X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Friend Street Hostel & Café Reviews

234 Friend Street, Boston, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1355 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Came in the hostel at around 1 after a night out.1 of the staff looked at me as if I was breaking in .maybe coz there were no other black people there . literally 5 minutes after I got into bed the staff member was in the room pretending to do a search or something. Almost confronted him but. It was just gonna be a waste of time.its a good hostel but they should do something about the staff.like educate them black people can stay in hostels...

  • 20th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Kenya
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

the breakfast is very good,but there is no hot water to shower,try lots of time


77%

My only comment would be that the showers could be cleaner - mold on the wall tiles...

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

Location is great, service sucks. Be wary of dealing with the front desk staff - make sure you check your receipts and all payments in case they've accidentally double (or triple) charged. Glazed over front desk staff reeking of pot.

  • 8th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Very quiet. Staff were ok, they did what they asked but made no effort to go beyond what was the minimum. Didn't bother to go ahead with planned events from the noticeboard and didn't cancel in advance. Breakfasts were very inconsistent also.


63%

This hostel urgently needs to replace its mattresses - the plastic ones currently in use are ridiculously noisy. I sleep very soundly, so was not personally disturbed, but anytime I sat on my bed or even shifted I was conscious I could be waking others up. That did not make for a comfortable three-night stay. I also thought it was cheeky to charge extra for towel rental, and the wifi was extremely weak.

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

It was great place. I totally recommend it to you.

  • 6th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location and friendly staff. I will stay here again in the future.

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

My stay at the hostel was good, considering that I was only for sleeping, showering and having breakfast. Don't expect much more. The hostel is very small and with a very small common area. the location is great, though you have to be careful at night cause is not very nice. It is probably the cheapest place to stay in Boston, but comparing to other cities is really expensive. Anyway, if you are looking for a cheap place just to spend a few nights, i would definitely recommend it.

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Friendly staff is what often makes a hostel, and I felt this was a missing element in my stay here. The atmosphere was rather dead...

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Friend Street Hostel was ok. The staff was friendly & very helpfully. They offered maps, help with train info, advise on who had the best pizza, even a taxi to help me get a large box to the post office. The kitchen was very small w/ no cooking facilities except for a microwave. The café was good & offered a simple breakfast for those staying at the Hostel. They had really great coffee! For a few dollars you could order something from their regular menu.


60%

The person in the front desk was not friendly. The hostel had no wi-fi for almost one whole day.

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Well located in the city center / Safe area / in general clean / cheap accommodation The matrasses are quite uncomfortable and thin. / you get a bed linen but as you are moving during the night, you'll find yourself sleeping in the uncovered blanket -> hygiene! / the shower room has no window so it gets steamy and moist / at 10 sharp they didn't serve breakfast anymore - even no coffee! / wifi did not work - connection was too slow so i usually used the wifi of starbuck or dunkin donuts etc.


80%

It would be better if wifi is available in room.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Not the best hostel in the world but it was the cheapest in Boston and you get more then you pay for. Wish they'd spring for AC in the summer months but pack a couple cold water bottles and you'll sleep fine.


69%

The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The room and bathrooms were clean. The hostel has plenty of info about the city and offers food nights (although I didn't take part.) It's a decent place, however, it is way overpriced. I have never seen hostel prices this high for what you get. Plus, everything is an added cost (lock, towel...) The wifi wasn't working either.


89%

all of the negative reviews on yelp are unfounded. Friend Street Hostel was exactly what i was looking for during my stay in Boston.

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

The Hostel is fine, the location can be a bit sketchy at night especially for a women travelling alone, the station is nice and close. The beds are uncomfortable and loud, like very large people have slept on them and bent them out of shape. One cannot roll over without everyone in the room knowing. A top sheet would have been nice as well, so I wouldn't have to see the stained comforter. The reception staff need to work on their bedside manner. A top sheet would have been nice.


54%

It is not clean and very noisy.

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I loved my stay there. The building, the cafe, the interior, books in the common room. It was clean, I felt save and I met a friend. Does it get any better?


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(76 results)


View all Boston Hostels

Please give us your feedback