X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
2881 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

A credit card was stolen out of my friends bag in our room so make sure you always lock up your stuff. The smoking room and bar area are always fun though and I'd suggest to go on the ultimate pub crawl which leaves from the hostel.

  • 3rd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your comments. We sorry to hear that your friend had something stolen. We offer a free safe at reception for guests to store any smaller valuables and also sell padlocks so that guests are always able to keep their belongings secure. We hope you will come and stay with us again soon. Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

77%

The flying pig uptown was a friendly and comfortable environment. The staff were all quite friendly and helped whenever they could. I enjoyed the free breakfasts and the bar most, it made socializing with others much easier and more enjoyable. One negative was that the wifi was pretty spotty. Another thing was that with all of the lovely people that stayed there, there were a few questionable guests that bothered my friend and I. I would recommend this for younger travelers. :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your comments! We take threatening/harrassing behaviour from guests very seriously and will remove anybody who is behaving in a way that is making other guests uncomfortable. We hope this will not stop you visiting us again. Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

Very nice place to stay ! Well-located, safe (lockers in the rooms and in the corridors) and clean, this hostel has a great atmosphere. It would be perfect if there were more showers on each floor, more tables in the common areas (a little crowded at breakfast time), hand dryers in the toilets and coat racks in the rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! It's always good to hear when people enjoyed themselves in our hostel, and we will look into the things you suggested. We hope to welcome you back some day!

100%

The best in StonerDAM

  • 31st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Un accueil chaleureux nous a été réservé, une équipe au top! Bonne ambiance et bonne musique! Nous ne regrettons pas notre choix et nous recommanderons cette auberge :) merci a tous! Morgane et Emeline

  • 30th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Cons: too many stairs, no elevators. Lots of bathrooms but also lots of people, so they're crowded. Window doesn't open in the room. They charge for lockers. Limited amount of outlets. Rooms cleaned everyday but not thoroughly. Kitchen was DISGUSTING pretty often. Pros: location is nice, nice breakfast, they have a smoking room, workers are nice, and nice atmosphere at the bar. Internet works well downstairs (not so well in the rooms).


83%

La déco est très sympa, l'accueil chaleureux, et les tarifs du bar de l'auberge interessants :) Le fumoir est ouvert 24/24h ainsi que la reception. Possibilité de ranger ses affaires dans un coffre sous le lit, a condition d'avoir un cadenas, sinon ils en vendent à 3€, et donnent des boules quies gratuites pour se protéger des ronfleurs. RAS niveau hygiène. Seul bémol, les escaliers, très ardus, et les salles de bains pas très pratiques, avec le débit d'eau ou la temperature changeants.

  • 28th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The staff is amazing ;)

  • 27th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

J'ai adoré mon expérience à cette auberge. Très bel accueil, propre et bien situé. Une belle ambiance. Je le recommande.


80%

The Flying Pig is a really fun place to stay! The staff is super nice, and the place seemed quite clean. Really the only place to hang out is at the bar, which isn't great if you're not in a party mood. They have music playing constantly and it's hard to find a place to sit. My only other complaint is that there were not nearly enough plugs in the rooms (we shared 1 in a room of 8), and the internet isn't very good. However, it's in a very safe neighborhood, right next to beautiful Vondel Park.

  • 27th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your comments. We are currently in the process of adding more plug sockets to all of our rooms and changing our Wifi system. We hope you will stay with us again soon! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

71%

Not a bad place to stay; location is not as good as flying pig downtown but public transport is good so it's not too hard to get where you want to go. Breakfast was good; staff were good; the atmosphere was very laid-back - there wasn't a lot of partying going on for the week we stayed there. Our major issue was the key passes to get into our room malfunctioned numerous times. This wouldn't be such a problem, but it was actually quite a mission getting up and down the four flights of stairs e


74%

Overpriced for what you get but the atmosphere/some of the staff are what make it. Bit of a hike from town. If you want to get high all day with everyone else staying here then it's the place for you.


97%

Really loved staying here, great location, good showers

  • 21st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

100%

will stay here every time i visit amsterdam

  • 21st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
And we will welcome you back every time :) Thanks for your review! - The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

The atmosphere was great. The room was lacking some basic stuff such as coat hangers and a small table. Showers were either too cold too burning hot.. And there were too many dam stairs.. although that was one of the reasons we chose Flying pig :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for the useful feedback! We will look into adding those features to all of the rooms. Hopefully your will come back and stay with us again soon. Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next » last »
(115 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback