Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Flying Pig Uptown

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 4,430 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 4,430 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
Flying Pig Uptown Located at Vossiusstraat 46, , Amsterdam.
Flying Pig Uptown
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1071 AJ Vossiusstraat 46
88% 4430
52.3604797 4.8783588
Flying Pig Uptown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jul 2016
7.7

Rooms needed a little airing out, showers not great but great location and beds were super comfy

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey There, Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time! We are glad that you enjoyed our uptown location and found our beds to be comfy :) We will bring up your constructive feedback with our cleaning team to make sure the rooms and showers are being cleaned to the high standard we always aim to maintain, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future, thanks again- The Flying Pig Uptown

  • vlathrop23
  • Vanuatu, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
7.4

Good location, the atmosphere wasn't as wild as they told us. But it was pretty good. The only negative thing where no a/c and the toilets were extremely small, not recommended for tall people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey There! Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback about your stay! We are glad you enjoyed our uptown location and overall our piggy atmosphere :) Yes, it is true, the room in which you stayed there is no air con , this is because the room in which you stayed has large balcony doors that open and a fan attached to the wall too. Other rooms in our hostel do have aircon though! We understand Amsterdam has been going through a slight heat wave the past week so it has been warmer than usual, luckily Amsterdam does not experience this very often. We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused by the warmer weather, we do hope you let our reception team know so we could set up more fans in the room? Thanks again for your feedback, we do hope to welcome you back again in the future!- The Flying Pig Uptown

  • dagunz
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
8.3

This hostel met all our needs. It was clean and had good facilities. Our room was above the bar/smoking area which did get loud one night. Nothing a pair of earplugs couldn't take care of.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time! We are glad that we could meet your expectations :) We hope to welcome you back in the future! The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
10.0

Can't say enough good things about this place. Starting with the location, it's a twenty minute walk from downtown but it's a really nice walk and after a couple pre drinks really feels like nothing. Plus there is a park directly in front of the hostel which was a great place to hang out for a couple more beers before bed. The best part of this hostel is the atmosphere. It's pretty much impossible not to meet new people. Couldn't have been better. For sure will be coming back for next ti

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate you taking the time! It's brilliant you enjoyed our atmosphere as we as our uptown location by the Vondelpark, definitely the best place to chill and have a beer in :D Thanks again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future! -The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jul 2016
9.4

Fun hostel. Bathrooms and showers were great and there were lots of them. Staff were super nice. Breakfast included and good. Rooms were small and squishy, that's my only complaint. Location super cool just a 30 minute walk from the red light district. Overall fun!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey There! Thank you so much for your review! We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us as well as our free breakfast :) we will make sure to pass on your kind words to the staff here, they'll be delighted! We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future! Thanks again for your time, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jul 2016
10.0

Best hostel I have ever stayed in. The atmosphere downstairs is both really chilled and also really fun- hostel was buzzing every day! The staff were unbelievably helpful as they went above and beyond to help my friend when her passport/phone/ cards were stolen. One even gave her his inhaler so that we didn't have to buy a new one! The rooms served their purpose- a bit on the small side but the building itself would not have allowed any bigger! Overall a fantastic stay, can't recommend it enough

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a million for your feedback! What a huge compliment to say we are the best hostel you have ever stayed in, thank you so much for this! :D We are so happy our staff could be so helpful, our team are always happy to help, we will make sure to pass on your kind words! Thank you again for your review and recommendations, we hope to welcome you back in the future :) -The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2016
9.1

This was my first time traveling alone (I'm a female). My trip to Amsterdam was awesome and Flying Pig plays a huge part in that awesomeness. :) It's not hard to find, close to museums and city center. Local shop, post office, cafes, coffeeshops are near. Stuff was nice and helpful, stairs are (dutch style) narrow, room and facilities were clean. Bar in the hostel is really nice, great for meeting new people (and they have the best beer and pizzas :D). One of the best hostels I ever stayed in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

WOW! Thank you so much for the awesome review! We're delighted you had such a great time in Amsterdam and that we could play a big part in that, thank you so much for this lovely compliment :D We hope you will stay with us again in the future! Thanks again for your time, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Jul 2016
9.4

AWESOME location (direct access to/from the airport and Centraal), very helpful staff (gave us great food recommendations), and cool community overall. Do know that they don't offer free storage (you'll need to rent lockers, which are 2 euro a day) and charge for a towel, among other things. You'll also need to climb a lot of stairs... the architecture is weird that way.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey There! Thanks a million for taking the time to review your stay with us, we really appreciate it! It is wonderful to read what a great stay you had with us and that our staff can could give you some awesome tips for Amsterdam! It is true, we have personal electronic lockers for luggage storage after check out, we feel this is the safest and most secure way for luggage storage as it eliminates theft or damage to luggage! We do rent out towels too! but this is a deposit of 3 euros that is returned when the towel is return, so it is free in the end :) Thanks again for your feedback, we really hope you will stay with us again in the future! - The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
10.0

We stayed for one night on a small trip to Amsterdam, and the staff were kind enough to not charge us for hanging around for the entire next day while we waited for our flight. Its not a far walk to the downtown area, and the staff were great. Would definitely come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your review! It is great you enjoyed your time here with us for your short but sweet stay :) We do hope you come back so we can welcome you back again! Thanks again for your time, The Flying Pig Uptown

8th Jul 2016
7.4

We had a pretty good stay at the flying pig. It is close to the museum area but that's pretty much all.. We took a team towards dam square multiple times a day. It's right next to vondelpark also but we didn't see a need to spend a lot of time there. We stayed in a 14 bed dorm in a double bed.. We didn't realize until we got there that we would only have 1 plug so if you book a double bed, plan to bring an adapter that allows both of your phones or whatever to charge at the same time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to give us some feedback about your stay! We are glad that, overall, you enjoyed your time here with us! It is true, we are located approx. 30 minutes walk to Dam Square/ the red light district, as we are located right beside the museum district as well as the Leidseplein entertainment area, which is filled with bars, restaurants and nightclubs. We are glad this did not affect your time too much here! Thank you again for your time! The Flying Pig Uptown

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.