Hostelworld.com

Fort William Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 961 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 961 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
31st Jan 2017
10.0

We had a great stay in Fort William😀

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jan 2017
10.0

It's indeed a nice hostel, love the atmosphere and the staff there. Everything is great! In the kitchen, you even can have some free coffee, cocoa, tea. Highly recommend to have a stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
9.4

Great hostel in great location and parking of car. easy to walk down to town. Great over view from high up of hill.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
21st Dec 2016
8.0

Nice location. Close to train station. Staff are very nice. Comfortable beds. Found some stain on the the sheets but overall bed is clean. Bathroom is quite small but facilities are fine and functional. It is shared by male and female guests, which can be a little uncomfortable at times, especially in the morning when the bathroom is so crowded. Overall a nice place for its price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Zhirong, Thanks a lot for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your time with us! Unfortunately we do not have enough bathrooms to separate males and females. Please call again if you come by Fort William in the future! Romain

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Dec 2016
7.1

cheap and cheerful, has everything you need to survive, but very poor condition, no lockers/storage in bedrooms, showers are old and falling apart, half the kitchen barely works etc etc... Fine for a cheap place to crash but don't expect much from it

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • joostboudewijns9633
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
13th Dec 2016
10.0

I loved my stay here, after a long day outdoors the Hostel has everything you need. Super relaxed staff and people, fully equipped kitchen, great showers and a cosy living room. Would love to come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Joost! Thanks a lot for this very positive review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, come back anytime! :) Romain

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Nov 2016
7.7

There's a sufficient number of toilets, shower heads. Love the cozy common area with the guitar that's free for guests to play!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
13th Nov 2016
7.1

Check in or any help is not available until 5pm. But showers were able to be used prior. Nice hostel but it needs lockers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Jason, Thank you for your review, it's always good for us to know where we can improve so our guest can have a better experience. Fort William is a small town and that is the reason why our reception is closed 12pm to 5pm everyday. Although our phones are re-directed to one of our sister hostel if you have any queries, everything else is explained at the desk until the reception is open again. I know safety is one major issue for travellers and not having lockers can be distressing. We offer to keep valuables in reception but due to our closing time during the day it can be inconvenient for some guests. However, this can be fixed in the near future. I hope you will come back and stay with us again if you come through Fort William again! Best wishes, Romain Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th Nov 2016
8.9

Great hostel with a good atmosphere and friendly staff. Good location for a walk into the town or organising hikes etc... would stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Oct 2016
10.0

Possibly one of the nicest hostel atmospheres I have ever experienced. Super friendly staff, in a very nice building, with the most cozy lounge ever! Plus free hot chocolate and hot drinks. Absolutely a splendid stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.