Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Fox Glacier Pod Hostel & Inn

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 362 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 362 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th May 2017
6.6

The room smelled very strongly of mould. The place overall was old and uncared for.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • ajwatson_1016622
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th Apr 2017
4.6

Some of the staff were terrible. Smiling probably required using one too many facial muscles. Tried to overcharge me for a second night even though I had booked it at a lower rate, and didn't seem to care. Rooms were quite small, but you got some privacy in the bunk beds. Facilities were pretty clean, and the kitchen was a decent size. However I would recommend the Ivory Tower Backpackers right next door instead. Friendlier staff, better kitchen and bigger dorms.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Apr 2017
5.4

Very small bunkbedrooms, toilets without toilet paper, kitchen was dirty and it was hard to find a clean plate for my breakfast in the morning, people leave their stuff everywhere (missing rules?), very loud as people were partying and drinking in the kitchen which is close to dorm.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Mar 2017
7.4

Stayed here for only one night in a one bed private room, which was exactly as you expect from a hostel - small but tidy, with a working tv. The hostel is clean and relatively quiet, so there was no problem relaxing in the evening and at night. It was clean and the staff was nice. The location is 5min to the Fox glacier by car. There are a bunch of cafes and restaurants around.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
6.3

Dirty kitchen, complementary soup and breakfast were highly appreciated though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Feb 2017
5.7

Franz Josef>Fox Glacier expensive hostel, filthy kitchen, rather go to franz josef for 2/3 the price, 35% discount..

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Feb 2017
3.4

The only thing I can rate well is the location, other than that I don't have anything good to say about!! Kitchen is filthy, what ever few cooking pots are burned and stoves are dirty, drying clothes are filthy, seems not changed for days. My bed squeaks every time I turn, whole bunk shakes when someone moves. Curtains hanging off and carpet are dirty, I don't even want to look behind the bed!! One of the worst hostel I stayed ever!! I chose it because of good rating!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Feb 2017
3.1

This hostel vastly overcharges.The welcome did not meet high NZ standards.Bedding was clean but the rest of the room needed a really good clean.Showers and toilets weren't but the kitchen and dining area left a lot to be desired.Filthy tea towels left around, surfaces not cleaned thoroughly,implements, pans etc old and impossible to bring up to a reasonable hygienic standard.Recreation and dining area inadequate for the number of guests.$300 charged for a double room for 2 people for 2 nights.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Feb 2017
4.3

Not made to feel welcome. Room for 4 far too small. Bunks squeaky metal. Good point, several sockets for phone chargers in lounge aeas

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
4th Feb 2017
6.9

Location was good, staff were fine. Cash only for the key deposit was dodgy, if you have to check out before the front desk is open (I didn't, fortunately). No lockers, and people were sometimes lax with the key. The beds were great, with a shelf, plugs and light built in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.