X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
4013 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Tiny rooms and an epic set of stairs, but the staff were all super nice and the smoking room was always a good time. A bit of a stroll into the action but I didn't use public transport the entire time I was there so it wasn't too annoying.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving a review of your stay with us! We really appreciate it, since we can learn a lot from it :) We are very happy to read you had such a good time in our smoking room! The action is right there if you are looking for the famous museums and night life. The Red Light District is about 10 min. away on the tram. Luckily Amsterdam is small and everything is close :) Thanks again for your time. The Flying Pig Uptown

80%

Nous avons passé 3 jours dans cette auberge très sympathique. La seule critique que je peux faire est l'absence de vraie salle de bain, il est compliqué de se préparer le matin quand les autres dorment encore, à moins d'aller se brosser les dents et de se préparer dans les toilettes ...

  • 7th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, Thanks a lot for leaving us such a nice review, we really appreciate it. We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us! There are mutliple bathrooms on each floor, sinks in a lot of the rooms and some of the rooms are ensuite. We are sorry you found our facilities not as expected. Thanks again for your time! Safe travels :) The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

I really enjoyed my stay here. The 10 bed dorm was great, the bathrooms are clean and the location is perfect for getting around Amsterdam. However considering how expensive it was to stay here I probably wouldn't do it again.


80%

We loved the hostel, stairs were a nightmare carrying suitcases up and down. We were really disappointed that half way through the trip we had to change rooms due to the over booking of the hostel. We booked early March this year so we were surprised this happened. We booked a room of 4 with ensuite, we thought we would get the same quality room but instead moved up into the top part of the hostel into a bigger room with no bathroom and no price reduction. Overall we left disappointed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving a review of your stay! We are happy to see you loved the hostel, but we are very sorry you left disappointed. Due to the nature of our business it sometimes (rarely) happens that we cannot accommodate people who booked together, in the same room. In order to avoid for you to be split up, we decided to change you to a 6 bed dorm, hoping this would be better than splitting you up in different rooms. We are very sorry this inconvenienced you! Thanks again, The Pig

100%

Such a great hostel - everything you could ask for! We stayed 2 nights but would happily have stayed longer if we hadn't been moving on. Only complaint (if we really had to make one) would be that the showers/toilets on the 2nd floor are very small and a bit cramped - but they're clean and I guess it can't be helped with the size of building. Would definitely recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Wow, thanks a million for taking the time to leave us such a great review! It's great to read you had such a great time here, some of our bathrooms are slightly smaller, this is so there could be more showers and toilets along the corridors for everyone, we're glad this did not affect your stay though :) Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the future! All the best, The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

Lovely friendly hostel, always busy in the lobby/bar and the staff were lovely. only thing is its quite expensive for how far away from the centre it is but we didn't find it too much of a problem!


60%

Quite a good hostel. Reception was quite disorganised and we were waiting around a lot. Our check in was delayed due to room maintenance and even when we came back later on in the day we still had to wait for 20 minutes as the reception were very slow. Toilets were not particularly clean and the stay was quite expensive. Atmosphere was quite nice and everyone was friendly but could of done with a bit more organisation.

  • 3rd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate it! Unfortunately,there were some maintenance works in the room the day you arrived & this delay could not be avoided.We are very sorry this inconvenienced you. Our reception can be a little busy at times,depending on the arrival of bookings.Our reception team will always work as fast as they can to get everyone checked in promptly, we are sorry you had to wait though. Thanks again for your time,The Flying Pig

100%

Das Hostel ist perfekt um neue Leute kennenzulernen. Wenn man alleine reist eine perfekte Gelegenheit. Die Atmosphäre ist herrvoragend und man fühlt sich auf annhieb wohl. Das Frühstück ist super lecker! Ein tolles Hostel!! :)

  • 2nd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your kind (German) words. Good to hear you had a great time with us, meeting people and enjoying our free breakfast! Hope to see you back some day. Best regards, The Flying Pig Uptown

77%

Overall great experience, friendly staff, reasonable location, good wifi and free breakfast! Would stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for your great feedback! It's great to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you back soon! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

Great hostel with an awesome vibe and super friendly staff. It's next to the beautiful Vondelpark which was fabulous! Good wifi, free breakfast and very clean. There are a lot of stairs but I personally didn't have an issue with it. Overall, a fantastic hostel in Amsterdam.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow, this is great to read!! Thank you so much! We are very happy to see you had such a good time with us :) Thanks again for leaving this awesome review and we hope to see you back on your next trip to Amsterdam! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

71%

Great location and bar but bathrooms are impractical and rooms are average. A bit overpriced

  • 31st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The hostel had a really great atmosphere, the staff were so helpful and really friendly. The facilities were good, rooms very clean, good wifi and breakfast was good. Location is good tight next to vondle park but a bit of a walk from town. I would definitely recommend this hostel.


74%

Pretty good hostel, although there were a few things that made day to day life a bit difficult. The bathrooms are way too small making it hard to change. I'd also suggest putting shelves next to the beds and a mirror in the room.


100%

Love the flying pig !!! This place is awesome !!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Love you too haha! Seriously, thanks so much for your review. We are happy you had such a good time. Until next time! The Flying Pig Uptown

71%

El hostal es genial pero la ubicación no la mejor. Lo mejor es el Flying Pig Downtown, pero suele estar full siempre por lo que este es buena opción. El personal un tanto maleducado al momento de hacer aseo. Entran 3 veces durante la mañana, con música y conversando entre ellos.


97%

Truly an amazing experience. Everyone, including staff was very friendly. Definitely geared towards a younger crowd, if one is not a fan of going out every night this is not the place for you. However if you want to have the best time of your life and you are in your 20's this is the best place ever.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you! Good to have had you stay with us, hope to see you back soon. Cheers, The Pig Uptown

94%

Stayed on a Friday and Sunday night. Right next to vondelpark and museum district 👌 Great free breakfast. Only downside - no free luggage storage I had to pay for a locker for the Saturday night I wasn't there but it was only a few euro.


54%

J’ai l’habitude des hostels et vu les avis et le prix j'espérais quelque chose de sympa. Pas du tout ! Bar qui met la musique à fond jusque 3 heures, impossible de dormir. Beaucoup de bruits également venants des couloirs ou de la rue. Ambiance très très jeune. Pas d’endroit pour se poser et discuter. Juste un bar enfumé en sous-sol. 1ère fois qu’on me fait payer pour laisser mon sac après le check-out. Aucun charme. Eventuellement bien pour clientèle très jeune qui ne vient que pour la fête

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not what you expected. Indeed we have lots of young (18-35) guests looking to have a good time. Although everyone respects one another, we can understand if that was not what you were looking for. Maybe next time you can consider staying in one of our private rooms instead of a dorm or stay at the Winston Hotel, where there are more private rooms in more of a hotel setting. Cheers, The Flying Pig

69%

Very cute cat roaming the hostel, that was awesome. facilities are clean and it's close to food/entertainment, but everything is SO cramped and there are no elevators


83%

Fun hostel, right next to Vodelpark. Smoking room is awesome where you can meet a lot of cool people. Bar is cheap and fun. Best hostel in Amsterdam. Staff very welcoming.


(226 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback