X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Formosa Backpackers Hostel Reviews

206 Jian Guo Road, Hualien City, Hualien, Taiwan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
634 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Stayed in a single room on the 4th floor- clean and comfortable. The staff was wonderfully helpful, even giving me mochi to sample! Minor incident with a circuit going out at night, but it was quickly fixed. Walls are very thin, but as long as your neighbors are courteous, you're fine. Would definitely stay here again.

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It was really nice to meet you Stephanie,we hope to see you again in Hualien,and all the best to you!!

80%

Location of the hostel was very good and close to downtown as well as the Hualien train station. Staff were excellent and very helpful. Was disappointed that the private double room had two single beds instead of a double bed. The room in itself was minimal but quite sufficient. It would have been really helpful to have universal power plugs instead of just the one suited for Taiwan.We had to shorten our stay because of an oncoming typhoon. But I was glad that the hostel refunded 50% of the fees


86%

Beautiful hostel, especially the ground floor/cafe area. Large library of books to read while there. Small, homey hostel. Only complaint was the lack of functioning A/C and fan in the 8 bed dorm... It was so hot at night that I barely slept at all in the two days I was there. The second night, I actually slept on the floor under the ceiling fan. Friends in the other room said they were comfortable, so it might just be the 8 bed dorm.


60%

Hostel was dirty. Room smelled bad and so did restrooms. Bed was nice though. Staff was also nice and quite helpful. Didn't see much of an atmosphere while we were there.


74%

Very good value for your money. Some rooms are very nice, others more basic, but all are functional and clean. Airconditioning is switsched on and off by the staff, and runs only at night starting around 9 pm. But the rooms also have fans that you can control yourself. The hostel runs a caffee with very nice furniture and many English books to read. There is a small place in the fridge where travellers can store food, but no shared kitchen facility. The owner is friendly and speaks English.

Owner Comment (Hide)
we share dorm room air-condition start turn it on on 7:30 til the morning.and we have new coffee bar and library on the first floor for the guests.we try our best for our guests,and they can enjoy their stay with us.

94%

Good location, pretty close to both the "downtown" area and the train station. Nice common room, though quiet while we were there. Our private room had its own patio, which was also nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you, we are very happy to know that you had great time to stay with us,and we hope to see you again,and enjoy your traveling.

86%

Made to feel very welcome by Chen Stayed 5 nights, it was so clean and quiet a nice change after the noisy backpackers in Taipei John and Helen

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you John, we are really happy to know that you and Helen are enjoy your time stay with us, keep on good work for our guests,and have great traveling,Bon voyage!!

91%

I really liked it there even I didn't stay long time. Thank you!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Efe, It was great to know you like it here,and we hope to see you again and stay longer with us.

80%

We stayed at the hostel while it was being renovated, so our rating is biased due to the construction work. Unfortunately there was no working WiFi at the top floor and on the ground floor there was no internet connection. The rooftop terrace was amazing! Nice view over the city and a cool breeze.




View all Hualien Hostels

Please give us your feedback