X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
3294 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

The beds were clean, comfortable and there was a good place to put our stuff, but the bedroom was cold (it was January). The bathroom was clean, the staff was helpful and there was a smoking area, which is a plus. But the lack of female only bedrooms is a big NO. I had a strange boy trying to get into my bed in the middle of the night and it was awful. Girls need female only bedrooms to feel safer.


77%

Amazing staff, cool bar, big rooms, could use a few more toilets. You can walk everywhere from there if you don't mind walking for half an hour or so which we didn't. Besides having noisy irritating people in our room we had a great stay. The breakfast was also awesome!


94%

Have stayed here so many times. First time in 2007 and then again in 2013 and now in 2015. Have brought a lot of friends here and they all love it. The staff is wonderful and area is amazing. Best hostel in Amsterdam hands down.


86%

Great atmosphere and good location. The room was a bit small, so it smelled a bit. But it was clean, and the staff is really nice. Would most likely go back, if we go to amsterdam again. The hostel has a great "amsterdam-wibe". Thanks for a great stay!

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Actually i didnt liked this hostel, the only good thing is the location.

  • 14th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

This place is cool, be carful though the cleaners in the mornings steal stuff if you leave it out.‪ I got in an argument with a fellow backpacker when the cleaner stole his stash of weed in the morning while changing bed sheets. Watch the guys who do it and leave your stuff in bags/lockers

  • 13th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

This place was pretty good! Just what you need in a hostel. Only problem was that there was no escaping the smell of weed - even up to the 4th floor and the toilets are too close to the door. Apart from that great place, breaky was good, always heaps of people around, beds were comfy, showers were clean. I recommend


97%

Great hostel, little bit of a walk to red light district. If you want to stay in the heart stay at the downtown flying pig


86%

You can find all, funny And good place!!! It was really good!!


100%

Wonderful!!! Very kind people, great position, not too noisy...great place to be!!!

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

This place is a 35 minute walk from Amsterdam central station. One toilet and shower for each level (about 30 beds). Breakfast was standard stuff. Good for people who just want to chill and smoke rather than see the city.


74%

It could be better. Room is small, and stairs is too narrow. I didn't like smoking room. Many people smoke maruana and all hostel smoke . But all staff are helpfull and friendly. Location is very well.


77%

The Beds are suffciently big and comfortable. The overall cleanliness and Hygiene of the place exceeded my somewhat low expectations. The linnen was near spotless and the showers were nice and clean with a steady supply of hot water. The wi-fi worked just fine, even inside the rooms on the top most floor. the Breakfast spread was pretty varied and most items seemed frseh and more than platable.The fact that it is complimentary is a big bonus in my book.

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Staff were very friendly and helpful with buses and directions. The stairs are a massive menace if you are staying in the 10 dorm rooms but you definitely develop some biceps. Breakfast is a great bonus. Great atmosphere!

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

stay at the hostel was excellent, maybe you shoud lower some of the prices at the bar, or get more ventilation in the smoking room. The rest was great, staff was super helpful


89%

Highly recommended. Had a great time. Great atmosphere in the bar, very helpful staff and great breakfast. Would definitely stay again


91%

Great hostel, fun bar on site, clean beds. Super quick and easy walk to the center an a square with any necessary amenities just a couple minutes away, so no need to use the expensive public transport. Just far enough off the main street that it's nice and quiet for when you finally need some sleep. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, always willing to answer any questions we had. A bit expensive but I think everything is in Amsterdam. Overall had a great time. Loved the art :p

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

the location was good,it is really close the bars area and museums.staff was also good,really friendly and helpful.our room was a little cold, but when we told this to staff, they immediately turned on heating.so i totally recommend!

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

A bit of a walk from most of the city. But I thought it was nice not being right in the middle of the riffraff that is Amsterdam during NYE. Very cool layout of the hostel. The staff were all super friendly and outgoing. Bar and smoke room were nice as well. A bit pricey but we were there during the week of New Years- but I thought it was definitely worth the money I paid. Looking forward to a future stay at the flying pig uptown for sure


77%

This hostel was pretty cool. It was clearly a party hostel. I didn't really like the bar/smoke room lounge. For me personally it wasn't the most conducive to meeting people because I'm not one to make friends in a bar, but for many that won't be an issue.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(123 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback