Hostelworld.com

Flying Pig Uptown

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 4,170 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 4,170 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
Flying Pig Uptown Located at Vossiusstraat 46, , Amsterdam.
Flying Pig Uptown
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1071 AJ Vossiusstraat 46
89% 4170
52.3604797 4.8783588
Flying Pig Uptown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Apr 2016
8.3

I really enjoyed my stay in this hostel - It was a very fun scene and I easily made friends as a solo traveler and went out and enjoyed Amsterdam from here. Note the hostel will at all hours of the day smell like weed, but it is Amsterdam so this wasn't surprising. The accommodations were standard for a big hostel. My only complaint is the cost - this was by far the most I paid for a hostel among 10 different European cities (London, Paris, and Rome included). Timing may have been bad?

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey There! Thank you so much for your feedback! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us here and enjoyed our piggy atmosphere :) We are sorry our pricing seemed high in comparison to other cities, unfortunately, Amsterdam is an expensive city, meaning hostels can also be expensive. The time you arrived is around the most popular day of the year in The Netherlands, Kings day! Our pricing is comparable with most hostels here in Amsterdam. We are glad this did not affect your time here too much! Thank you again for your time, we hope to welcome you back in the future- The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
8.9

We had a great time here couldn't friendlier or informative. Great atmosphere of a back packers hostel, food wasn't what good though even for what you pay for but you can cook your own so that made up for it. A bitch of a walk on the street down to the hostel I'd recommend through the park and back over good location away from tourist traps and 7 euro pints, great hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us here and our piggy atmosphere :) We hope to welcome you back in the future! Thanks again, The Flying Pig Uptown

21st Apr 2016
9.1

Great location- right across from Vondelpark and Leidseplein. The staff is nice and helpful at check-in- gave maps and offered advice if needed. The stairs were the only negative- the stairs to get to reception were unexpected and killer! They were nice enough to offer assistance with my bag to my room which was very appreciated. The room itself was minimal- I had a 4 person in suite room. They had a light for each bed which was nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you so much for your review! We are glad that, overall, you enjoyed your time with us here, enjoyed our location and found our staff friendly and helpful! Due to our traditional architecture, we cannot install an elevator, we are sorry for any inconvenience but we are glad our piggy team could help with carrying your bags, we are always happy to help :) Thanks a million for your time, we do hope to welcome you back in the future, The Flying Pig Uptown

20th Apr 2016
8.6

This Hostel has a fun atmosphere, great bar and even a smoking room. It's the less central of the 2 flying pigs, so the location is obviously a bit out of the way, but it's directly in front of the vondelpark, which is amazing. My only true complaint is... the beds were INSANELY squeeky. I've stayed in many hostels, so I know what to expect, but there are tons of new hostels with wooden bed-frames that are nice and silent. If you're a light/restless sleeper, just bring plugs!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We appreciate your feedback. We are glad that, overall, you enjoyed your time here with us and our piggy atmosphere :) We are sorry your bed was squeaky, we will ask our maintenance team to fix this! Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to welcome you back in the future, Thanks again- The Flying Pig Uptown

20th Apr 2016
6.9

Large hostel in a great area right on awesome park and minutes from attractions. Staff is friendly and helpful and serve a light breakfast every morning. Rooms are quite tight and very loud during all hours of the day and night. Plenty of hot water.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback about your stay, we appreciate you taking the time. We are sorry you found the rooms to be louder than you expected, we do offer free ear plugs at reception which are available 24/7 for all our guests, we are sorry you missed this while here :( Thank you again for your feedback, we do hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future- The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
10.0

Wonderful Hostel! Can't say a bad word about it, stayed a few nights in a row and it lives up to expectations. Only downside of this place is how popular it is but everyone is friendly :) Great staff too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a million for your review! It is fantastic to read about your stay here with us :) We hope you will stay with us again in the future! Thanks again, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • joelhaney1381
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2016
9.1

I'd recommend this hostel to anyone, it's everything you could ask for in hostel all at a great price!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your feedback and recommendations :D We hope you will choose to stay with us again! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2016
8.3

I stayed here to celebrate my 21st and rented a 4 bedroom form with 3 of my friends. The staff were lovely and friendly and the rooms were comfy, simple and all that we needed. Location was good if you don't mind walking 20 minutes into centre of town but honestly very good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your feedback! We are happy we could help you in having a great 21st celebration! We hope to welcome you back in the future, Thanks again, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
10.0

Absolutely loved our stay here. Excellent prices, great menu and very nice rooms. The smoking room has a great atmosphere, with a range of travellers from each corner of the Earth. Met loads of interesting people, and enjoyed every minute of staying here. The staff were so friendly, and so inviting and helpful. The staff were always up for chilling with visiters, and making everybody feel welcome. The entire hostel was super clean and modern, could not have asked for more. Can't wait to revisit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

And we cannot wait to welcome you back in the future :D Thank you so much for your lovely review! The Flying Pig Uptown

17th Apr 2016
9.7

Stayed here for a couple days and had a great stay. It gets a little rowdy at night so if you want a more relaxing atmosphere at night this might not be for you. But if you are down for a good night out here would be perfect. During the day its quite relaxing and the smoking lounge is very nice. It's located right next to a big park which is perfect and not far from downtown. The staff are wonderful, very welcoming, helpful and overall great (:

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are delighted to read about your stay with us and we are so happy to read your comments about our piggy team, thank you for this! We do hope to welcome you back in the future, Thanks again, The Flying Pig Uptown

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.