X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
3668 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Thank you so much for going above and beyond for me. The staff were so helpful and approachable. Our room was clean and had a great layout giving everyone their space. Although you're not in the middle of the downtown area, the hostel is near a park and the Van Gogh museum which is a huge plus. Thanks for such a wonderful experience.

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI there, We are so happy to read this! Awesome :) Thanks a lot! We will make sure to pass on your kind words to our staff as well, they will love to see this! Thanks again and we hope to see you again! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

The flying pig is a fun hostel staff are very friendly and work hard to ensure everyone has an enjoyable experience. We are old travellers and felt welcome!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, This is great to hear! Thank you so much :) We will make sure to pass on your kind words to our staff as well, they would love to hear this! Thanks again and hopefully we will see you back one day! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

We stayed in a double dorm - super cramped with barely any space to put our bags. Showers could be better - no room to put your stuff which is really annoying. Staff were great though and the hostel overall has a cool vibe, and the bar is good too. Boiled eggs at breakfast is a big winner in my books too! Always good to have something more substantial than toast and cereal.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for leaving a review of your stay, we really appreciate this. We are very happy to see you like our staff, the bar and the breakfast! Thanks! Under each bed there are big lockers to leave your luggage, we are sorry to hear this wasn't enough space! We will look into how we can improve the showers. Thanks for mentioning this! Thanks again for your time. Safe travels! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

91%

Great place for young people looking to have a good time in Amsterdam. In walking distance from basically everything. They have a smoking room so the whol place smells like weed, always.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving this nice review of your stay! We really appreciate it you took the time to fill this out. Hopefully we will see you again if you come back to Amsterdam one day! :) Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

We really enjoyed our two nights here. It felt very safe but at the same time nice and relaxed with a good atmosphere. The bar was a great place to meet people with very reasonably priced drinks. The breakfast was also decent - except for the sad lack of decent coffee I was very surprised that we got duvets rather than just a blanket and the beds were very comfortable

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving this great review! We are very happy to read you enjoyed yourself so much with us. Thanks for your comment about the coffee, we will look into this to see what what we can improve. Thanks again for your time! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Great smoking area that really brings people together!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Wow what a good rating of your stay with us! We are so happy to read this, thanks a lot :) We are very happy you liked our smoking room, we do too! Thanks again and hopefully we will see you again one day. Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

It was very fun and an amazing breakfast and bar downstairs!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We really appreciate this nice review! Thank you so much for taking the effort. We are very happy to see you had such a good time with us and we hope to see you again if you come back to Amsterdam! :) Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

91%

We had the most amazing time staying at the flying Pig and would highly recommend to anyone wanting to meet cool people in Amsterdam. Would love it if they could open the outdoor area for a chill out zone and make the smoking room more comfortable like the downtown Flying pig.

  • 9th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving such a nice review of your stay with us :) We are very happy you had a good time here! We wish we could have a bigger chill out room too! Hopefully one day.. :) Thanks again for your time! And we hope to see you again in the future! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

I love this location, especially the staff and the vibes. I wouldn't have stayed anywhere else after visiting other hostels in the area. Seriously the staff makes it, they are all the nicest and chillest ❤️❤️❤️

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Wow! Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so happy to hear this and we will pass this on to our staff. They would love to see this too! Thanks again and hopefully we will see you again whenever you are back in Amsterdam ;) Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

49%

Be careful when booking with another person. My friend and I booked two beds together, but they ended up putting us in one bed to share for the five nights. When I went back to reception and asked what was going on, they explained that that bunk is a queen bed and is for two people. This bed was no bigger than a king single. The room was smaller than your average car, was supposed to sleep 8 people and smelled so bad of body odour, alcohol and weed. we ended up cancelling and booking elsewhere.

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for leaving a review of your stay. We really appreciate it! We are sorry to hear you didn't know you booked a queen size bed for you two together and ended up cancelling your reservation! :( We have single and queen size beds in our dorms. A queen size is a good option if you don't mind sharing a bed and they are a bit cheaper too. We are very sorry for the confusion! Thanks again for your time! Cheers The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

Staff were so friendly and helpful, I had some issues with people in my room and they handled it so professionally and moved me into a different (and nicer) room. Was really impressed!

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving this great review! We are very happy to see you had such a good time with us and you found our staff friendly and helpful. We really appreciate this and we will pass on your nice words to our staff. They would love to hear this :) Thanks again! Hopefully we will see you again if you visit Amsterdam another time. Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

Great place to stay at, if you don't want to be that far away from the action. But I would definitely stay again. You meet so many nice people. Plus being right outside of Vondel Park makes it worth it. Only about a 20 min walk to all the main action at the Red Light, and trust me you will want to walk it. You'll know exactly where you are, and be completely lost in the atmosphere of Amsterdam.

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are so happy to read this great review of your stay with us. Thanks a lot! It's great to see you liked our location so much. We cannot agree more ;) Thanks again for your time! Hopefully we will see you again one day :) Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

77%

Nice smoking room, lots of stairs but a good hostel overall!


89%

Really nice staff and cool hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for leaving this nice review of your stay! We really appreciate it :) We are very happy to see you had a great time with us and we hope to see you again soon! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

77%

The hostel is very overpriced for the facilities offered. The rooms are super cramped but the breakfast was really good. I still don't understand how the stay deserved 40eur a night

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us. We are very sorry to read your experience with us was not as expected. We would love to find out more about it, therefor we will contact you personally. Thanks again! Cheers The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Amazing hostel. I loved all things, exception stairs. 5 floors is bad for my legs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving this great review! We really appreciate this :) Unfortunately, due to the traditional Dutch architecture of our building, we do not have an elevator. Sorry! Our staff is always there to help our carrying luggage upstairs though! Thanks again for your time and we hope to see you again! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

This hostel was AWESOME. The staff is super chill, the rooms are nice, and there's a bar in the hostel that's great for meeting people and pregaming. Rooms are spacious and bathrooms are clean. The free breakfast was one of the best I've had at hostels - hard boiled eggs, fruit, bread, and cereal. The location is good for day time activities, but it's a 20-25 minute walk away from any of the nightlife. Overall, excellent hostel and would gladly stay again!


97%

We loved our stay at this hostel! Great atmosphere, staff were really friendly & helpful and there is also a separate smoking room next to the bar where you can socialise and relax. The location is perfect too as the hostel overlooks Vondelpark and is right next to museums & art galleries! Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a safe, sociable and all round amazing stay.

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving this great review! We really appreciate it and we are very happy to see you had such a good time with us :) We hope to see you again next time you visit Amsterdam! Safe travels, The Flying Pig Uptown

91%

Staff were very friendly and helpful. The bed was very comfortable and the facilities were nice and clean. The stairs killed me in this place! Four flights with a 20kg bag is a bit to much for me!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you so much for leaving such a great review! We will pass on your kind words to our staff. Due to the traditional Dutch architecture, we cannot install in elevator in our building. We are sorry you found it difficult with your bags, but our staff are always happy to help with any bags that need lifting :) We hope to welcome you back in the future. Safe travels, The Flying Pig Uptown.

89%

Really fun stay here! Super social breakfast/bar area and smoking room that made it beyond easy to meet people. Great location next to the park for chilling out. I much preferred this over the busy center of town. Good walking tour, free breakfast, hot showers.


(157 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback