X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
4013 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Great hostel! It has all a backpacker needs. Good atmosphere at the bar and good staff. The location is also good since it's close to many atractions in the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for reviewing your time with us! We are delighted you enjoyed our piggy team and ambiance :) We do hope you will stay with us in the future, Thanks again, The Flying Pig Uptown

71%

A bit far from the central area but really nice staff! They give you all the help to see the city and the main points! Breakfast could be better but was ok. Is a good hostel to stay, not the best one but is a good one

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, your feedback is invaluable to us. We are happy our staff gave you some great tips on where to go in Amsterdam, we are always happy to help! :) We do hope you will stay with us in the future, we want you to have an even better experience with us! Thank you for your time, The Flying Pig Uptown

91%

Loved my stay at the flying pig. The only down fall I'd say is the location, being a little out of the way of everything, but is next to a very nice and big park so that was nice. The bar has good prices on beer, and cheap pizza. Felt very at home the whole time with the staff being so great.


94%

A really really great hostel!! The staff, in particular, was amazing--so friendly and helpful. The hostel basically has everything you could want, and it's a pretty great value. My only complaint is about the bathrooms--the ones with the toilets in them are TINY--it's difficult to use the sinks without accidentally spraying water everywhere (which meant that the floors were frequently wet when I went to use them, which is kinda gross). One sink should be fixed, it's difficult to turn off.


80%

The staff is very kind and helpful and the hostel has a great environment, really good to meet new people. The kitchen might be a bit small but it has all the needed equipment.


83%

Amazing hostel! i would definitely go back whenever i visit Amsterdam! The best thing was the fastest Wifi as well as the luggage locker for early check in-ers and outers ;) Also, breakfast was amazing! There's nothing to complain or say anything about this hostel! Perfect!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and our wifi :) We do hope you will stay with us again, Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

Great staff, super nice and helpful.

  • 17th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the short and sweet review :) we really appreciate it! We do hope you will stay again in the future, The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

Cosy hostel that was hard to leave from. All the staff are friendly and are willing to help with anything you need help with. Bar downstairs that has characters drinking/smoking every night. My stay was as good as it gets and will be back in the near future for sure! Thanks for the great time!


97%

This Hostel was by far the best we have experienced in a big city! Everything we wanted from it was far exceeded. The common room/ bar is somewhere where you want to spend time compared to most hostels. The staff are great and bend over backwards to help and provided great tips such as for where to go. Sure it's a 30 minute walk from the red light district but in my opinion this area has a superior and more genuine selection. Ps there is a ripper €5 Italian joint El Pino 5 minutes away.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for this awesome review! We really appreciate you taking the time to give us some feedback about your stay. We are delighted you enjoyed spending time in the bar and found our staff to be so helpful, we will pass on your kind words to the team, they'll be delighted :) We do hope you will stay with us again in the future! Thanks again, The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

A great hostel- everyone is super nice and it has a good vibe.


94%

this hostel was amazing and i met some great people here! the location is really close to several museums, coffee shops, public transit and much more! I was worried about having to share a shower with so many other people (not ensuite), but the showers were surprisingly always clean! I will definitely stay here again next time I'm in Amsterdam!


97%

Would come here again. Very clean. But, there was an odd odor coming from the bathroom in my dorm. Staff never fixed it, though I reported it the first day. All else was great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time! We are glad you enjoyed your time here and would stay again, thank you for this :) We are very sorry that the plumbing issue was not resolved during your stay with us, it had been brought to the attention of our maintenance team and has been resolved. Thank you for brining this to our attention during your stay. We are happy this did not affect your stay with us too much though. Thank you again for your time, The Flying Pig Uptown

71%

There was staff coming in and out of the room throughout the day, even as early as 8am, which was disturbing and annoying. They were very inconsiderate slamming doors, cleaning the bathroom and vacuuming. This was one of the biggest problems that I had while staying at this place. The staff is very friendly and nice.

  • 10th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your feedback, we are always looking at ways to improve our guest experience so your feedback is invaluable to us. We are glad you found the staff to be friendly and nice, thank you for the kind words! It is true, our cleaning are working throughout the day and may enter the room at different times to check the cleanliness/vacuum/change the bins/clean the bathrooms. We are very sorry this affected your stay with us :( The cleaning team do not start in the rooms until after 10am. Before this, there is a bathrooms check of all public bathrooms but the team member does not enter the room at this time. We are very sorry the cleaning team disturbed you and will make sure to let them know not to slam doors as they are leaving the rooms. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Thank you again for your feedback, we wish you all the best in the future, The Flying Pig Uptown.

97%

Everyone was very friendly! The hostel was very clean and the environment was welcoming. Would recommend this hoestel to others

  • 4th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks a million for your review and future recommendations, it is very much appreciated :) We hope to welcome you back in the future, Thanks again - The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

I honestly could not think of a single way to make my experience there better. The staff was amazing and everyone was so chill. I felt like it was a place I could be at home for a couple of days.

  • 4th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow!! Thank you so much for your review, it is fantastic to read what a great stay you had with us! We are so happy you felt at home here and found our piggy team great. We do hope you will stay with us again in the future, Thanks again - The Flying Pig Uptown

91%

An excellent hostel. The staff was courteous and always ready to chat. Niall is the man! Facilities were top notch although the stairs could get tiring for some travelers. The bar doubles as reception but was never overwhelming. The smoking room is a cool addition and a good place to meet people. Location is just a short walk to town and the park next door is a great place to jog. If you're in Amsterdam, give Uptown Flying Pig a shot. It has a ton of character and you'll have a great time.


54%

Stay was alrighty, but nothing special. Good things were the kitchen and the easy bike storage over the road, as well as the knowledge of the staff about the city and the area. There were a few things that could be improved like the size of the toilets, more racks or shelves in the shower, better under bed lockers (mine didn't lock properly and had to Macgyver something) and also the wifi is very very patchy throughout the building.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. We are always looking at how we can improve our guest experience so your comments are invaluable to us. We are glad our staff we're helpful and gave you some good suggestions on where to go/ what to do in Amsterdam. But we are sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We are sorry the locker did not lock properly, we do hope that you let our reception team know about your locker under the bed so we could get our maintenance team to take a look at this for you? Unfortunately, on the 31st and 1st the internet provider's network was down across Amsterdam which also made our wifi slower than normal, we are very sorry about that. Thank you for your time and feedback, we wish you all the best in the future, The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

Everything is awesome. Totaly recommended, the staff is awesome

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your review and future recommendations :) It is brilliant to read what a great stay you had. We hope you will stay with us again in the future! Thank you again, The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

I had an amazing experience and will definitely be returning! Awesome staff, awesome hostel!!

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the awesome review !! :) We can't wait to welcome you back in the future. Thanks again, The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Really really great (and attractive) staff, comfortable room, good location

  • 27th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks a mil for the review, we will pass on your comments to the staff, they'll be chuffed :) Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future! Happy New Year and thanks again for your time, The Flying Pig Uptown

(191 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback