Hostelworld.com

Freedom Hostel

  • 6, Bank Misr St.,off Sherif St., Downtown - Front of the Egyptian Central Bank., Cairo, Egypt
Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 148 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 148 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.4
Freedom Hostel Located at 6, Bank Misr St.,off Sherif St., Downtown - Front of the Egyptian Central Bank., Cairo.
Freedom Hostel
Egypt
Cairo Cairo 6, Bank Misr St.,off Sherif St., Downtown - Front of the Egyptian Central Bank.
94% 148
30.0483305 31.2424993
Freedom Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • gracenyc116608
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
1st May 2016
3.7

This hostel is located in downtown, which is good for travelers. However, the hostel is on the fifth floor of an old, worn down building that did not have good security. I was traveling with another female and we felt that it wasn't safe for us to stay there. The men who greeted us at the hostel were nice but the rooms were rather grimy and dark, and the facilities were old and run down. After looking around the hostel, we decided to look for other accommodations.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • tomassamel1027
  • Slovakia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
9.4

- very friendly and helpful English-speaking staff - breakfast & towels included - central location - rooms with air-conditioning and safes - everything was clean and tidy, although bathrooms might use some minor repairs overall, in a city where a traveller occasionally feels ripped off, it was very nice and refreshing to find this hostel with very friendly, helpful and honest people. great value for money, good location. highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2016
9.4

One thing you can't beat is the staff. Sarah, Eslam, and Ahmed were the most helpful and friendly people we met during our trip! They helped us get guided tours and transport without a headache and were there for whatever we needed. The facilities are good, beds are clean and it's got a simple and fun atmosphere. WIFI is strong and reliable, very important! If you get a tour of the pyramids or Islamic Cairo, ask for Sameh and tip him well. He had great insight and a personality to match.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bolivia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Mar 2016
10.0

My stay at Freedom hostel was pleasant. The staff is very kind and helpful, it make you enjoy and feel happy during your stay. The hostel is well located in the downtown, near shops, restaurants, bazaars and the Egyptian Museum. The facilities are clean every time, nice breakfast and fast WiFi connection. I would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Feb 2016
10.0

Amazing place, with a totally awesome staff! During the last five years, I've stayed at more than 100 hotels, hostels and guesthouses, and I can't remember ever having met a staff as friendly and helpful as in Freedom Hostel. Thanks, Sara, Islam, Ahmed and Mostafa for a great stay! Excellent location, a few blocks from the museum. Older building, but clean and with very nice atmosphere. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2016
10.0

It was a great stay, i loved the staff , they made it really awesome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
30th Jan 2016
10.0

Excellent location and facilities. Wonderfull staff, specially Sara and Islâm, who make you fell as if you were at home from the first moment. Loved Cairo and my stay at Freedom! Spent a Wonderful time there! Thank you guys! I hope tô come back soon! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Paula , Thanks for taking time to review our hostel and we hope that you had a great stay here . We will do our best to still excellent as you rated us . We wish to see you again in Egypt . Home away from home :) Freedom Team

24th Dec 2015
9.4

Would be good if lockers were provided for valuables and ideally backpacks.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Mr Steven , Thanks for taking time to review our hostel and we hope that you had a great stay here . We will do our best to still excellent as you rated us and we will work on that as you mentioned . We wish to see you again in Egypt . Home away from home :) . Freedom Team

11th Dec 2015
9.4

Freedom Hostel is amazing. Perfect location in Cairo to see all the sites as it's within 10-15 minutes of a major subway station. The staff are really amazing too. They helped me to and from the airport (way cheaper than by normal taxi). They also set up some tours with local guides who were good, not necessarily the best but you got what you paid for and more. The only negative I have is that there are no lockers. There are signs that mention lockers but there is no where to lock your stuff up.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Michael , Thanks for taking time to review our hostel and we hope that you had a great stay here . We wanted to say that there are lockers with private keys inside the dorm room where you have stayed may be you did not see that .If you asked about that , We would tell you :) . We will do our best to still excellent as you rated us . We wish to see you again in Egypt . Home away from home :)

  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Dec 2015
10.0

The hostel is very good. Very good location. Good beds, good bathrooms, very nice local decoration and the best is the all the staff, but the girl in reception is so lovely and also the manager make you feel very comfortable. Really great place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Alicia , Thanks for taking time to review our hostel and we hope that you had a great stay here . We will do our best to still excellent as you rated us . We wish to see you again in Egypt . Home away from home :) .

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.