X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
3575 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Best hostel in Amsterdam. Will only stay at flying pigs in the future


66%

This wasn't a bad hostel- just be aware of the atmosphere you're walking into. It's definitely a party hostel and if you're in one of the bigger rooms (we were in a 12 person room) it will be difficult to sleep unless you pass out after a long night. It's very secure- there's big cages under the bed you can fit a large suitcase/backpack in and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. The bar area makes it really easy to meet people and the smoking room is a unique feature. Have fun!


100%

Great place right by the park


97%

Great vibes all round

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very friendly staff who were willing to help with whatever. Rooms were clean and tidy and beds very comfy. Overall a good atmosphere in the hostel as well.

  • 18th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for your great feedback :) It's so nice to read you enjoyed yourself staying with us! Hopefully we wil see you again one day. Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

Good facilities (shower and bathroom, though incredibly tiny especially for a tall person like myself). Lots of people from the UK, US, and Aussies here but otherwise a cool mix. Bar and smoke room downstairs were very accessible. Long walk from the train station however (approx 30 mins from Centraal). Otherwise a good hostel, friendly and helpful staff and lots of connections to things going on in the area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for leaving a review of your stay! We are very happy to see you had such a good time with us ;) If you ever come back to Amsterdam, we hope to see you again! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

Close to museums and a nice part of time. Friendly staff and smoking room and bar on first floor

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We really appreciate it you took the time to write this review of your stay with us. Thank you so much for your kind words! Hopefully we will see you back one day :) Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

71%

It is way to tiny and claustrophobic.You can get better hostels in that price range

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for leaving a review of your stay. We are sad to see though, your stay with us was not as expected! We would love to find out more about your experience with us. We will contact your personally about this! Thanks again for your time. Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

86%

Thank you so much for going above and beyond for me. The staff were so helpful and approachable. Our room was clean and had a great layout giving everyone their space. Although you're not in the middle of the downtown area, the hostel is near a park and the Van Gogh museum which is a huge plus. Thanks for such a wonderful experience.

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI there, We are so happy to read this! Awesome :) Thanks a lot! We will make sure to pass on your kind words to our staff as well, they will love to see this! Thanks again and we hope to see you again! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

The flying pig is a fun hostel staff are very friendly and work hard to ensure everyone has an enjoyable experience. We are old travellers and felt welcome!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, This is great to hear! Thank you so much :) We will make sure to pass on your kind words to our staff as well, they would love to hear this! Thanks again and hopefully we will see you back one day! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

We stayed in a double dorm - super cramped with barely any space to put our bags. Showers could be better - no room to put your stuff which is really annoying. Staff were great though and the hostel overall has a cool vibe, and the bar is good too. Boiled eggs at breakfast is a big winner in my books too! Always good to have something more substantial than toast and cereal.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for leaving a review of your stay, we really appreciate this. We are very happy to see you like our staff, the bar and the breakfast! Thanks! Under each bed there are big lockers to leave your luggage, we are sorry to hear this wasn't enough space! We will look into how we can improve the showers. Thanks for mentioning this! Thanks again for your time. Safe travels! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

91%

Great place for young people looking to have a good time in Amsterdam. In walking distance from basically everything. They have a smoking room so the whol place smells like weed, always.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving this nice review of your stay! We really appreciate it you took the time to fill this out. Hopefully we will see you again if you come back to Amsterdam one day! :) Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

We really enjoyed our two nights here. It felt very safe but at the same time nice and relaxed with a good atmosphere. The bar was a great place to meet people with very reasonably priced drinks. The breakfast was also decent - except for the sad lack of decent coffee I was very surprised that we got duvets rather than just a blanket and the beds were very comfortable

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving this great review! We are very happy to read you enjoyed yourself so much with us. Thanks for your comment about the coffee, we will look into this to see what what we can improve. Thanks again for your time! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Great smoking area that really brings people together!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Wow what a good rating of your stay with us! We are so happy to read this, thanks a lot :) We are very happy you liked our smoking room, we do too! Thanks again and hopefully we will see you again one day. Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

It was very fun and an amazing breakfast and bar downstairs!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We really appreciate this nice review! Thank you so much for taking the effort. We are very happy to see you had such a good time with us and we hope to see you again if you come back to Amsterdam! :) Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

91%

We had the most amazing time staying at the flying Pig and would highly recommend to anyone wanting to meet cool people in Amsterdam. Would love it if they could open the outdoor area for a chill out zone and make the smoking room more comfortable like the downtown Flying pig.

  • 9th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving such a nice review of your stay with us :) We are very happy you had a good time here! We wish we could have a bigger chill out room too! Hopefully one day.. :) Thanks again for your time! And we hope to see you again in the future! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

I love this location, especially the staff and the vibes. I wouldn't have stayed anywhere else after visiting other hostels in the area. Seriously the staff makes it, they are all the nicest and chillest ❤️❤️❤️

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Wow! Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so happy to hear this and we will pass this on to our staff. They would love to see this too! Thanks again and hopefully we will see you again whenever you are back in Amsterdam ;) Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

49%

Be careful when booking with another person. My friend and I booked two beds together, but they ended up putting us in one bed to share for the five nights. When I went back to reception and asked what was going on, they explained that that bunk is a queen bed and is for two people. This bed was no bigger than a king single. The room was smaller than your average car, was supposed to sleep 8 people and smelled so bad of body odour, alcohol and weed. we ended up cancelling and booking elsewhere.

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for leaving a review of your stay. We really appreciate it! We are sorry to hear you didn't know you booked a queen size bed for you two together and ended up cancelling your reservation! :( We have single and queen size beds in our dorms. A queen size is a good option if you don't mind sharing a bed and they are a bit cheaper too. We are very sorry for the confusion! Thanks again for your time! Cheers The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

Staff were so friendly and helpful, I had some issues with people in my room and they handled it so professionally and moved me into a different (and nicer) room. Was really impressed!

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving this great review! We are very happy to see you had such a good time with us and you found our staff friendly and helpful. We really appreciate this and we will pass on your nice words to our staff. They would love to hear this :) Thanks again! Hopefully we will see you again if you visit Amsterdam another time. Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

Great place to stay at, if you don't want to be that far away from the action. But I would definitely stay again. You meet so many nice people. Plus being right outside of Vondel Park makes it worth it. Only about a 20 min walk to all the main action at the Red Light, and trust me you will want to walk it. You'll know exactly where you are, and be completely lost in the atmosphere of Amsterdam.

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are so happy to read this great review of your stay with us. Thanks a lot! It's great to see you liked our location so much. We cannot agree more ;) Thanks again for your time! Hopefully we will see you again one day :) Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(142 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback