Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Flying Pig Uptown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 4,863 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 4,863 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
Flying Pig Uptown Located at Vossiusstraat 46, , Amsterdam.
Flying Pig Uptown
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1071 AJ Vossiusstraat 46
88% 4863
52.3603300 4.8783151
Flying Pig Uptown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Jan 2017
8.0

Great location in a charming building. Staff very helpful and positive. Free breakfast was a nice touch. The showers had this typical hostel-shower smell (more on the unpleasant side) and the toilet paper was very low quality. There's a smoking room and a bar area where you can hang out, there's a few board games available, but I think that space was just a teeny bit too small: it was hard to find a seat for breakfast at peak times! But all in all, the Flying Pig was nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Jan 2017
9.1

I have stayed at Downtown and Beach Flying pig, wanted to give the Uptown one a try and LOVED it. Awesome location right near the parks and museum areas. I liked it because when I stayed in Downtown I didn't venture over to that side of town as much. At Uptown we could make that our central starting point but still make it down to red light district and other downtown adventuring with a short walk. Plenty of CoffeeShops within a 5 min walk and it's only about a 30-40 min walk from Ams Centra

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jan 2017
9.4

Needs to have sinks either in the dorms rooms or the hallways near the hairdryers...no where to brush your teeth except for the dirty communal toilets! Otherwise a wonderful experience! I loved staying here :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jan 2017
8.0

The breakfast is really good, but it's a little dirty in general.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we appreciate your feedback! We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed our free breakfast. We are sorry to see that your experience of our cleanliness was not at the standard we always aim for, we will contact you personally to find out a bit more about this. Thank you again for your time, we hope to welcome you back again- The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2017
4.6

Extremely over priced for what it is especially the private rooms. Our private room for three nights was around £300 and it was tiny, cold and located right next to two shared bathrooms so it was extremely noisy with people going in & out constantly banging the door. I would not recommend this place for those wanting private rooms.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Jan 2017
9.7

Great hostel! loved the breakfast in the mornings (which ran until 11!), always a great atmosphere in the bar and great range of drinks. Wifi always worked and fab location if you dont mind a 20 minute walk into the centre of Amsterdam! Thanks a lot!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a million for your review, we appreciate you taking the time! We are delighted to read about your stay here and that you enjoyed our piggy atmosphere :) We hope to welcome you back again! Thank you for your time, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2017
10.0

This was my 2nd time staying at this hostel and i was just as impressed as the first time. staff were friendly and enthusiastic, The hostel was clean and maintained plus breakfast was included! would definitely recommend!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a million for your review! We are delighted to see you enjoyed your second time here with us and that our staff, free breakfast and cleanliness stood out as such positives during your stay :D We hope to welcome you back a third time!! Thanks again for your time, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
9.7

Awesome hostel! Great location right next to Vondelpark, and an easy walk to the major tourist sites. Nice chilled out atmosphere, and the smoke room was great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
10.0

Can't fault this hostel, especially the location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your awesome review! You have made our day with this review, we are chuffed :) We hope to welcome you back again! Thanks again for your time, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
8.9

Pretty good hostel and their FREE breakfast is amazing!! Staff are friendly too. Minor complaint is that you need to pay to use the locker, and laundry is 15min walk away. Hostel felt a little cramped but for the price it's reasonable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey There, Thank you for your review! We are glad to see that overall, you had a great stay with us and that you really enjoyed our free breakfast :) It is true, we do have coin operated electronic lockers for luggage storage after check out, the lockers at .40 cents an hour and 2 euro for 24 hours. We are sorry you did not like our locker system, we have found the lockers to be the most secure storage system for our guests without any risk of the luggage being damaged by other bags. Thank you again for your time, we hope to welcome you back again! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.