X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Friend Street Hostel & Café Reviews

234 Friend Street, Boston, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
1536 Total Reviews
  • 60%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Located in a good area, close to city centre and the train stations. The female reception worker was very nice and helpful compared to who I think was the male manager who made us feel awkward and not very friendly.

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

I stayed in this hostel two days in August 2015. I saw multiple cockroaches in the common area and the staff promised to give me the change (9 dollars) on my check out, but surprisingly, they didn't.


69%

On our 5 month RTW trip this hostel was the most expensive per person per night and with that in mind the experience was fairly average. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location good. However the building was quite old and not overly clean. The beds in our dorm were very poor and creaky. Breakfast was basic but good, a nice selection of cereal, bread and pancakes. It was adequate for our needs but did not live up to some of the cheaper hostels we have stayed in elsewhere.


51%

와이파이가 잡히긴 하나 전혀 사용이 안되고, 매트는 정말 싸구려를 쓰는지 조금만 움직여도 듣기 싫은 소리가 나며 침대를 받치고 있는 철이 느껴질정도로 얇음. 숙소 청소도 거의 쓰레기통만 비우는 수준인듯 싶다. 아침식사가 있지만 종류도 그닥 없고 무료닌깐 그냥 참고 먹는듯, 무료 저녁이 있는거에 기대하였지만 이 역시도 음식이 그닥 맛이 없고 실시한지가 얼마 안되었는지 저녁식사 타임도 잘 모르겠음. 데스크자체도 1층 안 쪽에 있어 데스크에서 사람온지 소리만 들리지 계단 자체가 잘 보이지 않아 외부인이 쉽게 출입 되어있게끔 되어있다.

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The only thing that wasn't great is the ac, the room only had a fan and it was really, really hot. Other than that, great hostel, awesome location, walkable distance to downtown, great stuff, cool living room. I loved it and would go back!

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


26%

Chambre dégradée avec des fils électriques qui sortent du mur Lit inconfortable avec un matelas réparé avec du scotch Locaux globalement peu entretenus et ménage irrégulier Petit déjeuner sans intérêt Prix élevé Lit de camp rajouté dans les chambres... Bref, un endroit à éviter

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Muy buen lugar, buena atmósfera y excelente la gente del lugar. Lo recomiendo! Al hacer el chekout nos olvidamos una cosa en el hostel y el personal de ahí nos lo mando por correo a nuestro hostel en NY, unos genios.

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The kitchen only had one small burner and a rice cooker, it was also inconveniently low on cutlery. The staff, while very friendly, seemed incompetent, and one particular member was far too forward with me.


60%

The location of Friend Street Hostel is definitely good, right next to North Station and not far from Quincy Market by foot. I liked the fact, that they offer a very simple complimentary breakfast. We booked the 10-bed female dorm, which turned out to be a 12 bed room. Of course there isn't much room left for luggage. The showers in the common bathroom could have been cleaner. After all I think it is way too expensive compared to other hostels, that offer more service for the half price.


49%

The dirtiest hostel I've ever bin. Wireless didn't work at all. Showers, toilets quite dirty. Beds were uncomfortable and very loud at every movement. Kitchen didn't got any stoves, tables were dirty all the time . Very loud air conditioning in the dorm. But still nice people.


74%

The 10 bed room had windows that wouldn't open and fans that just circulated warm air. Needless to say it was one of the worst sleeps I've had in a hostel. But it's super close to the garden and great for one night when you have an early flight.


86%

no warm water.friendly employee. provide breakfast. bad airconditional in girl's dorm


37%

This hostel is the worst! There is no hot water. The wifi signal was very poor and the room is crowded and hot. Some of the staffs are very unfriendly, other's are nice. People don't really talk here, I guess the atmosphere (crowded and bad air flow) just doesn't make you want to talk!


77%

no hot water,the location is far away from center of city.

  • 28th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Personal poco resolutivo. Llegué tarde (8 pm) y como habia overbooking me pusieron una camilla. No me ofrecieron taquilla. Me hicieron un 10% de descuento en el precio, pero la sensación es que primero te cobran y luego ya veremos. Después de pagar me contaron que tampoco les fumcionaba el agua caliente. Probablemente la chica que me atendió era novata, pero lo bueno que tiene el hostal para mí lo perdió con la atención deficiente.


83%

It was a pity that the card payment machine was not working but there are plenty of ATMs within walking distance. The hostel might want to review the blinds in room 2?

  • 25th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


51%

Although the location was nice and the staff were friendly, the cleanliness of this hostel was not good enough. The tables in the lounge were very sticky, as well as the floor, and the dorm smelled like mould. Even worse was the fact that there was no hot water during my entire stay (3 nights). According to a fellow guest, which was later confirmed by a staff member, there hadn't been hot water for at least two weeks and it did not seem like a priority to the proprietor to fix this.

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

On the website it says there is a kitchen: this is a countertop with a refrigerator (really dirty inside...) So there is no possibility of actually making food since there is no stove. 'Free breakfast included' meaning one dirty pack of cornflakes&old milk. Stains on the mattress. Last day we saw a coackroach in the bathroom!! We were here 4 nights and every day we had an ice cold shower. The good thing of course: it has an excellent location but I would never go here again in my life.


60%

Location was very good and staff were friendly. However, no hot water, poor wifi connection and lack of power outlets that worked could definitely be improved upon.

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Really friendly hostel, interested staff and a small common room so you can get to know the other guests. In the summer heat the limited air conditioning was straining to do it's best, also smaller padlocks won't fit on the lockers which is a strange limitation. However overall was a very enjoyable place to stay, less flash than Boston's HI but certainly cosy-er. If you're lucky you might get a free doughnut too...


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(80 results)


View all Boston Hostels

Please give us your feedback