X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Four Courts Hostel Reviews

15/17 Merchants Quay, Christchurch (Adjacent to Temple Bar), Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
4769 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Bit of a weird vibe from the other travellers. Friendly staff though for the most part.


100%

Really nice fun place. Definitely worth it

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The location is perfect, the staff is very friendly and welcoming, they include the breakfast!! (something we didn't know and it was a wonderful surprise :P ) The rooms are very clean and each one has an en-suite toilet with a shower, which is very handy to avoid walking wrapped in your towel all around the hostel hahaha.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

My room (6 bed only woman) was big and confortable, with a case for locking your bagage and a clean bathroom inside. Room was in a 3rd floor with elevator (lovely view of the Four Courts and the river right through the window). Not many electric plugs in the room and Wi-Fi signal was weak, but worked. Great common areas with lots of facilities (pool, computers, TV, big tables, kitchen, etc). Breakfast was good. 7-10 minutes walk to the center. I'd come back.


86%

Good place to stay in Dublin. Close to all important places. Very kind and helpfull staff


91%

Excellent location, only 10 min away from centre and Houston station. Friendly staff and very cheap! For this price there is not much complains.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
That's the spirit.

77%

Excellent location and security. The breakfast gets too crowded and it's difficult to find a table or even walk. The rooms and beds are in good shape. The staff is helpful and they are always there.


74%

The bathroom had a permanent puddle from the shower that was not pleasant. The beds were unpleasantly hard and pre-body shaped with the flattest pillows. The reception was very helpful with information and while the kitchen seemed large it was hard to get in with the massive amount of use. The location is lovely, quiet from not being in Temple Bar but close enough to everything for walking to easily. The instructions for getting to the hostel very well detailed and easy to use!


94%

The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was a tad hot but who expects such beautiful weather in Ireland. Great hostel!

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

great, totally recommend it. the people were really nice and the room was perfect. the value for money too

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

There was a bloodstain on one of the shower curtains.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Unfortunately nothing was mentioned by any guests or staff. If we had been notified at the time we would have checked and removed it. Once I read this I checked the shower curtain but as they are washed regularly the current ones would not have been there during you stay. The shower curtains are only in the largest dorms and are used by many guests throughout the day. Because of this they are checked regularly and any damage would not have been there for a prolonged time.

100%

Our group had an awesome time at the Four Courts Hostel. We booked a complete room for just our group and it was pretty nice. The staff was extremely friendly and the hostel was a short walk away from a lot of pubs that we loved. Also, the pub crawl and walking tour they offered were a lot of fun. Our group would definitely stay there again if we ever find ourselves back in Dublin!

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The friend I'm traveling with and I loved four courts. The staff were so much fun and because of them we truly miss Dublin. The dorms had lots of room and the common room had lots of places to charge electronics. Unfortunately, not every bed had a place to charge electronics and the breakfast wasn't great. If you're looking for awesome staff and a great way of meeting travellers than this is for you!!! (You can also book tours at the desk.. They make it super easy!!)


89%

I stayed here for 6 nights, and the staff was very accommodating, finding a place for me when my stay at the hostel was up. They were all very eager to help with questions. There were so many people coming in and out which made it exciting but also harder to meet people. I liked the location as it was a just outside of all the hustle and bustle but a couple of minutes walk from it.


71%

(+) location - within walking distance of most tourist attractions in Dublin (+) very helpful friendly staff (+) security (-) very small room and tiny bathroom (-) cleanliness left a lot to be desired (-) breakfast poor - hardly any options to choose from (only jam and butter), no real coffee (only instant one), etc. (-) misleading room title " twin room private" - all other hostels use the word "private" for "private ensuite" - not the case here, as our shower was down the hall

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, The room you booked is titled 'Twin room private (WC only)', the other rooms are titled 'Twin room private Ensuite'. The use of the word private is to indicate that the room cannot be booked by bed i.e. 2 strangers sharing as with the dorm rooms. Breakfast offers tea, coffee, juice, milk, a selection of cereals, toast, bread, cookies and is complimentary. It does go unappreciated sometimes but hopefully the majority find it a good start to their day. I do agree that the twin room is small.

86%

Very friendly atmosphere, amenities were all nice and clean!

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I stayed here with a friend I am travelling with in a twin share and absolutely loved it. The staff were super friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and well suited for a two share. Everything was a short walk from the hostel, especially Temple Bar region which is a visitor hotspot. I would return if I come back to Dublin!

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Wasn't on any transportation lines, but only 5-15 minutes away from all of them. Very large hostel, there were a few travel groups who dominated the lobby a bit while I was there. Meeting people was a bit hard. Breakfast ended a little early at 9:30. "Eco-friendly" showers required pushing a button every 20 seconds to keep on, but also got uncomfortably hot, no temperature control. Great place for groups, so-so for individuals.


91%

We stayed here with 4 guys for in total 3 nights and the staff had been really nice and helpful to us. We could leave luggage for the time we went trekking in the wicklow mountains which was really helpful. A lot of space to relax, watch a film or jam on the hostel's guitar!

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Deliberately stayed in this hostel a second time as the first time was so good. Still great three years later.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(180 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback