Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Flying Pig Uptown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 4,607 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 4,607 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
Flying Pig Uptown Located at Vossiusstraat 46, , Amsterdam.
Flying Pig Uptown
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1071 AJ Vossiusstraat 46
88% 4607
52.3603300 4.8783151
Flying Pig Uptown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
24th Sep 2016
9.7

Really awesome hostel close to everything with friendly staff and great facilities. Only reason it isn't a full 10 is could do with an outside chill area in the back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Sep 2016
9.1

A nice place to stay not too far away from downtown.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Sep 2016
8.6

Great hostel with a lively atmosphere. Staff and people were very friendly! Nice location near Vondelpark and just a short walk from downtown. Bar and smoking area were great for socializing. Only issue I would say is the storage lockers under the bunks in the rooms - if you don't know the person on the bottom bunk then it can be a bit of a nightmare getting your locker out without disturbing them!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey There, Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to give us some feedback about your stay! It is brilliant that overall you enjoyed your time with us here and that you found the hostel to be a friendly, lively hostel with friendly staff, thank you for that :) Thank you for your constructive feedback about our lockers, we will take this into account going forward! Hopefully we can welcome you back again, thank you for your time! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

21st Sep 2016
9.4

Great location! Easy walk to city center, The Van Gogh Museum and of course the canals. Vondel Park is right around the corner and worth a wander. I'd stay here every time even with hauling my backpack up and down the stairs 😄 The staff are especially great! Every single one I spoke with! Great beer selection too 🍻

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your review! We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and that our staff stood out as especially great :D we will make sure to let them team know! We hope you will choose to stay with us again! Thanks again for your review, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2016
8.9

Location was great! Easy to meet people and very clean!! Plenty of toilets and showers and a nice kitchen for guests to use.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a million for your review :) Hopefully we can welcome you back again! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Sep 2016
7.7

Location was a bit far from the downtown area, the building was very tall and narrow which is difficult to walk up with big bags (no lift). Staff were friendly, rooms were excellent and the showers/toilets were good. Nice bar and smoking area downstairs. Would recommend staying if you get a good price!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time! We are glad to see that overall, you enjoyed your time with us here and that you found us to be a clean, friendly hostel. It is true, we do not have a lift here this is due to our traditional Dutch architecture, our team are always happy to help with lifting bags though! Thank you again for your time, we hope to welcome you back again, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2016
7.1

Beds were comfy and clean. Bathrooms were fine. Expect stairs. Free breakfast was decent enough to fuel up for the day! Enjoyed my stay but it was a shame that there's only the bar or the smoking room to meet other guests. Meant that I ended up drinking every night of my stay haha. Be warned there's nowhere quiet and chilled out to sit with a guidebook/ cuppa in the eve. I got picked up by a rep for pub crawls and walking tours which I would definitely recommend doing!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There, Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback! We are glad that you found our hostel to be a clean, comfortable stay and that you enjoyed our free breakfast here too! It is true, our common areas of the hostel consist of our bar/lounge and smoking room. While it would be quieter during the day, our bar can be busy and bustling downstairs. Thank you again for your review, we hope to welcome you back again, The Flying Pig Uptown

18th Sep 2016
9.4

My boyfriend and I were backpacking through europe when we stayed at the flying pig uptown. It was our favorite spot. The front desk was more than helpful, there's a smoking room downstairs. The rooms were spacious and plenty of enough storage for your stuff. The showers were hot and had great water pressure. The kitchen was small but had everything we needed. The only bad thing was it was kinda far from the things we wanted to see. But we just took buses. Would definitely stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey There, Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate you taking the time! Wow, to say we were your favourite hostel while backpacking is a HUGE compliment, thanks a million, we are chuffed :D We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

17th Sep 2016
10.0

Awesome place, clean, well located and good price. Total recomend it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

WOW! Thank you so much for the awesome review and recommendation :D We hope to welcome you back again, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
15th Sep 2016
9.7

Great hostel, would definitely recommend. We stayed in the newly refurbished dorm And it was fab with personal socket with adaptor and reading light. Shower is AMAZING! The free breakfast was great! Friendly atmosphere. Great staff. Excellent location. Free walking tour is a huge plus! Cool bar onsite. Very clean. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

WOW! Thanks a million for your awesome review :D We are happy you liked our new refurbished room and our facilities in them, as well as our free breakfast! Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the future! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.