Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Flying Pig Uptown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 5138 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 5138 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th May 2017
8.9

Party hostel. Fun, but don't expect to get any sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • wheely97
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2017
9.7

Very good hostel. Being a solo traveler I felt very comfortable here due to the staff being so nice and the atmosphere of the bar is the best I've seen, very easy to meet people. Facilities are good and in a great location. Will be coming back again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving this awesome review, we really appreciate it! :) We are delighted to read that you loved hanging out with our staff and that you liked our bar, it really is a special place to socialise with fellow travellers. :) Thank you again for your time and we hope to see you again soon! the Flying Pig Uptown. Thank

  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th May 2017
8.9

It is a very good hostel with awesome location and super helpful staff. There are loooooooots of stairs extreamely small and makes it difficult to climb them to your room, specially if you are in the 4th floor.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for leaving a review, we really appreciate it! We are glad our lovely stairs didn't affect your stay too much ;) and we hope our helpful staff helped you with your luggage. Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the future. The Flying Pig Uptown.

  • anahealey5771
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
14th May 2017
9.7

Second visit and will definitely be back. One of the best hostels in Amsterdam and best location if you don't want the insanity of the Red Light district 24/7.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and for leaving a review, we really appreciate it! :) We are happy to read your stay was amazing and that you love our location. We hope to welcome you back again soon! the Flying Pig Uptown,.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th May 2017
7.1

No common area other than the bar. Free breakfast is good. Very cramped showers and bathrooms. Would not describe this as a party hostel, minimal atmosphere. The staff/hostel do not facilitate any opportunities to see the night life, you are left to do that on your own. This was disappointing for a city like Amsterdam. Comfy beds and clean facilities. Personal lockers included. A long walking distance to most things, but good location!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ektanahar07
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2017
9.1

Great hostel with great staff....

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
9th May 2017
8.3

After reading the amazing reviews here I had to give this hostel a go. Although I had met some good people, my stay at F.P.U was a bit of a let down. The showers weren't designed practically to get dried and changed into. Cramped toilets (there were only 2 per floor) so very to get ready in the morning. It is however the right hostel if you're looking for a good drinking time but not to take rest as they were no comfy lounge areas. The locker cages were really hard to handle, hated that the most

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we can really learn from your experience. We are disappointed to read that your stay with us was not as you expected it to be, we apologise for this. The hostel is built in the traditional Amsterdam architectural style. How beautiful it may be, it doesn't leave a lot of room to work with. We do have bigger bathrooms on the top floors and some of our rooms also have private bathrooms. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay. Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review and we hope to welcome you back some other time. The Flying Pig Uptown.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th May 2017
9.1

Staff are absolutely amazing. Super social place.++ if your going solo. Further out of town but not far at all. I prefer it over downtown as the streets and surrounding areas are very clean and safe. Well maintained building.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th May 2017
8.3

This hostel is really clean, the staff is nice and the amenities are good but it's very far from the city center. It's about a 20 minute walk from the red light district and other main parts of the city and if I had known that I would've stayed somewhere else (maybe the flying pig downtown)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • a_somers6302
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th May 2017
9.1

Really enjoyed my stay at flying pig uptown. The staff were laid back but always keen to help. Loved the smoking room + pool table - great atmosphere in there, although the extractor fans could use some attention as they didn't seem to be working very well. The kitchen, bar, and bedroom were all perfectly fine. Shower rooms and toilets were all pretty small spaces, which lead to some awkward shuffling around, but you got by. Was great being right next to Vondelpark​. All in all, very pleased.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for leaving such a detailed review, we really appreciate it! We are delighted to read that you really enjoyed our smoking room, facilities, location, atmosphere and staff. :) Our building is a bit small due to the traditional architecture, but it does add to the atmosphere ;) Thank you again for your time and we hope to see you again soon. The Flying Pig Uptown.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.