X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
3138 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Pleasant stay however considering it was the most expensive place we stayed during our time in Europe it would have been nice if the bathroom facilities were a little bigger! Also no elevator was a bit of a hassle considering my sister had a torn acl at the time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review. When designing the hostel layout we chose to provide a larger number of slightly smaller bathrooms to more readily accommodate more guests. Also, due to our architecture we are unable to install an elevator, but our staff are happy to carry luggage to rooms or, space permitting, move guests with medical complaints to lower floors. We hope to see you again soon! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

Very good hostel! Location is great, 2 min walk from rijk and van gogh museum. Canal tour is like 5 min walk. My only problem was that there is no lift. I did not expect to go 5 stories above, thank god I had two small bags. Atmosphere in the common/smoking room was excellent. Next time I will ask for rooms in the lower floor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review. Unfortunately due to our traditional Dutch architecture we are unable to accommodate an elevator, but staff are always happy to help guests carry luggage to their room. We hope the stairs don't stop you staying with us again! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Cool hostel, friendly staff, good vibes, good times! Zoe is a cutie

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! We hope to see you again soon. - The Flying Pig Uptown

57%

The staff were helpful and really nice! I wasn't impressed with the cleanliness of my room though. I also think that smoking should be more regulated as people were smoking joints in my room constantly even though there is a smoking room available down stairs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review. We are sorry that the cleanliness of the room was not to your standard as we always strive to maintain a high level of cleaning throughout. Also, there is a strict no smoking policy anywhere outside of the designated smoking area. All guests are informed of this on arrival. We ask that other guests inform us if there are people smoking in their room so that we able to intervene and charge rule breakers. Apologies for any inconvenience. - The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

Great place! Awesome location right next to Vondelpark, great staff, cool funky atmosphere. Great bar area with smoking room. Clean rooms and beds, good bathrooms, lockers under the beds and also available in the halls for in-between checkin and checkout. Only stayed for one night, but seemed like it would be a good place to meet people if travelling solo. Definitely recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for the awesome review. We hope you are able to stay with us for longer next time! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

86%

Shower was good, toilets were extremely tiny. I loved the vibe, but the bar can be dead compared to the smoking room. We stayed on the top floor, which got extremely hot. Thankfully they gave us a fan for the last night which helped. The stairs can be tough -- try to get a room on the lower floors. I had a great time there though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your review. Due to our traditional architecture we chose to create a larger number of slightly smaller toilets to accommodate a greater number of guests. Our staff are also always happy to help carry luggage to the higher floors. We hope the stairs don't stop you visiting again! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Very nice place to stay, staff very friendly and helpful, really nice location away from the loud parts of Amsterdam. Being on top on the beautiful Vondelpark is a bonus! Would recommend to anyone!

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the awesome review! Visit us again soon :) Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

77%

Located right next to the beautiful park, and also a short tram ride to the centre of town. However, unless you're into smoking up, you're going to have a tough time meeting people. The common room is tiny, and I found that people we're happy to be in their small smoking circles and to not talk to others. The pub crawl is amazing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review. Depending on the guests the hostel can sometimes become smoker oriented with a lot of socialising occurring in the smoking room. To remedy this we now run drinking games in the bar to bring lone travellers together as well as continuing our promotion of a great pub crawl. Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

This was definitely one of the best hostels I stayed in! The social atmosphere is what makes it amazing. The bar and smoking room are always full with young people having a good time. The room was clean, has lockers under the beds, and there are enough showers so you will never have to wait. Great location- not right in the core but close enough-- and the uptown neighbourhood is full of restaurants and parks so you won't feel remote from the city center. Staff was friendly too!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your great review! We look forward to seeing you again. Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

Great complementary breakfast. Staff is unbelievably helpful. Even though the AC was on, the room was too warm even though it was at the lowest temperature.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review. We were having some problems with the air conditioning units but they are now fixed and working correctly! We hope that you will stay with us again. Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

It was loud at night in my room, but there isn't much the staff can do about that. Staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was kindly kept out past 11:00. A great hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review. Our night receptionists do regular hostel checks to try and ensure people aren't creating too much noise inside rooms during the later hours. We hope the noise did not affect your stay and that you decide to visit us again. - The Flying Pig Uptown

91%

We only stayed here one night, but we arrived in the morning towards the end of breakfast and the staff kindly allowed us to eat breakfast prior to our checking in. Everyone was really friendly and nice and it's a great place to meet people! We stayed in a six person mixed dorm room, and it was totally fine. If you are staying here and want to save money, make sure to bring a lock for the lockers under the beds, as that's really the only place to store your goodies!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review! Just so know in case you visit us again, we also have a free safe at reception where guests can store their smaller valuables. We hope to see you again soon! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

A great hostel with a fun atmosphere. The room and ensuite bathroom were clean, the bed was very comfortable and the room was quite and secure. Breakfast was good with a few options and the location was close to a tram station or walking distance from most of the main areas.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the great review! We hope you come and stay with us again soon. - The Flying Pig Uptown

86%

i very much enjoyed my stay at the hostel, esp the night i was tripping. lol

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Sort of away from the center compared to the other flying pig. There's a smoking room and you can start your party there, good happy hour as well.


91%

Awesome location near to local bars, coffee shops, and restaurants as well as tourist sites like the Heineken Brewery. Staff was very knowledgeable, fun, and willing to help. Smoke room and bar in the lounge were always full of other travelers, so was very easy to meet other people. Only problem was the stairs were like the ones in the Exorcist aka extremely steep and precarious, especially with bags. The elderly and weak, beware.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your review. As we have very traditional Dutch architecture we are unable to accommodate an elevator, but hope this didn't negatively affect your stay too much. We hope to see you again soon! - The Flying Pig Uptown

86%

This was the 2nd hostel I stayed at in Amsterdam. For roughly the same price, this hostel was much better value. It has a great atmosphere and the staff are very friendly. The kitchen was well equipped, good breakfast and lockers under the bed. It is right next to Vondelpark and close enough to all the shops you'll need (supermarkets, restaurants/ bars, ATMs etc.). I would definitely recommend it, especially if you want to meet new people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your nice review! We hope you decide to come and stay with us again. Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

That is one of the best hostels i have ever been!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the great review, hopefully we will see you again soon! - The Flying Pig Uptown

86%

I had a great stay at Hostel Mango. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Especially one of the reception girls by the name of Zoe. She was very informative and was wiling to do extra research to help me out. A big thank you to her!!! The location of the hostel is ideal as it is close to public transport. Breakfast was pretty good as well; it was much nicer and healthier than what you would get in a hotel!!! The next time I am in Amsterdam, I will definitely stay at Hostel Mango again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your review, though it appears that you have our name confused with a hostel in Prague! Names aside we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Flying Pig Uptown and look forward to seeing you again soon. - The Flying Pig Uptown

91%

I was really sick for most of my stay in Amsterdam, so spent a lot of time in the hostel. Rooms were spacious, beds comfy, bar seemed fun, sweet leafy green window views over the adjacent park and a huge team of diligent staff cleaning the place constantly. Great location too, I just wish I was well enough to enjoy the city more.


(144 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback