X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
3497 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

I'd highly recommend this hostel! The room was really clean and cleaned daily, the beds were SO comfortable we didn't want to leave them and having a bathroom inside the room made all the difference. The location is really good, right by Vondelpark and a short walk from the tram stops that went straight to the town centre. Our only criticism was the lack of mirrors in the dorm room! Oh and drinks in the hostel bar are super cheap and REALLY nice. I'd recommend 'Tropical Haze'.

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving this great review! We are very happy to see you had such a great time with us. We will pass on your kind words to our staff too, they will love to read this! :) Thanks again and hopefully we will see you again soon! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

71%

Probably the perfect hostel if you're into the Amsterdam drug scene, as it has its own smoking room (ventilation is good, but you will smell weed every now and then regardless) and seems to attract predominantly similar minded clientele. Rooms are good, with lockers (more like racks that you can lock) under the beds. Lots of toilets and showers. Location is right next to the Van Gogh Museum. Depending on your inclinations, it could be either the perfect hostel or it could be a drag.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for leaving a review of your stay! We are glad you enjoyed it :) We do have a smoking room where people can smoke weed. But we are not all about that! We also have a cosy bar where our guests like to socialize and have a drink :) Thanks again! We hope to see you again if you come back to Amsterdam! Cheers The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are so happy to see this review! Thank you very much :) Our staff will be very happy to read this too! Hopefully we will see you again if you come back to Amsterdam. Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

Great location. Good security. Clean. Comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving this great review of your stay :) Makes us very happy to read this! We hope to see you again soon. Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

The staff could not be nicer and more helpful! Great place if you're looking for a good time and a great location. Was not too loud at night at all, but I did not stay there over a weekend. Definitely recommend it for any solo or young travelers

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for your great feedback! We really appreciate it! We will pass on your kind words to our staff too, they will love to hear this! We hope to see you again next time you are in Amsterdam :) Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

Flying Pig was good, more of a party hostel than I was hoping for, but no complaints, it was good for a bed to sleep in in a spacious 10 person dorm room and breakfast in the morning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for leaving such a nice review! It makes us very happy to see you had a great time with us. Hopefully we will see you again one day :0 Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

91%

If you are solo traveling and want to meet people, this is the place. I should have stayed longer and I plan to be back one day!! Great breakfast offered, comfy enough beds, clean bathrooms (although small) and nice showers (if you find the rain shower one!). Beware as there are lots of stairs if you're on the upper floors. Party atmosphere every night! Kitchen was good but small and crowded at times. Lovely place to stay for a few nights!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a great review!! :) We are very happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Whenever you come back to Amsterdam, we hope you consider to stay with us again! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

Great hostel, very helpful staff and great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for your nice review! We are very happy to read this and we will pass on your kind words to our staff. They will love to hear this :) We hope to see you again next time you are in Amsterdam! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

80%

This was one of the better hostels I stayed at but I felt it was way too overpriced for a hostel. On the weekends the price of dorms almost triple in price. Also you have to pay to store your luggage which is a bummer since most places store your luggage for free.


74%

This hostel should really think about introducing female only dorms, I felt really unsafe here, particularly because of the amount of drunk people around during the day.

  • 9th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the effort to review your stay! We are very sorry your stay with us was not as expected and you did not feel safe staying with us. We would like you to know that we do take this very serious as we think safety and security is one of the most important things! We are considering creating a female dorm, because we would like all our guests to feel safe with us and have a good time! Thank you very much for letting us know about this! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

Great place, but the 8 bed dorm didn't have nearly enough floor space for 8 people.

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are happy to see you had a good time with us and hopefully we will see you again soon! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

The hostel location could not have been better!! Right across from vondelpark and a stones throw away from pedestrian only streets with shops and restaurants. The staff were super friendly and helpful and always cleaning! I will definitely return to the flying pig uptown!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving such a nice review! We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again when you are back in Amsterdam :) Safe travels! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

I had a great time at this hostel! The staff we're so friendly and most people who stayed there we're the same Everyone there really likes to party a lot

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this great review! We are very happy you had a good time with us :) We will pass your kind words on to our staff as well. Thanks again! Hopefully we will see you back next time you are in Amsterdam! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

57%

Great mattresses, good breakfast, next to Vondelpark and walking distance to main city. Very pricy. Little head space for the bottom bed. Uses metal lockers that are underneath the beds, which are ok in their own right, but the design is such that if your locker is positioned right below the ladder, it won't stay open by itself which is bad. No powerpoints nor light on my bed is a huge negative. Informed the staff but they didn't do anything about it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there,Thank you very much for leaving this review! We really appreciate it, we can learn a lot from it. Thanks for letting us know about the locker under your bed, we will take a look if there is a way to improve this! We are sorry that there was no light and plug beside your bed. The majority of our beds to have a plug and light, but with some beds this is technically not possible. We will ask the maintenance team to check if there is another solution. Thanks for mentioning this! Cheers

74%

Comfortable beds although the room was quite small. The toilets were always dirty and the shower room was usually dirty and was tiny. Otherwise the location is excellent. We enjoyed our time here.

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving a review of your stay! We really appreciate it :) It's great to hear you enjoyed your time with us! We are sorry you didn't find the toilets and showers as clean as expected. We do clean all toilets and showers multiple times a day/night. If you do find a dirty one, you can always let our staff know who is 24 hours there to help out! Thanks for mentioning it though! Hopefully we will see you again soon :) Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

I only stayed there for a night, but the hostel seemed pretty good! Everything was as advertised, and there was a free breakfast in the morning. The whole hostel seemed pretty clean, and I felt safe while I was there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving such a nice review :) We really appreciate it and we are very happy to see you had a great time with us. We hope to see you again next time you are in Amsterdam! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

Thank you guys for everything. You guys made me feel like home, but with a special cannabis smoking area =)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, That is great to hear, thank you so much!! We really appreciate you took the time to fill this out and we are very happy you had such a good time with us. We hope to see you again soon! :) Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Had a great time here, location was great and the staff was very helpful.

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Awesome place, everybody is so cool... Highly recommended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for leaving this great review! It's very nice to read you enjoyed your stay with us :) Thanks again for your time and hopefully we will see you again one day! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

Cool hostel with a great bar and smoking area that are good for meeting people or just chilling out. Bathrooms are a little small and its a long climb to the top floor but overall a very good hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. We really appreciate it! We are very happy you had a good time staying with us :) Hopefully we will see you again one day! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(128 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback