X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
4004 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Amazing hostel! i would definitely go back whenever i visit Amsterdam! The best thing was the fastest Wifi as well as the luggage locker for early check in-ers and outers ;) Also, breakfast was amazing! There's nothing to complain or say anything about this hostel! Perfect!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and our wifi :) We do hope you will stay with us again, Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

Great staff, super nice and helpful.

  • 17th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the short and sweet review :) we really appreciate it! We do hope you will stay again in the future, The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

This Hostel was by far the best we have experienced in a big city! Everything we wanted from it was far exceeded. The common room/ bar is somewhere where you want to spend time compared to most hostels. The staff are great and bend over backwards to help and provided great tips such as for where to go. Sure it's a 30 minute walk from the red light district but in my opinion this area has a superior and more genuine selection. Ps there is a ripper €5 Italian joint El Pino 5 minutes away.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for this awesome review! We really appreciate you taking the time to give us some feedback about your stay. We are delighted you enjoyed spending time in the bar and found our staff to be so helpful, we will pass on your kind words to the team, they'll be delighted :) We do hope you will stay with us again in the future! Thanks again, The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

A great hostel- everyone is super nice and it has a good vibe.


94%

this hostel was amazing and i met some great people here! the location is really close to several museums, coffee shops, public transit and much more! I was worried about having to share a shower with so many other people (not ensuite), but the showers were surprisingly always clean! I will definitely stay here again next time I'm in Amsterdam!


97%

Would come here again. Very clean. But, there was an odd odor coming from the bathroom in my dorm. Staff never fixed it, though I reported it the first day. All else was great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time! We are glad you enjoyed your time here and would stay again, thank you for this :) We are very sorry that the plumbing issue was not resolved during your stay with us, it had been brought to the attention of our maintenance team and has been resolved. Thank you for brining this to our attention during your stay. We are happy this did not affect your stay with us too much though. Thank you again for your time, The Flying Pig Uptown

71%

There was staff coming in and out of the room throughout the day, even as early as 8am, which was disturbing and annoying. They were very inconsiderate slamming doors, cleaning the bathroom and vacuuming. This was one of the biggest problems that I had while staying at this place. The staff is very friendly and nice.

  • 10th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your feedback, we are always looking at ways to improve our guest experience so your feedback is invaluable to us. We are glad you found the staff to be friendly and nice, thank you for the kind words! It is true, our cleaning are working throughout the day and may enter the room at different times to check the cleanliness/vacuum/change the bins/clean the bathrooms. We are very sorry this affected your stay with us :( The cleaning team do not start in the rooms until after 10am. Before this, there is a bathrooms check of all public bathrooms but the team member does not enter the room at this time. We are very sorry the cleaning team disturbed you and will make sure to let them know not to slam doors as they are leaving the rooms. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Thank you again for your feedback, we wish you all the best in the future, The Flying Pig Uptown.

97%

Everyone was very friendly! The hostel was very clean and the environment was welcoming. Would recommend this hoestel to others

  • 4th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks a million for your review and future recommendations, it is very much appreciated :) We hope to welcome you back in the future, Thanks again - The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

I honestly could not think of a single way to make my experience there better. The staff was amazing and everyone was so chill. I felt like it was a place I could be at home for a couple of days.

  • 4th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow!! Thank you so much for your review, it is fantastic to read what a great stay you had with us! We are so happy you felt at home here and found our piggy team great. We do hope you will stay with us again in the future, Thanks again - The Flying Pig Uptown

91%

An excellent hostel. The staff was courteous and always ready to chat. Niall is the man! Facilities were top notch although the stairs could get tiring for some travelers. The bar doubles as reception but was never overwhelming. The smoking room is a cool addition and a good place to meet people. Location is just a short walk to town and the park next door is a great place to jog. If you're in Amsterdam, give Uptown Flying Pig a shot. It has a ton of character and you'll have a great time.


54%

Stay was alrighty, but nothing special. Good things were the kitchen and the easy bike storage over the road, as well as the knowledge of the staff about the city and the area. There were a few things that could be improved like the size of the toilets, more racks or shelves in the shower, better under bed lockers (mine didn't lock properly and had to Macgyver something) and also the wifi is very very patchy throughout the building.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. We are always looking at how we can improve our guest experience so your comments are invaluable to us. We are glad our staff we're helpful and gave you some good suggestions on where to go/ what to do in Amsterdam. But we are sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We are sorry the locker did not lock properly, we do hope that you let our reception team know about your locker under the bed so we could get our maintenance team to take a look at this for you? Unfortunately, on the 31st and 1st the internet provider's network was down across Amsterdam which also made our wifi slower than normal, we are very sorry about that. Thank you for your time and feedback, we wish you all the best in the future, The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

Everything is awesome. Totaly recommended, the staff is awesome

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your review and future recommendations :) It is brilliant to read what a great stay you had. We hope you will stay with us again in the future! Thank you again, The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

I had an amazing experience and will definitely be returning! Awesome staff, awesome hostel!!

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the awesome review !! :) We can't wait to welcome you back in the future. Thanks again, The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Really really great (and attractive) staff, comfortable room, good location

  • 27th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks a mil for the review, we will pass on your comments to the staff, they'll be chuffed :) Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future! Happy New Year and thanks again for your time, The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

By Amsterdam standards, this place is great value for money. The staff was helpful and friendly, and the atmosphere was calmer than downtown. Cleanliness was clearly valued, and they even make the beds before check in! (Serial hostel dwellers know how rare that is) If you're planning on biking around the city, this is a great place to be. If you're not comfortable biking, pick a place downtown: the main tourist districts are almost an hour's walk from Flying Pig uptown.


86%

The staff were awesome! Very helpful and friendly. The atmosphere was great too. It was lively but chill at the same time. My only complaint is that the bathrooms could have been cleaner and one of the sinks was broken while i was there.


86%

Convenient location, easy to go wherever you want, nice smoking room and beer! Can be more cheaper!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for the feedback on our prices too, we will take this into consideration. We wish you all the best and a very happy new year! :) The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

Great experience overall , no problems/complaints.

  • 24th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review. Brilliant you had no complaints or problems and enjoyed your stay, that's what we like to read :) Thank you again for your time and Happy New Year! The Flying Pig Uptown

86%

Conflicting and confusing information at the front desk.

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you very much for your feedback. We will contact you personally about your review to see what has happened/ how we can resolve this so it does not happen again. We do hope to hear back from you, thank you for your time. Happy New Year, The Flying Pig Uptown

91%

Very clean and friendly hostel. However the front desk can be kinda slow for various smoky reasons....

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you very much for reviewing your stay here with us, we appreciate you taking the time to give us some feedback :) We are glad overall you enjoyed your time here with us! However, we are sorry you found our front desk to be slower than you expected at times. We feel it is important to mention that we have a strict no smoking policy for staff on shift as this is something we take very seriously. The staff member who checked you in does not smoke in his free time, let alone in work. But, we are very sorry the front desk service was not quick enough and will speak to this member of staff member to see if more training is necessary to fasten the service. Thank you again for your time and we do hope you will stay with us in the future, The Flying Pig Uptown

(188 results)


← Back to search results

Please give us your feedback