Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Franz Josef Montrose

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 579 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 579 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Mar 2017
9.1

Friendly and helpful staff. Room is neat and tidy. Great soup and it's free! Free breakfast too!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2017
8.6

Around the corner from all of Franz Josef's amenities and only 10 minute drive to Franz Josef. Staff were friendly and helpful. It wasn't the cleanest hostel I have been to (bits of scum around the toilet hinges and little issues like that). The doors were quite noisy if you needed to go to the toilet in the night (we were in a private double room). The kitchen had everything you would need and the freebies are a big bonus if you're watching your money!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Mar 2017
9.1

Clean, good location, super friendly, hardworking staff, breakfast and really nice homemade soup in the evening. Films to watch, never had to wait for the bathroom, quiet at night. Best hostel we have stayed in so far on our trip. Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Mar 2017
8.9

Stayed in an 8 bed dorm. Lots of space in room. Not many bathrooms on floor though so only 2 toilets/showers for about 5 rooms upstairs so often had to wait. Good location. Great wifi - free and unlimited. Hot tub available. Lots of kitchen space and places to sit and eat. Main attraction though was the free breakfast and soup each night - brilliant!!! Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2017
9.7

Free breakfast and free soup! also a hot tub. So all in all good hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Mar 2017
8.0

Nice hostel, good location. Kitchens weren't very big but it wasn't much of an issue, I agree that the closing times on the kitchen were inconvenient as it was raining and we'd been out in the morning and wanted to come back and have some lunch but the kitchen was closed form about 10:30 to 1 so you had to wait but overall a good hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Mar 2017
8.6

nice hostel, great staff, big common area, kitchen a bit smelly but most likely bc people did't turn on ventilator when cooking. Free breakfast and soup major plus! overall clean and nice atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
7th Mar 2017
9.7

Amazing hostel with a free spa pool and perfect location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Mar 2017
8.3

kitchen should be larger

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
7.7

Pros: probably one of the cleanest hostels we stayed in, close to everything (but then, that's not hard in Franz Josef!), good sized bedrooms, security code required to access bedrooms, unlike some other places where you could quite easily wander in! Cons: kitchen a big let down compared to a number of other places,, common areas not inviting - as such there wasn't much in the way of socialising (or the opportunity to), but of course this could have just been the few days that we were there!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.