X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Four Courts Hostel Reviews

15/17 Merchants Quay, Christchurch (Adjacent to Temple Bar), Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
4686 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Excellent Security it felt very safe and it was also very relaxed with a pleasant atmosphere I would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends the staff were very helpful and also very pleasant great value for money.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Amazing experience ... But because of on the day of the change of the sheet I slept, they never change me the bed sheet in one months.

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

A good hostel. A little bit big, so it's sometimes "cold", like a factory. But a very good location, clean. Our room were on the street, so a little beat noisy with all the cars.

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Great location. Lockers under the beds in the dorm was nice, and bed was alright. Not super clean but ok. Huge place, very eclectic. Best breakfast we had by far in any of the hostels we stayed in throughout Southern Ireland. Staff was ok but not nearly as friendly as some of the others we stayed in, and not entirely helpful, but ok.


91%

Noise. The Windows are thin and walls are thin and the hostel location lends itself to a partying crowd. If you are a late night drinker, you'll be right at home. Of you want to sleep, find somewhere else.

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Oh the youth of today.... with their drinking and partying and fornication (possibly..maybe, who knows....) I blame the internet, no one reads anymore, Regardless it is unlikely a Friday night book club will ever catch on...until then party on amigos. We are staffed 24 hours and there are reception phones on each floor so if ever there is a problem reception will sort it out straight away. We want everyone to have a good time whilst respecting each others right to party/not party. Cheers.

100%

Great place. Loved it. Ronan and the other staff were super helpful. Convenient location. Love Dublin.


94%

We had a great time at Four Courts! It was super safe- to get in to the hostel you had to show a security pass and rooms were also very secure. It was a great location because it was very close to the Temple Bar area for a fun night out, but was also a few minutes walk away which made it a really pleasant area. This was one of the best hostels for socialization, as there are huge common room areas for everyone to hang out. Plus the staff was awesome and really helpful!

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

I really like this hostel. It's big and clean, there's lockers behind the bed, the bathroom is clean and the shower is great! The staff is friendly. The only thing that disturb me it was the noise during the night, because the building is located at the main street, so there's a lot of car noise. But, I really recommend it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Earplugs are available at the desk for light sleepers. Glad you had a good time and enjoy the rest of your travels.

86%

The staff was amazing and very helpful, the location is really easy to find since it's right along the river. Luggage had a secure crate under the bed (remember to bring a lock!) met a few really awesome people too!


83%

Nothing special nothing terrible. Dublin is very easy to walk around and the hostel was easy to get to.

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sooooo to put a more positive spin on it.... Everything good... so cheers for that.

20%

Extremely poor communication, a bed was sold to me despite the hostel already being full! No one takes accountability, I have requested for the non-existent manager Darren to get in contact but this has not been the case as I have now been waiting for two weeks. AVOID!!!!!!!!!!!

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • mevi_a
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Nonsense. No bed was sold to you as you would not provide us with full credit card details. You dragged the emails out for two days by providing sporadic pieces of info. You provided the expiry date the day after your required stay ? You then booked yourself online for the wrong date which makes no sense. This was charged as a no show by the way. You did not stay with us so your ratings for facilities etc is redundant. You complicated the entire process and made a mess of it unnecessarily.

69%

Staff are super friendly and helpful. The hostel itself is average in most regards. The location is a bit of a walk from the main areas though they weren't necessarily all that far away. Breakfast ends super early though which I found to be inconvenient.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Breakfast ends @ 9.30 which is standard in Dublin. It helps get people up and avoids late check outs @ 10:30am. Dublin is a city ideal for walking (there is no underground metro as everything is walking distance.). Our location is surrounded by all the cool stuff, Ireland's oldest pub, Christchurch and St. Patrick's cathedral, Jameson whiskey distillery, temple bar etc. Maybe we should start renting Sedgeways?...Are they still around? I haven't seen one in a long time.

100%

There is a bus that takes you here for 6 quid from the airport. The stop is about a block away from the hostel. Very easy to reach! Great location on Quay street, next to all the action. Showers are nice and hot. Building is secure but no lockers in the room. Lots of outlets in the room, so you don't have to fight your dormmates to charge PDAs. I would definitely stay here again.


100%

Staff were fantastic and had a good laugh with us. Hostel was more than we expected especially for the price. I would recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

A nice hostel located near the city centre. The staff was very friendly and they made sure that no one could just walk in there. So I felt pretty safe. Only thing that was not so good is the fact that in some cases 2 dorms each with 12 beds had to share a bathroom with only 2 showers and 2 toilets. It is very hard to keep it clean that way. Also the kitchen that guests use wasn't very clean. I went out for dinner. But despite that it was a real nice place to stay :)

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Four Courts Hostel is in a great location. You are a mile from the train station, and a short walk from temple bar and other great locations within the city. The staff was friendly and answered all our questions without hesitation. Breakfast was a typical hostel breakfast, but not bad (Cereal, juice, oatmeal, tea/coffee, toast with jam). The facility has lots of character and there's a ton of various different rooms to hang out in and socialize. Wi-Fi in bedrooms is limited.

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Wifi is on one floor only :(


69%

Good hostel, nothing crazy amazing, but fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We had a guy with an alligator head that juggled multi-colouredcats whilst riding a unicycle but he kept running over small children so we had to tone things down a bit. We've now got a ball people can bounce if their WiFi doesn't work. It's a small ball so it's pretty safe.

86%

It's a nice hostel with good atmosphere. Just a normal free breakfast and good coffee in the mornings. Staff were nice and helpful. Cool comfortable hostel. Would recommend (Can be expensive some nights though, they seem to change their prices between any nights so just watch for that)


77%

The place is in a great location with excellent security. There isn't really a chill out room so you don't really get to know the other guests. The kitchen is okay but is not big enough for the amount of people staying there. They also don't provide the basics like salt and pepper so if you only want to do one or two meals you have to buy an entire container or go without. The showers are meh since you have to keep pushing the button and you can't control the temperature but they were clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Em...There are loads of chill out areas. You must not have gone downstairs as beneath the large common area is the movie room and also the reading room as well as another chill out place. The kitchen is massive, probably the biggest one in any Dublin Hostel. We DO have eco friendly push button showers so maybe you did actually stay with us after all...but they are a common feature in Dublin hostels. Enjoy the rest of your travels.

(160 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback