X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Four Courts Hostel Reviews

15/17 Merchants Quay, Christchurch (Adjacent to Temple Bar), Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
4985 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Very nice hostel, clean, good location and security (room key cards). The only downside is that guests tend to be really loud in the night. We were staying in the first floor, close to the main entrance to the corridor so everyone passed by our room - the wooden floor was vibrating all the way to our room "shaking" my bed. But other than that I really like the hostel, breakfast is simple but ok and all guests behaved and cleaned their dishes so the place looked tidy. Thank you.

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

If I come back in Ireland I would like to return at your hostel. Thank you.


80%

The hostel has a great staff who are always ready to help with any problems or concerns. The room was nice and clean, the breakfast simple but awesome, since I didn't have to go looking for food anywhere else as soon as I got up. I only found it a bit difficult to meet people, because there are either big groups or people sitting with headphones in the common area. But you can always attend the free hostel activities to meet people, so that was fine.

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Busy place, they were completely booked. But the staff still took the time to make sure we were good with our room. Didn't make us feel rushed at all.

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

staff was super nice, we only spent the night and didn't really check the hostel out

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Clean room, friendly helpful staff, central location opposite Four Courts, good wi-fi.


83%

This place is nice enough to stay for a while, specially if you come here to do serious stuff. It has a great kitchen, a lot of tables to eat and work, and rooms comfortable enough to be fine. They also have locker boxes under the beds for everyone, which is very useful. Maybe it lacks a bit of social ambience as there are no events and people stick to their groups a little bit, especially when they speak Spanish(and boy do they speak it all the time...). Overall, it's good.


69%

No brushes in toilet. too poor of breakfast. Only for bread 3xjam. Short time for breakfast as well

Owner Comment (Hide)
Breakfast has 3 choice of cereals , coffee, tea, hot chocolate, a list of chinos, mocchas etc... along with toast, cookies and juice, all left out in a nice long line...its free and all you can eat. How you deduce it is just bread with Jam is a bit baffling. Perhaps you were still sleep walking from a good nights sleep?

100%

Zero complaints. We have nothing but great things to say about Four Courts. Located well within walking distance of Temple Bar but far enough away to be distanced from the mayhem of Temple Bar. Guinness Store House just around the corner. Large grocery store across the river. The staff at Four Courts is super friendly and helpful. If staying in a hostel in Dublin, I would highly recommend Four Courts.

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Extremely friendly staff, they let me leave my bag in storage til 10 pm after checking out because I had a late might fight out of dublin. Wifi worked well throughout the hostel. Dorm was spacious with big lockers. Good breakfast.


86%

Had a great time at four courts hostel. Would recommend to others and would stay again. Staff were all lovely and very helpful. Only thing wrong was that one of the shower doors was broken and wouldn't close.

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Great place to stay in Dublin.


71%

very nice location nice people clean dormitory

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Friendly, helpful staff, quite city centre location, very secure & clean


86%

I loved the place and the people there were amazing! The rooms are really nice and the whole hostel is really tidy!


89%

Excellent staff, very helpful and friendly. Good breakfast. Wifi works well throughout the building. Movie room downstairs. Pool table upstairs. About a ten minute walk from Temple Bar District. About a 15 minutes walk from the main shopping area. Overall a clean and tidy hostel.


89%

Great place, great people!!!

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The beds were comfortable and very spacious rooms with high ceilings. One girl at reception was lovely but everyone else was rude, disinterested and unhelpful. The wifi was good. The breakfast was bad, soggy cereal and stale bread, the bathroom was dirty, the atmosphere was awful, the common space was full of people sitting on their laptops... Even on the weekend nights. It's fine and definitely not an awful hostel but it's so easy to fix such little things so why don't they?


77%

The location of the hostel is perfect. Everything is pretty clean and the stuff is super nice. The breakfast is ok. Our room was pretty small, but clean and everything. Just the beds were way too short (I am only 1.74m and I couldn't fit myself in there lieing on my back).

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

The staff was excellent - best part of the experience. The bathroom/ensuite was a disappointment. You had to push the nozzle for hot or cold water on the facet like in elementary school. And the shower was also just one push button where the water stayed on 20 seconds and you could do nothing about the temp. For me it was cold and then too hot. And they didn't provide any soap fixtures. Also, the breakfast wasn't anything to wake up for.

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Breakfast, lets put it to a vote: Stay or Go? If it's not appreciated then I may stop providing it....and put the saving towards soap. The push button shower and sink system have two purposes. The main one is to be Eco-friendly so you can feel good (and clean) that you are doing your bit for the environment. The second is to avoid taps/ facets been left running, overflowing and potentially flooding the place. Glad you had a good time with the staff.

(184 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback