X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
3606 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

One of the best party youth hostels in the world! If you're a young person looking to meet new people, this hostel is so perfect. So close to public transport and the Leidseplein district. You WILL meet new people when you stay here and you'll have a great time. Only downside was the showers were TINY. The entire bathroom was the size of a closet. But can't fault anything else.


77%

They use slave labor to clean everything. You have 3 different people come and vacuum your room because they need something to show they are working.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for your review! We really appreciate it you took the time to fill this out. We can assure you there are no slaves working here, but we do think cleanliness is very important! There is a team of cleaners working daily with each their own tasks to make sure everything is spotless. They might come into the rooms just after each other during the day. We are sorry if this has caused any inconvenience. Thanks again for leaving this review! The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

Loved the athmosphere! I'd liked to have more space to cook and eat though. A real bathroom instead of these small shower cabines wouldn't have hurt either. Great location near the center and next to the Vondelpark

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for leaving a review of your stay! We are very glad to see you enjoyed your time here :) Hopefully we will see you again soon! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
80%

Good stay, nice naigbourhood.


89%

1st time staying in a hostel and I can't complain,value for money really friendly staff and quests.defiantly stay there again.

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Amazing hostel. Awesome little bar down stairs which makes it great to meet people! Definitely will be returning!


63%

This place is very far from Amsterdam central station. They have only one toilet and shower per floor, so 50 ppl to use it. Breakfast was standard stuff. Such a small place it's very uncozy, no luggage room only a paid locker. You can not move in this hostel without hitting someone or something. Srly it looks like and ant nest, too crowded for the space they have. good for one night stary no more!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your feedback! We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here. Yes we have electronic lockers for luggage as we feel this is more secure than a luggage room. There are rooms with ensuite bathrooms also and there are showers and toilets on every corridor for rooms who do not have this option, we are sorry this inconvenienced you and your stay. Thanks again for taking the time to give us your opinion. Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

I had a great experience here. Immediately upon getting there, the girl at reception was super friendly and helpful and told us all the places to go. The rooms were bigger than other hostels I've stayed at also. The atmosphere was great and people were always downstairs in the bar which was great to hangout in. Staff was super friendly and the free breakfast was such a plus, and they did the dishes for us! I'd recommend this hostel to anyone. I had a great experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving this great feedback! We really appreciate it and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Hopefully we will see you again soon :)

69%

The beds were clean, comfortable and there was a good place to put our stuff, but the bedroom was cold (it was January). The bathroom was clean, the staff was helpful and there was a smoking area, which is a plus. But the lack of female only bedrooms is a big NO. I had a strange boy trying to get into my bed in the middle of the night and it was awful. Girls need female only bedrooms to feel safer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear about what happened during your stay. We can totally imagine this must have been a very uncomfortable situation. This is a very unusual situation as we never really have problems in our mixed dorms. Nevertheless, we do take your comment very serious, as this is obviously something we do not want to happen again. We will contact you personally to find out more. Thanks again for taking the time for letting us know

77%

Amazing staff, cool bar, big rooms, could use a few more toilets. You can walk everywhere from there if you don't mind walking for half an hour or so which we didn't. Besides having noisy irritating people in our room we had a great stay. The breakfast was also awesome!


94%

Have stayed here so many times. First time in 2007 and then again in 2013 and now in 2015. Have brought a lot of friends here and they all love it. The staff is wonderful and area is amazing. Best hostel in Amsterdam hands down.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for your great feedback! We are very happy you came back again and you brought your friends as well :) Really good to hear you had such a great time! Hopefully we will see you again soon! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

86%

Great atmosphere and good location. The room was a bit small, so it smelled a bit. But it was clean, and the staff is really nice. Would most likely go back, if we go to amsterdam again. The hostel has a great "amsterdam-wibe". Thanks for a great stay!

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel, great staff, great atmosphere.....nice place to stay, always clean and tidy. Totally recomend to everyone! Next time I come back, will make my stay there, for sure! Thanks from Brazil! Congrats!

  • 15th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Actually i didnt liked this hostel, the only good thing is the location.

  • 14th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for leaving a review! We are sorry to see your stay with us was not as expected. We are very curious to find our more about what we can do to make things better. We will contact you personally. Thanks again! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

This place was pretty good! Just what you need in a hostel. Only problem was that there was no escaping the smell of weed - even up to the 4th floor and the toilets are too close to the door. Apart from that great place, breaky was good, always heaps of people around, beds were comfy, showers were clean. I recommend


97%

Great hostel, little bit of a walk to red light district. If you want to stay in the heart stay at the downtown flying pig


86%

You can find all, funny And good place!!! It was really good!!


100%

Wonderful!!! Very kind people, great position, not too noisy...great place to be!!!

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

This place is a 35 minute walk from Amsterdam central station. One toilet and shower for each level (about 30 beds). Breakfast was standard stuff. Good for people who just want to chill and smoke rather than see the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for your feedback! On the floor you were staying at there is only one public shower, but there are rooms with ensuite bathrooms as well! On all the other floors there are at least 3 showers :) We are sorry to see you didn't like the location. Hopefully you didn't miss all the famous museums, the Vondelpark, the night life area and the famous canals which are all within 5 minutes walking from us! Thanks again for your time! Safe travels :) Cheers

86%

My fave hostel ever! Awesome atmosphere, cool staff, best place. Toilets and showers left more to desired but hey, it was worth how fun it was!


(2000 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback