Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Flying Pig Uptown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 5361 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 5361 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Aug 2017
10.0

Best hostel in the world! Super clean, best staff, the bar and smoking room were a great place to relax after a long day out, definitely recommend to anyone staying in Amsterdam!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Aug 2017
8.0

Great location! Very near to the museums square. Breakfast was decent. Staff were helpful and friendly. The cleanliness of rooms, toilets and showers is average.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! Thank you for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again soon :). Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback! The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Aug 2017
8.0

Really great location, right by the famous Vondelpark, but far enough away from the centre that you can avoid noisiness at night. Beds were comfortable and rooms were cleaned daily, although the humidity was quite high as windows could not be opened. Like anything in Amsterdam this place has a lot of stairs and no lift. You have to go down to reception then back up to the rooms. Toilets were really small, but clean and modern. Water pressure and heat in showers was spotty, but not intolerable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for this review, we really appreciate it! We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you really liked the location ,comfy beds and cleanliness of the hostel. Thank you again for your time and we hope to welcome you back in Amsterdam. The Flying Pig Uptown.

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2017
10.0

Great Hostel, great fun!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! thank you for this awesome review, we really appreciate it! :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2017
6.9

I stay at St Christopher's Inns very frequently and really love them in general. I normally stay at the Winston in Amsterdam but it was full, so I tried the Flying Pig Uptown. It is not great - really expensive private room for what it is. Absolutely tiny, barely room for one person let alone two, and the shared bathroom is nowhere near the quality of the other St Chris hostels. Personally wouldn't stay here again as it is not great value compared to the others. Staff were great.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for this review, we can really learn from your experience. We are sorry to read that your stay wasn't as good as expected and that you didn't like our facilities. Our building is built in the traditional Amsterdam architectural style so unfortunately it doesn't come with a lot of space. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay and we are happy to read that you loved your other experiences with St Christopher's Inn. Thank you again for your time. The Flying Pig Uptown.

6th Aug 2017
7.1

This place is wild. I was here for a week and someone took too many drugs in my room about everyday. There were also a couple of squatters in my room that the staff couldn't get rid of for a couple days. Come here if you want to party

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2017
9.4

I had a wonderful stay here! The included breakfast was key, and the bar downstairs was super fun and handy. It's in a relatively quiet area - Vondelpark is lovely - but a short walk to Leidseplein, and not too long to walk to the rest of central Amsterdam (I walked everywhere I went in Amsterdam). Overall, the place has a great vibe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for leaving this cool review, we really appreciate it! We are glad to read that you really enjoyed our cool little bar, free breakfast, location and the vibe in the hostel. Thank you again for your time and we hope to welcome you back in Amsterdam. The Flying Pig Uptown.

  • nicky-scott7789
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Aug 2017
9.1

Love this hostel, staff is awesome. I traveled here solo and made friends so easily. The common areas are nice to grab a drink or a smoke. Staff is really on top of cleaning/fixing things promptly. Would forsure stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for this awesome review, we really appreciate it. We are really happy to read that you had an amazing stay with us. You really enjoyed socialising with fellow travellers, our awesome staff and the cleanliness of the hostel! :) Thank you again for your time and we can't wait to welcome you back in the future. The Flying Pig Uptown.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Jul 2017
9.7

Place was great, Location was amazing, staff were very nice and helpful. Downside was probably narrow stairs but it's no biggy

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2017
8.0

Very good staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for leaving a review, we really appreciate it! We are happy to read that you really liked our staff, we will definitely pass the message on to them. Thank you again and we hope to see you again. The Flying Pig Uptown.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.