Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Freeborn Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 740 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 740 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • contact6811
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Sep 2017
9.7

A great place to stay to meet cool people in a relaxed environment. Staff are extremely helpful and always keen to work out how to get from A to B.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Sep 2017
10.0

Loved this hostel. Staff is great, kitchen is small but well equipped. There's not many beds but it seemed to actually give the whole place a more social vibe. Everyone was super friendly and hanging out in common spaces. Everyone went out together every night. It honestly felt like one giant family in a sitcom. I had an absolutely wonderful time here, would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Sep 2017
9.4

Very nice hostel with an awesome, helpful staff! I loved the atmosphere here. The town is small but it's pretty and this hostel is a nice place to relax for a day or two and hang out with other travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Aug 2017
10.0

Best place to stay in town!! Great staff, who provide great hospitality, thanks Miriam and co!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Aug 2017
9.4

I absolutely loved my stay here. The staff were wonderful, the atmosphere was the best and friendliest of any that I've stayed in, and the location was great- near town center but still quiet. The showers could have used a wipe down, but that's about the only negative comment I have about the place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Aug 2017
10.0

This hostel feels like a family. It can sleep about 16 people total, which means that you will get to know everybody pretty soon. The garden outside is the best place to hang out until very late at night, just pick up the guitar and play and chat while sipping a beer. The staff is super friendly and they hangout with the guests. We even watched the finale of GoT together :D Rooms are big and clean, comfy beds and big clean showers. Very nice kitchen with everything you need. Miss it already!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Aug 2017
9.4

Loved it, great place to hangout

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Aug 2017
8.9

Super close to the city center! the staff is amazing, the beds are comfy and you have blankets if you get cold at night! I did get a few mosquitoe bites, but its still summer! there's some free food in the kitchen, the outside area is nice, but its all a bit crammed together!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Aug 2017
10.0

Freeborn hostel is very well equipped, with three bathrooms, a couch area with TV and wii, a kitchen, and an outdoor area with a table and a nice hammock. Raul the manager is extremely nice and helpful. Overall highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Aug 2017
6.6

Hostel was ok for one night. It felt dark, old and dirty. Hostel staff friendly enough but when I asked if there was a bus to shopping centre the lady said no, Google maps said yes, and Google was right. Not a comfortable hostel to hangout at, too dark and dingy. Location was great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, My mom cleanes the bathroom after everyone, literally after every person. We mop every day and wipe the dust. I'm sorry about the bus she really thought it's not going as it's 20 minutes walking distance from the hostel, but now she knows. The building is old but don't judge a book by its cover:). It's maybe darker throughout the day as we keep the blindes half closed to keep it less warm as we had some heating waves, again for the people's comfort. As I looked at what other reviews you gave to other hostels, half of which I half been personally there (great great hostels) it seems like you are really making an effort to enjoy them. You are not taking part in any socializing events unfortunately, at least the ones we had, and maybe this is what you are missing out, the family atmosphere that is being created, which is the best part of any hostel. I hope you enjoy your next stays! Kind regards, Raul

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×