X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Friend Street Hostel & Café Reviews

234 Friend Street, Boston, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1327 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Well located in the city center / Safe area / in general clean / cheap accommodation The matrasses are quite uncomfortable and thin. / you get a bed linen but as you are moving during the night, you'll find yourself sleeping in the uncovered blanket -> hygiene! / the shower room has no window so it gets steamy and moist / at 10 sharp they didn't serve breakfast anymore - even no coffee! / wifi did not work - connection was too slow so i usually used the wifi of starbuck or dunkin donuts etc.


80%

It would be better if wifi is available in room.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Not the best hostel in the world but it was the cheapest in Boston and you get more then you pay for. Wish they'd spring for AC in the summer months but pack a couple cold water bottles and you'll sleep fine.


89%

Pontos fracos: Quarto 2 não tem ar condicionado e a cama 5 teve vazamento bem em cima e me molhou a noite toda. No dia seguinte o vazamento não ocorreu novamente. Café da manhã não segue o mesmo padrão. Uns dias tiveram suco de laranja e outros não. Uns dias tiveram waffels e outros não Sinal da internet não pegou no quarto 2 e muito mal no quarto 3. Em diversos momentos não pegou na sala de convivência Pontos fortes: Atendimento na recepção, simpatia da camareira e ter café da manhã


69%

The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The room and bathrooms were clean. The hostel has plenty of info about the city and offers food nights (although I didn't take part.) It's a decent place, however, it is way overpriced. I have never seen hostel prices this high for what you get. Plus, everything is an added cost (lock, towel...) The wifi wasn't working either.


89%

all of the negative reviews on yelp are unfounded. Friend Street Hostel was exactly what i was looking for during my stay in Boston.

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Muy limpio y tranquilo considerando una habitacion compartida de 10 tios. El desayuno esta bien aunque no hay mantequilla ni agua para beber...

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

The Hostel is fine, the location can be a bit sketchy at night especially for a women travelling alone, the station is nice and close. The beds are uncomfortable and loud, like very large people have slept on them and bent them out of shape. One cannot roll over without everyone in the room knowing. A top sheet would have been nice as well, so I wouldn't have to see the stained comforter. The reception staff need to work on their bedside manner. A top sheet would have been nice.


54%

It is not clean and very noisy.

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I loved my stay there. The building, the cafe, the interior, books in the common room. It was clean, I felt save and I met a friend. Does it get any better?


69%

Klein aber fein beschreibt es ganz gut. Für Durchreisende und Leute ohne allzuhohe Ansprüche super! Allerdings nicht leicht zu finden, trotzdem: ich war rundum zufrieden.

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Please change the mattress of the rooms!!!


100%

Excellent of all my hostel stays this summer, though the only downside is that the toilets are small and not private. I love the cleanliness and how the bunk beds are quite spaced out- so you feel that you have some space. Great breakfast at the cafe w waffles bread cereal. Close to the Metro


60%

Disappointed by the beds, the mattresses were uncomfortable and didn't fit the beds. It also didn't help having a man snoring so loudly for 12 hours a day and needing to pay for earplugs!


69%

Very small and quite crowded hostel - got very warm in bedrooms at night. Good location though.


63%

the wifi is very weak,

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

I enjoyed my stay there. Unfortunately I didn't find guests keen to socialize, but the staff was really nice and the place looked well-organized.

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

I had a pleasant stay at Friends Street Hostel and wish to stay there if I get a chance to visit Boston again. I will highly recommend it to my friends for staying as it is safe for girls and also has a warm hospitality service. It had a friendly environment and I had no trouble in locating the place as it is near to the subway station. The staff also were very cooperative and helped me with carrying my luggage. Lockers were also provided for safety of the luggage.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Matelas un peu dur et douches un peu vieille. Personnel accueillant et serviable.


94%

A really nice hostel. The staff is sometimes a little sleepy (ok I checked in at 2 am :-)). Loved the place especially the free breakfast.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(101 results)


View all Boston Hostels

Please give us your feedback