X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
3675 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Great place, but the 8 bed dorm didn't have nearly enough floor space for 8 people.

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are happy to see you had a good time with us and hopefully we will see you again soon! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

The hostel location could not have been better!! Right across from vondelpark and a stones throw away from pedestrian only streets with shops and restaurants. The staff were super friendly and helpful and always cleaning! I will definitely return to the flying pig uptown!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving such a nice review! We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again when you are back in Amsterdam :) Safe travels! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

I had a great time at this hostel! The staff we're so friendly and most people who stayed there we're the same Everyone there really likes to party a lot

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this great review! We are very happy you had a good time with us :) We will pass your kind words on to our staff as well. Thanks again! Hopefully we will see you back next time you are in Amsterdam! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

57%

Great mattresses, good breakfast, next to Vondelpark and walking distance to main city. Very pricy. Little head space for the bottom bed. Uses metal lockers that are underneath the beds, which are ok in their own right, but the design is such that if your locker is positioned right below the ladder, it won't stay open by itself which is bad. No powerpoints nor light on my bed is a huge negative. Informed the staff but they didn't do anything about it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there,Thank you very much for leaving this review! We really appreciate it, we can learn a lot from it. Thanks for letting us know about the locker under your bed, we will take a look if there is a way to improve this! We are sorry that there was no light and plug beside your bed. The majority of our beds to have a plug and light, but with some beds this is technically not possible. We will ask the maintenance team to check if there is another solution. Thanks for mentioning this! Cheers

74%

Comfortable beds although the room was quite small. The toilets were always dirty and the shower room was usually dirty and was tiny. Otherwise the location is excellent. We enjoyed our time here.

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving a review of your stay! We really appreciate it :) It's great to hear you enjoyed your time with us! We are sorry you didn't find the toilets and showers as clean as expected. We do clean all toilets and showers multiple times a day/night. If you do find a dirty one, you can always let our staff know who is 24 hours there to help out! Thanks for mentioning it though! Hopefully we will see you again soon :) Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

I only stayed there for a night, but the hostel seemed pretty good! Everything was as advertised, and there was a free breakfast in the morning. The whole hostel seemed pretty clean, and I felt safe while I was there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving such a nice review :) We really appreciate it and we are very happy to see you had a great time with us. We hope to see you again next time you are in Amsterdam! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

Thank you guys for everything. You guys made me feel like home, but with a special cannabis smoking area =)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, That is great to hear, thank you so much!! We really appreciate you took the time to fill this out and we are very happy you had such a good time with us. We hope to see you again soon! :) Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

80%

Schönes Hostel. Alles gut bis auf die Fenster im Haus.


100%

Had a great time here, location was great and the staff was very helpful.

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Excelente hostel! Vale la pena pagar unos euros extras, buena atmosfera,.


91%

Awesome place, everybody is so cool... Highly recommended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for leaving this great review! It's very nice to read you enjoyed your stay with us :) Thanks again for your time and hopefully we will see you again one day! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

86%

Buen hostel con lo necesario para pasarla bien en Ámsterdam, la ubicación es muy buena y la onda del lugar también. Recomendable, sin dudas!

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for this great review! It's good to hear you anjoyed your stay with us :) We hope to see you back next time you are in Amsterdam! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

Cool hostel with a great bar and smoking area that are good for meeting people or just chilling out. Bathrooms are a little small and its a long climb to the top floor but overall a very good hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. We really appreciate it! We are very happy you had a good time staying with us :) Hopefully we will see you again one day! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

86%

Lovely Stay. Amazing staff. Fun ambiance. Don't change. Can add Laundry to services.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for your kind words! We will pass them on to our staff as well :) We are very happy you had such a good time with us and we hope to see you again next time you are in Amsterdam! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

86%

Great location and sweet staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for leaving this nice review :) We really appreciate it! It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again soon! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

80%

Counters in the bathroom would be nice.


89%

When booked through Hostelworld, I had opted for an early check-in ,i.e by 8.00 am. However, we were not allowed to check-in into our rooms until 10.30 am. While the staff was quite nice and accommodated us at the dining hall. But we sort of wasted 1/2 a day waiting for the room. Also, since we had a physically challenged person with us, it was bit harder. Otherwise, we were given the best room and also a room with attached bath facilities. It was really good. Even the breakfast was quite good.

  • 23rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for leaving a review of your stay! We really appreciate it. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay!We are sorry you couldn't check in to your room at 8am, but at that time the previous guests were still in there! Our check in and check out time is 10.30am. You don't have to wait for it if you would like to go explore the city though, you can just leave your luggage with us and check in to the room later. There is 24 hours someone at the reception! The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

Clean, staff were very helpful and the location is great. There are lockers available before check in and after check out at a reasonable price. Also cheap bar which was nice as Amsterdam is generally very expensive. Only complaint would be that there wasn't enough sockets in my room (old-styled building to the right of the reception) so I had to charge my phone in the bathroom or reception. The wifi worked fine in the building I was in but didn't work at all in the building behind the reception

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for leaving such a nice review! Thanks for the feedback. There is one socket next to every bed, we are sorry this wasn't enough! :( Our wifi works through out the whole building, so we are quite surprised it didn't work at the reception! We will check this out straight away, thanks for letting is know. Thanks again for your time and hopefully we will see you again soon! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Had a great stay at Flying Pig Uptown! As a female traveling alone I felt very safe and any questions I had were answered thoroughly by staff members. Location was ideal for seeing everything I wanted to in a very short period of time. Very good atmosphere overall, cool and relaxed.

  • 20th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, That is great to hear, thanks!! We are very happy to hear all of this and we will pass on your kind words to our staff :) We hope to see you again next time you are in Amsterdam! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

80%

Das Hostel hat eine Toplage und alle sind sehr locker drauf. Leider war es in der Nacht extrem laut, sodass wir kaum schlafen konnten. Reist man in einer größeren Gruppe ist das Hostel aber sicher ein cooler Ort für ein paar lustige Tage.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving a review of your stay! We really appreciate it, since we can learn a lot from it. We are very glad to see you had a good time with us :) But sorry to hear about the noise! We do have free earplugs at reception, I am sorry you didn't know this. Thanks again for your time and hopefully we will see you again next time you are in Amsterdam. Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

(182 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback