X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Four Courts Hostel Reviews

15/17 Merchants Quay, Christchurch (Adjacent to Temple Bar), Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
4449 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Everything was according to the price. Good location, just 10 minutes from the center of Temple Bar. Recommendable!


100%

Myself and my son stayed there for 3 nights - we had a twin room the first night ('compact but bijou') - but we had a room for 4 to ourselves for the second 2 nights ( Room 305 is fantastic - view across the Liffey to the Law Courts is wonderful!). My 14 1/2 year old son described it as 'so cool' and the staff were more than just helpful (and patient). Great mix of very laid back 'travellers' and tourists.Adrian seemed to be there all the time - thanks for all your help and advice ! Thanks lots

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Friendly staff Nice facilities, kitchen, movie room etc no wifi in rooms


91%

The perfect place to stay when visiting Dublin! Good location, knowledgeable staff, excellent communal area.

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

One of the grungier hostels I've encountered, with poor hot water supply, dirty and battered-looking washrooms, and a pitiful breakfast (limp white bread and cheap juice mixes). No individual lamps by each bunk. The staff was friendly enough.

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Booo.... Hotels for you in future madam.

83%

Great location and very nice facilities- only complaints are the limited number of outlets in the rooms (only 2 for a 6 bed dorm) and the issues we had with bed assignments (multiple people assigned to the same bed, it all got sorted out but somewhat inconvenient/uncomfortable).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yep, when a guest just takes whatever bed he/she wants rather than the bed assigned then it causes problems for everybody in the room as well as staff. Simple solution:take the bed assigned and everything will run smoothly. We will always get things sorted out regardless though but be a good sport and be fair to your fellow travelers. There are 6 sockets in the 6 bed dorms by the way. They are at mattress height. Glad you had a good time.

94%

All good, no soap in bathroom, good breakfast

Owner Comment (Hide)
good breakfast...see... Yaaaahhh...high fives all around... about time someone said Cheers. Thank you, glad you appreciated it and come again. All the best. Four Courts crew.

97%

This was a great hostel and at a great price! Loved it, definitely recommend it.

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hugs all around...come in tight people.

69%

it was a bit to busy for me, seemed to be a lot of ppl living at the hostel other than tourists stayin for a day or 2, bathrooms c,ould b cleaner the showers were good and the 1 guy on reception was friendly and helpful some of the girls sharin the same dorm as me were very noisy at night and they seemed to be living there, location was good and beds were clean but like most hostels iv stayed in pillows were thin.

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


49%

This is a great hostel if you enjoy living with a bunch of "long-term" and slightly creepy residents. This hostel has an absolutely terrible atmosphere in terms of the residents it houses. It seems like most people living there are 30 to 50 year old men and it feels like they just sit around all day. I stayed in the largest room option, which was conveniently connected to the other large room. For over 30 beds, there were 2 coed toilets and 2 showers. Certainly not cleaned well enough.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The largest rooms are the cheapest rooms and therefore the most popular. There are a handful of guests that rebook weekly whilst they look for Apartments and there are some students doing short 1-3 week courses, the rest are all tourists. Sitting around = free internet. I doubt any of them would appreciate you referring to them as creepy. We tend not to be ageist, preferring guests young at heart regardless of actual age though average age = 19, female dorms available, extra showers in hallway.

94%

For the price we paid the hostel was very clean and well equipped. The free breakfast was simple (as expected) but substantial and extremely useful considering we were on a tight budget. The main problem we had was sleeping; whilst some of the disturbance was unavoidable in a large dorm (e.g. snoring) the metal security baskets under the bunks are quite poorly made so that they screech noisily when pulled out and wake everybody up. They are also difficult to secure with a normal sized lock.

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Friendly atmosphere, good price, excellent location. Will stay again

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

we only stayed here for one night so didnt get to experance the hostel properly but what i saw i loved. The staff were very frendly and our room was lovely. Thank you


91%

Really nice staff and people. You can borrow everything at the reception( towels,adaptor etc.). It's very close to everything you want to see and easy to find since its just on the opposite side on the river from Four Courts We are gonna stay here during our next dublin trip as well.

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

A short walk from Temple Bar and Grafton St, it's a great home base from which to explore Dublin. Only complaints are minor: showers with timed buttons; mediocre breakfast; staff didn't give any information about the city, though when asked a specific question they were happy to answer. As I said, very minor complaints! Overall, good value for the money. Plus: though it's 2nd-to-last stop for the AirLink airport bus going in, it's one of the 1st on the way back-no chance of not getting a spot!


86%

I basically loved everything, the one thing that was impossible was the kitchen at night because not all people washes or clean what they use is sad, cuz no one should clean up your mess. One other thing bump beds make lots of noice if u move a centimeter is not cool when u have to share the room u feel terrible to make lots of noice just to get off bed, I have stayed in hoter hostals and wooded beds are way better :)


91%

This is a very sociable hostel. I met to many interesing people there. Definitely, this is the best hostel in quality to price ratio. The perssonel of the reception are very kindly and the staff are cleanning all time.

  • 30th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The location was great and it was definitely very secure. It is a very large hostel, so it is easy to meet other people. But, there were people of all different ages there, kids through older adults; however my room was just young people. There were also many people staying long term, which means they have a bit more stuff usually. Also, there weren't many showers, but somehow it was never a problem to get a shower. I would definitely recommend the hostel - just know that it is pretty big.


94%

PERFECT LOCATION (5-7 minute walk from Temple Bar area and 10 minutes from the shopping district). Sits right next to the river Liffey. Spacious hostel with a nice lounge on the first floor, and a storage room for your bags in the basement. Breakfast provided every morning (toast and jam and cereal - not a very good breakfast but it counts). Super friendly staff! Computers if needed (but they move slow). Great place to meet people (however, this hostel tends to be very busy, it's pretty big).

  • 25th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

I thought that the hostel was pretty average... The staff members were very accommodating and served us well. My only three little complaints are the size of the room, the bedding, and no wifi in the rooms. On the positive side, transportation to and from were perfect, the location is unbeatable, and the wifi in the common area was good. Thanks for the stay! Cheers

  • 25th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wi-Fi in the rooms, the final nail in real life social interaction, is coming in the next couple of weeks. Some rooms already have it. It is all wired up and is high fiber speed so rather than going out and experiencing the world with wide eyes you can stay in your bed with little bloodshot eyes downloading Game of Thrones. Happy holidays.... until then, the massive common areas are always open 24 hrs and has free wifi and internet....you can close the curtains. All the best.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(95 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback