X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
3102 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

This was a nice hostel, next to the park which is good when it's sunny. Rooms were fine and breakfast was good. I liked that there was a smoking room. It seemed like a good hostel to meet people if you are travelling alone. The toilets were a bit small and cramped. There was a kitchen and also a small outside area I think.


94%

Very loud at night but it is well known as a party hostel, location was really good, beds comfy and an excellent breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We try to keep the noise to a reasonable level, but every now and then we do get a bit overenthusiastic. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by this! - The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Hostel de feu en face du parc et près d'une épicerie. Le Staff est sympathique et toujours disponible. L'ambiance est géniale, j'y retournerais n'importe quand.


71%

Bon emplacement, propre, sympa. Un peu cher mais il semble que ce soit le lot d'Amsterdam. Juste à côté des musées.

  • 7th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Enjoyed my stay here, no real issues. Bar was a bit overpriced.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay! We have quite a few deals in our bar that actually make our bar one of the cheapest ones in Amsterdam! If you'd decide to stay with us again, make sure you ask our bartender. Thanks again for the review! - The Flying Pig Uptown

80%

A party hostel only a bar and smoking room no chill out communal area. Mixed 4 bed dorm was VERY tiny and shower was almost over toilet. Helpful staff, good drink specials and variety included for breakfast. A little bit of a walk from main sites. Would reccomened to younger ages group looking to party.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! Your experience means a great deal to us. Unfortunately we don't have the space for a chill out communal area. The bathroom in the room where you stayed is indeed fairly small. There are other showers and toilets on every floor, of which some are more spacious than others. If you would stay with us again, please ask our staff which ones are more spacious! Thanks again for your feedback! - The Flying Pig Uptown

91%

Dorm rooms could use more bathrooms. The smoke room is kind of a blackhole where once you enter, you may not leave for several hours. But, when in Amsterdam...


89%

Buen hostel, buena atención, buen desayuno, (poco espacio para desayunar y el baño). Pero es recomendable según precio y calidad.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Muchas gracias por tu opinión! - The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Best hostel ever. Very clean and the staff was just amazing. For sure we will be back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We look forward to next time you'll stay with us! - The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

We had a blast ! Great personnel , very clean and safe! great free breakfast! just 1 minute walking to Leidseplein. To Thierry, part of the hostel personnel, if u read this : thank u so much for ur kindness! We didn't get the chance to say goodbye! Take care and hopefully see u soon for another trip to Amsterdam. From the salvadorean girls, staying at the mushroom room!

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • El Salvador
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for the review! We will let Terry know about it! We hope you come and stay with us again in the future! - The Flying Pig Uptown

80%

Tout très bien ! On a passé de super vacances !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci beaucoup pour votre avis! - The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Flying Pig Uptown was in a great location and everything in the city is within walking distance. The vibe of the hostel is super cool and the bar and smoking room are great places to meet people and hang out. The staff was extremely helpful and cool to chit chat with. Perfect for solo travelers or groups.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for the positive review! We are happy you had such a good experience! We hope you decide to stay with us again if you're ever in Amsterdam again! - The Flying Pig Uptown

86%

Great first experience at a hostel! Excellent environment for meeting other travellers!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! Excellent read! - The Flying Pig Uptown

66%

Don't carry a suitcase! Remember you'll be in this ancient Dutch building with steep stair case all the way up to the fifth floor. Besides that everything was neat and nice. Cat lovers, meet Luna the beautiful cat who lives around.


94%

I loved this hostel! I will definitely stay there again if I go to Amsterdam again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for the feedback! We look forward to the next time you are in Amsterdam! - The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

Tasty breakfast, but unfortunately it was a bit crowdy around 10 am. Lockers outside the rooms make it easy to explore the city without luggage even after check-out.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your review! We like to keep our breakfast open late so everybody can enjoy it even after a bit of a sleep-in, but this does mean that a lot of people are there the last hour to have their breakfast. We hope the crowdedness didn't affect your stay too much! Thanks again for your feedback! - The Flying Pig Uptown

71%

Ostello buono a chi vuole fare festa. Ci sono delle scale inevitabili, sono stata al 4o. Piano. Non mi è piaciuta la atmosfera dovuta alo smoking room. Però buona struttura e colazione.


100%

Best place I've stayed. Would recommend to anyone. Everyone's so involving. But it's a party kinda place. So don't book it and whinge u want to do nothing

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We hope you decide to stay in our hostel again some day! - The Flying Pig Uptown

91%

I stayed at FP Uptown for just one night, just after Kingsday. The staff did a brilliant job cleaning up the rooms and bathrooms very quickly. It was great I was able to check in and leave my bags in my room in the morning instead of waiting until the afternoon. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and it was a brilliant place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We are happy to read you enjoyed yourself so much! We hope you will stay with us again! - The Flying Pig Uptown

74%

Sucks that one has to pay 2 euros if he/she wants to leave one standard-size luggage bag in the lockers for the day after check-out. There are no luggage rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We value your opinion in order to improve our customer service. Our reasons for having these lockers is their security. Every guest who uses them makes up his/her own PIN-code, so that they can reach their luggage but no one else. A luggage room is a lot less secure in our opinion. Thanks again for your feedback! - The Flying Pig Uptown

(138 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback