X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
3385 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Lovely people! I lost things and the staff found them. I got very stoned and the staff handed me some orange juice. Honestly, such a good vibe - genuine people, nice bar, good location - you're in for a win.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for your great feedback! We are very happy to see you had a good time with us :) Hopefully we will see you again soon! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

71%

Friendly staff and good location with museums being very close and walkable. As a solo traveler it was harder to meet people that I expected after reading reviews at this hostel but, it may just be the weekend I visited. Lots of stairs to get to rooms and they are steep, so keep that in mind when packing. Rooms were cleaned daily and maintained nicely. Loud hostel and sound travels easily so if you are a light sleeper keep that in mind. My stay here was fair, not that best or worst.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for taking the time to review your stay with us. We can learn a lot from your experience! Unfortunately, due to the traditional architecture of our building, we don't have an elevator. But our staff can always help out taking luggage upstairs! We do hope that our guests respect each others sleep, unfortunately we cannot always control this. We do have free earplugs though! ;) Thanks again! The Flying Pig Uptown

74%

Beds were decently comfy for being a hostel. The shower backed up a little and I had an ankle bath while I showered. The bathrooms are REALLY tiny. Otherwise I had a ton of fun. I did they pub crawl offered and made a lot of friends. The bar downstairs is for guests only but there were enough people staying at the hostel that I still met a ton of people. Would recommend! It's not too far of a walk from the center of Amsterdam. We usually walked there then took the tram back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay! :) We will have a look at the shower on the floor you stayed on and have it fixed straigt away. Thanks for mentioning this! We hope to see you again soon :) Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

Excellent hostel ! My favourite so far. It was very clean, walking distance to a lot of attractions. Staff was very nice. I would definitely go back next time I'm in Amsterdam

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for your kind words! It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us :) Hopefully we will see you again soon! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

80%

El desayuno es muy bueno y abundante. La ubicacion es buena aunque un poco alejado. Las duchas son geniales y las habitaciones bastante espaciosas. La atencion no es muy personalizada pero no es mala. La cocina bastante pequena y sucia la mayor parte del tiempo


89%

Last time we were in Amsterdam we stayed at Van Gough Hostel. Uptown Flying Pig is much better. The atmosphere was really good for Europe in winter. The location is also very central. Definitely recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks so much for your kind words :) We are really glad you had a great time with us. Hopefully we will see you again soon Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Great hostel with super friendly staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for your great review! We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us :) Hopefully, we will see you soon again! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Awesome place! Everyone is chill including the staff, very easy to meet people plus the smokers room is heaven for anyone who doesn't want to constantly have to go to a coffee shop or face the outside world.


57%

For starters on check in the girl that checked us in no smile no Hello just glared at me, due to the music being so loud she asked for my passport, I asked her to repeat, she didn't bother raising her voice in the slightest for me and again I needed her to repeat if looks could kill I'd be 6ft under. The room was horrible Mario Kart style I feel like my €232 was wasted as the room was tiny no view, bfast just cereal what did I pay all that money for I'm glad I checked out early. Other staff wereNice

  • 1st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for you review. We can learn a lot from it for the future, so we really appreciate it you took the time to fill this out. We are very sorry to read though, your stay with us was not as expected and you even checked out earlier! We will contact you personally to find out more about what happened. Thanks again for your time! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

74%

Great breakfast, location and atmosphere. However management and staff are a huge problem for this hostel. While there they double booked beds in the dorm 4 nights out of 5. Then move the person that was there first as they checked in the last person and didn't want to admit they screwed up. Staff complaining about other staff being sick and staff pulling sickies. Also had items stolen. And room was freezing.


100%

Excellent hostel. the staff are great and always happy to help. the location of the hostel is really good, just in front of the vondelpark and minutes away walking from the famous leidseplein area. Moreover, 2 min walk from the tram station. I would recommend it for anyone, really felt like home.


100%

a really cool hostel with good facilities, a good lounge space (with smoking area!) and some great tunes.

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Better than a lot of hotels I've stayed at! The perfect place to stay in Amsterdam. Laid back atmosphere and super clean! Everything you need :-)

  • 27th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Flng pig came highly recommended to me and lived up my expectations. Ive been to amsterdam before and this place blows al the others out of the water. Best hostel in amsterdam!


94%

Much better than expected. Even though I'd read good reviews I wanted to see for myself. The bar, wifi, smoking room and free breakfast were brilliant additions.


97%

Really enjoyed my stay. Will go there again


83%

Fun hostel. A bit far from the center but it's a nice 30 min walk from Leidesplein which is a nice area for clubs and bars. Close to Rijk and Van Gogh museum only 3-5 mins walk. If you get to the central and need help, free restroom, or water, Flying Pig downtown is also willing to help u though u stay in Uptown! Staffs are friendly. Only thing that annoy me was on my 1st day, there was no where to leave my suitcase as I can't check in till 10.30. Note that this hostel has steep stairs!!


94%

A must experience!!


86%

Party hostel, with clean beds, spacious dorms. Easy to meet up with people. I believe the smoking room is being used as a secondary coffeeshop. Strong weed smell everytime I passed by.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for your great feedback! We are very happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us :) Our guests are indeed allowed to smoke weed in the smoking room, but we do not sell any. All other drugs are strictly forbidden though! Thanks again for your time to fill this out and hopefully we will see you again soon! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Dani's a chiller 🍻🍻

  • 19th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(141 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback