X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Friend Street Hostel & Café Reviews

234 Friend Street, Boston, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
1444 Total Reviews
  • 63%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

I liked the common area. It was easy to meet and talk to people. The mattresses were odd. They are plastic so make lots of noise when you want to turn over! Overall this was a great little hostel.

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Staying at Friend St Hostel was a great "old style) hostel experience with lots of mingling and info exchange right next to not very exciting Faneuil hall and charming Italian North End

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


49%

The Hostel is really aweful compared with others, the wi-fi didn't work, the beds were really uncomfortable, the bathrooms were dirty. I did't enjoyed my stay.


51%

The staff person on duty at the time was rude, unfriendly and incompetent. Will not stay there again...

  • 28th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

Nothing special if I'm honest. Pretty big standard.


57%

Lockers not big enough for a suitcase. Doesn't not have a proper kitchen. Noisy at night. But warm and affordable


86%

The hostel was right by the train station making it easy to travel anywhere in Boston. The atmosphere was great, they even offer a free spaghetti dinner on Thursday nights!


83%

Muy bueno

  • 23rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The beds are awful


89%

You have to pay to print things out, but the common room was welcoming and everything was very clean!

  • 15th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

I cancelled one of my reservations but the staff did not take it out and so I got charged for it and had to ask for a refund. The mattress are terrible. They definitly need new ones.


69%

I didn't like that we had to share restroom with men. They have just three restroom which I think is not enough for every guests.


86%

O preço não é tão bom considerando que Boston foi uma decepção. A cidade não é tão boa para turismo; O local é ótimo, porque fica perto da estação de Metrô; Equipe super atenciosa e simpática; Quartos confortáveis a nível de Hostel...


80%

Muy lindo hostel para estar en Boston. Lamentablemente tuvieron un problema con mi reserva online pero buscaron una solución inmediatamente. Muy bien dispuestos a ayudar y con buena onda


49%

Es bastante feo, los colchones son finitos como un papel y además no me reconocieron el depósito que hice en hostelworld. Me cobraron el precio final

  • 8th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

Along with two friends, I stayed two nights. This hostel is the worst establishment I have ever stayed in. Quiet times were not observed whatsoever. Walls and floors are thin, and staff did little to enforce the noise level. Showers are moldy, the floor is very dusty, and beds squeak loudly whenever one moves, waking up the entire dorm. I was also charged twice after paying in cash, and the hostel has been unresponsive in refunding my credit card. STAY AWAY and spend a few bucks more.


63%

The staff are very friendly, and the beds, facilities and location are good. The only letdown was that it was surprisingly quiet - it really didn't feel like a backpacker hostel. There's a ban on alcohol which doesn't help, but generally they weren't really pushing any social stuff. Maybe they're not going for that atmosphere, but if they are, I'd suggest maybe leading a few nights out in the local bars, as hostels often do, just to get people mixing!


83%

I had a great and healthy time and will definitely Cole back. Atmosphere is great and the staff very nice. The only problem is the booking system: sometimes you will not get your exact booked bed because it is booked doubled but yout will get a bed because the staff really wants to make you a good stay. Like a big family: a bit chaotic but good for all. Just don't expect a hotel!

  • 1st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

Terrible Hostel, floor seems never been clean, ask for a bath towel but need to pay seven dollar....wth, dirty quilt and dirty sheet,someone's hair on my bed.....poor breakfast...Does not worth the value at all!!

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

The beds were very uncomfortable, the mattresses too small and thin. The bedding was old and didn't feel clean. The toilets kept getting blocked and the showers were dirty. The whole place seemed very old and a bit run down, it really needs a lick of paint and some general refurbishment. I was woken up by staff doing 'room-checks' through the night which consisted of them opening the door and shining a torch around the room. The place was cold and drafty.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(54 results)


View all Boston Hostels

Please give us your feedback