Hostelworld.com

Frienz.com Backpackers Accommodation Auckland

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 430 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 430 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
12th Feb 2017
8.9

The worst parts about the hostel is its no AC (particularly brutal during these summer months) and no free wifi ($5/night). However, the location is perfect to see the best of Auckland and there is good security during the nighttimes. The bathrooms are clean and separated btwn male and females, which is a bonus. The rooms are usually quiet but the lounges very friendly, so you can be social if you wanted.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2017
8.0

Really friendly helpful staff. We stayed in a double room so felt safe with our belongings but there are no lockers, so wouldn't have felt quite so safe in a dorm room. Other people there seemed to have been there for quite a while and weren't very friendly/welcoming.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2017
7.1

I'm new to the hostel scene so I don't know how this compares but I stayed in a female only 6 bunk with mostly long term roommates. So it was pretty dirty and hot. The bed was clean but everything else felt pretty chaotic. The staff was very friendly but the signs around were a little critical and harsh. But if that was the only hostel I stayed at I probably would avoid hostels in general sooo not a fan really ;). It's very central which is nice if you like cities.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
8.3

Really good location, near the Albert park and on Victoria Street, so near of a lot of restaurants and not so far from the pier. You can do everything by walking. Dorm are okay, and the feeling of the place really depends on the people there, but the rooftop helps getting to know the people staying there. Depends on who is at reception, service can be awesome or really bad.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Feb 2017
6.3

Staff rude. Great location. Security annoyingly excessive rather than safe. Decent for 1 night but wouldn't go back

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
5.4

Too noisy. Avoid if u need a good night sleep. Was listening to the toilet door's sound whole night. Hairdryer in the toilet already broken. Location is central.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 75 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
9.4

I have quite mixed feelings about this hostel. In spite of some annoying rules and condescending notes throughout the hostel it has quite a friendly and homely feeling to it. It was very easy to meet people here. Good fun! It would be great if the rooftop terrace could stay open an hour later instead of closing down at 10pm.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Jan 2017
6.0

Rating for a mixed dorm with 14 beds. About $25 for a night. Lockers available in your room. Big enough to store a day pack, camera and computer (not a large backpack). Large and clean kitchen with few fridges. Even though we didn't cook during our 1 night stay. You have to pay for wifi! Beds are ok but room was stuffy and not dark at all at nighttime. Location is good The terrace isn't inviting at all

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Jan 2017
6.9

This hostel was fine, saw a lot of bad reviews for it but kind of unwarranted I think. Pretty clean, good location, alright kitchen and bathroom. I've stayed in a lot worse. Was out most of the time so not sure re atmosphere. It was noisy due to traffic, but it was so central that can't be helped.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
8.0

We were happy overall, we paid $88 for a private double room which I feel is a bit much for what it was, but you are paying for the location, and it is very well located. Pros: - location - security seems good - staff friendly in person - fairly clean Cons: - aggressive signs all over the place: "it's not our job to wake you up" etc., I know that's a weird thing to say but it gives me bad vibes - bit pricey for a private room

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.