X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Four Courts Hostel Reviews

15/17 Merchants Quay, Christchurch (Adjacent to Temple Bar), Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
4756 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

the hostel was very fine. everything.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Really enjoyed this hostel, great location and comfy beds


89%

Great hostel in a central location, comfortable beds, big kitchen, and good wifi. Good place to meet people. Only complaint was the presence of several long time guests who kind of sucked the energy out of the place a bit.


89%

Nice hostel with very helpful staff :)


60%

This hostel may just be better suited for younger travelers. It seemed that most of the people staying there were 18-21 years old. It was not great for a 26 and 30 year old couple. The "free" barbecue is a lie. When asked about it, the front desk worker said that you "Go to a nearby bar, buy a drink and then get like a hamburger or something. It's definitely not gonna fill you up." The sanitary napkin garbages in the women's restrooms were not emptied in the three days that we were there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our hostel is for the young at heart regardless of physical age. The free bbq is on every Thursday in a nearby bar. We used to bring everybody up and we had great evenings. Of late, it has become too popular and crowded making it hard to get a beer and forming long ques for limited food. Whilst we still inform guests of its existence we no longer bring them up ourselves. We'll find an alternative. Regular bins are emptied every day, sanitary bins are maintained by an experienced private company.

100%

Great place to stay. Have always made friends with other residents. Lovely staff. Good facilities. Best hostel in Dublin by far.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Very good hostel with really informative and friendly staff. Only downside for me was no wifi in the room.


100%

Great stay for one night; friendly and very helpful staff, clean room and bathroom, and a good location for a night out in Temple Bar!

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many Thanks, glad you had a good time.

83%

Good hostel--central location, friendly staff, average amenities. Would stay here again!


74%

Pretty average hostel. There were lots of large groups when I visited, so it was a bit hard to meet people. The hostel was clean, offered basic amenities and breakfast, decent rooms. Beds were so-so. There was lots of space in my 4-bed mixed room. It was pretty quiet in this hostel when I was trying to sleep too! Staff was very friendly and helpful. I didn't go on the pub crawl but they helped me join the walking tour. It's in a decent location not too close nor far away from temple bar.


100%

The staff were very nice very helpful. It was a very welcoming clean and warm hostel. We had a family room of four beds as a group of four girls their was plenty of space to get ready, The location was excellent it was very near temple bar but not so near that it was noisy, it was only a short luas journey from Houston station. Once again the staff were lovely which made all the difference. I would highly recommend it.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Perfect, good stuff.

94%

Really great hostel, with fun and knowledgeable staff. Having a semi-private bathroom was great. Breakfast was limited but lasted for a long time, and the coffee machine broke halfway high our stay, but otherwise our stay was great. Close enough to easily walk to all the attractions in a few minutes, but not so close you can hear temple bar. Would definitely stay again.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers. See you again.

86%

Good location, close to pubs and restaurants and the staff were very helpful and friendly! The hostel has large kitchen facilities. We stayed in a 12 bed dorm which was a bit damp and stuffy while it was raining but the beds were clean and comfy. The wednesday night pub crawl was very good :)


69%

Pretty average hostel with all the amenities you would expect but nothing much more. The place could do with a renovation, and there didn't seem to be many activities run by the hostels on Friday and Saturday

Owner Comment (Hide)
All the amenities you would expect...is surely a good thing?..? There is a pub crawl every night from 8pm and there is a walking tour everyday that leaves from reception. Weekends in Dublin tend to look after themselves and revelers are happy to get out there and explore the madness. Free Bar-B-Que on Thursdays in nearby pub too.

86%

The staff was super helpful and friendly! Also, the Cliffs of Moher trip was an awesome way to spend a day! Thanks for the recommendation :)

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Lovely and large recreation area and the rooms are lovely modern and clean

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

The hostel was great! A big hostel with lots of social rooms and a large kitchen! They also have free computers and Wifi (although the wifi isn't the greatest in the rooms). Staff was very friendly and always there! The only downside was that there are a lot of people staying long term and so they came in late or left really early for work and had stuff all over the place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you. The larger and cheaper the dorm means more people will be in there. It does not cost much extra for a smaller less populated dorm...

94%

good place. i'd stay there but no place to watch a match if it's world cup. or maybe there was and i didn't look/find it.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Every game is shown on the wall mounted TV in the main common area... you cant possibly miss it. Every game... even when the sun was breaking records outside... it was on. Even the bad matches...they were on. We will even show the last English game! There are signs up listing all the matches and the times they are on.Then downstairs, on the other TV, non football fans can watch regular stuff or dvds... everybody happy.

77%

A good (very large) hostel with tons of people and TONS of space. You get your own private locker and the kitchen is huge with tons of space. My only problem was the condition of the bathrooms (shower curtains were a little bit see-through for a public bathroom) but they did have extra bathrooms that were available. The staff was nice and super helpful.


97%

Very good hostal, loved the fact that they do your laundry themselves for a fee and that the wifi perfectly reached the rooms (unlike many hostels I've been too). Great location too.


(176 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback