X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
3031 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Sucks that one has to pay 2 euros if he/she wants to leave one standard-size luggage bag in the lockers for the day after check-out. There are no luggage rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We value your opinion in order to improve our customer service. Our reasons for having these lockers is their security. Every guest who uses them makes up his/her own PIN-code, so that they can reach their luggage but no one else. A luggage room is a lot less secure in our opinion. Thanks again for your feedback! - The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Awesome. Everyone rocked. Milk shakes were a bit thin- but stoll good.

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your review! We hope you decide to stay with us again in the future. If you do, ask our bartender to make your milkshake a bit thicker and he/she will! - The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

The hostel was quite easy to find and the staff were great. The promotions that had at the hostel were excellent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We hope you decide to stay with us again some time! - The Flying Pig Uptown

71%

I couldn't get wi-fi on my laptop (which was and does work perfectly), one of the toilet floors was dripping wet, and a padlock is advisable to lock possessions in the baskets that fit under the bunks. Otherwise the place was fine, the breakfast was good, the staff were friendly and I would return.

  • 24th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! Your experience means a great deal to us, we use your feedback to improve our service! We are sorry the Wi-Fi was acting up during your stay! In the bar area and the floor above it normally works fine. We are also sorry you found a toilet in a bad state! We take our cleanliness very serious and try to avoid guests finding dirty toilets at all time! We hope it hasn't affected your stay too much. Thanks again for your feedback! - The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

They had us switch rooms about 3 times because they were unorganized and the beds were already taken.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! It appears that your booking through this website was only made for 1 night, and that the other night was booked over the desk, on the date of arrival. In such a case we can unfortunately never guarantee that guests can remain in the same bed, hence the moving of beds. We apologize for the inconvenience! - The Flying Pig Uptown

91%

Great location, from there you can go to many touristic places by walking. The breakfast is good. The room size and toilets are also good enough. I would definitely stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for the positive review! We are happy to read you enjoyed yourself and look forward to welcoming you to our hostel next time! - The Flying Pig Uptown

86%

Ostello adatto a persone giovani che hanno voglia di divertirsi e conoscere ragazzi nuovi

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Grazie per la tua recensione! - The Flying Pig Uptown

91%

Beside the fact that we (8 persons) didn´t get the dorm we booked about 2 months before it was a wunderful time in pig uptown hostel. very good music, we loved the breakfeast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay so much, despite the fact you weren't in the same room. The reason for that was that you booked Queensized beds. we only have 4 spots in Queensized beds per dorm. If you decide to stay with us again with such a group please book 8 beds in our 8p dorm, or four 8p single dorm beds and two 8p double dorm beds! We understand if this is confusing. Feel free to call or e-mail for assistance! - The Flying Pig Uptown

74%

Great bed, but not very practical or secure because of the steel crate that works as a locker to put your stuff. You can only open it when it's completely out, but there isn't enough space for that, and even locked the holes of the crate make it possible to take things out of it without opening. Nice atmosphere, but it seems that they cannot manage to have so many guests, breakfast and reception are often too crowded. Nice common and smoking room though.


94%

Es como un laberinto que funciona bien, las escalones cortos: esto es algo común en Amsterdam, me gusto la decoración del hostal, el personal muy amable, ofrecen buen desayuno, cosa que se agradece muchísimo. Los baños son pequeños, las duchas están muy bien. Ubicación: Queda frente al Voldenpark. Para ir hasta la plaza Dam, puedes tomar el tranvía o caminar apróx. 25 min. El camino se hace fácil porque hay mucho que ver y fotografíar.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Muchas gracias por tu comentario! - The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

I was quite nervous arriving as I was travelling alone but the staff immediately made me feel at ease and welcome. I had a fantastic time. I was never in need of anything. The staff were fantastic, so friendly and energetic they really made my stay here extremely enjoyable. The rooms were lovely and clean, with fresh beds made when anyone arrived. Breakfast was well organised. I would recommend this is anyone travelling to Amsterdam. I couldn't have asked for a more enjoyable experience.

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • deirdredelaney904498
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for the amazing review! We are very happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay! Please come and stay with us again next time you are in Amsterdam! - The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

Spent three nights there. Pretty good location short tram ride / 10-15 minutes walk from central station and dam square. Has a nice bar at at the entrance floor and a smoking room. Both staff and guests were really friendly and helpful. Recommended for people who are looking for a young and cheerful atmosphere

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We hope you decide to stay with us again next time you are in Amsterdam! - The Flying Pig Uptown

91%

One of the most inviting hostels we've stayed in! We've already recommended it to friends. One thing to note, however: there is no "quiet room", or games room, so if you're looking for a quiet place to relax, it'll have to be your room, or somewhere else. That being said, the bar has got great energy.

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thank you very much for your review! We hope you decide to stay with us again in the future! - The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

I had already been to flying pig uptown and i came back as it has very good atmopshere and you get the best quality for what you're paying. BUT, this time i had a problem: the room where me and a friend of mine was busy. it was a 12 people room but we were 13 inside it. When i was checking in they told me: "so you reserved a king size bed in the 12 people room". I didn't. But actually it didn't existed at all a king size bed in the 12 people room!

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We are happy you came back! We have a strict "1 person per bed policy" (except for our Queensized beds; they have 2 people), so there should not have been 13 people in the room! We checked your booking and you did book a Queensized bed in a 12 person dorm. There are 2 of these beds in every 12 person dorm. Next time you stay with us make sure you book single beds, or ask one of our staff to show you your bed. We hope you decide to stay again! - The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

Very well located in Amsterdam, close to everything (opposite the Vondelpark and a few minutes of Leidsenplein). The bar is great, good beers and great music!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We hope you decide to stay with us again next time you are in Amsterdam! - The Flying Pig Uptown

63%

Your typical way-too-packed chain hostel. Rooms are cramped and overpriced. Great for vacationers and springbreakers. Not so great for backpackers or solo travelers. Staff was awesome.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! Even though we feel that we accommodate to almost every type of traveler we value your opinion, we are sorry you didn't enjoy yourself as much as we would've hoped. - The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. There was awesome bar and smoking room, good bed, clean showers etc. Also the staff were really helpful - we mannaged to lost our key from lockers, key from room and lock our suitcase in wrong locker in three days of our stay - and still get nice response and help :D Flying pig is probably only hostel where you really look forward to coming back in the evening , the atmosphere is just great :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for the great review! We are happy to read that you enjoyed it so much! We hope you come and stay with us again in the future! - The Flying Pig Uptown

91%

Great staff. They have a nice smoking/drinking/conversating area and a nice bar. The rooms are OK, always clean and if the bathroom is a mess you can call them anytime and they will clean up.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We hope you decide to stay with us again next time you are around! - The Flying Pig Uptown

91%

Overall my stay at Uptown was great. I originally booked for two nights but my flight got cancelled so I was only able to stay for one night. I let them know as soon as I knew my flight was cancelled and that I would not be there but they still made me pay for that night. That is the only negative though. The place was clean and all of the staff were extremely friendly! The atmosphere was great too! It's a good place to meet people and socialize.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We are really glad to read you had a good stay overall! We understand that you are disappointed about the fact that you still had to pay for your first night. Unfortunately we can not take responsibility for the fact that a third company cancels a flight, and we have a 24h cancellation policy. We hope you understand. Thanks again, We hope you decide to stay with us again! - The Flying Pig Uptown

80%

il faudrait prévoir du fromage pour le petit-déjeuner

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci pour votre avis! Nous pensons au sujet de votre suggestion! - The Flying Pig Uptown

(138 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback