X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Formosa Backpackers Hostel Reviews

206 Jian Guo Road, Hualien City, Hualien, Taiwan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
486 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

I think that you will really like the hostel. it's got a movie night , a barbers service , tours are excellent, It's got really good second hand books [ by the why, they have them in the rooms] and you can rent bikes. you will love the hostel, and you can write a message on the wall. The Spooner family & Stuart. Written by Yan (aged 10)


89%

I thoroughly enjoyed staying at Formosa. The private room is basic but very clean and the air conditioner made it extra comfortable. The staff are very friendly and full of helpful advice. I had a very relaxing stay at Formosa and look forward to staying again.


83%

We stayed here for 2 nights. For the money it is pretty worth it but our beds were pretty uncomfortable mattresses on the ground and we also felt pretty itchy sleeping on them at night. The walls are also very thin and it can be pretty loud in the morning especially if you are close to the stairs. There is only one bathroom and shower per floor and each floors is different but they are relatively clean. Staff is friendly and helpful and it is cheap and clean for a short stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Samantha,it was really nice to meet you,and hope to see you guys again in hualien,enjoy your time in taiwan.

94%

Love it! The best thing is that they have a piano in the common area. The atmosphere is good and met nice people there. The bed is so comfyyyyy and the toilet is clean and the staff are nice and give useful information there's also bike hiring service

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Yanky,we are very happy you have good time stayed with us,and all the guests are great and friendly. We will keep on our good work,keep hostel clean and comfy.hope to see you again in Hualien. Have nice trip in the island.

71%

Staff had a lot of recommendations. They were sweet. We had a lovely saturday movie night. The beds were thick. However, the bathroom was not clean and there was no kitchen available for guests.

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Nadia,it's great to have you stay with us. we try to help our guest any travel info and map they need. and we will keep our good work for the hostel we are building a new shower and toilets for the guest ,so the new bathroom will be tidy and clean. have nice traveling in the island and bon voyage!

89%

no public kitchen is the only pity. hostel is near the train station but a bit far from the centre. but Hualien is really a small city so wouldn't be bother any. good expericen in Formosa. very nice staff~

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Jejin, it was great to have you stay with us,and hope to see you next time when you travel to Hualien again. In our common area,we do have public refrigerator and boil water machine,and sink,you can make hot drink or cutting fruit.

91%

住了两天double,环境不错很舒服staff超级人好!大厅还有钢琴简直惊喜!不会很闹洗手间很干净,床是床垫铺在地上类似于榻榻米一样很软,但是早上可能会被路过的飞机声吵到……旁边就有7-11,走去主路大概15分钟,第一次来从火车站走可能不好找,综合来讲很赞啦~

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you,and we glad to hear you have good time,and we will keep doing our good work and try to make our guest have comfortable stay when they are in Hualien.cheers

57%

BEDBUGSSSSSSS. I slept in 4bed dorm and double bed private. I got bitten sooooo bad. Almost a month since my stay there and the bites have yet to recover. I will never return again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
No worry !!!!Me and our staff check the room and we didnt find any bug,and the bed and bed sheets are clean! It could be mosquito.please dont panic! :)

89%

Private rooms are basic but have a good vibe, they are clean and all facilities are working well. Private rooms are on top floor, there's also a terrace where you can sit outside. The ground floor houses a library of about 1500 english books, but this ground floor reception area is a bit humid and not so clean, therefore the books are partly in bad shape. WiFi is only available at the ground floor and first floor, the signal is too weak on the upper floors. Anyway I highly recommend this hostel

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Steffen,we are glad you enjoy your stay with us, and enjoy your you time while you traveling in the island. Bon voyage!!

66%

Place was clean and small, which was nice. However it was very loud, you could hear anybody walking up the stairs making sleeping hard. Also the staff gives pretty bad travel advice, ended up having to hitchhike back to town after following their instructions.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Julia Thank you for your comments. We hope you had a good time whilst you visited Hualien, we are sorry for any inconvenience caused to you. We hope to see you again in the future. All the Best

66%

Not bad overall , could have a better washroom condition

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the comment,we change new shower and toliets already for the hostel,hope to see you again in Hualien and have comfortable stay at Formosa :) Bon voyage!!

80%

Hualien in itself is not a very well connected city. This hostel is located on a big road so it's not hard to find, and I suppose it is the nearest to the train station and can be accessed by walking. The draw of this place is price for a night. It has to be the cheapest hostel in the whole of Taiwan.


74%

The staff was friendly, and overall it was a nice place to stay! 15 minute walk from train station, and a 110 ntd taxi ride to downtown!

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

A good place to meet ppl from different countries! Good environment! Number of washroom is a bit not enough.


86%

Nice staff, nice hostel, convenient location and clean room. I would recommend it without hesitation.


97%

Believe No 1 place for English speaking travellers in Hualien. The bilingual (English/Chinese) staff is extremely helpful to provide information and tips for trips around; some hidden & secret spots incl. I did enjoy my stay in the hostel and Hualien. I would just only recommend to renew some pieces of the furniture on the ground floor.


69%

Nice hosts and nice helps offered from them. Good atmosphere :))


100%

The hostel is very nice for the price. It's very clean and comfortable. They have 3 staffs, the husband and the wife, and also one employee girl. They are very nice and they talk a lot to me. I stayed in the 6 people mixed room on the first floor, and everything was great.


97%

We felt at home the whole time, it was like visiting family! All rooms were clean, and the bathroom on our floor (4th) was kept spotless. Not as close to the Train Station as most people would like but we enjoy walking. There's a 7 Eleven nearby and a few small restaurants that serve inexpensive but delicious food. The staff was genuinely friendly and extremely helpful. We made friends there and would love to go back someday just to sit on the porch and enjoy a cold beer among nice people.


57%

The place was not clean. The room we stayed in had no air-conditioning which we assumed there was due to... their descriptions. We tried to settle for the fans, but the fans were full of dirt and dust.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Ng. Thanks for your Comments. We have now fitted brand new Air Conditioning into the room. The room is clean and comfortable now. Hope to you will stay with us next time when you are in Hualien and you can see out improvements. Thanks for staying with us. Have a good trip........

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(42 results)


View all Hualien Hostels

Please give us your feedback