X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
3382 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Best hostel in Amsterdam. Super friendly Staff. Super Chill. Super Fun. The Kiwi staff member was amazing.... highly recommend

  • 16th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey There! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are Happy to hear you had such a great stay and hope to welcome you back in the future! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown.

66%

I would perhaps advertise this as a 18-25 hostel.


94%

A wonderful place to stay with a very helpful and down to Earth staff. Definitely a great pledge for 20-30 year olds looking to both travel and party.

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for leaving this great review of your stay with us! This is awesome! We will pass on your nice words to our staff as well :) Thanks again for your time and we hope to see you again in the future! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

Great hostel and easy to meet other people. You have your own light and outlet for each bed. The bathrooms are small (especially the showers) but that is the only negative point about the place. Otherwise, staff is friendly and it is near many bars and clubs. There is also a kitchen if you want to cook things. The location is great because you are walking distance from everything but in a calmer area near a park. I would def recommend this hostel!


97%

The reception was very open with a bar and a casual and friendly smoking room, and I did not feel worried about security as they provided key cards to the building and your room, and also sold padlocks for the big cages to put your stuff in. The hostel was very quirky and generally considered quite a young place, perfect for weekends away with friends or backpackers, but older people would also be welcome; also very good value for money as my room was only €15 per night and was kept very clean.

  • 9th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for leaving this amazing review! We are very happy to read you had such a good time with us! Also, we are glad to hear you felt safe! We do care a lot about this, we also have a free safe at the reception for valuables ;) Thanks again for your time and we hope to see you again soon! Cheers The Flying Pig Uptown

49%

-loud music in bar till 3am, starting up again at breakfast. Complimentary ear plugs do little to stop pillow vibrating -bunks wobbly/ sensitive to movement of other person -vastly insufficient toilets, especially on level 1- 1 toilet, 1 urinal, 2 showers for 4 dorms (mine was 8 bed) -squishy dorms, corridors, bathrooms, bar, kitchen - limited common areas -smelled like People had been smoking in toilets -perhaps need to consider converting bottom floor dorms to toilets and common areas

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for leaving a review! We appreciate that you took the time to fill this out. We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here. A lot of our rooms are ensuite but there are showers on toilets on every floor for the rooms that do not have this option. Were sorry for the inconvenience this caused for you and your stay. We will look into the bunk bed you stayed in to make sure everything is okay. Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review! Cheers, Flying Pig Uptown

86%

Party hostel, always a good atmosphere in the bar and smoking area, I've made good friends on flying pig.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are very happy to see your nice review, thanks! We're glad you enjoyed the atmosphere in our bar and great to hear you made some new friends as well! Thanks again for your time and we hope to see you back soon :) Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

91%

Great hostel, really good breakfast. Nice staff. Would be great if there was somewhere to hang out that wasn't the bar or smoke room, but what can you do!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for taking the time to leave such a nice review :) We are very happy to see you had a great time with us! We hope to welcome you again next time you are in Amsterdam. Thanks again! The Flying Pig Uptown

77%

They use slave labor to clean everything. You have 3 different people come and vacuum your room because they need something to show they are working.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for your review! We really appreciate it you took the time to fill this out. We can assure you there are no slaves working here, but we do think cleanliness is very important! There is a team of cleaners working daily with each their own tasks to make sure everything is spotless. They might come into the rooms just after each other during the day. We are sorry if this has caused any inconvenience. Thanks again for leaving this review! The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

Loved the athmosphere! I'd liked to have more space to cook and eat though. A real bathroom instead of these small shower cabines wouldn't have hurt either. Great location near the center and next to the Vondelpark

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for leaving a review of your stay! We are very glad to see you enjoyed your time here :) Hopefully we will see you again soon! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

80%

Good stay, nice naigbourhood.


89%

1st time staying in a hostel and I can't complain,value for money really friendly staff and quests.defiantly stay there again.

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Amazing hostel. Awesome little bar down stairs which makes it great to meet people! Definitely will be returning!


63%

This place is very far from Amsterdam central station. They have only one toilet and shower per floor, so 50 ppl to use it. Breakfast was standard stuff. Such a small place it's very uncozy, no luggage room only a paid locker. You can not move in this hostel without hitting someone or something. Srly it looks like and ant nest, too crowded for the space they have. good for one night stary no more!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your feedback! We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here. Yes we have electronic lockers for luggage as we feel this is more secure than a luggage room. There are rooms with ensuite bathrooms also and there are showers and toilets on every corridor for rooms who do not have this option, we are sorry this inconvenienced you and your stay. Thanks again for taking the time to give us your opinion. Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

I had a great experience here. Immediately upon getting there, the girl at reception was super friendly and helpful and told us all the places to go. The rooms were bigger than other hostels I've stayed at also. The atmosphere was great and people were always downstairs in the bar which was great to hangout in. Staff was super friendly and the free breakfast was such a plus, and they did the dishes for us! I'd recommend this hostel to anyone. I had a great experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving this great feedback! We really appreciate it and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Hopefully we will see you again soon :)

69%

The beds were clean, comfortable and there was a good place to put our stuff, but the bedroom was cold (it was January). The bathroom was clean, the staff was helpful and there was a smoking area, which is a plus. But the lack of female only bedrooms is a big NO. I had a strange boy trying to get into my bed in the middle of the night and it was awful. Girls need female only bedrooms to feel safer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear about what happened during your stay. We can totally imagine this must have been a very uncomfortable situation. This is a very unusual situation as we never really have problems in our mixed dorms. Nevertheless, we do take your comment very serious, as this is obviously something we do not want to happen again. We will contact you personally to find out more. Thanks again for taking the time for letting us know

77%

Amazing staff, cool bar, big rooms, could use a few more toilets. You can walk everywhere from there if you don't mind walking for half an hour or so which we didn't. Besides having noisy irritating people in our room we had a great stay. The breakfast was also awesome!


94%

Have stayed here so many times. First time in 2007 and then again in 2013 and now in 2015. Have brought a lot of friends here and they all love it. The staff is wonderful and area is amazing. Best hostel in Amsterdam hands down.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for your great feedback! We are very happy you came back again and you brought your friends as well :) Really good to hear you had such a great time! Hopefully we will see you again soon! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

86%

Great atmosphere and good location. The room was a bit small, so it smelled a bit. But it was clean, and the staff is really nice. Would most likely go back, if we go to amsterdam again. The hostel has a great "amsterdam-wibe". Thanks for a great stay!

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel, great staff, great atmosphere.....nice place to stay, always clean and tidy. Totally recomend to everyone! Next time I come back, will make my stay there, for sure! Thanks from Brazil! Congrats!

  • 15th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(124 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback