Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Flying Pig Uptown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 4,518 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 4,518 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
Flying Pig Uptown Located at Vossiusstraat 46, , Amsterdam.
Flying Pig Uptown
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1071 AJ Vossiusstraat 46
88% 4518
52.3604797 4.8783588
Flying Pig Uptown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Aug 2016
8.0

A nice hostel located just outside Vondelpark. Make sure to bring a lock as roller cages beneath the bed make it a necessity. Smoking area is under construction so a bit smaller than usual, and while people were generally friendly there wasn't a massive cohesive hostel atmosphere. overall not a bad spot though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Aug 2016
8.3

Staff are really friendly, location is good and the free breakfast was nice. Not as social as I would of thought, people just tend to stay in there own groups but isn't much the hostel can do about it

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
21st Aug 2016
8.0

Well located on Vondel Park (which is an absolute must on a nice day!) and one easy tram from Central Train station. The hostel is extremely clean and tidy with good security for your valuables. The bathrooms and showers are great. The only thing I would point out is that the only common areas are a smoking room and the bar so if that's not your thing you may find there is a lack of spaces to hang out with fellow travelers. Overall, highly recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Aug 2016
8.0

Too many stairs!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2016
8.6

Overall i'd have no reservations recommending the Flying Pig Uptown to any younger travelers. The staff is friendly and helpful although they forgot to clean our room several times. The vibe is not as social as some hostels in that while there are a lot of people about, a lot are very high so its a slightly different atmosphere. Met a ton of awesome people though and the location can't be beat

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Aug 2016
9.7

One of the best hostels I've stayed in! We stayed in a private that had everything we needed. The only thing that i think would make it fully complete is an elevator because 6 flights of stairs isn't fun hahaha. Quite a good work out though!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Aug 2016
10.0

Perfect location, walkable to all the sights (even the red light district) and right next to the beautiful Vondelpark. There are pub crawls and walking tours that pick up right from the hostel and the airport bus drops off within a couple blocks. Staff is super friendly/helpful and so was everyone I met in the hostel. Breakfast is a little boring, but if you want to pay for food theres an amazing bakery a block over and tons of coffeeshops in the area. Amazing hostel experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Aug 2016
10.0

Awesome place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
18th Aug 2016
10.0

Loved the place so much we went back three times and chilled there whenever possible. Honestly have no idea how this place isn't rated a flat ten. Chilled staff, awesome atmosphere, well priced for amsterdam and in a much nicer area than most.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your awesome review! We really appreciate your feedback! We're delighted you had such a great stay and that our staff and atmosphere had such a great impact! Hopefully we can welcome you back for a fourth time!! :) Thanks again for your time, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2016
9.7

Great hostel! The hostel to be in amsterdam

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

What an awesome compliment! Thank you so much for this ! We hope to welcome you back again in the future, The Flying Pig Uptown

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.