Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Fort William Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 945 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 945 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.0
Fort William Backpackers Located at Alma Road, , Fort William.
Fort William Backpackers
Scotland
Fort William PH33 6HB Alma Road
83% 945
56.8195313 -5.1011753
Fort William Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
13th Nov 2016
7.1

Check in or any help is not available until 5pm. But showers were able to be used prior. Nice hostel but it needs lockers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Jason, Thank you for your review, it's always good for us to know where we can improve so our guest can have a better experience. Fort William is a small town and that is the reason why our reception is closed 12pm to 5pm everyday. Although our phones are re-directed to one of our sister hostel if you have any queries, everything else is explained at the desk until the reception is open again. I know safety is one major issue for travellers and not having lockers can be distressing. We offer to keep valuables in reception but due to our closing time during the day it can be inconvenient for some guests. However, this can be fixed in the near future. I hope you will come back and stay with us again if you come through Fort William again! Best wishes, Romain Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Nov 2016
8.9

Great hostel with a good atmosphere and friendly staff. Good location for a walk into the town or organising hikes etc... would stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Oct 2016
10.0

Possibly one of the nicest hostel atmospheres I have ever experienced. Super friendly staff, in a very nice building, with the most cozy lounge ever! Plus free hot chocolate and hot drinks. Absolutely a splendid stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Oct 2016
7.4

Lovely hostel on a hill above the downtown of Fort William. Comfy beds, fine kitchen and common space, easy access to downtown. The major drawback is the fact that you cannot check in before 5pm. I was finishing up walking the West Highland Way, and after a long final day, the last thing I wanted was to sit cooling my aching heels for two hours before being able to shower and change. Plan you arrival accordingly, so that you aren't stuck waiting!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
15th Oct 2016
9.4

Absolutely awesome place to stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dominicjohnson10012032
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
14th Oct 2016
9.1

First point, shout out to the staff who were excellent! I messed up the booking but they fixed everything for me and were very friendly. Location was good with parking space (some close by hostels have none). Great living room area with nightly fires and board games. Beds were VERY comfy, great after an all day hike! Only a couple of issues: Under the beds need a good clean (got a handful of cobwebs) and PLEASE don't turn off the radiators in the drying room overnight!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Oct 2016
6.6

Front parking was packed and had to find parking elsewhere. Waited awhile for receptionist but was helpful when there. Bed was pretty uncomfortable and linens smelled questionable as if left in the wash for too long before dried. My top bunk was right again the slanted ceiling and could barely turn in bed w/o hitting ceiling. No secure lockers. Kitchen and dining were okay. Bathrooms/showers left lots to be desired. We choose not to shower there and wait for the next stop.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
9.4

Two drawbacks I found: the first one is that the matressess are extremely hard ~ painful. The second is the drying room ~ not always warm and became overloaded with people trying to get tgeir gear dry! Otherwise it was a great place to stay, friendly and helpful staff, quiet, close to amenities. I used it as a base for 8 days visiting Lgen Coe over 3 days, Mallaig, Oban, Corpach and Ben Nevis. Cheers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kellyj303359
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Sep 2016
6.3

The night we were there it was very busy, queues to use kitchen, lounge full. Nice lounge though with fire and good views. Staff friendly. Drying room not very effective.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Sep 2016
9.4

I usually stay at the SYHA hostel in the area, but Im glad I chose this hostel this time. This will sound corny, but the hostel is situated on Alma Road - which means soul in Latin - and this place has some of that! Its placed on a little hill, so you get views of the hills to the north of Loch Linnhe - atmospheric on cloudy evenings at this time of year. The beds are unbelievably comfortable, with a wrap-round sheet that is like a pocket for the guest to slip into. The kitchen is small though!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.