X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
3993 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Very nice place, awkward entrance

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for your review, we are glad overall you enjoyed your time. Hopefully you will stay with us again in the future, The Flying Pig Uptown

91%

worth the money

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks a million for the short but sweet review. We hope you will stay with us again, The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

O Hostel é muito bom com uma atmosfera incrível, o único problema esta relacionado aos banheiros, pois as lixeiras são pequenas e quando você coloca o papel ele acaba não descendo até o fundo e acaba o espaço rapidamente, gerando muito papel higiênico no chão. As pias dos banheiros que frequentei não possui água quente e o chuveiros pelo fato de não possuir box (apenas cortinas) ficam praticamente todo molhado, dificultando assim a troca de roupa.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey There, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we can learn a lot from your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here and our piggy atmosphere :) Thank you for the constructive feedback for our bathroom bins, we will mention this to our cleaning team. We do have staff carrying out regular bathroom checks throughout the day also, as we know our bathrooms can be busy, we are sorry for any inconvenience this caused. Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

I loved the stay there. One of my first hostel experiences and I was travelling solo for the first time too. Met tons of people and the atmosphere was so good that I did spend a big chunk of my time at the hostel bar! Highly recommend it - very clean, amazing and friendly staff and overall great experience would go back.

  • 23rd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks a million for this awesome review, we appreciate you taking the time. We are delighted you had such a wonderful experience with us and found our bar to be a great place for meeting fellow travellers. We are proud of our piggy atmosphere, so we are glad you could share this with us :) Thank you again for your time, we do hope to welcome you back again in the future! The Flying Pig Uptown

63%

Kitchen was small but adequate, bar drinks were good and the party atmosphere was great. The stairs are dangerously steep and such a pain with luggage. Toilets and showers teeny tiny as well, but the rooms were decently sized. Good hostel for socialising and meeting new people, for the simple reason that the only communal area is a bar. I did wish there was a quieter area to sit no have a cuppa before bed, or eat dinner without the drunk people, but that's not the vibe they're going for.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for giving us some constructive feedback about your stay, we can learn a lot from your experience with us here. We are glad you found our hostel to be a very social experience. We are, however, sorry to read that you were disappointed no quieter common area. We are currently looking into extending the basement level of our hostel, so there is a quieter chillout area for our guests to relax. Thank you again for your time and safe onward travels, The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

Little out of town but really good hostel. Loved that there was a proper kitchen

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for your review, we appreciate you taking the time. We are happy to see that overall you had a good stay and made good use of our kitchen during your time here :) We are sorry you found our location be a little far from Dam Square, but we are located 5 minutes from the Leidseplein entertainment area and right beside the museum district. Thank you again for your time, we do hope you will choose to stay with us again, The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

The staff were incredibly helpful with recommendations and always up for a good chat. Breakfast is amazing! Fruit and yogurt - they spoiled us :) atmosphere is great for solo travelers, vibe is mellow and is super easy to strike up a convo and make friends. Overall - incredible people, phenomenal city, great great times :) highly recommend staying here. It's just enough out of the city centre and just in the middle of other great places to explore :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review! We appreciate it :) We do hope you will stay with us again in the future, All the best and thanks again, The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

So nice hostel! Staff is super friendly. And the breakfast is amazing as well!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks a million for taking the time to review your stay, we really appreciate it! We are delighted to read that you had such a lovely time here with us and we hope you will stay with us again in the future :) Thanks again for your time, Enjoy the rest of your travels, The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

Great hostel, lovely staff, good facilities (stayed in 2 different dorms, one had an ensuite). Personal lights and powerpoint for each bunk. We had a double bunk (rest of room is singles) which made a nice change as a couple using hostels. Free earplugs are very useful as the bar downstairs can be busy till 3, but slept fine with plugs. Awesome free breakfast, great free walking tour with pickup at hostel. A bit of a walk from the red light district but we didn't mind (there's trams too).


100%

It was a great hostel. I loved the location, the breakfast was awesome, and the rooms were very nice. The only real complaint I had was that out of the ten beds in the room, mine was the only one without a plug and a light next to it. However, I understand that it seemed to happen because of the fact that it was right in front of an old fireplace. I was able to make due though. Overall it was an amazing stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback, we appreciate it a lot. It's fantastic to see that overall you had an awesome stay with us and our uptown location :) Yes,unfortunately the bed you stayed does not have its own socket due to an old fire place, we are very sorry for the inconvenience. We have spoken to our maintenance team to see what our options are for this bed. We are glad this did not affect your stay too much though! Thanks again, The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

Very good hostel just like their Downtown hostel, stopped in both now professionally run and friendly lively atmosphere. I plan to visit here again in the near future.

  • 13th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us, we appreciate it :) It's fantastic that you enjoyed both Flying Pig locations and your time in Amsterdam. We do hope you will stay with us again, Thanks again for your time, The Flying Pig Uptown

91%

Super sick hostel definitely reccomend! Rooms are big and the staff is awesome!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for reviewing your time with us, we appreciate it. It's brilliant that you had a sick stay here and recommend us, thank you for that :D We hope to welcome you back in the future, The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

Very nice hostel, close to the museums. Nice atmosphere to make new friends and chill out... There is a bar in the hostel, that's is good. Good breakfast.


89%

Rad staff!! Made it fun to hang around and meet the other people staying at the hostel. The rooms were clean and had some nice Van Gogh art... Always a plus. Also I spent allot of time at the Paradiso and surrounding area which was just a quick walk away :)

  • 10th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you very much for the review, we appreciate you taking the time. We are delighted to see you had a lovely stay and enjoyed the piggy atmosphere :) We hope to welcome you back in the future, The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

The atmosphere was great and the staff was good too. Good hostel if you're traveling alone. Met some awesome people defenitley going back here. Smoking area was sick! I was just chilling there all day! Hahaha

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks a million for this sick review!! :) We are happy to read that you found the hostel a good place to meet fellow travellers and enjoyed the smoking room! We look forward to welcoming you back! Thanks again for your time, safe travels, The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

Amazing hostel, the best one I've stayed at in my travels across Europe. Very comfortable, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and an amazing social atmosphere every night.


83%

Room was ok, quite small, good bed, bathroom inside the bedroom. Good breakfast, good location... Quarto ok, meio pequeno, cama boa, banheiro no quarto, beliche de casal. Café da manhã legal, localização boa...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for leaving some feedback on your stay with us, we can learn a lot from your experience here. It is nice to read that overall you had a nice stay with us. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future, Thanks again, The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Great location near the best musuems, parks and bars of amsterdam. Great vibe in the hostel bar. Facilities were impeccable

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It's great to see you have enjoyed your time here. Hopefully we will see you here again in the future! Thanks again for your feedback, The Flying Pig Uptown

60%

There was only one toilet and sink on our floor, the space was also very small. This made it challenging to even change in the bathroom or brush your teeth without being interrupted many times. The single shower space was also very small. If you are visiting to party this may be the hostel for you. It was loud (the music in the bat downstairs), you could hear everyone using the stairs and because of the smoking room inside, our room smelled strongly of different kinds of smoke.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for your review, we can learn a lot from your time here. On the floor you stayed, there are less public toilets and showers as most rooms are ensuite, other floors do have more communal showers and toilets as they have less ensuite rooms. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused by this. We have also emailed you personally about your time with us. Thanks again for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time. Safe travels, The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Supernice

  • 6th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks for the short but very sweet review :D We hope you will come stay with us again! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

(220 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback