X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
3032 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Good location, walking distance to most attractions. Good sized room, and good atmosphere at the bar

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! - The Flying Pig Uptown

74%

Die Queensize-Betten sind von der Größe her kaum von den regulären Einzelbetten zu unterscheiden, da diese auch Hochbetten sind. Leider sind alle Fenster versiegelt, sodass man das Zimmer nicht lüften kann. Als Ersatz soll die Klimaanlage dienen, die in unserem Zimmer leider nicht funktioniert hat. Deswegen haben wir immer bei offener Tür geschlafen - ohne Probleme! Sicherheit Top!

  • 31st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The best hostel in Amsterdam! Very clean, excellent location (near Leidseplein), gentle staff members. I liked everything =D

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for the excellent review! We are happy to read you liked everything about us! Come and see us again next time you are around! - The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

I really enjoyed my stay here. We were so close to everything and there was a beautiful park just right across the road from the hostel. The breakfast was really good and the staff were so friendly. The shower room was a little small but other than that this place will definitely be where I stay the next time im in Amsterdam.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the positive feedback! We look forward to welcoming you again next time! - The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Great stay! Everyone was really friendly and so chilled. Would definitely recommend

  • 26th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much! We are very happy to hear you had such a great experience! Come and stay again some day! - The Flying Pig Uptown

77%

Really great atmosphere, decent rooms, cleanliness etc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We hope you decide to stay with us next time you are in Amsterdam! - The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

the only problem was the internet, it was so slow, just impossible to use it

  • 17th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay enough to not let the fact the Internet was acting up influence your time too much. We do apologize for this fact! Thanks again, we hope you decide to stay with us again in the future! - The Flying Pig Uptown

86%

Anytime I emailed the hostel befor arrival, they were really really helpful and friendly. :)

  • 14th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The staff were friendly and very helpful. The atmosphere within the hostel was relaxed and comfortable and made our stay very pleasant.

  • 13th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your great review! We look forward to welcoming you again next time you're in Amsterdam! - The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

In una parola fantastico. Io e i miei compagni di viaggio ci siamo trovati benissimo dalla disponibilità del personale e dalla pulizia dei bagni, i quali sono difficili da tener puliti dovuto al fatto che il bagno veniva condiviso da più di 10 persone. Una cosa molto positiva è la giovane età del personale! Soddisfatto al 100%.

  • 12th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
La ringrazio molto per la sua recensione! - The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

Much smaller common rooms than than: flying pig downtown, really small kitchen, better than most hostels in Amsterdam that have no common room or kitchen. Good breakfast and close to a big park that have BBQ and other actives.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We hope you decide to stay with us again in the future! - The Flying Pig Uptown

91%

Wij voelden ons super op ons gemakje in het hostel ! Vlot, internationaal en dynamisch personeel. Alleen jammer dat er geen terrasje achteraan is, of een deur vanuit de rookruimte, waar eens echte frisse lucht binnen kan : )

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bedankt voor jullie review! Helaas kunnen we de achtertuin niet openstellen voor gasten vanwege mogelijke geluidsoverlast! Gelukkig is het Vondelpark om de hoek! Nogmaals bedankt en hopelijk boeken jullie volgende keer dat jullie in Amsterdam zijn weer bij ons! - The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

I thought everything was too standard except for the toilet and shower facilities. The staff were amazing though

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We hope you come and stay with us again some day! - The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

One of the best hostels I've stayed in! Location was superb. It's about a 10 or 15 minutes stroll from the city centre in a nice quiet area! You're not too far from bars or restaurants here. Staff were really friendly and helpful and the onsite bar had a good atmosphere! Beds were comfortable and facilities really clean every time I used them.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your amazing review! We look forward to welcoming you to our hostel again! - The Flying Pig Uptown

86%

Great place to stay! Buzzing atmosphere, Bike Rental, Smoking Room, Great Bar, Great Staff! Fun Rooms, Cool Decor, Kitchen, Nice Showers, Easy Access, Fab Location! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for the great review! We hope you decide to stay with us again next time you're in Amsterdam! - The Flying Pig Uptown

80%

The breakfast is awesome

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We are very glad you enjoyed our breakfast! We hope you come and stay with us again! - The Flying Pig Uptown

74%

Perfect balance between existing in the museum zone and having cheap beer and a "Smoking Room". Very nice staff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We are happy you enjoyed yourself! We hope you will come and stay with us again! - The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Excellent hostel, great guest and great staff who are always happy to help as well as chat at the bar. Had our own bathroom in our 6 bed dorm also which was a first for me in a dorm of that size. Location is fantastic, out of the way of the main part of town so it's a bit more quiet but a quick tram or 20 minute walk will get you into the city center if you want to go there. Also had cages under the beds to lock luggage in, I never needed to lock it once!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your excellent review! We look forward to welcoming you to our hostel again! - The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

Staff and travellers so friendly, great environment!

  • 3rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your excellent review! :) We hope you come stay with us again some time! - The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

The flying pig is amazingly located, the staff were 100% of the time helpful and nice people and the bar/smoking area was pretty dope; i was solo travelling and i made a lot of friends there. My room was in the 4th floor so no noise would come. Toilets separated from showers and i kinda liked the idea: showers are bigger and private. Definitely staying here next time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your amazing review! We look forward to welcoming you again next time! - The Flying Pig Uptown

(138 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback