X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
3382 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

I liked the accommodation, the location and the staff, but I didn't like the atmosphere, which is really in accordance with the Amsterdam atmosphere, full of young people getting high almost every time. It's not a fault of this specific hostel, as almost all the central Amsterdam is like that. I really missed a laundry inside the hostel.


89%

Very nice hostel, with a very cool bar, really easy to meet people in there. Good if you are travelling alone or with a couple friends. The breakfast was pretty nice for a hostel. Spacious room, some showers were too small but there was one with a good size in my floor. The only "downside", if I can call this, are the stairs, god there are stairs, pray for you to get a room in a low floor. hehehehehe, other than that pretty nice hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for your great review! We are very happy to see you enjoyed our bar and breakfast! Unfortunately, due to the original Dutch architecture of our building, there is no elevator. But our staff is always more than happy to help out taking luggage upstairs :) Thanks again for your time and we are looking forward to welcoming you again next time you are in Amsterdam! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

Quite expensive to stay here, which may be normal for this area. The common room is a bar, which isn't great if you're not a drinker. It's one of the cleanest hostels I've stayed in. Some of the nightclubs in this area are bad, with door policies that are not tourist-friendly.


66%

Really noisy hostel. You call hear people going up and down starts all night long. I don't mind the music that is playing at the bar, since the environment to hang out and chill is well presented. But I had a hard time sleeping every time someone was moving floors. Bunk beds shake easily and if you have someone that moves quite a lot could also disturb your night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for leaving a review of your stay! We are sorry to read you were not able to sleep that well because of noise. Hopefully you did tell our receptionists about this. There is always a possibility to move to another room for example and we do have free earplugs at reception. We will have a look at the bed you stayed in to make sure everything is ok. Thanks again for your time and letting us know! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Best hostel in Amsterdam. Super friendly Staff. Super Chill. Super Fun. The Kiwi staff member was amazing.... highly recommend

  • 16th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey There! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are Happy to hear you had such a great stay and hope to welcome you back in the future! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown.

66%

I would perhaps advertise this as a 18-25 hostel.


94%

A wonderful place to stay with a very helpful and down to Earth staff. Definitely a great pledge for 20-30 year olds looking to both travel and party.

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for leaving this great review of your stay with us! This is awesome! We will pass on your nice words to our staff as well :) Thanks again for your time and we hope to see you again in the future! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

Great hostel and easy to meet other people. You have your own light and outlet for each bed. The bathrooms are small (especially the showers) but that is the only negative point about the place. Otherwise, staff is friendly and it is near many bars and clubs. There is also a kitchen if you want to cook things. The location is great because you are walking distance from everything but in a calmer area near a park. I would def recommend this hostel!


91%

El Flying Pig fue toda una experiencia. Muy Ámsterdam, sin estar en medio de todo el jaleo. El staff fue muy simpático y se encargaban de hacerte sentir cómodos. Muy buena la idea del Smoking Room (si van a Ámsterdam no pueden dejar de pasar a un coffeeshop). Lo único malo es que nos tocaron duchas irregulares, con mucha o poca presión, y con una temperatura del agua o muy elevada o muy fría. Lo mejor fue el desayuno. Súper abundante, rico con tostadas (con nutella), té, café, fruta, jugos.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for your nice comments! We really appreciate this since we always do our best to make everybody's stay as fun and comfortable as possible. We are very happy to read you had such a good time with us! Thanks for mentioning the temperature of the showers, we will ask our maintenance team to have a look straight away. We hope to see you soon again :) Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

The reception was very open with a bar and a casual and friendly smoking room, and I did not feel worried about security as they provided key cards to the building and your room, and also sold padlocks for the big cages to put your stuff in. The hostel was very quirky and generally considered quite a young place, perfect for weekends away with friends or backpackers, but older people would also be welcome; also very good value for money as my room was only €15 per night and was kept very clean.

  • 9th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for leaving this amazing review! We are very happy to read you had such a good time with us! Also, we are glad to hear you felt safe! We do care a lot about this, we also have a free safe at the reception for valuables ;) Thanks again for your time and we hope to see you again soon! Cheers The Flying Pig Uptown

49%

-loud music in bar till 3am, starting up again at breakfast. Complimentary ear plugs do little to stop pillow vibrating -bunks wobbly/ sensitive to movement of other person -vastly insufficient toilets, especially on level 1- 1 toilet, 1 urinal, 2 showers for 4 dorms (mine was 8 bed) -squishy dorms, corridors, bathrooms, bar, kitchen - limited common areas -smelled like People had been smoking in toilets -perhaps need to consider converting bottom floor dorms to toilets and common areas

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for leaving a review! We appreciate that you took the time to fill this out. We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here. A lot of our rooms are ensuite but there are showers on toilets on every floor for the rooms that do not have this option. Were sorry for the inconvenience this caused for you and your stay. We will look into the bunk bed you stayed in to make sure everything is okay. Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review! Cheers, Flying Pig Uptown

86%

Party hostel, always a good atmosphere in the bar and smoking area, I've made good friends on flying pig.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are very happy to see your nice review, thanks! We're glad you enjoyed the atmosphere in our bar and great to hear you made some new friends as well! Thanks again for your time and we hope to see you back soon :) Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

Buen hostal. Sólo estuve una noche, pero se me trató muy bien y me gustó mucho el desayuno. Buen wifi. Quizás podrían tener lockers gratis. La ubicación es cercana a un gran parque, lo que es genial si quieres recorrerlo, pero queda un poco lejos de la estación de trenes.


91%

Great hostel, really good breakfast. Nice staff. Would be great if there was somewhere to hang out that wasn't the bar or smoke room, but what can you do!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for taking the time to leave such a nice review :) We are very happy to see you had a great time with us! We hope to welcome you again next time you are in Amsterdam. Thanks again! The Flying Pig Uptown

77%

They use slave labor to clean everything. You have 3 different people come and vacuum your room because they need something to show they are working.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for your review! We really appreciate it you took the time to fill this out. We can assure you there are no slaves working here, but we do think cleanliness is very important! There is a team of cleaners working daily with each their own tasks to make sure everything is spotless. They might come into the rooms just after each other during the day. We are sorry if this has caused any inconvenience. Thanks again for leaving this review! The Flying Pig Uptown

80%

Curti o ambiente,galera cool

  • 2nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Loved the athmosphere! I'd liked to have more space to cook and eat though. A real bathroom instead of these small shower cabines wouldn't have hurt either. Great location near the center and next to the Vondelpark

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for leaving a review of your stay! We are very glad to see you enjoyed your time here :) Hopefully we will see you again soon! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

80%

Good stay, nice naigbourhood.


89%

1st time staying in a hostel and I can't complain,value for money really friendly staff and quests.defiantly stay there again.

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Amazing hostel. Awesome little bar down stairs which makes it great to meet people! Definitely will be returning!


(140 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback