X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Friend Street Hostel & Café Reviews

234 Friend Street, Boston, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
1469 Total Reviews
  • 64%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

The staff was very friendly and eager to provide assistance with directions, recommendations, etc.

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

I haven't used a hostel in years and I must say going back is not pleasant. I liked that they hold your luggage for free until 5PM even after check-out ifs 11AM. Apart from that, there was no wi-fi, the mattress they use are really old and need to be cleaned or replaced. There was a huge stain on mine.

  • 10th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Hostel was ok since the location is good (metro, pier and old town are close by and in walking distance). There really was only a light breakfast and no cooking facilities. Hostel was small and I think I paid a lot for a bed in a full 10 bed dorm. The toilets were very clean but the showers could have been cleaner. No Wifi in the upstairs area (no wifi in bedroom!) and only bad/slow connection in the lounge. Met several friendly people though and the staff was helpful and friendly as well!


100%

Lamin and the rest of the staff at this establishment are amazing anytime I am in boston I will be staying here

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Very simple, I am used to the NYC hostels which are half the price and way better bang for your buck. I also had an uncomfortable encounter with a staff member, other than that the staff were very friendly.


97%

I am so happy to have discovered this place! Such a warm, welcoming, safe place with great traveller atmosphere. I am recommending it to all my friends going to Boston soon. You are going to be packed! :) Love this place!!!!


26%

This is perhaps the worst place I have ever stayed. The staff were not friendly, the hostel was unclean, and, to make matters worse, the hostel allows vets with PTSD stay in the dormitories with travelers. I felt unsafe the entire time I was there.

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

It was great. It's Downtown, close to subway and really close from some of Boston place of interest (pretty much everything related to history). The team member are really nice and welcoming. The beds were not great, the mattress was really thin and we could here one another moving, and that would be the only bad thing about this hostel.

  • 23rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


31%

Better cleanliness in the rooms, entrance, friendlier staff. This is the second reservation and the last time there.


77%

Mattress needs to be upgraded


57%

The room was tiny for 10 beds, the mattress was the most uncomfortable thing to sleep on. I was told it was 24/7 reception I waited 20mins to check out and no one came so I ledt. The wifi didn't work.


94%

I really enjoyed my stay at the friendstreet hostel. Best location ever. P.s. I really like the guy from Atlanta

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

I liked the common area. It was easy to meet and talk to people. The mattresses were odd. They are plastic so make lots of noise when you want to turn over! Overall this was a great little hostel.

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Staff was really friendly and willing to help!

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Staying at Friend St Hostel was a great "old style) hostel experience with lots of mingling and info exchange right next to not very exciting Faneuil hall and charming Italian North End

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice hostel, very friendly staff.

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

The Hostel is really aweful compared with others, the wi-fi didn't work, the beds were really uncomfortable, the bathrooms were dirty. I did't enjoyed my stay.


51%

The staff person on duty at the time was rude, unfriendly and incompetent. Will not stay there again...

  • 28th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

Nothing special if I'm honest. Pretty big standard.


57%

Lockers not big enough for a suitcase. Doesn't not have a proper kitchen. Noisy at night. But warm and affordable


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(46 results)


View all Boston Hostels

Please give us your feedback