X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
4000 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Great hostel! Fab atmosphere, friendly staff and a good location.

  • 10th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! It's fantastic to see that you had a great stay. We do hope you will stay with us again in the future, The Flying Pig Uptown

91%

A kitchen open and available 24/7 would be very nice to have :)


54%

Ideal if you're a twenty year old boy who is traveling without your parents for the first time and has absolutely no idea how to pace yourself when smoking

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank for you taking the time to review your stay, we appreciate the feedback. We are very sorry to read that our atmosphere was not to your liking. We have a wide spectrum of guests from 18 to the eternal young at heart. Some do enjoy to smoke in our smoking room, but others don't smoke at all and enjoy our bar, getting to meet our staff and fellow travellers. We are sorry this was not your experience here with us. Thank you again for your time, The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

Hostel muito bom e limpo. Ótima localização para quem quer ir aos museus e frequentar mais a Leidseplein.

  • 9th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Un hostel muy lindo, el problema es que los salones comunes son un bar y un salón fumador (los cuales tienen la música excesivamente fuerte), los horarios de la cocina son un poco reducidos pero están bien igual, el hostel muy limpio y el personal se encarga de que asi sea. El WiFi funciona muy bien, un muy buen hostel, volvería.


100%

Everything is perfect! Exelent location, atmosphere and staff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
WOW! Thank you so much for this brilliant review, we appreciate it a lot :) We hope you will stay with us again in the future, Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

77%

bonne auberge, propre, les lits sont confortables, le ptit dej est compris et bien fourni. lemplacement est pas top de top mais pour ceux qui ont pas peur de marcher 20minute pour aller au centre cest une top auberge

  • 8th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay! It's great that you enjoyed your stay with us! It's true, we are about 20 minutes walk from Dam Sq. but we are just 5 minutes from the Leidseplein entertainment area and right beside the museum district too, but we are glad this did not affect your stay too much! Thank you for your time, The Flying Pig Uptown

80%

Muy cerca de los museos andando (menos de 5 min), se puede fumar en una sala que hay para ello, la recepción huele a veces. El ambiente es de grupos de amigos fumando, en el bar ponen música y el precio de las cervezas creo que ronda los 5 €. El desayuno entra y está bien: tostadas de mermeladas o nutella, manzana y naranja cortadas, huevos, varios tipos de cereales, leche de vaca y de soja, y zumo de naranja y manzana. Por las noches el bar está hasta la 1, pero siguen fukaumando.


97%

Excelente hostel. Segunda vez que vou para Amsterdã e segunda vez que fico na rede Flying Pig. A primeira foi em Downton. Este fica um pouco mais afastado do trem, acesso é um pouco mais difícil, mas nada impeditivo.


94%

Great place to party, get to meet people and visit the city, which can be kinda far for some people, it's about 30min walking to the center, but it is a great deal, if there are any vacancies at the Flying Pig Downtown, stay there, if not you should definitely stay at Uptown, really nice place and good location, 5min walk to the museum's and the I am sterdam sight


89%

First time backpacking alone, amazing hostel, great vibe and a brilliant bar to meet other back packers, rooms are a solid good standard and breakfast included a wide range of food considering it's free. The only downside is the location but they also have a flying pig more central to Amsterdam. Definitely would book again

  • 5th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for choosing us to be your first solo backpacking experience, it is fantastic that you had such a good experience with us and you enjoyed our piggy atmosphere, we love it too :) We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, Thanks again! The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

Loved my stay here. It was even cleaner than my last visit 18 months ago, and the atmosphere is just as great. I'll stay here every time I go to Amsterdam.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for coming to stay with us again :) We are always looking to improve in all aspects of our guest experience, so we are delighted you think we have improved our cleanliness! Thank you for that. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

Great hostel, great environment, great staff and a great bar and smokers area. Loved my stay

  • 3rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Buen ambiente, gran trato... todo genial!

  • 3rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your review! We hope you'll stay with us again in the future :) The Flying Pig Uptown

69%

Had a great stay. Staff and people we met in hostel were all very friendly. Good atmosphere in the bar. Smoking room could be better, always busy and quite small. Our room smelled really bad as shower or toilet drain was broke or something - should look into that room 17. Overall a good stay but I personally preferred the downtown flying pig :)

  • 3rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you very much for your feedback, we are glad to read that you had a good stay with us! We have passed on your comments to the maintenance team to check the room in which you stayed, thank you for bringing this to our attention, we are glad this did not affect your stay with us too much. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future, Thank you again for your time, The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

This hostel is great, stayed with my girlfriend in a double room (queen size bed) Location is right near Vondell Park, just outside of the centre which I prefer as it's easy enough to get anywhere in Amsterdam, especially by bike. Has a 'well-equipped' smoking room, free breaky and the staff are all very helpful. Stay here

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Wow, what a fantastic review, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review! It's brilliant that you had a great stay with us and recommend us to other, thank you for that :) We hope to welcome you back in the future - Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

86%

I really liked the hostel, staffs were extremely nice and helpful. Only thing is that the hostel has so much stairs and it's hard to move the suitcase up and down. But that isn't really that big of a deal if you are traveling light. Also check out time is 10:30, relatively early comparing to other hotels. Would be nice to push it half and hour or an hour later.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback, we appreciate it. It's great to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found our piggy team friendly and helpful :) We are sorry you found our stairs difficult with luggage, we know this can be difficult but our staff are always happy to help with carrying bags. Thank you again for your time, we do hope you will stay with us again in the future. All the best, The Flying Pig Uptown

91%

Had a great say here! Extremely friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, small kitchen but it had all the essentials. Free breakfast is a perk but nothing monumental (as expected). Conveniently has a smoking room and bar-- really great atmosphere and easy to meet people if you're traveling alone! Not far from the main museums (Van Gogh, Rijks, Modern Art) and just across the street from Vondelpark. Would highly recommend!


97%

The Flying Pig Uptown was a great place to stay in Amsterdam. Just outside the main canal area, very close to the museum area, it was well located for exploring Amsterdam. The rooms were clean and warm, and the bathrooms and showers were spotless. The bar always had specials on and the smoking room is a great idea, as it doesn't make the rest of the hostel smell like weed.

  • 29th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. It's brilliant that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our Uptown location :) We do hope you will stay again in the future, Thanks again, The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

i am from brazil and stayed there about for nights, it was amainz days, The only thing that they should have more attention is the loud music after midnight.

  • 28th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(221 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback