Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Formosa Backpackers & Apartment

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 680 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 680 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.1
Formosa Backpackers & Apartment Located at 206 Jian Guo Road, Hualien City, Hualien.
Formosa Backpackers & Apartment
Taiwan
Hualien 970 206 Jian Guo Road, Hualien City
89% 680
23.9840960 121.6007995
Formosa Backpackers & Apartment
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th Sep 2016
10.0

Stayed in the deluxe en suite which was extremely nice and spacey. I would like to thank the staff again for helping me with everything. I highly recommend this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jameswonglife
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Jul 2016
9.1

Booked the private deluxe double room. Very spacious and big! Cafe isnt open in he morning which is odd, because that's when i want coffee!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
9.1

We stayed in the double ensuite, very spacious, clean and nicely furnished. The room has its own little garden which is great. The cafe that belongs to the hostel is very nice too, although it only opens around lunch - you have to find your breakfast somewhere else. Staff speaks good english and are very nice. 100% recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th May 2016
10.0

Stayed in the Double Room with an ensuite. Super spacious, attention to detail and even had a backyard :) Cafe was had a scandinavian/industrial touch too it :) was much looked after! Would recommend staying 100%

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you,It was really great to know you had great time in Formosa Backpackers,and the room are spacious,our Garden View Double room has its own garden and outdoor shower,its great room to stay. Our new coffee shop is available making coffee and tea for guest everyday :)

10th May 2016
7.1

Check in time was around 3 in the afternoon but I was hoping to go early and at least keep my luggage. I arrived around 12 in noon but there wasn't anybody over there. Hostel was closed from outside so I couldn't even get in. I waited for half n hour but still no sign. Finally I left and came back around 2:30 and then was able go check in. Also there was mosquitos in my room and they don't have electronic mosquitos killer device but after I complained they managed to get me coil.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th May 2016
9.4

I would recommend staying here as its a really nice place, with nice atmosphere - it was a bit further away from the train station than I expected but it's very easy to get around - you can even rent bikes from the hostel very cheap! The only issue I really had was with security- whilst you do feel safe I didn't receive a key for my room and the door didn't lock and the shower/bathroom wasn't great but otherwise a really nice hostel with absolutely fantastic, friendly and helpful staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, This is Kay. Thank you for your review! I've told my owner about the keys you mentioned. I believe we'll figure it out very soon. By the way, thank you so much for the Iceland to-go lists, it really helps. Hope to see you again soon. Kay

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 51 reviews
17th Apr 2016
9.4

Easy to find! No free pick-up anymore, so just walk - it will take you 15-20 minutes. Facilities are fine. Spacious dorms and beds were ok. Lockers are provided. The cafe is nice! It's kind of a common room as well, since there is no other. No kitchen either - but no need for it. Find the night market to get yourself any food. Bathroom was good. Just one though. I was here during low season, so no need to wait. Staff is very friendly and helpfull! Their English is good!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
10.0

Great place to stay. If I'm ever back in Hualien, this is where I'll be. Helpful staff. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
4th Apr 2016
9.7

The staff here are super nice and the coffee was excellent! I liked the relaxed common area and the bike hire is cheap. No stress at this place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Lachlan, thanks for your rating. Hope to see you again soon, do enjoy your trip~~ Cheers, Yachen and Kay

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.