X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Forty8 Backpackers Hotel Reviews

48 Hout Street, Cape Town, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

61%

Rating
37 Total Reviews
  • 50%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 50%Staff
  • 50%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 50%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

There is a gate that keeps outsiders out, however anyone could ring the doorbell and enter the hostel and rooms. The staff were not helpful when there were concerns and information. The atmosphere was not conducive to interacting with locals and other hostel mates. There was an uncomfortable lobby area. The cleanliness was average, the rooms and bathrooms were cleaned everyday however if it was dirty, it would not be cleaned immediately if staff was notified. This was not worth the money.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

Good clean place and value for you south african rand.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

I stayed at Forty 8 Backpackers Hotel two years ago. But the management has changed. The day I arrived the staff person working was less than honest. Watch your money. Location good. But I would never stay there again. Pictures on the wall were offensive to my wife and other ladies.

  • 24th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

The stay at the Hostel was great. The only thing I am concerned is the loud noise and music at night and throughout the night. around the hostels property. Then in the early morning the taking out of things for the African market. Good isolated windows would be an idea but costly because then you would need air-conditioning in each bedroom.


71%

Located in the best partying area of the world, forty8 offers you a great possibility to find new friends on the road. The staff is friendly and helpful. If you are not looking for a to clean you are arwardet with a free entry to next “gentlemens” club ;-))


80%

Quite a nice hostel really well situated. However there is only one bathroom for gents and one for the ladies. These could really be cleaner.

  • 22nd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

The Forty8 Backpackers is in central zone in CT although probably not the most safe at night ( close to the lower part of Long Street). The rooms are OK but small - well, it´s a Backpackers - but ours was a bit dirty. We asked the staff to clean it and they did it but the smelly air all around the building was impossible to disappear. The good thing was that they have computers with free Internet.

  • 4th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

awesome hostel, would recommend to anybody. slightly away from the crowded bar area on longstreet, but within walking distance and quiet at night which made it even better. walking distance within the city civic center - to and from airport was cheap and easy, but don't walk around at night with all your luggage in your arms - beggers followed us up to the doorstep and thank god they didn't try to do more!


80%

The couple who works on the fornt door is very kind, and can provide good tips about the town. Other guys who work there are completely lost. The area of the hostel is not so safe for girls at night, but is not far from good places to go if you go by taxi.

  • 30th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

the hostel staff was awesome, very friendly and caring. they have a new little kitten, cesar, who is adorable! and you can play with him anytime.....location is superb, right off long st. but not a party hostel so you get your quietness after you come back from partying on long st. hostel has free internet and wifi. though i would recommend that if you're female, try to ask to stay on the 2nd floor as the female bathrooms r on that floor.

  • 27th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Our reservation was cancelled long before the time From: info [mailto:info@forty8backpackers.com] Sent: 18 September 2012 02:48 PM To: Hannetjie Burger Subject: Re: Thank you for letting us know. We have cancelled your booking for 6 people on the 5th October 2012. Kind regards Kyle Alexander Forty8 Backpackers Hotel tel +27 21 422 4848 www.forty8backpackers.co.za From: Hannetjie Burger Sent: Tuesday, September 18, 2012 2:00 PM To: info@forty8backpackers.com


97%

Nice facilities, great location.

  • 14th Jun 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

PROS: -Location was great- around the corner from Long Street but far enough away that it was not too noisy -Staff was friendly and helpful -The rooms were clean and mattresses were pretty comfy CONS: -Did not have a computer available to use the internet -Did not love the shower situation- think gym locker room. You had to change clothes outside of the shower to prevent getting them wet so there was little privacy -Would be nice to have a bar area to socialize in


91%

very nice hostel will stay there again, exept very noisy outside the hostel, because of the guys moving the markets stand around. otherwise staff were friendly and made us feel very welcome.

  • 16th Feb 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Owned and run by some of the most lovely people I met in South Africa! When I'm back in Africa, I'll work out a way of swinging by for a bit longer! Dan.


87%

A huge thank you to Brian and Caron, and the other staff.They are fantastic, I cannot say enough about them, they are all so nice and helpful and they really make you feel at home here. The place is very modern cool and funky and very clean.Location is extremely central to everything but maybe the CBD area is not the safest area to stay in. The hostel is very secure though as you have to buzz to get in and are given a clicker to open the gate with, makes you feel very secure.


97%

Perfect place to stay for who is aiming long st. nightlife. Staff is extremelly helpfull and bedrooms, wc and bathroms are very clean. For sure will stay there next time i go to cape town.


93%

Forty8 is simply the best place to stay in Cape Town. My first stay at Forty8 was with a group of teens on our gap year, but it was so great that I stayed with my mom when she came to visit. So, more than suitable for all age groups. Also, let me say that in Cape Town I've stayed at Blue Mountain, the Westin Grand, and the Cape Grace (latter 2 are 5 star). Forty8 outshines them ANY day. You'll have to go yourself to really understand what makes it so amazing: you won't be disappointed


73%

I´ve never been to a hostel where sound isolation was as poor as here, when the first guest woke up, the whole hostel woke up. It´s a pity because otherwise a recommendable place to stay. I´ve been also on other hostels close to Long St and there´s better options on the same price range.


100%

Can't say enough nice things about Forty8 - The great staff helped us have a great time in Cape Town - thanks :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Jake, thank you for your kind comment about our FORTY8. We are doing our best for our guests and we are happy about the recommendation. We hope, we see us soon again. All the best. Conny, Abby and Ramzee

« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Cape Town Hostels

Please give us your feedback