Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Freedom Hostel

  • 6, Bank Misr St.,off Sherif St., Downtown - Front of the Egyptian Central Bank., Cairo, Egypt

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 196 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 196 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2017
10.0

This Hostel Is AMAZING! The staff is incredible, they do everything to make u feel welcome and they become your friends. I love that they offer tea and coffe all the time, and breakfast is included and really good. The dorms are comfortable, and the hostel feels like home. Location is the best!! I'm going to miss the tea talks listing to the most famous singer with Eslam, watching a movie with Amir, talking about life with Sara, or just laughing with Ahmed. Guys, you are simply awesome! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Our Guest, Thanks for taking time to review our hostel and we hope that you had a great stay here . We really appreciate your nice words about us .Our goal is making you and all of our guests happy :) .We will do our best to still excellent as you rated us . We wish to see you again in Egypt . Home away from home :) Freedom Team

  • Anonymous
  • Malawi, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2017
10.0

I have no much to say, I think I should just call it my sweet home and you guys keep it up with works, your service are awesome, I will be always looking forward to come back to freedom again. Peace and bless

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Our Guest, Thanks for taking time to review our hostel and we hope that you had a great stay here . We really appreciate your nice words about us .Our goal is making you and all of our guests happy :) .We will do our best to still excellent as you rated us . We wish to see you again in Egypt . Home away from home :) Freedom Team

  • adamosullivan19
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
15th Jun 2017
7.4

Wasn't a horrible stay. But I regret mentioning my plans to the staff because they just tried to sell me tours. The AC worked, which was nice, but I probably won't be coming back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Our Guest, Thanks for taking time to review our hostel and we hope that you had a great stay here . We want to clear your situation . When you said your plan , you were asking about what to do and not to do . We have answered all your questions and we offered you our tours and you did not accept and we know that but we did not bother you or force you to buy any tours and as we do as usual we give all our guests the information in polite way . Our way in tours is TAKE IT OR LEAVE IT , NO RUSH and we are ready to answer any questions from anyone . We wish you had a great time in Egypt :) Freedom Team.

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2017
10.0

Long flight of stairs up, it's a work out. Staff is Super friendly and welcoming, rooms and toilets are clean. Loved my stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Our Guest, Thanks for taking time to review our hostel and we hope that you had a great stay here . We really appreciate your nice words about us .Our goal is making you and all of our guests happy :) . We wanted to say that the building is older than 100 years , So it's under controlled from the government as a historical building and according to that to make an elevator is kind of impossible because it needs a permission from the government and they don't give these permissions for the historical buildings . We will do our best to still excellent as you rated us . We wish to see you again in Egypt . Home away from home :) Freedom Team

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2017
10.0

I,ve stayed in many places and this is one of the best.Clean & Comfortable,The staff were fantastic from the time I arrived they organised my whole itherny from beginning to end.Eslam went above & beyond to make my stay memorable.Ahmed a talented musician with a big heart.Sara & the rest so kind & welcoming.At the time there was construction going on in the hostel and they worked extremely hard.The atmosphere I loved when I joined in working with them.Definately will be back.Thank you guys.⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Our Guest, Thanks for taking time to review our hostel and we hope that you had a great stay here . We really appreciate your nice words about us .Our goal is making you and all of our guests happy :) .We will do our best to still excellent as you rated us . We wish to see you again in Egypt . Home away from home :) Freedom Team

27th May 2017
6.9

might have stayed at the wrong time being ramadan just started, but staff not very helpful especially in the mornings. And also second day I was there the entire lobby was ripped up for new tiles to be laid so was noisy as and had no warning about this. cheap as, but can find better.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Our Guest, Thanks for taking time to review our hostel and we hope that you had a great stay here . We really appreciate your words about us .Our goal is making you and all of our guests happy :) . We want only to explain something . We have started to make new constructions in the hostel on a day that all of our guests are checking out and you were one of them , So it was not your second day it was your check out time , So you were not staying on the day of new tiles . We wish to see you again in Egypt . Home away from home :) Freedom Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
8.3

Decent hostel in a good location. Staff are very helpful but also very interested in selling their tours. Rooms are tight and cramped, not much space to move around. Showers and bathrooms are fine. Would stay there again for the convenience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Our Guest, Thanks for taking time to review our hostel and we hope that you had a great stay here . We want to clear that you have stayed in the dorm room which has only 6 beds not crowded as the other dorms in another places . Also we have offered you our tours , just offers and according to your requests (TAKE IT OR LEAVE IT) , So you did not like the tours and we have helped you to do all your trips by yourselves which shows for you how there was no pushing to take any tour .Our goal is making you and all of our guests happy :) . We wish to see you again in Egypt . Home away from home :) Freedom Team

13th Apr 2017
8.6

Nice, but basic hostel, well located in Cairo.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Our Guest, Thanks for taking time to review our hostel and we hope that you had a great stay here . We really appreciate your nice words about us .Our goal is making you and all of our guests happy :) . We wish to see you again in Egypt . Home away from home :) Freedom Team

  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Apr 2017
8.3

Cool place. Quite some stairs to get in, but it is worth it. Nice and ready to help stuff, cool location, quite clean. We stayed one night and we were satisfied.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Our Guest Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel and we hope you had a great stay here. Thanks for your nice words and it's a pleasure for us to read that :) . We wanted to say that the building is older than 100 years , So it's under controlled from the government as a historical building and according to that to make an elevator is kind of impossible because it needs a permission from the government . We wish to see you again in Egypt. Home away from home :) Freedom Team

  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
29th Mar 2017
10.0

Awesome! Very nice stay! Eslam and Sarha are legends. Very knowledgeable and kind. A welcoming tea was nice. And basic breakfast was decent. The bed was comfy and clean. There was ac but didn't feel any heat during the night without ac. Letting me stay in common area and even take a shower after checking out, since I have to catch a night bus. Super cool! Good wifi. Hot shower. Good location. And there is a cheap but delicious sandwich shop. And ice cream shop. Must try. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Our Guest, Thanks for taking time to review our hostel and we hope that you had a great stay here . We really appreciate your nice words about us .Our goal is making you and all of our guests happy :) .We will do our best to still excellent as you rated us . We wish to see you again in Egypt . Home away from home :) Freedom Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.