X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
3085 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

What can I say. At all of the flying pig hostels you run into one main problem, the staff. They are constantly hanging around off shift and totally killing that travelers vibe. Definitely more staff than travelers hanging around and because its the Netherlands they are usually half asleep in the smoke rooms taking up all the good space for people who have paid to be there and possibly smoked a little too much to give any decent advice on their locations. Shout out to Steve however at uptown.


74%

This was a nice hostel, next to the park which is good when it's sunny. Rooms were fine and breakfast was good. I liked that there was a smoking room. It seemed like a good hostel to meet people if you are travelling alone. The toilets were a bit small and cramped. There was a kitchen and also a small outside area I think.


94%

Very loud at night but it is well known as a party hostel, location was really good, beds comfy and an excellent breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We try to keep the noise to a reasonable level, but every now and then we do get a bit overenthusiastic. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by this! - The Flying Pig Uptown

74%

Enjoyed my stay here, no real issues. Bar was a bit overpriced.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay! We have quite a few deals in our bar that actually make our bar one of the cheapest ones in Amsterdam! If you'd decide to stay with us again, make sure you ask our bartender. Thanks again for the review! - The Flying Pig Uptown

80%

A party hostel only a bar and smoking room no chill out communal area. Mixed 4 bed dorm was VERY tiny and shower was almost over toilet. Helpful staff, good drink specials and variety included for breakfast. A little bit of a walk from main sites. Would reccomened to younger ages group looking to party.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! Your experience means a great deal to us. Unfortunately we don't have the space for a chill out communal area. The bathroom in the room where you stayed is indeed fairly small. There are other showers and toilets on every floor, of which some are more spacious than others. If you would stay with us again, please ask our staff which ones are more spacious! Thanks again for your feedback! - The Flying Pig Uptown

91%

Dorm rooms could use more bathrooms. The smoke room is kind of a blackhole where once you enter, you may not leave for several hours. But, when in Amsterdam...


100%

Best hostel ever. Very clean and the staff was just amazing. For sure we will be back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We look forward to next time you'll stay with us! - The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

We had a blast ! Great personnel , very clean and safe! great free breakfast! just 1 minute walking to Leidseplein. To Thierry, part of the hostel personnel, if u read this : thank u so much for ur kindness! We didn't get the chance to say goodbye! Take care and hopefully see u soon for another trip to Amsterdam. From the salvadorean girls, staying at the mushroom room!

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • El Salvador
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for the review! We will let Terry know about it! We hope you come and stay with us again in the future! - The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Flying Pig Uptown was in a great location and everything in the city is within walking distance. The vibe of the hostel is super cool and the bar and smoking room are great places to meet people and hang out. The staff was extremely helpful and cool to chit chat with. Perfect for solo travelers or groups.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for the positive review! We are happy you had such a good experience! We hope you decide to stay with us again if you're ever in Amsterdam again! - The Flying Pig Uptown

86%

Great first experience at a hostel! Excellent environment for meeting other travellers!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! Excellent read! - The Flying Pig Uptown

66%

Don't carry a suitcase! Remember you'll be in this ancient Dutch building with steep stair case all the way up to the fifth floor. Besides that everything was neat and nice. Cat lovers, meet Luna the beautiful cat who lives around.


94%

I loved this hostel! I will definitely stay there again if I go to Amsterdam again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for the feedback! We look forward to the next time you are in Amsterdam! - The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

Tasty breakfast, but unfortunately it was a bit crowdy around 10 am. Lockers outside the rooms make it easy to explore the city without luggage even after check-out.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your review! We like to keep our breakfast open late so everybody can enjoy it even after a bit of a sleep-in, but this does mean that a lot of people are there the last hour to have their breakfast. We hope the crowdedness didn't affect your stay too much! Thanks again for your feedback! - The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Best place I've stayed. Would recommend to anyone. Everyone's so involving. But it's a party kinda place. So don't book it and whinge u want to do nothing

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We hope you decide to stay in our hostel again some day! - The Flying Pig Uptown

91%

I stayed at FP Uptown for just one night, just after Kingsday. The staff did a brilliant job cleaning up the rooms and bathrooms very quickly. It was great I was able to check in and leave my bags in my room in the morning instead of waiting until the afternoon. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and it was a brilliant place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We are happy to read you enjoyed yourself so much! We hope you will stay with us again! - The Flying Pig Uptown

74%

Sucks that one has to pay 2 euros if he/she wants to leave one standard-size luggage bag in the lockers for the day after check-out. There are no luggage rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We value your opinion in order to improve our customer service. Our reasons for having these lockers is their security. Every guest who uses them makes up his/her own PIN-code, so that they can reach their luggage but no one else. A luggage room is a lot less secure in our opinion. Thanks again for your feedback! - The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Awesome. Everyone rocked. Milk shakes were a bit thin- but stoll good.

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your review! We hope you decide to stay with us again in the future. If you do, ask our bartender to make your milkshake a bit thicker and he/she will! - The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

The hostel was quite easy to find and the staff were great. The promotions that had at the hostel were excellent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We hope you decide to stay with us again some time! - The Flying Pig Uptown

71%

I couldn't get wi-fi on my laptop (which was and does work perfectly), one of the toilet floors was dripping wet, and a padlock is advisable to lock possessions in the baskets that fit under the bunks. Otherwise the place was fine, the breakfast was good, the staff were friendly and I would return.

  • 24th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! Your experience means a great deal to us, we use your feedback to improve our service! We are sorry the Wi-Fi was acting up during your stay! In the bar area and the floor above it normally works fine. We are also sorry you found a toilet in a bad state! We take our cleanliness very serious and try to avoid guests finding dirty toilets at all time! We hope it hasn't affected your stay too much. Thanks again for your feedback! - The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

They had us switch rooms about 3 times because they were unorganized and the beds were already taken.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! It appears that your booking through this website was only made for 1 night, and that the other night was booked over the desk, on the date of arrival. In such a case we can unfortunately never guarantee that guests can remain in the same bed, hence the moving of beds. We apologize for the inconvenience! - The Flying Pig Uptown

(117 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback