Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Flying Pig Uptown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 5005 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 5005 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2017
9.4

Amazing staff, very clean and comfortable. First time in the city and due to the location I enjoyed​ much more of it. The breakfast could be better but still giving you a nice boost....by the way, check out 10:30 and yes, they​ have towels for rent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Mar 2017
8.9

I'm not the best judge as me and my boyfriend only stayed here for one night in the middle of the week, staff was super helpful and friendly. Good atmosphere and a fun bad, plus it was quiet at night on the 3rd floor so you could also get a good nights sleep. Would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate you taking the time, especially after a short stay :) It is brilliant to see you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our piggy atmosphere. Thank you also for your recommendations, we hope to welcome you back in the future!- The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Mar 2017
9.7

Loved staying at this hostel. The ambiance and staff were great and welcoming. We only slept one night but, the bed was soo comfortable. Will definitely be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we appreciate your feedback! It is great to see you enjoyed your stay with us and will be returning again :) We look forward to welcoming you back! Thank you again for your time, The Flying Pig Uptown

14th Mar 2017
9.7

Amazing hostel. The location is a bit out from the center, but it's worth the extra ten minute walk. Staff is amazing. Atmosphere is amazing. Rooms are amazing! Everything is super clean and I met some seriously great people here. Breakfast is really good as well. I will definitely stay here again. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate your feedback! It is brilliant to read what a great stay you had with us and that you will definitely stay again, we can't wait! Thank you again for your time- The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2017
9.7

Great staff, great facilities, cheap, fun and totally worth it. Thank you :) x

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your great review! We hope to welcome you back in the future! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

10th Mar 2017
9.1

Flying Pig is definitely good value for your money, but you have to know you're not getting the cleanest place. My friend and I stayed in a 10 bed room and there was a bathroom and shower in the room, and the ceiling in the bathroom was moldy (to be expected with no ventilation). Otherwise, the location was really great, the bar was fun, there's free breakfast and the staff is really friendly! It's a great place to meet people, so I would definitely recommend if you're solo or with a friend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to give us some feedback! We are happy that you found us to be a good value for money hostel with friendly staff and a great atmosphere :) We are sorry the bathroom was not at the high cleanliness standard we always aim for in the dorm you stayed. We have addressed the issue since your stay and are in the process of organising a permanent solution. Thank you for your constructive feedback. We are glad this did not affect your stay with us too much though! We are delighted you recommend us and hope to welcome you back in the future, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Mar 2017
9.4

fantastic spot, best hostel in amsterdam but the rates are very close to what you'd pay in a hotel (for the private rooms) so we might just do that next time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time! What a huge compliment to call us the best hostel in Amsterdam, thanks a million! Amsterdam is indeed an expensive city with high operating costs, hostels as well as hotels can cost more than the European average but we are happy you felt you received good value for money :) We hope you do choose to stay with us the next time you are in town! Thank you again for your time, The Flying Pig Uptown

6th Mar 2017
9.1

The flying pig was so great! Very warm and great atmosphere. My room was right above the bar, so it was a tad loud sometimes but it was nice to have a bar so close so I didn't really mind. Private bathrooms were great and the staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we appreciate your feedback. We are pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your time with us and you highly recommend us, thank you for that :D We hope to welcome you back in the future, Thank you again for your time, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
10.0

Me and my girlfriend stayed in the Flying pig uptown for about 3 nights and the experience was great. Great service and quality for the price. Everyone was complaining about the stairs, but come on. GROW A PAIR. Is something that is funny to talk about when you are coming back from the Coffee shop. The never ending stairs haha. Its great atmosphere tho.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we really appreciate your feedback! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you felt we were good value for money with a great atmosphere :D We hope to welcome you back again! Thank you again for your time, The Flying Pig Uptown

4th Mar 2017
8.3

Staff was super great. Literally everyone I talked to was awesome. Only complaint is the 5 flights of stairs with no elevator. Other than that, would definitely recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time! We are chuffed to read that our staff had such a positive impact on your stay, we will make sure to pass on your kind words to the team! It is true, we do not have an elevator as our building's traditional architecture does not permit us to install one, our team are always happy to help with lifting bags though! Thank you again for your review, we hope to welcome you back in the future! The Flying Pig Uptown

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.