X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
3345 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Great hostel, fun bar on site, clean beds. Super quick and easy walk to the center an a square with any necessary amenities just a couple minutes away, so no need to use the expensive public transport. Just far enough off the main street that it's nice and quiet for when you finally need some sleep. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, always willing to answer any questions we had. A bit expensive but I think everything is in Amsterdam. Overall had a great time. Loved the art :p

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your kind words! We really appreciate it :) We hope to see you again! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

the location was good,it is really close the bars area and museums.staff was also good,really friendly and helpful.our room was a little cold, but when we told this to staff, they immediately turned on heating.so i totally recommend!

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for your great feedback! We are very happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us :) Hopefully we will see you again soon! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

86%

A bit of a walk from most of the city. But I thought it was nice not being right in the middle of the riffraff that is Amsterdam during NYE. Very cool layout of the hostel. The staff were all super friendly and outgoing. Bar and smoke room were nice as well. A bit pricey but we were there during the week of New Years- but I thought it was definitely worth the money I paid. Looking forward to a future stay at the flying pig uptown for sure


77%

This hostel was pretty cool. It was clearly a party hostel. I didn't really like the bar/smoke room lounge. For me personally it wasn't the most conducive to meeting people because I'm not one to make friends in a bar, but for many that won't be an issue.


100%

Good bedroom, clean hostel, nice atmosphere. Loved it!


83%

Excellent location in such a nice neighborhood. Very cool atmosphere due to the bar and smoking area, always friendly people coming and going... would definitely come back again!


69%

Definitely a party hostel. I felt that the rooms were a bit crammed.


100%

It was amazing experience stay in flying pig , staff all so kind and friendly , my bed was compy as my bed at home , also whole building was sooooo clean , Just perfect place lol I will be back this summer again ;)

  • 23rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for your great feedback! we are very happy to read you had such a good time with us. We hope to see you again soon :) Cheers, The Flying pig Uptown

83%

Excellently-run hostel. Just about everything is exactly as it should be: bathrooms are clean, showers are hot and have good pressure, beds are clean and comfortable, and there is plenty of storage available. The staff is friendly and helpful as well. Main knock: The hostel has a reputation for being a party hostel. That's fine, but a drunk group of guests loudly barged into my room at 3AM one morning and woke everyone up. That's plain rude, and staying here means risking restful sleep.


80%

Nice place to stay at central location , all major destinations are nearby and are at a walking distance from this hostel. Great staff , good atmosphere , lively people. A decent place to stay over

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Located in a snazzy part of town but a fair walk from food and the city centre. Hostel was relatively clean and the bar was well stocked but lacking in a proper common area. The only common area was a bar and smoking lounge which is a little hard to socialise in. Overall pretty good for a chain hostel!


94%

I totally recommend the Flying Pig! Aside from the kitchen (that is OK, but could be better) everything is perfect!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks a lot for your kind words :) We appreciate this a lot and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us! See you soon, hopefully! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

86%

Great all around hostel. Only thing missing is a pool table.

  • 17th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your great review! We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish we had the space for a pool table! ;) Hopefully, we will see you again soon. Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

Lovely people! I lost things and the staff found them. I got very stoned and the staff handed me some orange juice. Honestly, such a good vibe - genuine people, nice bar, good location - you're in for a win.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for your great feedback! We are very happy to see you had a good time with us :) Hopefully we will see you again soon! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

71%

Friendly staff and good location with museums being very close and walkable. As a solo traveler it was harder to meet people that I expected after reading reviews at this hostel but, it may just be the weekend I visited. Lots of stairs to get to rooms and they are steep, so keep that in mind when packing. Rooms were cleaned daily and maintained nicely. Loud hostel and sound travels easily so if you are a light sleeper keep that in mind. My stay here was fair, not that best or worst.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for taking the time to review your stay with us. We can learn a lot from your experience! Unfortunately, due to the traditional architecture of our building, we don't have an elevator. But our staff can always help out taking luggage upstairs! We do hope that our guests respect each others sleep, unfortunately we cannot always control this. We do have free earplugs though! ;) Thanks again! The Flying Pig Uptown

74%

Beds were decently comfy for being a hostel. The shower backed up a little and I had an ankle bath while I showered. The bathrooms are REALLY tiny. Otherwise I had a ton of fun. I did they pub crawl offered and made a lot of friends. The bar downstairs is for guests only but there were enough people staying at the hostel that I still met a ton of people. Would recommend! It's not too far of a walk from the center of Amsterdam. We usually walked there then took the tram back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay! :) We will have a look at the shower on the floor you stayed on and have it fixed straigt away. Thanks for mentioning this! We hope to see you again soon :) Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

Excellent hostel ! My favourite so far. It was very clean, walking distance to a lot of attractions. Staff was very nice. I would definitely go back next time I'm in Amsterdam

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for your kind words! It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us :) Hopefully we will see you again soon! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

Last time we were in Amsterdam we stayed at Van Gough Hostel. Uptown Flying Pig is much better. The atmosphere was really good for Europe in winter. The location is also very central. Definitely recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks so much for your kind words :) We are really glad you had a great time with us. Hopefully we will see you again soon Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Great hostel with super friendly staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for your great review! We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us :) Hopefully, we will see you soon again! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Awesome place! Everyone is chill including the staff, very easy to meet people plus the smokers room is heaven for anyone who doesn't want to constantly have to go to a coffee shop or face the outside world.


(129 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback