Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Freedom Hostel

  • 6, Bank Misr St.,off Sherif St., Downtown - Front of the Egyptian Central Bank., Cairo, Egypt

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 183 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 183 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
8.3

Decent hostel in a good location. Staff are very helpful but also very interested in selling their tours. Rooms are tight and cramped, not much space to move around. Showers and bathrooms are fine. Would stay there again for the convenience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Apr 2017
8.3

Cool place. Quite some stairs to get in, but it is worth it. Nice and ready to help stuff, cool location, quite clean. We stayed one night and we were satisfied.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
29th Mar 2017
10.0

Awesome! Very nice stay! Eslam and Sarha are legends. Very knowledgeable and kind. A welcoming tea was nice. And basic breakfast was decent. The bed was comfy and clean. There was ac but didn't feel any heat during the night without ac. Letting me stay in common area and even take a shower after checking out, since I have to catch a night bus. Super cool! Good wifi. Hot shower. Good location. And there is a cheap but delicious sandwich shop. And ice cream shop. Must try. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Our Guest, Thanks for taking time to review our hostel and we hope that you had a great stay here . We really appreciate your nice words about us .Our goal is making you and all of our guests happy :) .We will do our best to still excellent as you rated us . We wish to see you again in Egypt . Home away from home :) Freedom Team

16th Mar 2017
9.1

Great staff who will do their best to find answers to yr questions/requests. Don't b deterred by the dark+shabby ground floor and the numerous steps (yeah, no elevator) but once up there you'll find smiley and welcoming staff who can also help u bring up yr suitcases. Clean hotel all around and good mood. Dorms bit cramped if full (6 beds) so if y're 2-3 persons,rent a private room instead. u will have way more space for only few dollars more. Location is great

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Our Guest, Thanks for taking time to review our hostel and we hope that you had a great stay here . We really appreciate your nice words about us .Our goal is making you and all of our guests happy :) .We will do our best to still excellent as you rated us . We wish to see you again in Egypt . Home away from home :) Freedom Team

  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Mar 2017
9.7

Good place and nice people there

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Our Guest, Thanks for taking time to review our hostel and we hope that you had a great stay here . We really appreciate your nice words about us .Our goal is making you and all of our guests happy :) .We will do our best to still excellent as you rated us . We wish to see you again in Egypt . Home away from home :) Freedom Team

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
8th Mar 2017
7.4

All the staff were very nice and the location is excellent. It's worth noting that the entrance to the building is quite dark and sort of looks empty from the outside, but once you go up the 4 flights of stairs and enter the actual hostel it feels perfectly fine. The shower was nice and hot in the first room we were in, but we couldn't get any water pressure in the family room shower. Wifi was pretty strong, with a few interruptions. The free breakfast was quite simple, but nice option to have.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Our Guest Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel and we hope you had a great stay here. Thanks for your nice words and it's a pleasure for us to read that :) . We wanted to say that the building is older than 100 years , So it's under controlled from the government as a historical building and according to that to make an elevator is kind of impossible because it needs a permission from the government . For the shower pressure we have fixed all the shower and thanks for giving us that attention . We wish to see you again in Egypt. Home away from home :) Freedom Team

3rd Mar 2017
9.4

Relatively small hostel with the most amazing staff, genuinely concerned about helping out the guests. They give a lot of information about Egypt and can offer tours throughout the country with reasonable prices.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Our Guest Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel and we hope you had a great stay here. Thanks for your nice words and it's a pleasure for us to read that :) . We are doing our best to meet all our customer's desires . We wish to see you again in Egypt. Home away from home :) Freedom Team

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Mar 2017
10.0

This hostel was awesome. Great staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Our Guest, Thanks for taking time to review our hostel and we hope that you had a great stay here . We really appreciate your nice words about us .Our goal is making you and all of our guests happy :) .We will do our best to still excellent as you rated us . We wish to see you again in Egypt . Home away from home :) Freedom Team

  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
10.0

It was more than 10 point of my enjoyable staying there. We were arrived Cairo around 3 am ish. They were given really warm greeting even though late night check in. All staff was friendly and helpful. facilities was good and clean! It just had a great time there. Thank you for all staff who I met there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Our Guest Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel and we hope you had a great stay here. Thanks for your nice words and it's a pleasure for us to read that :) . We are doing our best to meet all our customer's desires . We wish to see you again in Egypt. Home away from home :) Freedom Team

13th Feb 2017
8.6

I had a great stay at the hostel. The staff is very helpful and honest. The location is great. In the middle of the city. About 15 min walk to the metro. The beds are very comfortable!! Breakfast Is very simple. People should definitely come to Cairo and stay at this hostel. I will be returning in the future.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Our Guest Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel and we hope you had a great stay here. Thanks for your nice words and it's a pleasure for us to read that :) . We are doing our best to meet all our customer's desires . We wish to see you again in Egypt. Home away from home :) Freedom Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.