X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
3217 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

so many steep stairs. no elevator. made us change rooms three times due to renovations. long walk to red light district, but very close to rijksmuseum/van gogh museum. close to lots of nightlife.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review. Our architecture does not allow for the installation of an elevator but our staff are always happy to help carry luggage for guests. After reviewing your reservation it seems that you were only required to change rooms once and were given a free upgrade for the first two nights. We always try to minimise guest room changes, but on some occasions this is unavoidable. We apologise if this caused any inconvenience and hope to see you again. - The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

I went with my student daughter we were able to walk everywhere, staff helpful with directions and map provided, rooms and sheets clean and towels provided only drawback is lots of narrow stairs up to the entrance down to reception and then up to our twin room it's good for a workout luckily we live in a flat on third floor with no lift at home! Not a good idea to share a suitcase as it was hard getting it up to our hostel room .would stay here again with rucksacks ☺

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for the great review! Unfortunately we are unable to accommodate an elevator due to our architecture, but our staff are always happy to carry luggage to any floor and are used to the stairs :) We hope that you stay with us again, and feel free to continue sharing a suitcase, next time we'll carry it! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

Wonderful place to stay! Easy walk from Centraal Station to the hostel, close to major attractions, and right across the street from Vondelpark. Helpful and friendly staff! Air-conditioning! Fast wi-fi throughout the building.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your awesome review! Come and see us again soon. Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

Facilities were small, but still usable. In the uptown area next to console park which is a good location. Pretty good place to stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review. Due to our traditional architecture we were forced to limit the size of the bathrooms so's to allow more of them and provide less/no waiting time for guests. We look forward to seeing you again. Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

77%

Overall good stay. Rooms were a bit squishy. I was in an 8 bed mixed dorm however I was the only female so wouldn't really consider that as mixed. Found the location was a bit further from the nightlife and red light district. Had decent breakfast in the mornings and it was free!


97%

Room was air con which was a great! Very steep stairs but manageable. Very accommodating when I needed a bottom bunk due to a injury. Unfortunately floor was wet (carpeted) and didn't dry out before I left.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review. Unfortunately some heavy storms caused some leaks in our bottom floor rooms. The damage has now been fixed and the carpets completely replaced. We apologise if this caused any inconvenience and hope you will stay with us again in the future. Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

Good rooms and beds. Air con was amazing. I was on the ground floor but others on different floors hated the stairs. Really narrow and steep. Breakfast was OK. Bar and smoke area nice. Location great being next to Vondelpark.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review. We are always happy to carry luggage for guests as we are used to the stairs! We hope to see you again soon. Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

Pleasant stay however considering it was the most expensive place we stayed during our time in Europe it would have been nice if the bathroom facilities were a little bigger! Also no elevator was a bit of a hassle considering my sister had a torn acl at the time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review. When designing the hostel layout we chose to provide a larger number of slightly smaller bathrooms to more readily accommodate more guests. Also, due to our architecture we are unable to install an elevator, but our staff are happy to carry luggage to rooms or, space permitting, move guests with medical complaints to lower floors. We hope to see you again soon! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

Very good hostel! Location is great, 2 min walk from rijk and van gogh museum. Canal tour is like 5 min walk. My only problem was that there is no lift. I did not expect to go 5 stories above, thank god I had two small bags. Atmosphere in the common/smoking room was excellent. Next time I will ask for rooms in the lower floor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review. Unfortunately due to our traditional Dutch architecture we are unable to accommodate an elevator, but staff are always happy to help guests carry luggage to their room. We hope the stairs don't stop you staying with us again! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Cool hostel, friendly staff, good vibes, good times! Zoe is a cutie

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! We hope to see you again soon. - The Flying Pig Uptown

57%

The staff were helpful and really nice! I wasn't impressed with the cleanliness of my room though. I also think that smoking should be more regulated as people were smoking joints in my room constantly even though there is a smoking room available down stairs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review. We are sorry that the cleanliness of the room was not to your standard as we always strive to maintain a high level of cleaning throughout. Also, there is a strict no smoking policy anywhere outside of the designated smoking area. All guests are informed of this on arrival. We ask that other guests inform us if there are people smoking in their room so that we able to intervene and charge rule breakers. Apologies for any inconvenience. - The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

Great place! Awesome location right next to Vondelpark, great staff, cool funky atmosphere. Great bar area with smoking room. Clean rooms and beds, good bathrooms, lockers under the beds and also available in the halls for in-between checkin and checkout. Only stayed for one night, but seemed like it would be a good place to meet people if travelling solo. Definitely recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for the awesome review. We hope you are able to stay with us for longer next time! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

86%

Shower was good, toilets were extremely tiny. I loved the vibe, but the bar can be dead compared to the smoking room. We stayed on the top floor, which got extremely hot. Thankfully they gave us a fan for the last night which helped. The stairs can be tough -- try to get a room on the lower floors. I had a great time there though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your review. Due to our traditional architecture we chose to create a larger number of slightly smaller toilets to accommodate a greater number of guests. Our staff are also always happy to help carry luggage to the higher floors. We hope the stairs don't stop you visiting again! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Very nice place to stay, staff very friendly and helpful, really nice location away from the loud parts of Amsterdam. Being on top on the beautiful Vondelpark is a bonus! Would recommend to anyone!

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the awesome review! Visit us again soon :) Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

77%

Located right next to the beautiful park, and also a short tram ride to the centre of town. However, unless you're into smoking up, you're going to have a tough time meeting people. The common room is tiny, and I found that people we're happy to be in their small smoking circles and to not talk to others. The pub crawl is amazing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review. Depending on the guests the hostel can sometimes become smoker oriented with a lot of socialising occurring in the smoking room. To remedy this we now run drinking games in the bar to bring lone travellers together as well as continuing our promotion of a great pub crawl. Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

This was definitely one of the best hostels I stayed in! The social atmosphere is what makes it amazing. The bar and smoking room are always full with young people having a good time. The room was clean, has lockers under the beds, and there are enough showers so you will never have to wait. Great location- not right in the core but close enough-- and the uptown neighbourhood is full of restaurants and parks so you won't feel remote from the city center. Staff was friendly too!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your great review! We look forward to seeing you again. Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

Great complementary breakfast. Staff is unbelievably helpful. Even though the AC was on, the room was too warm even though it was at the lowest temperature.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review. We were having some problems with the air conditioning units but they are now fixed and working correctly! We hope that you will stay with us again. Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

It was loud at night in my room, but there isn't much the staff can do about that. Staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was kindly kept out past 11:00. A great hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review. Our night receptionists do regular hostel checks to try and ensure people aren't creating too much noise inside rooms during the later hours. We hope the noise did not affect your stay and that you decide to visit us again. - The Flying Pig Uptown

91%

We only stayed here one night, but we arrived in the morning towards the end of breakfast and the staff kindly allowed us to eat breakfast prior to our checking in. Everyone was really friendly and nice and it's a great place to meet people! We stayed in a six person mixed dorm room, and it was totally fine. If you are staying here and want to save money, make sure to bring a lock for the lockers under the beds, as that's really the only place to store your goodies!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review! Just so know in case you visit us again, we also have a free safe at reception where guests can store their smaller valuables. We hope to see you again soon! Cheers - The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

A great hostel with a fun atmosphere. The room and ensuite bathroom were clean, the bed was very comfortable and the room was quite and secure. Breakfast was good with a few options and the location was close to a tram station or walking distance from most of the main areas.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the great review! We hope you come and stay with us again soon. - The Flying Pig Uptown

(122 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback