift & steep, narrow stairs to get to rooms (up to 6 flights). Also our room got really hot with a few consecutive days of warm weather and no air-conditioning or fans.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to give us some feedback about your stay, we appreciate it you taking the time! We are happy that overall, you had an enjoyable stay and enjoyed the friendly piggy atmosphere and found us to be so clean :) It is true, we do not have an elevator, but our staff are always happy to help with lifting bags! We are sorry your room was warm, Amsterdam was going through a heat wave during your stay, meaning it was hotter than usual, the windows in the room you stay open and we do have fans available from reception for the rooms, we are sorry you missed this while staying with us. We are glad this did not affect your time with us too much :) Thank you again for your time, we do hope to welcome you back in the future- The Flying Pig Uptown

10th May 2016
9.1

I loved this hostel. Was super easy to meet people and a very hip spot. The staff was amazing always catering to your needs. Very friendly as well. Seriously a great spot. Only complaint was the shower leaked out onto the carpet in the room so it had a slight mold smell. Would absolutely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we appreciate your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your time here and found it a great spot to meet fellow travellers, we will also make sure to pass on your kind words to our staff, thank you for this :) We are sorry to hear about the shower in your room, this matter has been dealt with since your stay and should not be a problem any more, thank you for bringing this to our attention. Thank you again for your time, we hope to welcome you back again in the future - The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th May 2016
8.0

The hostel definitely had a cool vibe in a great location (beside Vondelpark, near a bug of restaurants, just off the metro). Staff were knowledgeable of the area. Do the walking tour!!! Best experience!! Only drawbacks were because the hostel is so tall and narrow, there was no elevator, meaning luggage has to be carried up anywhere from 1-4 floors and it's exhausting. Very poor air circulation in the rooms as well (we were on the 3rd floor) and everyone in the room woke up in puddles of sweat

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thank you so much for your feedback, we can learn a lot from your experiences here. We are glad overall you enjoyed your time here at the uptown and that our staff could give you some great tips for the area :) It is true, we only have stairs, unfortunately, we cannot install an elevator due to our architecture, we are always more than happy to help with carrying bags :) We are sorry the room was warmer than you would of liked during your time here. The weather was unseasonably warm in Amsterdam during your stay which can mean the rooms are warmer than usual The big window in the room you stayed can be opened and left open, we also have fans at reception which we can put into rooms to help too, we are sorry you missed this during your time here :( Thank you again for your feedback, we appreciate it. We hope to welcome you back in the future, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th May 2016
8.6

A group of four of us had a great time here, had a room of six and no roommates the first night so had the place to ourselves. The vibes from the first staff member we met was great, super nice guy that helped us out a lot (short, brown hair). Location is close to a bunch of bars, shopping and sights. The only things that were negative was that the breakfast wasn't even really a breakfast, and the ensuite in our room was kinda nasty. Besides that the place was great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us :) We will make sure to pass on your kind words to our receptionist, he'll be chuffed :) We are sorry you felt the cleanliness of your ensuite was not at the standard we always aim to upkeep. We will pass this on to our cleaning team to avoid this happening again in the future, we are glad this did not affect your time here too much! Thanks again for your time, we hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future, The Flying Pig Uptown

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.