X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Friend Street Hostel & Café Reviews

234 Friend Street, Boston, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

66%

Rating
1637 Total Reviews
  • 55%Value For Money
  • 69%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Staff was super nice and very helpful... morning coffee was good. The room I was in was clearly not swept for a while - dust balls all over the floor and someone must have used baby powder. There was powder all along the edges of the room and under the beds. Questionable when the sheets were washed since some had black stain on them like mascara and last sign, metal water container on the window ledge clearly left by a previous guest. The bathroom and shower were very clean.

  • 20th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

For what I paid it was okay. Didn't like that they want to charge you for everything, $3 to use a towel, $1 to print a page and so on. Also didn't like that the towel was in a room by itself and you have to go to the shower room to wash your hands. Other than that the place was relatively clean, set up like a classic dorm style hostel with a sea of beds in one room. Basic kitchen equipment for use as well as coffee and rice available.

  • 18th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

I've been around the world and stayed in all sorts of different places and can say that this hostel is probably the worst I've ever stayed in (definitely the worst if you take into consideration the cost). I can only imagine that in prison you'd get a better sleep as you probably wouldn't be sleeping on a 2 inch plastic mattress with a single sheet and fleece to keep you warm when's its 32 degrees outside, in a room that is essentially a 16+ dorm. Stay elsewhere!!

  • 18th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

In a city with few backpacker choices, this hostel is pretty good. Common area has cozy charm, shower layout keeps waiting to a minimum, lockers are large, breakfast is great. Staff are warm and helpful - Sean was a real hoot. But I'm still reeling from $50/night for a 6-bed dorm - pricier than New York or London and twice what you pay for comparable facilities in Paris or Stockholm. Maybe that's Boston's real estate market... so revise your "value for money" expectations and use your time well.


49%

Our door had no lock, and had a room within a room so there were so many people coming and going. The place wasn't to bad hygiene wise, but it's generally quite run down and is definitely in need of a renovation.


46%

Mattresses are horrible, no access to do your own laundry (I dont need someone to fold my laundry for 10$) breakfast is pitiful, no hot water in showers, the place is filthy, and even with all this it costs 45 dollars. Staff is friendly though.


97%

Location: right down the street from the arena Boston's basketball and hockey teams play in, and Friend Street is full of sports bars. If you hate noise, try not to stay here on a night with a Patriots, Celtics or Bruins game. Building: century-old building with a very long staircase and no elevator. If you don't mind climbing stairs and some noise, it's a great place to stay: fun staff, close to restaurants and public transport, and nicely priced.


66%

Bad management of the hostel: you don't tell people who had booked a room that you don't have any room left for them at 11.30pm! Also, one would expect improvements on the cleanliness of the hostel given the huge number of reviews pointing that out. Pretty good location however, and nice and complete breakfast.


46%

Update Matresses. Repaint and update walls. A stronger system of Logging/Checking in Guests, as this seemed to be difficult.


89%

The other guests in the women's dormitory were quiet and considerate. Woke up a couple of times but went back to sleep. Would have appreciated warmer water in the shower, but on the whole the hostel is convenient, affordable, well-run and I would recommend it to others. Had an early morning flight, and it's close to the T. Worked out well for me.

  • 9th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

The staff was not really friendly :-/ The kitchen has a microwave but unfortunately no cooking spots. The rooms were clean, but the toilets were not. Showers were okay, but could definitely be better. There is a strict no alcohol policy.

  • 5th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

This is a ridiculously overpriced hostel, 50 dollars for a stifling 10 bed dorm. The price on Hostel World was 45 dollars but after paying a 5 dollar deposit, I had to pay the full 45 dollars upon my arrival. The location was fantastic which I guess is what you are paying for as the facilities are very poor.

  • 5th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Great location just 5 minutes to Subway and Train station. Nice service staffs. I booked this hostel for my 1st solo trip in Boston so I recommended for travelers who are looking for a cheap place to stay near downtown Boston. But the hostel is pretty old, narrow spaces and average clean. Don't pack too much because you need to walk up more than 20 staircases to room. Outside was pretty loud at night, please be prepared if you are a difficult sleeper.


74%

I really enjoyed staying in this hostel, especially because it has a very good location.


86%

Good stay overall. A few setbacks. The rooms could be cleaned better especially when the staff sit at the reception and play on their phone. Our room had weeks of garbage and dust on the floors. Also I stayed out late one night and when I came back they had given my bed (the last bed) to someone else! Ack! The one guy (he dresses up rather sharply) was really good. He always seemed to be cleaning and tidying as he walked around and really seemed to care about the place. Didn't get his name


69%

Disappointed with the cleanliness of hostel in general. Random stuff left in shower room the whole 2 days I was there. Toilet ran out of tissue which wasn't replaced quickly. Shower curtain too small so my clothes got wet outside. Luggage room wasn't secure and looked like a building site! My room was too hot, while the whole hostel was smelly and needed airing. The hostel like it used to be amazing, but it's fallen into disrepair and looks kinda gross now.


49%

60 dollari a persona per una camerata da 10 stipata, dove è stato aggiunto addirittura un 11esimo letto. Stanza sporca, bagni pessimi, due dei quali addirittura guasti. Pagamento immediato ma non ci hanno permesso di usare la carta di credito. Wifi che non funzionava in camera. 60$ each in a 10 bedrooms room, they even added an 11th extra bed. Room was dirty, bathrooms were terrible, two of them were even broken. They asked us to pay immediatly but didn't accept our credit card. Bad wifi.

  • 21st Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

The hostel staff are excellent and helpful people, which made my stay much better. Otherwise, the place is rather dirty and the wifi doesn't really work.

  • 17th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Italy, Mario The 10 male dorm were so small and space for stay comfortable not enough. Bed are ok. The Hostel is almost clean and the Staff is very kindly. The common room is great with a wide screen, sofa and many desk.

  • 17th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

It was good


(61 results)


View all Boston Hostels

Please give us your feedback