Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Franz Josef Montrose

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 666 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 666 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Sep 2017
10.0

The best accommodation we experienced during our two week trip trough the South Island. The staff was very friendly and helpful, they had free popcorn, hot chocolate, soup(which is one of the best we have had) and breakfast. A plus for free wifi, and that the staff were very friendly and that they served you popcorn while watching a movie. We have nothing bad to say about this place! We were sad we only stayed at this place for one night!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mmoloney1111411
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
31st Aug 2017
9.7

All you could ask for! The breakfast and vege soup was yum and appreciated. Will stay there again if I was in the area again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Aug 2017
10.0

This place definitely exceeded our expectations! Staff lovely, rooms incredibly clean. We will be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2017
10.0

Couldn't have asked for a cleaner, friendlier stay. The people who kept the hostel going we're great and the complementary soup was incredible.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
29th Jun 2017
7.1

Good location. The best thing about my stay was the free soup at 8pm - it was really delicious. Overall the hostel is really cold (it's winter now) and it seems like the cleaners are more important than guests. I think it is unnecessary to close the kitchen area from 10am till 1 pm. Other hostels are super clean and you can use the facilities all the time. The furniture is outdated and reading lamps are most certainly missing at the beds in dorms. The atmosphere: nobody was talking to each other

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Jun 2017
7.4

The hostel offers quite a bit like breakfast and soup everyday but the main area was pretty cold and also the rooms so you definitely needed the heater which was provided. Overall it is a well equipped and clean hostel would've liked to have a second bathroom for the people in 4 four dormrooms we just had one bathroom. Other than that a good hostel for a night or two.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Jun 2017
8.3

Good Hostel but wasn't very busy due to low season.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Jun 2017
7.1

Staff could be slightly more welcoming! but apart from that the hostel experience wasn't to shabby, spa pool was great and for the price paid it is definitely a good shout if your heading to Franz Josef

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2017
8.3

Good stay, we didn't have any issues. Intercity droped us right outside.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th May 2017
10.0

Fantastic living experience

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×