X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Flying Pig Uptown Reviews

Vossiusstraat 46, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
4000 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Very nice staff, clean rooms, and good atmosphere!


86%

We've got a really good time at the Flying Pig Amsterdam ! People were nice and helpfull, and always with a smile :D Breakfast full of good things, the only problem we've got was the automat to get condoms xD it isn't a big problem but if i am pregnant I'll just ask a bed free for life ;P *joke ;)*


77%

The staff were very friendly, there were lockers in the rooms (they sell padlocks at reception for a very reasonable rate) and you get a breakfast (toast, cereal and boiled eggs) to set you up for the day. Located right near Vondelpark so it's only 15/20 minutes walk from the city centre. I can't fault the place. It was clean and the beds were comfortable. Laid back music in the smoking room would have been good, the bar music was a bit energetic for smoking. No complaints though. Recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you very much for leaving such kind words about your stay with us :) We are very happy you had a great time here and hopefully we will see you again one day! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

94%

Loved the hostel, staff were fantastic, breakfast was amazing and location top-notch. The only little thing I didn't like was that the kitchen was closed between 10.30pm and 1pm, and you weren't allowed food in your room, so if you wanted to eat outwith those times, you couldn't do so at the hostel (breakfast was between 8.30-11am), and had to eat out which is tough if you're on a budget. Other than that, loved it! :)

  • 3rd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks you for reviewing your stay with us! We can learn a lot from your experience. It's great to read that you enjoyed your time with us here at the Uptown! Our kitchen is closed at 10.30pm so it can be cleaned and ready to be used by our breakfast team in the morning :) Once it is cleaned after breakfast, it is reopened for use again, sorry if this caused some inconvenience. Thanks again for your feedback and your time, we hope to welcome you back again-The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

Todo muy correcto, un desayuno decente, ubicación buena, muy cerca de la zona del Museo de Van Gogh y el personal muy agradable.

  • 3rd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola! Muchas gracias para la revisión :) We are happy to read you had a great time stay here. Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the future! Thanks again, The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

A great place to stay! You definitely get the feel of Amsterdam here. The staff is very helpful and lively and the rooms are clean. Very easy to walk anywhere you want and the Rijks museum and Van Gogh museum are just down the street. The bar downstairs is a lot of fun and it's very easy to meet people. I highly recommend staying here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Wow, thanks a million for leaving us such a great review :D It's fantastic to see you had such a great time here and recommend us! Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the future, Thanks again, The Flying Pig Uptown

86%

We really enjoyed our stay In Amsterdam. The flying pig has a great atmosphere, great staff, good location and a good breakfast. The only things I would change is the price (seems very high but we have nothing local to compare it too but our next stop in central Berlin is half the price and the room is bigger and brighter) and we could not get internet in our room (first world problems not major just meant we sat in the common room more and socialised).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. We are very happy to read you had a great time with us! :D Sorry to hear about the internet, though. Hopefully you let our staff know during your stay and we could fix it! Our wifi works throughout the whole building. Thanks again! We hope to see you back on your next trip to Amsterdam :) Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

Was staying just 1 night, but looked like a pretty nice hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks a lot for leaving this nice review! We are very happy you had a enjoyable stay with us :) Hopefully we will see you again on your next visit to Amsterdam! Safe travels, The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

A great institution! Manages to be really well run and organised without seeming bossy and irritating. These guys know how to host us, and have thought of everything. It's the 5th or 6th time I've stayed and will always use it as my AMS base. Can't recommend enough.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow this is amazing!! Thank you so much for your kind words. We will pass them on to our staff as well, they will love to hear this! We are very happy you enjoyed yourself with us (again!) and we would love to see you back on your next visit to Amsterdam! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

The Flying Pig Uptown is how every should aspire to be. A great location, warm and friendly staff, rocking tunes, and a swell crowd. I walked to the Downtown one, but found that it is quite in the centre of the hustle and bustle, whereas the Uptown one is located in the nicer part of town, with a park nearby and most of the museums within walking distance. The rooms and facilities are well managed, neat and clean, leaving no cause for complaint.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow! Thank you so much for this rocking review! We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback about your stay. It's fantastic to read that you had a great time here and enjoyed our Uptown location :) Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future! Thanks again for your time, The Flying Pig Uptown

100%

Such a cool place, would recommend it to anyone

  • 30th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow! Thanks for leaving us such an awesome review! We appreciate you taking the time. We're delighted you had a wonderful stay and would recommend us! Hopefully we will see you here again in the future :) Safe onward travels, The Flying Pig Uptown

97%

I would recommend this place in a heartbeat! Such an amazing atmosphere. As long as you're prepared for a steep staircase, this place will treat you right


94%

Great hostel, and great to meet people. A bit of a party hostel as it aims to be, but rooms were quiet at night. Could use an elevator and a iron.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey There, Thanks a million for leaving us a review! It's great to read you had such a great time partying with us but also got a good nights sleep :) Unfortunately, as our building is a traditional Dutch townhouse, we cannot install an elevator. We are glad to see this did not affect your stay with us. We will take your suggestion for an iron onboard. Thanks again for your time, hopefully we can welcome you again in the future! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

83%

We really enjoyed the flying pig. It is in a great location and has really good vibes. Really expensive though for the time of year/in general... However we couldn't really find much cheaper so it was a good splurge. Good breakfast too!


80%

Stayed in 4 different rooms due to availability, which was fine. The staff super helpful. One of the rooms, there was no hot water in shower and it never got fixed. Bathroom wasn't always cleaned thoroughly. Convenient checking in/out times allows for smooth transition even moving rooms. No elevator and narrow steep stairwells mean for backpackers and not suitcase carriers!


94%

AWESOME hostel. If you're in Amsterdam to really "relax" this hostel definitely is suited for you. Facilities are cleaned daily, breakfast is absolutely huge (and free!) and location is ideal given its proximity to the Rijksmuseum, Vondelpark and inner city area :) Highly recommended!


83%

Hostel is clean and well run. Every staff member was happy to help and always had a smile on

Owner Comment (Hide)
Nice one! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us. We are very happy you enjoyed yourself here! If you ever come back to Amsterdam, we hope to welcome you again :) Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

80%

Enjoyed this hostel. It was in a great location. We walked downtown most days and all around Amsterdam. We loved everyone we met here and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The showers and bathrooms are very small but that's okay since what do you expect when staying at a hostel. The bar was always very popular and it was easy to meet people. Would stay here again.


100%

The staff was very helpful and considerate Lara helped rebook a room the next day and saved me a lot trouble I will stay here in future trips to Amsterdam


97%

Great Amsterdam Hostel. Great bar and social rooms, super relaxed and fun vibe to this place. facilities were great and the staff were really friendly and helpful. Definitely stay here if you in Amsterdam for any period of time!

Owner Comment (Hide)
This is great! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave these kind words :) We will make sure to pass them on to all the staff too, they would love to hear this! Thanks again and hopefully we will see you back one day! The Flying Pig Uptown

(222 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback