Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Fort William Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1058 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1058 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Jun 2017
7.7

It was a very cute place. Not modern, but not bad. The beds were comfy. The view from the place is amazing. It is on top of a large hill which could be a struggle if you had a large/heavy backpack. The staff were nice, gave some great advice on places to hike to. Overall, very nice stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2017
10.0

Lovely place and great place to meet other people. Loved the location as it is not too far away from the city. Excellent facilities including drying room

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2017
9.7

The staff were amazing, answered all our questions and took care of any needs. The Fort William hostel was a wonderful inexperience. Thanks to all the staff and guest.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2017
9.7

Great service and my minor disappointment in regards to nocturnal silence should be addressed to some fellow lodgers rather than the staff:) Perfect amenities for affordable charge, convenient location, helpful staff and the best breakfast deal in the town. Warmly recommended:)))

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your positive review ! Please come back anytime !

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Jun 2017
6.9

Hostel was fine, cosy. Nice staff. I did not manage to sleep at all. First night someone was snoring like crazy. Next day a girl was drunk and throwing up in her bed and the room stunk. Not that this is the fault of the hostel but it is how I remember it- not being able to sleep! The top bunks make you feel like you will fall out of bed as there is no bar holding you in.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I am sorry you could not have a decent sleep. The quality of sleep depends a lot of the people you are sharing the room with. We hope to see you again at Fort William for a better experience!

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Jun 2017
9.7

This hostel was really nice, the view from the dining room was incredible!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2017
4.3

I really did not enjoy my stay at the Fort William Backpackers Hostel. Firstly, on arriving at the backpackers hostel, from the road, the building looked old, tired and shabby. It did not look well cared for or maintained. The windows and doors looked rotten and everything looked a bit crumbly and uninviting. Inside was not much better. Everything was worn and dirty and not well maintained. The showers and toilets were dirty and dank. Everything was poor about this building.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I am sorry you had a bad experience with us. Although our building is a bit dated, we are doing everything we can to keep it clean and enjoyable for our guests. Our showers and common areas are cleaned twice a day and they can get dirty after a few guests uses them. Most of our guests are hikers and it is usual for them to come back full of dirt as the weather isn't the best here. I hope you would come again to stay with us and hopefully have a better stay this time.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th May 2017
8.9

Great place. We stayed here after finishing our trek of the West Highland Way and enjoyed our stay here. Beds were a bit uncomfortable, unfortunately. Good location and great kitchen area for cooking.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
23rd May 2017
9.1

Cozy hostel and helpful staff. Two pillows in the beds were great. Unfortunately showers had only cold water.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 34 reviews
20th May 2017
7.7

This hostel is pretty run down. Rooms are very small, there's no lockers, and the wasn't a lot of space to fit everyone's backpacks. Showers are weird as you have to turn the pressure right up to the point that it hurts, to get any hot water coming through. Other than that, the kitchen and common areas were great, it's in a perfect location really close to the train/bus station and supermarket, and it has a handy drying room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.