X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
3996 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

it was first e nothing special. Lots of stairs and a lot of smokers. it gas a pretty chill atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey There! Thank you for taking the time to review us! We really appreciate it. Due to our building's traditional Dutch architecture, we cannot install an elevator, but we are sorry if this inconvenienced you during your stay. We see that you also stayed with us for one more night last night,. We hope you enjoyed your last night here with us.. Thank you again for your time, All the best, The Flying Pig Uptown

80%

I thought that the staff were nice and the atmosphere was good. I liked that they had a smoking area but it was always busy during peak times. The bedrooms were nicely decorated and clean. And the breakfast was simple but nice, although this got really busy too.

  • 13th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us such a nice review about your stay :) It makes us very happy to see you had a good time with us! Hopefully we will see you again in the future. Safe travels! The Flying Pig Uptown

80%

Tiny rooms and an epic set of stairs, but the staff were all super nice and the smoking room was always a good time. A bit of a stroll into the action but I didn't use public transport the entire time I was there so it wasn't too annoying.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving a review of your stay with us! We really appreciate it, since we can learn a lot from it :) We are very happy to read you had such a good time in our smoking room! The action is right there if you are looking for the famous museums and night life. The Red Light District is about 10 min. away on the tram. Luckily Amsterdam is small and everything is close :) Thanks again for your time. The Flying Pig Uptown

89%

I really enjoyed my stay here. The 10 bed dorm was great, the bathrooms are clean and the location is perfect for getting around Amsterdam. However considering how expensive it was to stay here I probably wouldn't do it again.


80%

We loved the hostel, stairs were a nightmare carrying suitcases up and down. We were really disappointed that half way through the trip we had to change rooms due to the over booking of the hostel. We booked early March this year so we were surprised this happened. We booked a room of 4 with ensuite, we thought we would get the same quality room but instead moved up into the top part of the hostel into a bigger room with no bathroom and no price reduction. Overall we left disappointed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving a review of your stay! We are happy to see you loved the hostel, but we are very sorry you left disappointed. Due to the nature of our business it sometimes (rarely) happens that we cannot accommodate people who booked together, in the same room. In order to avoid for you to be split up, we decided to change you to a 6 bed dorm, hoping this would be better than splitting you up in different rooms. We are very sorry this inconvenienced you! Thanks again, The Pig

100%

Such a great hostel - everything you could ask for! We stayed 2 nights but would happily have stayed longer if we hadn't been moving on. Only complaint (if we really had to make one) would be that the showers/toilets on the 2nd floor are very small and a bit cramped - but they're clean and I guess it can't be helped with the size of building. Would definitely recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Wow, thanks a million for taking the time to leave us such a great review! It's great to read you had such a great time here, some of our bathrooms are slightly smaller, this is so there could be more showers and toilets along the corridors for everyone, we're glad this did not affect your stay though :) Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the future! All the best, The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

Lovely friendly hostel, always busy in the lobby/bar and the staff were lovely. only thing is its quite expensive for how far away from the centre it is but we didn't find it too much of a problem!


60%

Quite a good hostel. Reception was quite disorganised and we were waiting around a lot. Our check in was delayed due to room maintenance and even when we came back later on in the day we still had to wait for 20 minutes as the reception were very slow. Toilets were not particularly clean and the stay was quite expensive. Atmosphere was quite nice and everyone was friendly but could of done with a bit more organisation.

  • 3rd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate it! Unfortunately,there were some maintenance works in the room the day you arrived & this delay could not be avoided.We are very sorry this inconvenienced you. Our reception can be a little busy at times,depending on the arrival of bookings.Our reception team will always work as fast as they can to get everyone checked in promptly, we are sorry you had to wait though. Thanks again for your time,The Flying Pig

77%

Overall great experience, friendly staff, reasonable location, good wifi and free breakfast! Would stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for your great feedback! It's great to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you back soon! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

Great hostel with an awesome vibe and super friendly staff. It's next to the beautiful Vondelpark which was fabulous! Good wifi, free breakfast and very clean. There are a lot of stairs but I personally didn't have an issue with it. Overall, a fantastic hostel in Amsterdam.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow, this is great to read!! Thank you so much! We are very happy to see you had such a good time with us :) Thanks again for leaving this awesome review and we hope to see you back on your next trip to Amsterdam! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

71%

Great location and bar but bathrooms are impractical and rooms are average. A bit overpriced

  • 31st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The hostel had a really great atmosphere, the staff were so helpful and really friendly. The facilities were good, rooms very clean, good wifi and breakfast was good. Location is good tight next to vondle park but a bit of a walk from town. I would definitely recommend this hostel.


74%

Pretty good hostel, although there were a few things that made day to day life a bit difficult. The bathrooms are way too small making it hard to change. I'd also suggest putting shelves next to the beds and a mirror in the room.


100%

Love the flying pig !!! This place is awesome !!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Love you too haha! Seriously, thanks so much for your review. We are happy you had such a good time. Until next time! The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

Truly an amazing experience. Everyone, including staff was very friendly. Definitely geared towards a younger crowd, if one is not a fan of going out every night this is not the place for you. However if you want to have the best time of your life and you are in your 20's this is the best place ever.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you! Good to have had you stay with us, hope to see you back soon. Cheers, The Pig Uptown

94%

Stayed on a Friday and Sunday night. Right next to vondelpark and museum district 👌 Great free breakfast. Only downside - no free luggage storage I had to pay for a locker for the Saturday night I wasn't there but it was only a few euro.


69%

Very cute cat roaming the hostel, that was awesome. facilities are clean and it's close to food/entertainment, but everything is SO cramped and there are no elevators


83%

Fun hostel, right next to Vodelpark. Smoking room is awesome where you can meet a lot of cool people. Bar is cheap and fun. Best hostel in Amsterdam. Staff very welcoming.


94%

Brilliant !

  • 27th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The flying Pig Uptown is a clean hostel. Good shower and toilet facilities. Staff are helpful and the bar is lively. Breakfast came with boiled eggs :) 1 negative: the kitchen is open 1pm - 10pm. We were unable to prepare food in the morning for lunch later that day. They would open the kitchen if u wanted to get a lunch box from the fridge, but no preparing sandwiches etc before 1pm. Also, the bar area is the eating area which was too overcrowded and noisy at night to comfortably eat dinner.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us your nice and helpful review. After breakfast we need to clear and clean everything that was used for breakfast which runs until 11. Our staff have to use the little space we have to clean the kitchen for the guests and prepare for the bar to open. This is the reason why we can't open the kitchen earlier, unfortunately. Again, thanks for your comments, we hope to see you back some day. Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

(2213 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback