X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
3339 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Great hostel, great staff, great atmosphere.....nice place to stay, always clean and tidy. Totally recomend to everyone! Next time I come back, will make my stay there, for sure! Thanks from Brazil! Congrats!

  • 15th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Actually i didnt liked this hostel, the only good thing is the location.

  • 14th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for leaving a review! We are sorry to see your stay with us was not as expected. We are very curious to find our more about what we can do to make things better. We will contact you personally. Thanks again! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

This place was pretty good! Just what you need in a hostel. Only problem was that there was no escaping the smell of weed - even up to the 4th floor and the toilets are too close to the door. Apart from that great place, breaky was good, always heaps of people around, beds were comfy, showers were clean. I recommend


97%

Great hostel, little bit of a walk to red light district. If you want to stay in the heart stay at the downtown flying pig


86%

You can find all, funny And good place!!! It was really good!!


100%

Wonderful!!! Very kind people, great position, not too noisy...great place to be!!!

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

This place is a 35 minute walk from Amsterdam central station. One toilet and shower for each level (about 30 beds). Breakfast was standard stuff. Good for people who just want to chill and smoke rather than see the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for your feedback! On the floor you were staying at there is only one public shower, but there are rooms with ensuite bathrooms as well! On all the other floors there are at least 3 showers :) We are sorry to see you didn't like the location. Hopefully you didn't miss all the famous museums, the Vondelpark, the night life area and the famous canals which are all within 5 minutes walking from us! Thanks again for your time! Safe travels :) Cheers

86%

My fave hostel ever! Awesome atmosphere, cool staff, best place. Toilets and showers left more to desired but hey, it was worth how fun it was!


100%

I really enjoyed it and will definitely go there

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malta
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

It could be better. Room is small, and stairs is too narrow. I didn't like smoking room. Many people smoke maruana and all hostel smoke . But all staff are helpfull and friendly. Location is very well.


91%

Only stayed here for one night on my way to Bolivia so I don't have a lot to judge it on but for my one night it was great, the bar downstairs seemed lively but it was quiet in my room up near the top which was good. Easy to get to and close to a lot of sights.


77%

The Beds are suffciently big and comfortable. The overall cleanliness and Hygiene of the place exceeded my somewhat low expectations. The linnen was near spotless and the showers were nice and clean with a steady supply of hot water. The wi-fi worked just fine, even inside the rooms on the top most floor. the Breakfast spread was pretty varied and most items seemed frseh and more than platable.The fact that it is complimentary is a big bonus in my book.

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your kind words! We hope to see you soon again :) Safe travels! The Flying Pig Uptown

77%

Staff were very friendly and helpful with buses and directions. The stairs are a massive menace if you are staying in the 10 dorm rooms but you definitely develop some biceps. Breakfast is a great bonus. Great atmosphere!

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for your feedback! We are very happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us :) Unfortunately, due to the traditional Dutch architecture of our building, we do not have an elevator. But our staff is always happy to help out with luggage! Thanks again for your time! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

stay at the hostel was excellent, maybe you shoud lower some of the prices at the bar, or get more ventilation in the smoking room. The rest was great, staff was super helpful


89%

Highly recommended. Had a great time. Great atmosphere in the bar, very helpful staff and great breakfast. Would definitely stay again


91%

Great hostel, fun bar on site, clean beds. Super quick and easy walk to the center an a square with any necessary amenities just a couple minutes away, so no need to use the expensive public transport. Just far enough off the main street that it's nice and quiet for when you finally need some sleep. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, always willing to answer any questions we had. A bit expensive but I think everything is in Amsterdam. Overall had a great time. Loved the art :p

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your kind words! We really appreciate it :) We hope to see you again! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

the location was good,it is really close the bars area and museums.staff was also good,really friendly and helpful.our room was a little cold, but when we told this to staff, they immediately turned on heating.so i totally recommend!

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for your great feedback! We are very happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us :) Hopefully we will see you again soon! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

86%

A bit of a walk from most of the city. But I thought it was nice not being right in the middle of the riffraff that is Amsterdam during NYE. Very cool layout of the hostel. The staff were all super friendly and outgoing. Bar and smoke room were nice as well. A bit pricey but we were there during the week of New Years- but I thought it was definitely worth the money I paid. Looking forward to a future stay at the flying pig uptown for sure


77%

This hostel was pretty cool. It was clearly a party hostel. I didn't really like the bar/smoke room lounge. For me personally it wasn't the most conducive to meeting people because I'm not one to make friends in a bar, but for many that won't be an issue.


100%

Good bedroom, clean hostel, nice atmosphere. Loved it!


(126 results)


← Back to search results

Please give us your feedback