X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Four Courts Hostel Reviews

15/17 Merchants Quay, Christchurch (Adjacent to Temple Bar), Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
4683 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Excellent location and security. The breakfast gets too crowded and it's difficult to find a table or even walk. The rooms and beds are in good shape. The staff is helpful and they are always there.


74%

The bathroom had a permanent puddle from the shower that was not pleasant. The beds were unpleasantly hard and pre-body shaped with the flattest pillows. The reception was very helpful with information and while the kitchen seemed large it was hard to get in with the massive amount of use. The location is lovely, quiet from not being in Temple Bar but close enough to everything for walking to easily. The instructions for getting to the hostel very well detailed and easy to use!


94%

The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was a tad hot but who expects such beautiful weather in Ireland. Great hostel!

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

There was a bloodstain on one of the shower curtains.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Unfortunately nothing was mentioned by any guests or staff. If we had been notified at the time we would have checked and removed it. Once I read this I checked the shower curtain but as they are washed regularly the current ones would not have been there during you stay. The shower curtains are only in the largest dorms and are used by many guests throughout the day. Because of this they are checked regularly and any damage would not have been there for a prolonged time.

71%

(+) location - within walking distance of most tourist attractions in Dublin (+) very helpful friendly staff (+) security (-) very small room and tiny bathroom (-) cleanliness left a lot to be desired (-) breakfast poor - hardly any options to choose from (only jam and butter), no real coffee (only instant one), etc. (-) misleading room title " twin room private" - all other hostels use the word "private" for "private ensuite" - not the case here, as our shower was down the hall

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, The room you booked is titled 'Twin room private (WC only)', the other rooms are titled 'Twin room private Ensuite'. The use of the word private is to indicate that the room cannot be booked by bed i.e. 2 strangers sharing as with the dorm rooms. Breakfast offers tea, coffee, juice, milk, a selection of cereals, toast, bread, cookies and is complimentary. It does go unappreciated sometimes but hopefully the majority find it a good start to their day. I do agree that the twin room is small.

86%

Very friendly atmosphere, amenities were all nice and clean!

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Wasn't on any transportation lines, but only 5-15 minutes away from all of them. Very large hostel, there were a few travel groups who dominated the lobby a bit while I was there. Meeting people was a bit hard. Breakfast ended a little early at 9:30. "Eco-friendly" showers required pushing a button every 20 seconds to keep on, but also got uncomfortably hot, no temperature control. Great place for groups, so-so for individuals.


100%

Deliberately stayed in this hostel a second time as the first time was so good. Still great three years later.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

No wifi in the rooms made it a bit complicated, but had a good stay in overall! Breakfast could be better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
WI-Fi should work in the room but if not, the ground floor areas are all open 24 hours and WI-Fi and internet consoles are readily available. Our breakfast is a simple affair but better than a lot of breakfasts offered by our fellow Hostels. It is a light continental breakfast that is provided free!

89%

' a nice well-situated hostel'.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

At first I didn'find my bed. Secondly, when I figured out which was my bed, it hasn't been linened for me. I got there at 9pm and had to waut until 11pm to get the sheets. I believe 16 beds per room is to much. 6 is ok. With sixteen peiple sleeping in the same room, it gets more messy and dirty. There was a weird smell in there as well.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Everybody is assigned a particular bed in their room. In this case another guest must have taken your bed either in error or on purpose (if so, shame on them).The staff on duty had to figure out who it was and clarify which bed was available to prevent any arguments late at night when the other guest returned. A certain amount of understanding is required when backpacking. If 16 beds are too much for you there are smaller rooms available for a few euro more, you are on holiday so treat yourself.

83%

The Hostel is very good for the price you pay. The breakfast is fine, the rooms as well. Toilets not that good, but at least are clean. Location and staff are good as well. I would recommend


97%

the hostel was very fine. everything.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Really enjoyed this hostel, great location and comfy beds


89%

Great hostel in a central location, comfortable beds, big kitchen, and good wifi. Good place to meet people. Only complaint was the presence of several long time guests who kind of sucked the energy out of the place a bit.


89%

Nice hostel with very helpful staff :)


100%

Great place to stay. Have always made friends with other residents. Lovely staff. Good facilities. Best hostel in Dublin by far.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Very good hostel with really informative and friendly staff. Only downside for me was no wifi in the room.


100%

Great stay for one night; friendly and very helpful staff, clean room and bathroom, and a good location for a night out in Temple Bar!

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many Thanks, glad you had a good time.

83%

Good hostel--central location, friendly staff, average amenities. Would stay here again!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(158 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback