X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
4013 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Friendly, helpful staff. Lovely little bar, good atmosphere. Only 15 minutes walk into town centre but has lots of good bars and restaurants 5 minutes away, nice safe area. Beside a lovely park. Stairs really steep, Room, toilet and shower facilities are basic, what you would expect from a hostel, but nice and clean. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • 6th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Such an awesome place. Great vibe, great value, great staff, cannot fault it.

  • 5th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The hostel was great, and I really enjoyed meeting all my fellow Amsterdam travelers. Didn't spend a ton of time physically at the hostel because I was out exploring most of the day, but it was really nice coming back to a nice environment to just chill with all the others.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us, we really appreciate you taking the time! We are happy to read you enjoyed spending evenings relaxing at the hostel and found it a good spot for meeting fellow travellers. We do hope you'll come chill with us again in the future :) Thanks again, The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

Great atmosphere, super welcoming and helpful staff and nice bar!


100%

Everything was awesome!! Showers and bathrooms were always impeccably clean, the staff was super friendly and helpful, the smoking room was super cool, we liked the bar and really appreciated the free breakfast ^_^ Thanks also for giving us a double bed to share, as a couple traveling together sleeping in the same bed is a rare treat!!


100%

REALLY GREAT STAY! The hostel is close to the square with heaps of clubs and also across the road from one of the best parks. The 24/7 smoking room lets you stay awake all night and chill without having to worry about making too much noise! beds are comfortable and showers/bathroom are really clean. defs going back!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your awesome review! We are delighted you enjoyed our uptown location and chilling in the smoking room. We can't wait to welcome you back :) Thanks again for your time, The Flying Pig Uptown

91%

thisn hostel was really good, we stayed for 4 nights and didn't have any issues with our stay. The facilities were great, very clean, staff were very friendly and it had a very friendly atmosphere in general. The location is around a 20 minute walk to the city centre, but there is a great network of trams nearby that can get you anywhere you wanna be. Would definitely recommend to friends and family

  • 2nd Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

it was an awesome stay!

  • 2nd Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
And thank you for the awesome review :D

97%

Very good place to stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the short but sweet review! We do hope you'll stay with us again :) Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

91%

Good hostel with free breakfast. The location is good, like 20-30 mins walking to the redlight but you've a lot things to see while you walk there, so its pretty good. Good wifi, and comfy beds. Bathrooms are a little tiny, but its ok. Kitchen is good and have everything you might need.


89%

Hostel is near vondelpark so it's not close to central. Other things are just fine! I would probably stay here again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for leaving us a review of your stay, we appreciate you taking the time. We are happy overall you enjoyed your time with us. It is true, we are about a 20 minute walk to Dam square, we are located beside the museum district and leidseplein entertainment area :) We do hope you decide to stay with us again so we can give you an even better experience with us! Thanks again for your time, The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

The staff was super friendly, the place always clean, I always felt safe and in good company. The only thing I have to complain is that it felt like a maze because when you enter, even though your room is in the 4th floor, you have to go downstairs first and then you had tu turn and go upstairs and then you had to go across that floor and keep on going upstairs. I'm not kidding, it's like that. But I would go there again. Thank you!

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

One of the best experiences! Everything is clean and the hostel has everything you need. The staff (especially Megan and Eduardo) were super cool and friendly! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone. Great location next to Vondelpark and the bars!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow! Thank you so much for this awesome review! We are delighted to read what a wonderful experience you had here :D We will make sure to pass on your kind words to Edu and Maigan, they'll be chuffed! We do hope to welcome you back in the future, Thanks again, The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

The staff was very helpful and kind.

  • 28th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your lovely review of our staff, we really appreciate it :) We hope you will come stay with us again, The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

This place has everything you need. I would recommend this hostel to anyone thinking about staying in Amsterdam.

  • 28th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your review and future recommendations, we really appreciate it :) Hopefully we can welcome you back too! Thanks again, The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Party hostel. Amazing atmosphere. Superb look for the common room/smoking room/bar. Excellent free buffet breakfast with hardboiled eggs, meat, cheese, cereals, fruits, toasts... Staff is so nice and helpful and laidback! I loved this place a LOT! Good job guys, keep up the good work :) My only complaint, was concerning the 14 bed rooms, where when I booked on Hostel World, I didn't find it clear that I was booking a queen-sized bed for a solo traveler... Just be careful when booking :)


94%

Thanks a lot for the lovely 3 nights stay. Friendly, clean and even decorated just enough to remember where u been.

  • 27th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for this lovely review! We really appreciate it :) We hope you will stay with us again in the future, The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

This hostel is amongst my favorite in Europe! The ambiance is amazing, the staff is simply the best, the free breakfast is delicious and varied, the rooms and bathrooms are clean (bathrooms are VERY SMALL though, but there are plenty, which is essential for a big hostel),... I loved this place a lot! Keep up the good work :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
WOW! Thank you so much for this awesome review! It is lovely to read what a great stay you had with us here, You've made our day! We do hope you will stay with us again in the future, The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Great Rooms, Great Staff, Great Location. Would definitely recommend

  • 23rd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for this great review and recommendations :D We hope to welcome you back in the future, The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

Great hostel! It has all a backpacker needs. Good atmosphere at the bar and good staff. The location is also good since it's close to many atractions in the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for reviewing your time with us! We are delighted you enjoyed our piggy team and ambiance :) We do hope you will stay with us in the future, Thanks again, The Flying Pig Uptown

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(190 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback