X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Four Courts Hostel Reviews

15/17 Merchants Quay, Christchurch (Adjacent to Temple Bar), Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
5830 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This is a nice hostel with excellent staff, kind guests and at good location.

  • 15th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hvala vam na pregled :) We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!!!

66%

On arrival staff friendly and pleasant. We got a private room ensuite, the room is very basic, bunk beds were comfortable enough. Two nights was enough,, we are not experienced hostellers... Location was good location. Would consider doing it again.

  • 15th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving a review. We are glad you had an overall positive experience.

100%

Clean. Safe. Great location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us :)

74%

Very helpful staff, and good location. It's right on the river, just a short walk to the pubs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. Safe travels

86%

Great view from our room of the river and the art on the walls is cool. Staff is very helpful and friendly and the facilities were clean and bed frames were very study and comfy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again some day :)

86%

The location is superb, less than ten minutes walking distance from city hall and the Temple Bar area. Staff are extremely nice and helpful. Facilities are about as you might expect from the place - a shared kitchen where you can cook or share food is very nice. The complimentary breakfast in basic - bread and butter/jam, cornflakes and milk, tea/coffee and biscuits. The worst thing was the shower, which has one button that turns on the water for 20 seconds, at a temperature you can't control.

  • 11th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving a feedback. The showers are turning off after several seconds to safe water. We are sorry if that was a negative point for you but we like to support our environment a little bit ;) Enjoy the rest of your trip

86%

Well run hostel, friendly ,clean, good value.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers for the feedback. We hope to see you again :)

80%

Clean and nice. One of the staff wasn't very nice with me though.


89%

there were no cups for people using the coffee machine when they need to go to airport early.

  • 9th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving a comment. Next time you come to reception and they will sort you out with a cup ;)

91%

Four Courts Hostel is across the street from the urbanized version of the River Liffey. But if you cross any one of those bridges over it and walk west at some length the Liffey broadens to the Liffey Valley, which is more than good. It hugs the outer perimeter of the 1,760-acre Phoenix Park (Central Park in NY City by comparison is 778 acres) along Chapelizod Road where eventually you can access the west end of this huge park at the Knockmaroon Gate and hike straight back to the Four Courts.


86%

Everything was great except that the bathrooms smelled like a boxing gym and the shower trickled out lukewarm water.

  • 7th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Excelente Staff. Could help me and resolve everything I've needed .Breakfest is simple, but ok. In my Room there was a locker broken. Very clean both commom areas and bedrooms. Excelent stay.


97%

Great stay at four courts. Central location, comfy beds and good shower facilities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks guys :) We see you next year again.

77%

I booked this hostel just for a night because chip, really central for the position e they gave me the private ensuite room. The room was extremely small but just for sleeping a night was ok.


94%

A wonderful place to stay in all regards. We were able to walk to the Temple Bar areas, good restaurants, The Storehouse, and Trinity College all from our room. The staff were kind, helpful, and always available when needed. Good view from the room, and everything felt safe and clean. Would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Aww thanks for your great review. We are happy you had a great time with us. Hope to see you again sometime. Safe travels

86%

The inside of this hostel is great; filled with clean facilities, awesome staff and fun people. The location just isn't on the best side of town. That is the only detracting quality.

  • 28th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us

83%

A really nice hostel with great facilities. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hostel was really busy for our weekend but the rooms were relatively quiet. The location is great just close enough to everything that it possible to walk to most places.

  • 28th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good to hear you had a pleasant stay. We hope to see you again

80%

Four Courts is in a great location, just a few blocks from the Temple Bar area and some touristy spots. We walked everywhere. Our first night was in a 12 bed which I wouldn't recommend just because that means extra noise throughout the night. The 8 bed was way more comfortable, and I got a great nights rest. Everything was clean for the most part and the staff was really helpful. I would definitely stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your overall stay. Safe travels :)

89%

The hostel is located next to a drugs and alcohol centre so felt a little frightened walking passed during the day! Evening it was closed so wasn't as bad. As for the hostel itself, it was good, staff friendly and helpful and rooms clean.


71%

Nice hostel is a not so nice area. It was easy to walk to attractions during the day, but at night there were quite a lot of shady characters hanging around, even the taxi driver mentioned to us to be careful. Beds where f, and breakfast was average.


(126 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback