X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
4004 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Great experience overall , no problems/complaints.

  • 24th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review. Brilliant you had no complaints or problems and enjoyed your stay, that's what we like to read :) Thank you again for your time and Happy New Year! The Flying Pig Uptown

86%

Conflicting and confusing information at the front desk.

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you very much for your feedback. We will contact you personally about your review to see what has happened/ how we can resolve this so it does not happen again. We do hope to hear back from you, thank you for your time. Happy New Year, The Flying Pig Uptown

91%

Very clean and friendly hostel. However the front desk can be kinda slow for various smoky reasons....

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you very much for reviewing your stay here with us, we appreciate you taking the time to give us some feedback :) We are glad overall you enjoyed your time here with us! However, we are sorry you found our front desk to be slower than you expected at times. We feel it is important to mention that we have a strict no smoking policy for staff on shift as this is something we take very seriously. The staff member who checked you in does not smoke in his free time, let alone in work. But, we are very sorry the front desk service was not quick enough and will speak to this member of staff member to see if more training is necessary to fasten the service. Thank you again for your time and we do hope you will stay with us in the future, The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

Great social hostel.. Although quite a few stoners staying who aren't the most chatty haha. Location is close to everything and staff are helpful and friendly. Breakfast is really great as well! The only downside was getting my bag up the stairs to the fourth floor...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for giving us some feedback about your stay. We appreciate you taking the time. We are happy you had a good stay with us and enjoyed our location :) Unfortunately, our traditional Dutch architecture means we cannot install an elevator, but our staff are always more than happy to help with any bags that need lifting. We are glad this did not affect your stay too much though! Thank you again for your time and Happy New Year, The Flying Pig Uptown

86%

I had a great time. Meet same cool people. There are no douts that this is one of the best hostel in Ámsterdam


80%

The place is cool, a bit far from the red light district but near the Van gogh museum and there are some other nice places around. It's a bit tiring to climb up 4 floors to go to the rooms but they have a real cool bar downstairs, perfect to chill. The breakfast was busy every morning, there are not enough places for everybody to sit and have their meal but I can say that they have a decent breakfast compared to other hostels I've been to. Great atmosphere.

  • 20th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The location, breakfast and cleanliness are very good! The room is just a bit tight.


94%

Very cheap, in the center of the city and everything is provided.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for your review! We are happy to see that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to welcome you back in the future, Thanks again, The Flying Pig Uptown

86%

A very good hostel, the only problem are the stairs, and it's a little far from the city centre. Besides of that, a very good hostel.


89%

I only spent one night at Flying Pig Uptown, but the hostel was ideal for my visit. Very clean, great atmosphere and the staff were very helpful too. The only potential throwback is the hostels location, it's a good 20-25 minute walk from the main station, but with a reliable tram system this doesn't really cause many issues. Free breakfast was superb and I would use this hostel if I was to visit Amsterdam again, so I recommend it to others.


83%

Very hostel-like atmosphere where you can meet a lot of other travellers.

  • 14th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you very much for your feedback! It is great you enjoyed our piggy atmosphere and found it a good place to meet people :) Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future. Thanks again, The Flying Pig Uptown

80%

it's a fairly good hostel. if anyone is travelling on their own and struggles to meet people in loud bar environments then this is not the hostel for you. The only chill area is the bar downstairs.


77%

Nice hostel, welcoming and helpful staff. While the location is a little way out from the main centre of Amsterdam, it's easy to get to the centre from the hostel. There are also lots of nice attractions around this area (museums, Vondel Park etc). The facilities are good put pretty small and cramped - although this seems more to do with houses in amsterdam rather than this hostel specificially. This is a party hostel, so if you're not into that you may want to stay elsewhere.


77%

I've stayed at this hostel for 5 nights.The location is not too bad.Not exactly in the center but about 25 min walk from the dam square and about 10 min by tram which is near by.I was in the hostel alone for the first 2 night and the rest I was with a friend.The atmosphere was not too great.I guess it's because the hostel is big and with lots of people so everybody was into their own groups.smoking area way too small. Couldn't fit everyone which is kinda stupid. Breakfast was surprisingly nice

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your feedback, we are always looking to improve our guest experience here so your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad overall you enjoyed your time here. We are sorry to read that you did not get to mingle with other guests. We try to run events such as pub crawls etc to try and encourage guests to mingle as often as we can. We are sorry there was no event during your stay. Thank you again for your time, we wish you all the best! The Flying Pig UT

83%

The flying pig uptown was in a great location next to a lot of restaurants and shopping as well as sightseeing. Everyone was extremely friendly but it would have been nice if the staff was more inclusive of going out and getting the guests to engage especially because of its party like atmosphere.


97%

Great hostel! Fab atmosphere, friendly staff and a good location.

  • 10th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! It's fantastic to see that you had a great stay. We do hope you will stay with us again in the future, The Flying Pig Uptown

91%

A kitchen open and available 24/7 would be very nice to have :)


54%

Ideal if you're a twenty year old boy who is traveling without your parents for the first time and has absolutely no idea how to pace yourself when smoking

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank for you taking the time to review your stay, we appreciate the feedback. We are very sorry to read that our atmosphere was not to your liking. We have a wide spectrum of guests from 18 to the eternal young at heart. Some do enjoy to smoke in our smoking room, but others don't smoke at all and enjoy our bar, getting to meet our staff and fellow travellers. We are sorry this was not your experience here with us. Thank you again for your time, The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Everything is perfect! Exelent location, atmosphere and staff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
WOW! Thank you so much for this brilliant review, we appreciate it a lot :) We hope you will stay with us again in the future, Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

Great place to party, get to meet people and visit the city, which can be kinda far for some people, it's about 30min walking to the center, but it is a great deal, if there are any vacancies at the Flying Pig Downtown, stay there, if not you should definitely stay at Uptown, really nice place and good location, 5min walk to the museum's and the I am sterdam sight


(189 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback