X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
3055 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Good laugh, just remember to be careful with your bike.


89%

The staff is amazing ;)

  • 27th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The Flying Pig is a really fun place to stay! The staff is super nice, and the place seemed quite clean. Really the only place to hang out is at the bar, which isn't great if you're not in a party mood. They have music playing constantly and it's hard to find a place to sit. My only other complaint is that there were not nearly enough plugs in the rooms (we shared 1 in a room of 8), and the internet isn't very good. However, it's in a very safe neighborhood, right next to beautiful Vondel Park.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your comments. We are currently in the process of adding more plug sockets to all of our rooms and changing our Wifi system. We hope you will stay with us again soon! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

71%

Not a bad place to stay; location is not as good as flying pig downtown but public transport is good so it's not too hard to get where you want to go. Breakfast was good; staff were good; the atmosphere was very laid-back - there wasn't a lot of partying going on for the week we stayed there. Our major issue was the key passes to get into our room malfunctioned numerous times. This wouldn't be such a problem, but it was actually quite a mission getting up and down the four flights of stairs e


74%

Overpriced for what you get but the atmosphere/some of the staff are what make it. Bit of a hike from town. If you want to get high all day with everyone else staying here then it's the place for you.


97%

Really loved staying here, great location, good showers

  • 21st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

100%

will stay here every time i visit amsterdam

  • 21st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
And we will welcome you back every time :) Thanks for your review! - The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

The atmosphere was great. The room was lacking some basic stuff such as coat hangers and a small table. Showers were either too cold too burning hot.. And there were too many dam stairs.. although that was one of the reasons we chose Flying pig :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for the useful feedback! We will look into adding those features to all of the rooms. Hopefully your will come back and stay with us again soon. Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

One of the best hostel in europe , great atmosphere , best location , great stuff!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the love! Come back and visit us again soon. Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

Had a great stay here, really liked the vibe with a great bar and smoking room downstairs. Staff were great too. Heaps of showers and toilets but I was in an 8 person dorm and it was very cramped, only downside.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and hope you didn't find the room so cramped as to ruin your stay. Come back soon. Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

The staff were really helpful and the free breakfast in the bar was good. Would recommend! Caveats are you must be aware that you'll be climbing many flights of stairs (but this is true of much of Amsterdam) and the rooms are quite big - mine was 10-person mixed, which is a bit wearing after a while.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for the great feedback. We hope that you will visit us next time you're in Amsterdam! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

74%

Definitely a party hostel. Rooms are big, a little bit of a walk to the city center. Kitchen in the property is tiny. And you have to go sit in the bar to eat after which is also tiny usually full. If going for a bed good stay. Just always from the train station.


89%

Great stay, I was pleasent surprised. Great vibe. Really felt like an International place to stay in Amsterdam

  • 14th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your awesome review, come back and visit us again soon! - The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Awesome hostel. Staff are great, location is fantastic, great relaxed vibe, great atmosphere.


89%

This is a great hostel. Especially for the prices in Amsterdam. The wifi doesn't extend to the rooms like advertised though. Excellent vibe though in the bar and smoking area and the staff are very helpful. If I go back i'll definitely stay here again.

  • 13th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your feedback! We are sorry that the wifi wasn't working correctly at that time but we run a daily check and have no problems at the moment. We hope you come back to visit again soon! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

66%

This is a well located and clean hostel. It has a small kitchen for use (except for one night per week). Breakfast is good - toast, eggs, oranges, cereal, juice, tea and coffee. HOWEVER: this is for party-people only. Do not stay here if you want even a moment of peace. There is only one small common area and it is packed and dark and plays loud music next to the smoking room. Our dorm had horrible Australians in it who drank and ate all night in the room. Have to pay to store luggage.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that the other guests who shared your dorm disturbed your stay and hope it doesn't stop you coming back for a return visit. We have a policy of no eating or drinking in dorm rooms but sometimes less respectful guests break our rules. Apologies for any inconvenience this caused. Thanks - The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

2nd time at the Flying pig and wont be my last! Would not recommend anywhere else to stay in Amsterdam!! Love the place!!!

  • 11th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the awesome review! Good to know it wont be your last visit, see you next time. Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

You guys have the world's most friendly staff! Thanks for making it such an enjoyable stay.

  • 9th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments! We look forward to seeing you again soon :) Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

80%

All was great apart from the stairs, very steep and narrow and i was on the 4th floor, carrying 25kg of luggage up there was no fun but the rooms were nice and clean, had wifi, the showers were average.


91%

I did enjoy my stay here quite a bit. The people were fantastic. The only suggestion I would have is to maybe include a lounge that isn't the bar or the smoking room for people who just want to chill every now and then but still socialize. I also thought the price for drinks was far too high.

  • 6th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(1722 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback