X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Four Courts Hostel Reviews

15/17 Merchants Quay, Christchurch (Adjacent to Temple Bar), Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
5550 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Excellent staff! Good value for money

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Very nice hostel. Good location. Great staff. Had a great time here. Only thing that was a little crappy was that the wifi wasn't strong in my room. The only place I can get a good connection was in the lobby or common area. But other than that, it was very good.


74%

The Generator is very unique and funky and it was very nice to have a cafe and bar in the hostel. On the other hand, the rooms are not ventilated well at all and the room was always hot and smelled horrible all the time. It was a room with 6 beds and the symphony of smells was revolting. If we kept the window open and the door open it got a bit of a breeze but otherwise it was super stuffy! The other thing was their laundry facilities weren't available when we were there.

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Excellent hostel in a convenient place. Good value (better than the other hostel we stayed in this trip) and great people (had lots of good conversations). Everyone was helpful and open. Thanks for a great stay (our final night in Ireland)

  • 10th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great review thanks :) Good to hear that you had a nice stay and you had a enjoyable last night before heading home. We hope to see you again

94%

My best friend and I spent six days in a mixed room for four people. The place was perfect for several reasons - friendly and welcoming staff, pretty safe, excellent location, great breakfast! You can walk everywhere from there, or you can catch a bus at a nearby bus stop. The room had the basics, and it was perfect for both of us. I wouldn't hesitate to go back to the Four Courts Hostel if I ever went back to Dublin.

  • 6th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

excellent location; free car park exceptional ! noisy rooms due to traffic on Merchants'Quay

  • 6th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. Merci est bon voyage :)

91%

The breakfast is a little light

  • 4th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We stayed at another hostel prior to Four Courts, and we wished that we'd stayed at Four courts the entire time as soon as we walked in. The staff were friendly, the rooms were spacious and the facilities were good. The kitchen and breakfast area was not overcrowded. Would definitely stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks guys :) We wish you safe travels and hope to see you again!!!

89%

I think this wins out as the best hostel I stayed in while in Ireland. It's in a great location, the plug situation was pretty good, ensuite bathroom, lockers, breakfast, parking, although a bit expensive. The one downside was the wifi didn't really work in our room and only one overhead light. Oh and the 20 second shower nonsense. Good water pressure, but annoying.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Good to hear you enjoyed your overall stay :)

51%

This hostel was described as being "adjacent to Temple Bar," but it is about a 20-30 minute walk from Temple Bar and is actually adjacent to a homeless shelter and drug rehab center. The facilities were clean, but the water doesn't get hot and the beds were very noisy and shaky. We did not find the staff particularly helpful or organized and had difficulty communicating with them. It seemed like the other guests were older than usual (not students/travelers). There is nothing around this hostel.


89%

The place is really easy to find. The room and the common areas are really nice and the breakfast is ok also.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Gracias :) Thanks for your review

89%

Great hostel! Breakfast was basic, but filling. Staff were friendly and helped us find restaurants and pubs in the area. The bathrooms could have been cleaned more often, but they're bound to get grimy with 28 people sharing one bathroom. Overall, a great experience

  • 31st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The Whole Staff was great and helpful as Always! I've stayed at the Four Courts a few times now and Fran is $$ and goes above and beyond!

  • 31st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Josh. You always welcome back ;) Hope we see you next year again.

83%

Only stayed here one night - YMMV PROS: personal outlets, good atmosphere (good for solo travelers to meet others), great kitchen, free breakfast, Wifi decent, free luggage storage CONS: Shared bathrooms for both genders for the two big rooms (could get really crowded), only one temp for the shower (I didn't mind the temp though), a bit far from Temple Bar (~15 min), beds fairly creaky, early check out time.


74%

Nice hostel, lots of tables for eating and visiting. Felt safe and secure. Room and bathroom was pretty clean, nice and bright.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Nice to hear you had a good time. Safe travels guys :)

100%

I thought this was a cool hostel being somebody that has never stayed in a hostel before. I was quite nervous about staying at a hostel. I found that the staff were very friendly and laid back.They answered all of our questions about pretty much everything. Staying in a 16 bed room filled with strangers can get awkward quickly but the staff treated everybody as if they were staying in a hotel. I don't know why anybody would complain about the Four Courts.It worked for a fantastic stay in Dublin.

  • 30th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Awww thanks for your great review. Good to hear that you as a "hostel virgin" had a fantastic first stay. We wish you all the best and hope your next hostels will treat you well, too :)

80%

Very pleasant stay ... We Like

  • 29th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

a lot of long term guests, 90% of the kitchen didn't work - which was a pain in the ass since all the long terms cooked all the time. not well equipped as well. the rooms were tidy tho & the staff was really nice


89%

It's a little far from O'Connell and next to a dodgy place that I think services addicts (which is fine, except one of them tried grabbing my brothers phone out of his hand). The hostel itself is great though, kitchen is huge, cinema room has lots of options, lots of people to meet, and the staff were all really nice and funny. Would definitely recommend, but just be mindful when you're walking home after a night out.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving a review. Good to hear you enjoyed your overall stay. Hope we see you again some day :)

80%

Great location to city centre. Staff were really friendly and helpful. The only thing was that our toilet was blocked.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for review. Next time you stay, let us know if there are any maintenance problems ;)

(166 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback