X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
3101 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Great location, very clean and comfy!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review. We hope to see you again soon! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

The staff were friendly to help and informed. Thanks for helping carrying our heavy luggages. The facilities are clean and workable. You can bring your own lock for the locker inside room. If you bring something luxury such as laptop, there is also a keeping place provide in front desk. Good experience!

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Flying pig is a party hostel in a party city. This attracts all kinds of characters some good some bad. The hostel had accommodating staff along with a great bar and smoking room. The rooms were simple but the beds were surprisingly comfy. I would recommend the Flying Pig Uptown to anyone looking to make the most of the nightlife available in Amsterdam.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Security is one of our highest priorities so we try to make it clear to any bad characters that they're not welcome here! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

finally i didnt stay at the hostel i cancelled the reservation two days before the arrival time.

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Room and bathroom were very small but the basement had a bar that was fairly lively all the time. Staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about the city and things to do. Only downside was the location - not very close to the city centre or to the train station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your review. Due to our architecture we opted for a larger number of slightly smaller bathrooms so that we were able to reduce bathroom/shower waiting times. Our hostel is located next to Vondel park and a number of museums and late clubs a 10 minute tram ride from Central Station. We hope our location did not negatively affect your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

69%

Very limited bathroom and shower facilities. Too many people allocated to amount of bathrooms. Very expensive for the service received.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you found our shower/bathroom facilities limited. There are a number of toilets and showers throughout every floor of the hostel. We apologise for your stay not being completely satisfactory and hope give us another chance next time you are in Amsterdam. - The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

This hostel was great, I was happy with everything however felt it was a little over priced!


100%

Great location , clean, fun, 24 hour smoking room, keep your bags in the lockers even after you have left! thye keep your important belongings behind the desk for free, they let us stay in the bar/ smoking room all night when we had no where to stay. Free breakfast, a nice one too! Stayed in two different rooms, both clean, one had a private bathroom/shower, great atmosphere, wanted to stay for longer but they were fully booked. Staff could not have been nicer, polite, friendly. Loved it here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your fantastic review, guests like you are the reason we love what we do! We hope to see you again soon. Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

Great hostel, my major issue was although I had booked a ten bed mixed dorm, I wasn't prepared for it to be me and nine guys in the one room. I spoke to other females and they said the same thing had happened to them.


91%

Second time here and it's a awesome place to stay. Great atmosphere and a place I always look forward to coming back to after a night out. Always meet cool people here. Great for a solo backpacker, or In a group. Wish the staff offered a private pub crawl, as the one they offer sucks.


97%

Clean / great location and good vibes


77%

Lots and lots of stairs to get to your room and bar. Staff were friendly. Opposite a nice park to picnic in and walk around. Had to catch the tram into city centre. We stayed in an 8 bed dorm and it was quite expensive (about 35euro per person per night ).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review. Unfortunately due to our traditional architecture we are unable to accommodate an elevator, but our staff are always happy to carry luggage for guests. The city centre is a 20min walk or 10min tram ride depending on your preference. We apologise for any inconvenience the stairs might have caused and hope to see you again soon! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

80%

so many steep stairs. no elevator. made us change rooms three times due to renovations. long walk to red light district, but very close to rijksmuseum/van gogh museum. close to lots of nightlife.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review. Our architecture does not allow for the installation of an elevator but our staff are always happy to help carry luggage for guests. After reviewing your reservation it seems that you were only required to change rooms once and were given a free upgrade for the first two nights. We always try to minimise guest room changes, but on some occasions this is unavoidable. We apologise if this caused any inconvenience and hope to see you again. - The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

I went with my student daughter we were able to walk everywhere, staff helpful with directions and map provided, rooms and sheets clean and towels provided only drawback is lots of narrow stairs up to the entrance down to reception and then up to our twin room it's good for a workout luckily we live in a flat on third floor with no lift at home! Not a good idea to share a suitcase as it was hard getting it up to our hostel room .would stay here again with rucksacks ☺

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for the great review! Unfortunately we are unable to accommodate an elevator due to our architecture, but our staff are always happy to carry luggage to any floor and are used to the stairs :) We hope that you stay with us again, and feel free to continue sharing a suitcase, next time we'll carry it! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

Wonderful place to stay! Easy walk from Centraal Station to the hostel, close to major attractions, and right across the street from Vondelpark. Helpful and friendly staff! Air-conditioning! Fast wi-fi throughout the building.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your awesome review! Come and see us again soon. Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

Facilities were small, but still usable. In the uptown area next to console park which is a good location. Pretty good place to stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review. Due to our traditional architecture we were forced to limit the size of the bathrooms so's to allow more of them and provide less/no waiting time for guests. We look forward to seeing you again. Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

77%

Overall good stay. Rooms were a bit squishy. I was in an 8 bed mixed dorm however I was the only female so wouldn't really consider that as mixed. Found the location was a bit further from the nightlife and red light district. Had decent breakfast in the mornings and it was free!


97%

Room was air con which was a great! Very steep stairs but manageable. Very accommodating when I needed a bottom bunk due to a injury. Unfortunately floor was wet (carpeted) and didn't dry out before I left.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review. Unfortunately some heavy storms caused some leaks in our bottom floor rooms. The damage has now been fixed and the carpets completely replaced. We apologise if this caused any inconvenience and hope you will stay with us again in the future. Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

Good rooms and beds. Air con was amazing. I was on the ground floor but others on different floors hated the stairs. Really narrow and steep. Breakfast was OK. Bar and smoke area nice. Location great being next to Vondelpark.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review. We are always happy to carry luggage for guests as we are used to the stairs! We hope to see you again soon. Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

Pleasant stay however considering it was the most expensive place we stayed during our time in Europe it would have been nice if the bathroom facilities were a little bigger! Also no elevator was a bit of a hassle considering my sister had a torn acl at the time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review. When designing the hostel layout we chose to provide a larger number of slightly smaller bathrooms to more readily accommodate more guests. Also, due to our architecture we are unable to install an elevator, but our staff are happy to carry luggage to rooms or, space permitting, move guests with medical complaints to lower floors. We hope to see you again soon! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

(126 results)


← Back to search results

Please give us your feedback