X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Four Courts Hostel Reviews

15/17 Merchants Quay, Christchurch (Adjacent to Temple Bar), Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
4932 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Pretty average hostel. There were lots of large groups when I visited, so it was a bit hard to meet people. The hostel was clean, offered basic amenities and breakfast, decent rooms. Beds were so-so. There was lots of space in my 4-bed mixed room. It was pretty quiet in this hostel when I was trying to sleep too! Staff was very friendly and helpful. I didn't go on the pub crawl but they helped me join the walking tour. It's in a decent location not too close nor far away from temple bar.


100%

The staff were very nice very helpful. It was a very welcoming clean and warm hostel. We had a family room of four beds as a group of four girls their was plenty of space to get ready, The location was excellent it was very near temple bar but not so near that it was noisy, it was only a short luas journey from Houston station. Once again the staff were lovely which made all the difference. I would highly recommend it.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Perfect, good stuff.

94%

Really great hostel, with fun and knowledgeable staff. Having a semi-private bathroom was great. Breakfast was limited but lasted for a long time, and the coffee machine broke halfway high our stay, but otherwise our stay was great. Close enough to easily walk to all the attractions in a few minutes, but not so close you can hear temple bar. Would definitely stay again.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers. See you again.

86%

Good location, close to pubs and restaurants and the staff were very helpful and friendly! The hostel has large kitchen facilities. We stayed in a 12 bed dorm which was a bit damp and stuffy while it was raining but the beds were clean and comfy. The wednesday night pub crawl was very good :)


69%

Pretty average hostel with all the amenities you would expect but nothing much more. The place could do with a renovation, and there didn't seem to be many activities run by the hostels on Friday and Saturday

Owner Comment (Hide)
All the amenities you would expect...is surely a good thing?..? There is a pub crawl every night from 8pm and there is a walking tour everyday that leaves from reception. Weekends in Dublin tend to look after themselves and revelers are happy to get out there and explore the madness. Free Bar-B-Que on Thursdays in nearby pub too.

86%

The staff was super helpful and friendly! Also, the Cliffs of Moher trip was an awesome way to spend a day! Thanks for the recommendation :)

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Lovely and large recreation area and the rooms are lovely modern and clean

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

The hostel was great! A big hostel with lots of social rooms and a large kitchen! They also have free computers and Wifi (although the wifi isn't the greatest in the rooms). Staff was very friendly and always there! The only downside was that there are a lot of people staying long term and so they came in late or left really early for work and had stuff all over the place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you. The larger and cheaper the dorm means more people will be in there. It does not cost much extra for a smaller less populated dorm...

94%

good place. i'd stay there but no place to watch a match if it's world cup. or maybe there was and i didn't look/find it.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Every game is shown on the wall mounted TV in the main common area... you cant possibly miss it. Every game... even when the sun was breaking records outside... it was on. Even the bad matches...they were on. We will even show the last English game! There are signs up listing all the matches and the times they are on.Then downstairs, on the other TV, non football fans can watch regular stuff or dvds... everybody happy.

77%

A good (very large) hostel with tons of people and TONS of space. You get your own private locker and the kitchen is huge with tons of space. My only problem was the condition of the bathrooms (shower curtains were a little bit see-through for a public bathroom) but they did have extra bathrooms that were available. The staff was nice and super helpful.


97%

Very good hostal, loved the fact that they do your laundry themselves for a fee and that the wifi perfectly reached the rooms (unlike many hostels I've been too). Great location too.


74%

Nice place to stay for a cheap night . Could do with a bit of a scrub. The staff were very helpful and friendly apart from the night guy who was very unhappy when having to open the door . :( . Might be a good idea to do something for the World Cup. Maby some flags or banners . Value for money 5/5 well done .

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Oh, is there football on? We show every world cup match in our common room and have listed all the times the games are on. There are a lot not in it, Czech, Poland, Sweden, Ireland...Spain and England (ahem). Not a fan myself, full of cheats, prima-donna's and ballerinas (Watch Rugby or Gaa and get back to me..).. if we were to flag up the place for that we would have to surely do the same for Wimbledon etc. Congrats to Holland on winning the world cup of Darts. Sun is shining by the way.

91%

This was the third hostel I've stayed at in Dublin, and I found the kitchen to be pretty industrial. It also had a very odd atmosphere, with everyone just sitting around on their phones or laptops. Good location though, and the rooms and bathrooms were nice!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you. The kitchen is great. Industrial means large and clean? I agree it is crazy to travel to new countries and sit in front of a screen all day. To combat the increasingly antisocial internet we have a Free walking tour leaving from the hostel every day and a glorious pub crawl every night. Get out there, mingle and call your first kid 'Four Courts'.

86%

Overall, great hostel. Clean and in a good location. Staff was very friendly and helpful with everything from organizing day bus tours to calling a taxi. The atmosphere was the only downside - there was very little communal atmosphere and it was not the liveliest place. Not a big deal overall, however, as there are things like the pub crawl where you can meet people. Would stay again!


83%

I was looking for a place were i could have fun but also sleep soundly and i found it!!! My room was on the 3erd floor and i never heard a thing during the night which is great after long days of running around. The staff were really helpful at all times and the facilities were always clean. They also have a shuttle service to the airport for 7 euros, which is great if you dont want to be hauling your bags all around dublin to catch a bus.

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Our room window was just above the back door where smokers went, and we had to close the window in the evening and night because the smoke seemed to come right into our room.

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good thing we moved the Barbeque.

74%

Great location, friendly staff, but expect to only have wifi in the main lobbey, it does not work in your rooms, but they have computers available too.

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wifi should be working upstairs but a guest took it upon himself to plug it out.... we've had him shot.

100%

Four Courts Hostel was an absolutely fantastic place to stay.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Excellent Security it felt very safe and it was also very relaxed with a pleasant atmosphere I would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends the staff were very helpful and also very pleasant great value for money.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Amazing experience ... But because of on the day of the change of the sheet I slept, they never change me the bed sheet in one months.

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(201 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback