X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
3668 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

This place was a lot of fun. First of all the location is pretty awesome, no it's not in the center but you're literally right next to vondelpark which is one of the best things about Amsterdam. Security is good, stairs were a bit much but I didn't mind, get off your lazy asses if you're complaining about them. Lounge area was great, super social, great beer and a popping smoking room as well. Would definitely stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Awesome!! Thank you so much for this great feedback of your stay with us. We are very happy to see you enjoyed yourself here and we hope to see you again whenever you come back to Amsterdam! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

69%

The staff was excellent & very friendly. Keep up the great work. But I don't like the facilities that much, sorry! It was too small & crowded. Booked for 3 nights and just stayed for a night. The room at the 3rd floor and there was no lift. My luggage was heavy and I almost die to carry it up/down. There was number to send WhatsApp if we need help but not sure if it is appropriate to get them to send me towel (forgot to get it earlier) so I just need to go down and get up again to get it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for leaving a review of your stay! We really appreciate this. We are very happy to see you liked our staff so much! We will pass on your kind words to them. Sorry to see you left earlier :( Due to the traditional Dutch architecture of our building, we don't have an elevator. But we can always help out carrying luggage upstairs! And you can always Whatsapp us, doesn't matter for what and at what time. We are always there to help out. Thanks again! The Flying Pig Uptown

86%

Super cool staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot!! That is great to hear :D We hope to see you back again on your next visit to Amsterdam!

86%

I good place

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much! It's great to see you enjoyed yourself with us :) Hopefully we will see you again soon! Safe travels, The Flying Pig Uptown

80%

I had previously stayed at the flying pig downtown and had a great experience there so I decided to try the other location. Here is was about the same, but unfortunately, someone who wasn't supposed to be in our room got in and swiped some people's things. The staff wasn't very helpful in trying to find out what happened and that was disappointing. Other than that, the hostel has comfortable beds and relatively nice, but small, facilities. I wouldn't stay here again but it was an okay experience

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for leaving a review of your stay with us! We are very sorry to read about what happened when you were staying with us. As we take safety ans security very serious, we would love to know more about this! Therefor, we will contact you personally. Thanks again for your time. Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Lovely hostel,location and staff. I had a good time. Thanks Cheers! P.S : Please extend your happy hours by 2 hrs. 6-7 is a very short time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, This is amazing! Thanks so much for leaving this great feedback :) We are very happy to see you had such a good time with us and we hope to see you back on your next visit to Amsterdam! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

Thanks to the barman for the free drinks!! Great atmosphere


77%

The staffs here are so friendly and kind and the breakfast was good. The only thing that I didn't like here was it got so noisy outside until 3,4am. It's a party hostel but sometimes hard to sleep with that noise.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving this nice review :) We will pass on your kind words to our staff as well, they would love to hear this! We are very sorry to hear about the noise outside, though! We cannot allow our guests to stand outside the front of the hostel, since we are in a residential area. So thanks for letting us know about this! Thanks again for your time and we hope to see you again in the future! :) Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

77%

On my month and a half long trip through Europe, this was probably my worst hostel. That's not to say it's bad, just that it's very underwhelming. I signed up for a 6 bed dorm expecting 6 people in a cramped room. Instead, they stuffed 8 people (2 of the beds were doubles) into a closet. Space was limited, as expected in a hostel, but it was a bit ridiculous. The staff were kind but didn't really know what they were doing half the time. Location was a bit far from downtown, but the area is nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for leaving a review of your stay with us. We really appreciate this. We are very sorry to read though, your stay with us was not as expected. You did book a 8 bed dorm, we did not change your reservation. We are sorry you expected otherwise. We really would like to find out more about your stay, because we are always trying to learn and improve for the future. We will contact you personally to find out what happened. Thanks again for your time! The Flying Pig

94%

Well run hostel, sorted out an issue I had with my room very quickly and easily. Good location, friendly atmosphere and very chilled out. Definitely recommend to anyone else. I was with 3 other people but was in a room by myself as I had a separate booking for different dates and it was no problem making friends.

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving this great review of your stay with us :) It makes us very happy to read this! Thanks again for your time and hopefully we will see you again in the future! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

80%

Comfortable rooms and great communal bar area downstairs. Great for solo travellers looking to meet people. Free breakfast was reasonable too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
This is great to hear! Thank you so much for leaving this great review of your stay with us :) Hopefully we will see you again soon! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

This was my favourite hostel of my entire euro-trip! Great atmosphere, lots of other young travellers and a free breakfast. Couldn't recommend more highly!

  • 12th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your kind words! It was our pleasure to have you stay with us as well. Take care and hope to see you back some day. Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown staff

89%

It's a nice hostel overall, but quite big and commercial. The entrance is complicated and you have to go up and down narrow staircases a lot. There's a nice bar with cheapish drinks, but it was too loud for me to relax on my second night. The staff were very helpful, but rushed off their feet and they didn't have much time to help me out (I heard one person was sick, so I can forgive this!). Also the showers weren't so fab - no space to change. I liked renting bikes though, and I'd stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for leaving a review of your stay with us! We are happy to see you enjoyed yourself here :) We are sorry the receptionist was a bit rushed! But thanks for understanding as someone had to go home sick that day. So this would not happen normally! Thanks again for your time and we hope to see you back when you visit Amsterdam again! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

Such a fun time - great hostel for young people who want to experience Amsterdam nightlife. Stayed in an 8 bed mixed room and met lots of people. Bar is great for a drink - good atmosphere etc. the hostel itself is quite expensive if you don't book it early but well worth it. Location is right by vondelpark which is great for chilling. Overall had a great time there and would definitely come back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, This is great!! Thank you so much for your kind words. We are very happy you had such a good time with us. If you are ever back in Amsterdam, we hope to welcome you again! Safe travels, The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

Located about a 10 min walk from the main areas in Amsterdam, we found the this hostel was comfortable, with great wifi & doom rooms. Smoking room & bar/restaurant we also very cool. Pretty pricey but understandable as its a popular place to stay.


89%

The atmosphere is great in this hostel! It's always very chill in the reception/smoking area which we loved.. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. Would definitely stay again!!

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
See you next time then! Ciao, The Pig Uptown

77%

A great party hostel, but we found a underwear under our bed....

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving a review of your stay! We really appreciate this and we are happy to see you enjoyed yourself here :) Sorry to hear about the underwear under your bed! Hopefully you let one of our staff members know? We are very sorry we missed this, but our staff is always there to help out and clean where needed. Our apologies once again. Thanks again for your time! Hopefully we will see you back in the future :) Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

77%

There was a huge cobweb in our room. So many steps. The bar was great though. Cheap prices!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your comments. I'm sure you asked a brave staff member (or room mate) to take the web down? The building is indeed typically tall with many stairs. Feeling like a true Amsterdammer comes with a price of being fit... which makes our beer taste even better! Hope to see you again some day. Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

86%

A nice hostel located perfectly in Amsterdam. A good mix of "party people" and regular guests. The breakfast was okay and the bar was good. The beds where good. Good safe storage. The cons where that the ac was not working and our room where really hot, the showers where not clean, tight corridors and the toilets was very small. Suited best for 18-25 year olds that want to have a nice time for a fair price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving a review of your stay with us! We are happy to see you enjoyed yourself here. We are very sorry the airconditioning wasn't working properly! We called a technician straight away to fix this! 'Luckily'Amsterdam doesn't have a lot of hot nights per year. The showers get cleaned several times a day, but if you find them not clean enough, you can always let us know! There is 24 hours someone there to help out and clean :) Thanks for mentioning this! The Pig Uptown

60%

we stayed in a 14 bed dorm and it was incredibly cramped, would not recommend, sortve poorly set out. our bunk bed didn't have a cage underneath so no room for our bags. have had larger rooms in an 8 and 4 bed dorms. the narrow steep stairs are killer. showers are tiny can't put your clothes anywhere. it is a good location and cooly decorated and staff were alright so if you get it cheap enough and an 4-8 bed dorm I'd imagine it better and more worth it!


(158 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback