Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Franz Josef Montrose

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 646 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 646 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jun 2017
7.1

Staff could be slightly more welcoming! but apart from that the hostel experience wasn't to shabby, spa pool was great and for the price paid it is definitely a good shout if your heading to Franz Josef

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2017
8.3

Good stay, we didn't have any issues. Intercity droped us right outside.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th May 2017
10.0

Fantastic living experience

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2017
9.7

Stayed in Franz Josef Montrose over the weekend. Couldn't be more impressed. Amazingly Clean shared areas and room. Comfy beds. Free breakfast had as much as you could expect from a free breakfast if not more and Cesar, the manager was friendly and helpful. I found the Wifi to be a bit slow- the only fault in this great place. 100% recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th May 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels in NZ. The price is really low. The services included are a lot and the atmosphere is really nice. Sociabe enviroment. Stayed more than I thought.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2017
10.0

Staff were very friendly, very good and clean facilities. The kitchen was immaculate! Free vegetable soup was very tasty and the breakfast in the morning had free coffee, bread, spread, variety of cereals, yoghurt and canned fruit. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th May 2017
10.0

The manager was so so friendly and the room was lovely. Great facilities and value for money. The free pumpkin soup was delicious! Thank you :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
20th Apr 2017
9.1

Lovely hostel with friendly staff who looked after us and served tasty free soup. Was kept clean and tidy and a nice base to come back to after a days walk! :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Apr 2017
9.4

Great place, nice rooms, good atmosphere. Soup in the evening was really nice. Staff at check in were really helpful with were to go and what to see.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Apr 2017
9.7

Excellent value for money with extremely helpful and friendly staff. The staff members went above and beyond to ensure I enjoyed my stay and helped with booking tours of the glaciers. Incredibly clean, safe, and close to everything. I would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.