Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Franz Josef Montrose

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 451 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 451 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
Franz Josef Montrose Located at 9 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Franz Josef.
Franz Josef Montrose
New Zealand
Franz Josef South Westland 7856 9 Cron Street, Franz Josef
92% 451
-43.3894850 170.1832650
Franz Josef Montrose
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
29th Nov 2016
10.0

I love this hostel! I've stayed in many around the world and this place ranks near the top! Great overall experience and very helpful staff! Great value for your money and time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Nov 2016
10.0

Well-run hostel. Cesar the manager is an exceptionally good guy, and is very serious when it comes to treating his guests well. My only complaint is the Ice Bar disco that is less than 50 meters away. The heavy bass from their subwoofers kept me awake until 2:00am!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
9.7

A very nice hostel in a good location! Although sadly the female receptionist apparently didn't listen to me as I told her that I'd have to leave at 7:15am and they prepared the breakfast earlier but for 7:20am wherefore I didn't get any breakfast. All in all it was a nice stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Nov 2016
8.6

Really friendly staff, well located, common areas are spacious. Not a lot of power plugs in rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Nov 2016
10.0

Best hostel of our entire trip in the South Island. The free breakfast and soup was a great way to save some money. The rooms were immaculate and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would love to stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Nov 2016
10.0

The staff went above and beyond. Cecil was amazing in helping me with a room change and in suggesting activities when my orginal plans did not pan out. I had to check out early and they even put out breakfast early for me!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
30th Oct 2016
9.4

Nice and helpful staff, free wifi, super cheap. Not too social people around, kinda just sat with their heads in their phones

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Aug 2016
10.0

Best value hostel I've ever stayed in. Evening soup and breakfast included, hot tub, clean, warm, big social area with films on winter nights with free popcorn. Extremely friendly staff too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2016
7.1

Franz Joseph is a really small town so all the hostels are in the same location, the free soup and breakfast is always nice, the rooms are kind of cramped though. The guy at reception was really nice and he also served soup and was just so happy and polite so that's always a huge plus !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2016
9.1

We ended up having our own room which was very nice and enhanced our stay. The beds were super warm and comfortable and the room had a heater. Wifi here was also incredible and reception had a variety of movies to choose from for the tv room. Common area smelt a little funny and the bathroom situation was a little confusing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.