X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Four Courts Hostel Reviews

15/17 Merchants Quay, Christchurch (Adjacent to Temple Bar), Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
5052 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Not many plug-ins for the shared dorm that I was in, however that staff were extremely friendly and helpful with all of our additional questions. Good lockers for storage under the bunk, but my locker was being used by somebody else when I arrived late at night which was a drag. I loved the 24/hour reception too.

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great place ..was a bit too big and too many people so much that its difficult to chat/meet people for me. The staff was very nice. Location was great. If you like big place this is great.


89%

stayed there several times over the years and always had a good experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers, see you next year!

57%

we spent 2 nights there, and it felt like there is a mass of people there, not talking to each other, too noisy, many drunk young people that don't care making noise at 04:00-05:00am in the rooms and corridors. location is good though, most of the staff were nice and helpful. wouldn't go back though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, It is interesting to view your reviews for other hostels as noise would appear to be a issue for you. Earplugs are available at reception for light sleepers. Staff are available 24 hours if there are any disturbances. We have put up notices in the smoking area for guest to be respectful of those sleeping from 11pm. It is worth noting though that you are the couple that went into your room after we told you it was not ready but you chose to ignore us so you are a bit of a rule breaker too.

60%

the six bed room was very small

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Very nice staff, good brekfast, usable kitchen, luggage room you can use after checking out, great security. Excellent value for money. Just don't recommend the 10 dorm (on the ground floor) because there is too much noise from the smokers area outside.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The good news is that Smokers by their very nature will be extinct soon. I have instructed the night staff to be more vigilant regarding noise levels. We have also posted extra signage requesting a bit of respect for the early sleepers. Earplugs are available at reception if guests require them. Glad you had a good stay and enjoy the rest of your travels.

100%

Was impressed with cleanliness and friendly staff. Security was good for such a large building and rooms very clean. Stayed there at the beginning of our trip and before departure and had the same excellent impressing both times.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your kind words...and for simply enjoying yourself. It is good to know that we helped you have a pleasant experience during your time in Ireland. Smiles all round.

100%

This was one of the loveliest hostels I've stayed in, great provisions, friendly, helpful staff and an amazing location (just around the corner from Temple Bar)! I was very impressed and would definitely stay there again.

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Staff really helpful and friendly, good breakfast and lockers under bed which was good. A little walk into the centre city but still good location for nightclubs or other attractions


51%

One member of the staff team was really unfriendly and unhelpful. The bathroom on my floor was flooded. The decoration and atmosphere in the hostel is very poor. Many large groups or lonely travellers being busy with their laptops and smartphones..The common room with tv and books is a joke!

Owner Comment (Hide)
The only reason the floor would be wet in your bathroom is if the shower door was not closed properly. I will follow up your comment regarding a staff member. Everyone can have an off day, as it would appear you were having the night you stayed with us. I'm off to buy some wallpaper.

80%

overall i found the hostel was quite good in fairly good location it had everything they u wanted i didn't see any laundry facilties staff were helpful overall reasonably happy


97%

We stayed there just for one night but would always come back. The location is really good - walking distance to Temple Bar. The staff is really friendly, funny and helpful as well as the other guests we met there. The rooms are small but offer enough space (and what else fo do you expect in a hostel?!). The atmosphere was really friendly - i can highly recommend Four Courts Hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers and thanks.

91%

It's a cool place to stay in Belfast. Nice atmosphere, warming personal, and in the center of the city!

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Whilst our hostel is a good size we do not extend past Dublin but its good to know our coolness may extend all the way to Belfast and Beyond. Happy days.

91%

Very nice, helpful Staff. Excellent location. Good e-mail contact.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you had a great time. Happy travels.

97%

It's always a pleasure to come at Four Courts. I went there in 2012 and enjoy it. Thank's for all. See you next year. Hervé

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Had a great stay here! My first ever hostel experience. The place on a whole could be cleaner especially the restrooms but this does not mean it was dirty, just has room for improvement. The staff were almost all incredibly nice and generous with their time.


77%

Friendly staff, very secure enviornment, lots of young travellers there who could all mingle in their social areas downstairs.

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Someday Mingling will regain its throne from Free Wifi and become once again the main focus of hostels...and the Four Courts will be proud to have been there all along. What will all those drunken cats playing pianos on the web do then? Will they adapt and start wearing little cat backpacks or simply end up on cruise ships playing theme tune jingles? Mingle..or save the kittens? Your choice... I'm a dog lover myself.

86%

Staff were amazing at this hostel and incredibly facilitating. Security was excellent and lots of common area spaces.


89%

The pool table was broken. Otherwise excellent

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Only stayed for one night but wouldve want to stay longer! Really nice place, cosy room and nice atmosphere!

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(172 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback