X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
3138 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

The staff were really friendly and welcoming, although very busy. The bar downstairs made for a good social environment however drinks were relatively expensive still. Relaxed and enjoyable place. Would definently stay there again and recommend it to others.


100%

Amazing staff. Serving noodles in the middle of the night after the hostel bar had already closed was a highlight in good service!


80%

Lacks a place to hang out that's not the smoking room or the bar. Other than that it's a very nice hostel.


100%

Really solid hostel. Helpful staff, clean place, cool place to hang.


89%

Great hostel! Walking distance to main centre. Good free breakfast and wifi. Kitchen is a wee bit small but at least there is one :) nice social area and smoking room for hanging out and meeting people.

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

No bed hostel

  • 6th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great atmosphere, staff very helpful, the beds were very comfortable and had a great kitchen. Only annoying thing was the amount of stairs we had to go up to get to our room. Good location, not too far from everything.

  • 5th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

We stay in a 4 bed room in the first floor. At the beginning I thought we would hear all the sounds and music in the bar but quitethe contrary as it was well isolated. The bathroom in our roomwas pretty clean as well as the bedroom itself. The only problem was that you couldn't open the windows and the ventilation was through the air conditioned machine. The breakfast was also quite complete and the staff really nice.


80%

This hostel had a great vibe, great staff and a kitchen! (Proved hard to fibd kitchens in amsterdam hostels) The location is nice, out of the red light district, and right on vondelpark. No lockers in the rooms which was unfortunate, and the showers and bathrooms in the hall were waay too tiny. But amsterdam is quite cramped. Breakfast was basic but good, the bar was nice, the place seems to attract outgoing friendly people. Cool place :)


100%

I really loved this hostel and I actually feel bad we didn't spend more time here. Everything was spot-clean, the staff was incredibly friendly and packed with info. Many people have told me that it is a challenge to find a good and not-to-expensive hostel in Amsterdam, but the Flying Pig fulfills everything you could hope for. I would recommend it to everyone, it's truly great.


97%

This place was awesome, by far one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in! Pumping atmosphere and good company!


83%

Super nice staff, and the cleanest I`ve ever been. There`s a lot of stairs, and breakfast can get really crowded, but the superb music selection at the bar compensates everything!


83%

Needs more chill out space that isn't a bad, but a great hostel never the less, well worth it


80%

Having stayed at the downtown hostel during previous stays in Amsterdam I decided to try this location. For a cheaper price you are in a much nicer location - completely accessible by train and walking. While it's nice to have a smoking area , way too many people were super wasted / stoned / high for me to carry out normal conversations with almost anyone. Free breakfast was really good but overly crowded!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. As we run a late finishing breakfast (until 11) it tends to get considerably busier during the last hour. Because of this we recommend guests come down to eat earlier if they prefer a quieter breakfast. We hope you stay with us again. - The Flying Pig Uptown

71%

Great party hostel if that’s what you’re into, harder if you’re trying to explore the city. The staff was helpful with another guest sleeping in our bed. The kitchen was rarely accessible. We were in a 14 person dorm, but there was only one toilet and 2 showers on our floor.


94%

Pretty much all you'll ever need in a hostel. Great environment, good rooms, right next to Vondelpark.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for the great review. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay! - The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

Great beds and rooms, friendly staff and lively bar. The breakfast is awesome and position great as well. I would definitely stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your review, we will look forward to your next visit! - The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

So much fun

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad you enjoyed it! Come back soon. - The Flying Pig Uptown

91%

Staff was so helpful and very friendly. The rooms were air conditioned and although the bathrooms were small, they were clean! I loved the location and was only about a 20 min walk to downtown. The bar was lively and a great way to meet fellow travelers.


89%

Hostel staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Hostel is sandwiched between the musuem quarter and Leidesplein shopping area of Amsterdam. About 5-10 minutes walk to either, and to the nearest tram station. The hostel's bar had a great, friendly atmosphere, and a wide drink selection. Toilets and showers were tight fits, due to the available space in hostel, but still manageable. The bunk beds were quite noisy due to squeeky metal frames, but were in good condition.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback, we'll fix those squeaky bed frames! - The Flying Pig Uptown

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(132 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback