X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
3683 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

The hostel was alright but the vibe was strange, it's very pokey, dark and gloomy. No kitchen was really annoying and the staff (one guy) seemed grumpy. Would have been really nice to have yoghurt and some fruit at brekky! Location is quite far out! I'm definitely staying more in the centre next time

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving a review of your stay! We are sorry to hear though, your stay was not quite as expected. We actually do have a fully equipped kitchen available for everyone to use! Sorry you missed this. Our breakfast is a buffet with cereal, bread, boiled eggs, fresh fruit, yoghurt and more! We would love to know more about your stay with us and the grumpy staff member. Therefor we will contact you personally. Thanks again! The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

Really friendly staff, great atmosphere and nice location.

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Nice!! Thank you so much for this great review of your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you back soon! :) Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

Good stay, really great staff and friendly atmosphere

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much! It's great to see you had such a good time here :) We will pass on your kind words to our staff too, they would love to hear this. Thanks again! The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

j'ai été très bien accueilli et tout le séjour s'est bien passé. j'espère que plus tard il y aura un monte bagage ou quelque chose qui y ressemble car les marches sont très étroites et un peu dur à monter avec les valises. il y a eu une jolie demoiselles blonde qui m'a accueilli avec mon cousin le lundi 10 au soir vers 19H , pourriez vous songer à une augmentation ou un autre geste de quelques natures qu'il soit car elles nous a bien accueilli :)

  • 10th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for leaving such a nice review of you stay with us! We are very happy to see you enjoyed yourself here. Hopefully we will see you again on your next visit to Amsterdam! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

Was a great chilled place. Lots of interesting people.

  • 9th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for leaving such a nice review! We are very happy to see you enjoyed yourself while staying with us :) We hope to see you again one day! Safe travels, The Flying Pig Uptown

71%

Amazing staff super nice and accommodating , bathrooms are really small and kitchen closes to early 10:30. But pretty good location close enough to walk everywhere but far enough not to hear any loud noise at nice , all and all would stay there again mainly because how amazing the staff is

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot! It's great to hear you enjoyed yourself with us. We will pass on your kind words to our staff as well! They would love to hear this :) We hope to see you again one day! Safe travels, The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

Really liked the atmosphere and the staff. The hostel itself was warm and inviting and had a chill, friendly vibe that made it easy to relax and talk to other people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
That sounds great! Thank you so much! We are happy to see you had such a good time with us. Hopefully we will see you again soon :) Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

80%

Generally a good stay. The breakfast was great & so was the staff. A super energetic team. I would have loved more activities - a chill pub crawl, etc put on by the hostel. The only major complaint I have is the stairs. I understand it's an older building and there's no elevators. But WHY can't the door on the main level be used? You have to go downstairs to the bar/reception in order to go up the stairs, which is dumb. My bed also had a big gap between it & wall so a lot of things fell.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving us your review, very helpful! Good to hear you enjoyed yourself with us. Having the reception in the bar downstairs indeed means everyone has to go past reception to get into the hostel. And that is exactly the reason we did it that way, since we can now keep an eye on everyone that comes in, to keep the hostel safe and secure :-) Also, feel free to ask for a bottom bed next time so you can keep your things on the floor, if you like. Ciao for now, The Flying Pig

100%

Adorei!!! Excelente quarto...

  • 4th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much!! :D

100%

Fiz uma eurotrip e passei por vários hostels e esse foi de longe o melhor de todos. Excelente organização, limpeza, stafs super simpaticos, café da manhã bem servido e super bem localizado. Enfim foi uma ótima experiência, ficarei la mais vezes e recomendo a todos.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow, this is great to read! Thanks a lot :) We are very happy you had such a good time with us :) We hope to see you again in the future! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

71%

Hostel dentro da média, eu particulamente não gostei da localização. Do demais tudo ok.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving a review of your stay with us! We really appreciate it and we are happy to see you had a good time with us :) We are sorry to hear you did not like the location. We are situated close to the main night life square, the beautiful Vondelpark and Museum square with all the famous museums. But Central Station is about 10 minutes away with the tram. Thanks again for your time! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

74%

It's hard to rate this hostel because one incident ruined my stay here. I left some toiletries on the self next to my bed and I believe the cleaning staff threw them away. I looked everything else up but didn't think anyone would take or throw away my toiletries. This is actually the only hostel that I stay in the entire 6 weeks I was in Europe that I needed to lock any of my stuff up and it turns out my stuff gets taken or thrown away. The staff was friendly but not helpful in this matter.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving a review of your stay! We are very sorry to read you lost your toiletries, though. Our cleaners bring everything they find in the rooms to the reception every day. We checked the lost and found and unfortunately your toiletries were not handed in. We are so sorry! Thanks again for your time, The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

A charming hostel with good vibes and a helpful and funny staff.

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks a lot for leaving this awesome review :) We really appreciate it and we hope to see you back soon! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

Perfect for anyone looking to unwind after Dekmantel festival. May seem expensive but you definitely get what you pay for, free unlimited breakfast!! Rooms are air conditioned and spacious with adequate bag storage. Every member of staff was more than willing to help

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much! This is all great to hear. We will pass on your kind words to our staff too :) Thanks again for taking the effort to leave this review and hopefully we will see you again on your next visit to Amsterdam! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

86%

This place was a lot of fun. First of all the location is pretty awesome, no it's not in the center but you're literally right next to vondelpark which is one of the best things about Amsterdam. Security is good, stairs were a bit much but I didn't mind, get off your lazy asses if you're complaining about them. Lounge area was great, super social, great beer and a popping smoking room as well. Would definitely stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Awesome!! Thank you so much for this great feedback of your stay with us. We are very happy to see you enjoyed yourself here and we hope to see you again whenever you come back to Amsterdam! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

80%

Good hostel, great party atmosphere. Besides a bag of my clothes (that was being held at reception) being replaced with half eaten bread rolls.. it was a good hostel.


69%

The staff was excellent & very friendly. Keep up the great work. But I don't like the facilities that much, sorry! It was too small & crowded. Booked for 3 nights and just stayed for a night. The room at the 3rd floor and there was no lift. My luggage was heavy and I almost die to carry it up/down. There was number to send WhatsApp if we need help but not sure if it is appropriate to get them to send me towel (forgot to get it earlier) so I just need to go down and get up again to get it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for leaving a review of your stay! We really appreciate this. We are very happy to see you liked our staff so much! We will pass on your kind words to them. Sorry to see you left earlier :( Due to the traditional Dutch architecture of our building, we don't have an elevator. But we can always help out carrying luggage upstairs! And you can always Whatsapp us, doesn't matter for what and at what time. We are always there to help out. Thanks again! The Flying Pig Uptown

86%

Super cool staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot!! That is great to hear :D We hope to see you back again on your next visit to Amsterdam!

86%

I good place

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much! It's great to see you enjoyed yourself with us :) Hopefully we will see you again soon! Safe travels, The Flying Pig Uptown

80%

I had previously stayed at the flying pig downtown and had a great experience there so I decided to try the other location. Here is was about the same, but unfortunately, someone who wasn't supposed to be in our room got in and swiped some people's things. The staff wasn't very helpful in trying to find out what happened and that was disappointing. Other than that, the hostel has comfortable beds and relatively nice, but small, facilities. I wouldn't stay here again but it was an okay experience

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for leaving a review of your stay with us! We are very sorry to read about what happened when you were staying with us. As we take safety ans security very serious, we would love to know more about this! Therefor, we will contact you personally. Thanks again for your time. Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

(188 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback