X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
3490 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

top-hostel, perfect location near museums, great staff, enough facilities for shower/toilet, and a nice bar with good music to chill out.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you so much for your kind words :) We will pass them on to our staff too! We are very happy to see you had a great time with us. See you soon? :) Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

It's a nice hostel with free breakfast. Not outstanding but alright. Location is great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay! We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us :) Hopefully we will see you again some time! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

it was a really nice stay, its by far one the best ones ive ever stayed, really clean, location was good, excellent personal really friendly and helpfull

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow.. This is amazing! Thank you so much! We will pass on your nice words to our staff as well. Thanks again for filling this out and we hope to see you again soon! :) Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

Great. There is a bar and a smoking room. We could use lockers to leave baggages even after checking out. Friendly and helpful staff, great atmosphere. One negative: the room was quite stuffy in the morning and the windows couldn't be opened.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for taking the time to fill this out! :) We are very happy to read your stay with us was great! Thanks for mentioning that the room was stuffy in the morning. We will look into this! Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

Fantastic social layout and good vibes here as well all the facilities an cleanliness you would hope to find in a hostel - full marks all round. Note it is about a 10min walk to the centre of Amsterdam but it's interesting all the way and not an isssue at all.


74%

Yo man the flying pig is like pretty chill man. Tons of dope people and dope dope dude. If you're like in amsterdam(yea amsterdam brah!) and you're like a mellow dude with good vibes the flying pig is like your place G. I mean dude it's right by the Van Gogh museum, you know the dude with the trippy artwork bro! It's like not far from the Anne Frank house which is like in all seriousness a staunch reminder of the horrors of fascism man, like my dad dude he's such a fascist! Peace out dawg!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yo dude :P Thanks a lot for leaving a review of your stay! Good to hear you enjoyed yourself while staying with us :) We hope to see you again in the future! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

Myself and Group of friends stayed in this hostel for 3 nights (Thu/Fri/Sat) and left on the sunday, Overall was very happy with the hostel, nothing was a bother, the staff were friendly and welcoming, the beds & room were ideal and just exactly what you want/need if you are only staying for a few days like myself. The main area of Amsterdam (Dam square etc) is approx a 15 minute walk, or a few mins on a tram. Ideal! I would recommend this hostel and I would come back again.

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are very happy to read your review! Thanks! It's great to see you and your friends had a great time with us :) We hope to see you soon again! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

Me ha gustado el ambiente del Hostal, tiene una atmósfera tipo Erasmus con un desayuno INCREÍBLE, el personal muy amable y colaborador, me ha gustado

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for your kind words :) We are happy to read you had a great time with us! We hope to see you soon again. Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

91%

First hostel experience and it was amazing. Staff eas extremely helpful and very nice. Would strongly recommend this hostel.

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for your great feedback! We are very happy to read you had such a good time with us. Hopefully we will see you again soon! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

Flying Pig got its reputation for a reason. It has an eclectic group of people, and it definitely helped make my stay in Amsterdam fantastic. I would recommend.


83%

Great hostel if you don't mind being out of the city's center. Museums, coffeeshops, clubs/bars are still at a walking distance. The hostel is clean and has a friendly atmosphere. The bar and smoking room are good for meeting new people.


89%

Great hotel for partay..very casual friendly staff and free breakfast.if you are into drinking and smoking this will be a nice place

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us! Hopefully we will see you again in the future :) Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

La pasé genial en este hostel! El ambiete era muy amigable, el personal muy buena onda! Definitivamente volvería!

  • 22nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

I liked the accommodation, the location and the staff, but I didn't like the atmosphere, which is really in accordance with the Amsterdam atmosphere, full of young people getting high almost every time. It's not a fault of this specific hostel, as almost all the central Amsterdam is like that. I really missed a laundry inside the hostel.


89%

Very nice hostel, with a very cool bar, really easy to meet people in there. Good if you are travelling alone or with a couple friends. The breakfast was pretty nice for a hostel. Spacious room, some showers were too small but there was one with a good size in my floor. The only "downside", if I can call this, are the stairs, god there are stairs, pray for you to get a room in a low floor. hehehehehe, other than that pretty nice hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for your great review! We are very happy to see you enjoyed our bar and breakfast! Unfortunately, due to the original Dutch architecture of our building, there is no elevator. But our staff is always more than happy to help out taking luggage upstairs :) Thanks again for your time and we are looking forward to welcoming you again next time you are in Amsterdam! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

Quite expensive to stay here, which may be normal for this area. The common room is a bar, which isn't great if you're not a drinker. It's one of the cleanest hostels I've stayed in. Some of the nightclubs in this area are bad, with door policies that are not tourist-friendly.


66%

Really noisy hostel. You call hear people going up and down starts all night long. I don't mind the music that is playing at the bar, since the environment to hang out and chill is well presented. But I had a hard time sleeping every time someone was moving floors. Bunk beds shake easily and if you have someone that moves quite a lot could also disturb your night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for leaving a review of your stay! We are sorry to read you were not able to sleep that well because of noise. Hopefully you did tell our receptionists about this. There is always a possibility to move to another room for example and we do have free earplugs at reception. We will have a look at the bed you stayed in to make sure everything is ok. Thanks again for your time and letting us know! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Best hostel in Amsterdam. Super friendly Staff. Super Chill. Super Fun. The Kiwi staff member was amazing.... highly recommend

  • 16th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey There! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are Happy to hear you had such a great stay and hope to welcome you back in the future! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown.

66%

I would perhaps advertise this as a 18-25 hostel.


94%

A wonderful place to stay with a very helpful and down to Earth staff. Definitely a great pledge for 20-30 year olds looking to both travel and party.

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for leaving this great review of your stay with us! This is awesome! We will pass on your nice words to our staff as well :) Thanks again for your time and we hope to see you again in the future! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

(147 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback