X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Friend Street Hostel & Café Reviews

234 Friend Street, Boston, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1338 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Breakfast was good. The room was to cold and to loud because of the air-conditioning. The male staff was friendly, but slow with check in and everything. The female staff (one women) was totally unfriendly! I had to wait in my room for the key and so I used the chance to rest on the window. She came in and said that I shall do what I am supposed to do and pack my stuff in the locker. Very unpolite! She also was yelling about the luggage where I didn't get the point.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The place felt very old and the stiff stairs as you come into the building are daunting. The bathrooms and the dorm were clean (good beds, nice bedding). Breakfast was OK. The staff was a little vague.


63%

the place is in good location, restroom an bathroom are clean, but a little noisy.


66%

Matresses (especially the sound when people are moving while lying on the bed) are the worst I've ever slept on and I've been to many hostels. Missed a nice hostel atmosphere, i.e. meeting new people when travelling on your own. Staff (girl with long brown hair) was helpful and friendly. Location is excellent.


69%

The price is ok considering that the city is expensive, however I think they could provide locks for the lockers and the beds could be more confortable (they were actually mats). The showers could have been cleaner. The facilities in the kitchen were okish, could have been better too


83%

I liked it very much. Nice staff, good location, extra points for the free breakfast!

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

My only complaint was that my room was scorching hot when I returned at night and I was sweaty all night- but that aside it was a great stay!

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

A nice friendly place to stay and close to all the things to see. The community room is a good place for a chat and a snack. Good breakfast. Only bothersome things were the aircondtioner and ventilator. It was too cold and too loud.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Place is OK, only stayed one night. Rained and couldn't leave. Common area is way too small given number of rooms.


94%

Friend Street Hostel was homey, inviting, convenient and clean. I had a much better time here than at just about any other hotel/motel I've stayed!

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

First experience in a hostel....great location (half a block to TD Arena...home of Bruins),,,also close to wharves and North End restaurants.......great price...very safe.....staff always trying to please.....dorm for 10 guys was warm and noisy at times (snoring, farting, metal lockers, bar next door),,,,overall, a positive experience

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

I had a very nice stay at the Friend Street Hostel. The bathrooms and bedrooms were very clean (although the mattresses are a bit flat). The staff were also very friendly and helpful in general. The location is also good, right next to the North Station metro and Faneuil Hall.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Too much people in the small room and it's quite hot at night ( they didn't turn on the air conditioner). When walking, the floor was also cracking all the time. It's annoying. I won't stay there again. อย่าไปเลยครับ ห้องเล็กมาก แอร์ก็ไม่เปิดตอนกลางคืน + ตอนเดินในห้องนะ พื้นที่เป็นพื้นไม้ดังตลอดอะ ไม่โอจริงๆ


86%

Staff was friendly. The guests were cordial and we were respectful of each other it seemed. Liked that breakfast was provided for guest in the cafe downstairs. Loved the location too! It was a good stay & experience for me as a first time guest staying at a hostel.

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Nice place, considering it was a former insane asylum.


71%

Person at reception (Sunday June 29 noon/afternoon) was very helpful in getting info about airport transportation. Other than that okay place but still pricey - realize this is expensive Boston but still very basic what you get for this price


77%

Well, The "Friend Street Hostel" claimed to have Air Conditioning - but there was none available in our room. there was a ceiling fan, and being in Boston where it probably dropped to 70 at night, perhaps it wasn't so bad. I was right b y the window which was kept open, so I got a great breeze. The ceiling fan helped too. Excepting the lack of Air Conditioning, it was just fine for $50. The breakfast too was all just carbohydrates: oat-meal, toast, or cereal. The O/J was just tang.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

the sheet is dirty and no wifi in the room.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

only stayed for one night, but i did only arrive at 0100 - for the few hours i had dealings with this hostel, it was a pleasant experience and i would come back if i ever visit boston again.


69%

Very small communal area in hostel. Too many beds for such a small hostel. The beds were extremely uncomfortable and no clean duvet cover was provided, just a bed sheet and pillow cover (along with undersheet). Friendly staff but probably wouldn't recommend the hostel. Excellent location however, no more than 5 minute walk to bars and boston centre

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(84 results)


View all Boston Hostels

Please give us your feedback