Hostelworld.com

Frienz.com Backpackers Accommodation Auckland

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 341 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 341 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.8
Frienz.com Backpackers Accommodation Auckland Located at 27-31 Victoria Street East, Auckland, Auckland.
Frienz.com Backpackers Accommodation Auckland
New Zealand
Auckland 1010 27-31 Victoria Street East, Auckland
74% 341
-36.8495777 174.7667741
Frienz.com Backpackers Accommodation Auckland
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Apr 2016
6.9

The hostel was all right, unfortunately the atmosphere wasn't due to inconsiderate fellow travelers

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2016
7.1

Not a great first night finding someone in one of the two beds booked...left the hostel and tried again the following night. The staff apologised etc and we weren't charged. Clean bedding, much nicer feel than Base on Queen Street. The room was clean and tidy and in a slightly quieter location than the main road.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Mar 2016
7.1

Good hostel, lots of long termers staying there, otherwise hostel was good. The staff were friendly but some of them were very rude.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Feb 2016
6.3

True to what previous reviews said, it was an odd atmosphere. Seems to be pretty clique-y as not one person in my 12 bed dorm even acknowledged my existence. Kitchen was closed for cleaning at 530pm? Staff was quite friendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Feb 2016
7.4

A well located hostel just off Queen St. I think this would be a great hostel if you didn't want to cook for yourself. The kitchen was almost always dirty and there aren't nearly enough dishes to go around. It's a nice idea to have a separate quiet area and the front desk staff were all very helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2016
7.1

Pros: clean enough, an older hostel but everything functional. Good security. Amazing showers! Cons: vibe is a bit off. Staff friendly but odd and the atmosphere wasn't great. Beds are uncomfortable and rooms really hot. Obviously it's is budget accommodation and reasonable enough for the price, but if this is important to you then you might want to think twice. I am a great sleeper but always seemed to wake up stiff and unrested from the thin sinking matress. Overall: good for the price

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2016
5.1

We had found Frienz on hostelworld.com and it had an 8/10 rating. The location was very helpful but the facilities were not good. There was mold all over the showers and windows and ceiling of our room. Our 12 person room was incredibly stuffy as there was no fan or air conditioning and only 2 windows. As a result, there was no air flow or ventilation. We also wish we had known about the no refund policy beforehand - had we known we wouldn't have stayed for four nights.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
29th Jan 2016
6.9

Even they have lots of activities no real nice atmosphere-weird staff which makes fun of guests, even though staff seams to be cleaning all the time...its never really clean and there are animal in the kitchen

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
29th Jan 2016
6.9

This hostel would actually be pretty good if they sorted out the beds, I have never in my life stayed on such an awful bunkbed and thin mattress. Everything else is good though! Nice vibe, big kitchen, great showers and a nice rooftop - but I wouldn't stay here again until they got new mattresses as it gave me such a bad back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Jan 2016
8.3

Good all round place, kitchen big enough to accommodate several people, get your own food box, plenty of showers and washing machines etc., kitchen's open 24 hours - that with the lounge is on its own floor so doesn't bother if you're trying to sleep. Place gets cleaned twice a day it seems. You do have to pay for WiFi but it's pretty cheap and there are 6 computers anyway to use for free. Could probably use some more forks and mugs though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.