Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Freeborn Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 591 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 591 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Feb 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels I have stayed at! Raul is a really nice guy and was helpful for showing me round :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Feb 2017
9.7

One of the best hostels I've ever been. Really familly and relaxed atmosphere. Free coffee and tea as much as you want. And great host, who knows a lot of Timosoara, everything you can imagine.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Feb 2017
9.4

Location is the best, 2 minutes walk to main square. Raul, the manager, makes the atmosphere amazing. You can make new friends easily there. If you beat Raul in Mario Cart you get a free beer. But i can assure you that is not a very easy task. One night we went to a pub with the people staying in the hostel and with Raul, and all the people was all around the world and didn't know each other before. It was clean and all but toilet can be a problem. Two toilets are outside and one in the building

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
10.0

I have been staying at the Freeborn Hostel for four nights in February, great experience! The best thing is definitely the atmosphere, the idea is be staying at a friend's and it is very easy to get to know all the guests in a couple of hours. The staff is amazing: Raul is an extremely laid back guy, who likes to be around the guests and truly enjoys making friends. His mom is extremely nice, in my case she organized a day trip to Belgrade the day before. Probably best hostel I have been to!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
9.4

Great host and great atmosphere. Very close to city center although a little hard to find in the dark.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Feb 2017
10.0

Had a great time! Loved every part of my stay here! Raul is the best host and the hostel is just amazing! Ended up staying much longer than I planned as the city was full of surprises and the staff was so helpful with advice on where to go and what to do. When I was not roaming around I was making friends in the hostel and having the best time. Book here, you will not regret!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Feb 2017
9.1

Raul was incredibly helpful throughout my stay at Freeborn. It's a smaller hostel in a very residential area so the atmosphere is a little quieter than at larger hostels. After around 10pm, the noise had to be kept to an absolute minimum to the extent that talking aloud was met with plentiful shushes. The cleanliness could be improved; it's incredibly dusty and the bathrooms are constantly wet/in a state of uncleanliness. You have your own locker which is excellent. Nothing is too far away.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2017
8.9

A great little backpacker hostel with a lot of soul. Raul and Mumma Raul make a great effort to make you feel welcome (along with a 1am palinca shot!) and to give advice about the area, history and even leading the way for a night out. Would definitely recommend when staying in Timi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Feb 2017
10.0

Location is perfect, 2 min walk to city centre, all the restaurants and other museums and sights. Rooms are clean and tidy. There's a ping pong table and tv too. Shower and toilets are clean too. There's more showered now. Very friendly atmosphere. Raul is brilliant and very helpful, quick response to queries. His mother is very friendly too. Highly recommended. Raul I caught the 3:30 bus haha

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
9.1

A lovely little hostel. Raul was so lovely and helpful. Would highly recommend. It is a little run down, but I think it adds to the charm. Thanks Raul!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.