Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Flying Pig Uptown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 4,767 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 4,767 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
Flying Pig Uptown Located at Vossiusstraat 46, , Amsterdam.
Flying Pig Uptown
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1071 AJ Vossiusstraat 46
88% 4767
52.3603300 4.8783151
Flying Pig Uptown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Nov 2016
9.4

Never been to a hostel where they treat you like royal guests. The atmosphere, the facilities, and the staff get an A++ from me. Any problems, just WhatsApp reception, problem sorted! And the staff chill and get down with the guest, but when it's time to work, trust me they work. Would definitely come again and would definitely recommend anyone who wants to meet some good people, and enjoy the real Amsterdam.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Nov 2016
6.9

This place is ok. The best part is the kitchen and breakfast. It's a little far from everything. About a 30-40 minute walk to the center. The bar is nice and so is the staff. Got upgraded to 8 bed when booked a 12 bed dorm for free. However our toilet didn't work in our room. They come around and do checks but seemed never to fix it. And it's smelled like sewer. Really bad. They have heat in the rooms which is nice. Beds are great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we are always looking at how we can improve our guest experience so your feedback is invaluable to us. We are glad that our free breakfast, guest kitchen, comfy beds stood out at positive during your stay. We are sorry you did not fully enjoy our uptown location. We are an approx. 25 minute walk to Dam Square, as we are located beside the Leidseplein entertainment area, full of bars, restaurants and night life and the museum district. There are also regular trams that run to Dam square just around the corner. We are sorry to see the toilet in the room was not working properly, unfortunately, as our maintenance team had to wait on the delivery of a part, it was not possible to fix during the couple days you were here. This has been fixed but we are very sorry this affected your time with us. Thank you again for your time, we hope overall you had a good stay here in Amsterdam- The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Nov 2016
9.1

Perfect location. Met a lot of like minded individuals. My entire 8 room dorm hit the town together. I had a good stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time! We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and found the hostel a great place to meet people :) We hope to welcome you back again, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Nov 2016
10.0

Absolutely loved my stay here when in Amsterdam! The showers were very spacious, the toilets clean and the beds extremely comfy! The staff were wonderful and friendly too. The only qualm I have is that there was lack of seating at breakfast time, but that's understandable as the free breakfast was so good! Honestly, if you are ever in Amsterdam, definitely book this hostel. I'm missing it already!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we really appreciate it! We are chuffed to read what a great stay you had with us here and that you enjoyed our free breakfast :) We really appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back again. Thanks again, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Nov 2016
9.7

I had an amazing time at the flying pig hostel! The location was perfect and very close to the nightlife. The staff were wonderful and the atmosphere was super great. Very social and communal hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • FriedRyRy
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
21st Nov 2016
9.1

Wake and bake and have some good free breakfast with your pals. Staff are a lot of fun, bar is cheap, Vondelpark on the doorstep, beds are really comfy, lots of bathrooms, they're clean too, if maybe a little small and cumbersome. Thanks for the good times and the great hospitality! Everything smells good, although I guess that's the point. Also a hostel cat is a friendly resident! Wouldn't stay in another hostel in Amsterdam, my experience was solid.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a million for your review :) We are delighted to see you found our hostel a clean, comfy, social place to stay as well as enjoying our free breakfast! We are delighted you wouldn't stay anywhere else in Amsterdam and look forward to welcoming you back again! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

16th Nov 2016
9.4

Great hostel right next to Vondelpark and Rijksmuseum . The staff are all really chill/super helpful and also really fun. There is a smoking room connected to the bar so if that is your thing then that can be convenient but if not then the bar area is a good spot to kick it. There were always travelers hanging around so definitely a good spot for a solo traveler. Will be back here next time I am in Amsterdam.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Nov 2016
9.1

The Flying Pig Hostel was excellent. The location is perfect as it's super easy to get to and from the airport and centraal, and you're in the heart of Leidseplein. It's perfect for visiting all the museums and a great location for going out at night (the bar inside the hostel is even great for drinking before hand). Breakfasts in the morning are fantastic, and super close to get to the supermarkets if you want to cook. I have no complaints and would definitely stay again!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow! Thank you so much for your awesome review! It is brilliant to read what a great stay you had with us and that you enjoyed socialising in our bar! We are delighted you have no complaints and hope we get the chance to welcome you back again :D Thanks again for your time, The Flying Pig Uptown

13th Nov 2016
9.7

Easily the best hostel I've ever stayed at. Honestly I don't know what can be pointed out as negative. Staff are wonderful and obviously they are enjoying their jobs, atmosphere is great, crowd is great. It is also a very clean hostel, the staff take their job serious. If there's a bed available, just book it now. Will definitely stay again my next time in Amsterdam.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so so much for your review, we really appreciate you taking the time to review your stay! We are absolutely chuffed that we are the best hostel you've stayed at, your review has made our day :D We are delighted you will stay again and look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Nov 2016
10.0

Fantastic location right next to the Van Gogh museum and within walking distance of most of central Amsterdam. Friendly staff, clean rooms and a great bar to pre drink at or relax in the afternoon. The included breakfast is a major plus with fresh bread and jams, juice and coffee. Would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review :D It's brilliant our staff, cleanliness, atmosphere and breakfast stood out as such positives during your time with us! We are glad you would stay again and hope we can welcome you back in the future! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.