X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Freehand Miami Hostel and Hotel Reviews

2727 Indian Creek Drive, Miami, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
478 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Cheerful and helpful staff, great rooms, amazing bar and a lovely pool. The first time I've ever stayed in a hostel that felt more like a communal hotel. Less than 10 mins from the beach and about a 20 min walk from main strip. Would easily recommend it to anyone.

  • 8th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Staff was super friendly. Ambience of the place was charming, overall just pleasantly surprised :) thank you Freehand.

  • 4th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

This is what i call 5 stars hostel. The best hostel in Miami and by the far in the world. Very professional and friendly staff. Comfortable beds in rooms where you have 2 bathrooms is pretty rare in hostel world. The swimming pool and the garden gives it a resort feeling. The location one block from the beach really awesome. I really enjoyed my stay there.


100%

Great place! Very hard yo park

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

I loved my stay at this hostel. It is more North Beach than South Beach so it is really quiet at the beach. Staff is very helpful. Breakfast is cereal and a couple of muffins - if that's what you want. A great bargain the beautiful city of Miami.


94%

Mysig atmosfär. Dyr restaurang. Inget partyhostel.

  • 4th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

among 8 friends we reserved two rooms for four people each. The rooms themselves were small and dingy which was fine, but the problem came from the bathrooms. Both of our bath tubs were clogged and wouldn't drain, and despite going to the front desk more than once for each room, never did anyone come to fix them even though every time they said someone would come right away. Just because this is a hostel does not make it okay ignore reports of failing amenities after we paid $350/night

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great staff great atmosfere good location fair price thaks all

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Everything was great! expect that it get noisy late in the night because of the bar in the building.

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Like some other reviews mention, this Hostel won't really give you the typical hostel atmosphere (it isn't that easy to meet other travelers and there are a lot of locals that go to the broken shaker). If you aren't looking for that then this place is great. Really nice rooms. My 8 bed dorm had two bathrooms and was really spacious! It is about a 20min (safe) walk to South Beach. And the buses are pretty good with stops near the hostel. So it isn't too far from all the action.


100%

Staff were great and agreed to let us bunk with friends after making seperate bookings. Easy walk to most places, and pool area was great. Breakfast provided was pretty good too.


91%

This was a great mix between a hostel and hotel. The four person room was lovely: each bed had some privacy by being half-blocked by a wall, there were lockers, and a private bathroom. The bar and restaurant were also excellent, and the atmosphere was low-key, not a raging party hostel but a classy, relaxed place with some friendly people open to meeting others, some self-contained groups or families and some local Miamian restaurant/bar-goers. Super easy to get to by bus from airport, too.


86%

Nice hostel and well situated in Miami Beach. Beautiful Backyard with a pool and a bar and tons of people hanging out. I would go there again.


100%

Best Hostel I stayed in years...best amtosphere, beste location, big rooms...loved it

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Awesome!!

  • 24th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Awesome time, my friend and I enjoyed ourselves thoroughly.


57%

Freehand disappoints quite a bit. Doesn't live up to the hype. Lacks the social vibe and energy of other Miami hostels. Staff is fairly unmotivated by comparison, bathrooms are tiny and not up to par and wifi is weak throughout the property. Tries to cater to awkwardly pretentious hipster. On the upside, the beds are comfortable, close to the beach, cool bar and interesting pool area. Has a lot of potential but seems to lack the management to reach that.


89%

The rooms are amazing, really comfortable. If you want to get a good night rest though request a room on the street side. The broken shaker is a great bar, but at night it can make a lot of noise till 3 am.


1 2 Next » last »
(38 results)


View all Miami Hostels

Please give us your feedback