Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Flying Pig Uptown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 4,514 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 4,514 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
Flying Pig Uptown Located at Vossiusstraat 46, , Amsterdam.
Flying Pig Uptown
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1071 AJ Vossiusstraat 46
88% 4514
52.3604797 4.8783588
Flying Pig Uptown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Aug 2016
8.0

A nice hostel located just outside Vondelpark. Make sure to bring a lock as roller cages beneath the bed make it a necessity. Smoking area is under construction so a bit smaller than usual, and while people were generally friendly there wasn't a massive cohesive hostel atmosphere. overall not a bad spot though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Aug 2016
8.3

Staff are really friendly, location is good and the free breakfast was nice. Not as social as I would of thought, people just tend to stay in there own groups but isn't much the hostel can do about it

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
21st Aug 2016
8.0

Well located on Vondel Park (which is an absolute must on a nice day!) and one easy tram from Central Train station. The hostel is extremely clean and tidy with good security for your valuables. The bathrooms and showers are great. The only thing I would point out is that the only common areas are a smoking room and the bar so if that's not your thing you may find there is a lack of spaces to hang out with fellow travelers. Overall, highly recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Aug 2016
8.0

Too many stairs!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2016
8.6

Overall i'd have no reservations recommending the Flying Pig Uptown to any younger travelers. The staff is friendly and helpful although they forgot to clean our room several times. The vibe is not as social as some hostels in that while there are a lot of people about, a lot are very high so its a slightly different atmosphere. Met a ton of awesome people though and the location can't be beat

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Aug 2016
9.7

One of the best hostels I've stayed in! We stayed in a private that had everything we needed. The only thing that i think would make it fully complete is an elevator because 6 flights of stairs isn't fun hahaha. Quite a good work out though!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
18th Aug 2016
10.0

Loved the place so much we went back three times and chilled there whenever possible. Honestly have no idea how this place isn't rated a flat ten. Chilled staff, awesome atmosphere, well priced for amsterdam and in a much nicer area than most.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your awesome review! We really appreciate your feedback! We're delighted you had such a great stay and that our staff and atmosphere had such a great impact! Hopefully we can welcome you back for a fourth time!! :) Thanks again for your time, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2016
9.7

Great hostel! The hostel to be in amsterdam

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

What an awesome compliment! Thank you so much for this ! We hope to welcome you back again in the future, The Flying Pig Uptown

17th Aug 2016
9.1

Stayed here twice. Great place to meet people downstairs. Friendly staff. The rooms were clean enough. Only thing is you have to trek up the stairs. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us :D We are happy you found our staff to be friendly and the hostel clean/ a great place to meet people! Unfortunately, due to our buildings architecture, we cannot install an elevator but our team are always happy to assist in carrying bags! We are glad this did not affect your stay too much! We do hope you stay again so we can welcome you back in the future :) Thanks again for your time! The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Aug 2016
10.0

We had a wonderful time at this hostel. The bar allows you to easily meet new people. It's in a perfect location for getting around. The large lockers under the beds are perfect for storage (bring a lock). It was such a good hostel that, after booking for one night, I pretty much immediately re-booked.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

WOW! Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are over the moon to see what a great stay you had here and that you found our hostel a great place to meet people! :) We are delighted you stayed with us longer than planned, what a compliment! Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the future, thanks again for your time, The Flying Pig Uptown

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.