Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Frienz.com Backpackers Accommodation Auckland

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 531 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 531 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2017
6.3

The bed was old, pillow was mallow. A bit dirty room and ceilings, bathroom was just OK. Kitchen and fridge was overcrowded. Too much noise from the street into the room. It was just OK. Sorry.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2017
7.4

Not a bad place to stay. Have to pay for wifi, showers were small, and being right on a busy intersection gave way to lots of noise at night. Kitchen wasn't always clean. Overall, not a bad spot.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Jun 2017
6.9

Great location. Very dated, but cheap. Wifi not free, which was disappointing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2017
7.7

It was a bit dirty but really I would say that was the only major fault. The rooms was cute. I was placed in an all females room and the bedding reminded me of a childhood slumber party. It was certainly less social than many other hostels that I have stayed at, but I didn't mind much as I was not traveling alone. Awesome location that was easy to get to all the tours and lots of cheap restaurants nearby. I would go back if I find myself in Auckland again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th May 2017
3.7

I've been to about 20 hostels and the staff at this one were the absolute worst. Cleaning people never knock before opening your room door, no one at the desk was friendly, and there were signs all over the place saying ABSOLUTELY NO REFUNDS etc etc

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st May 2017
9.1

Good hostel, well located and clean. I stayed in the 14 bed dorm, it was full so it feels crowded but that is what I expected. Very friendly staff and everything is well organized and safe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • SWDuncan
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Apr 2017
8.3

During our stay we had free hot dogs and a cinema night which was a good touch. Was staying in a large dorm room with some long-termers who kept the door unlocked which was concerning but at least there were lockers. Free computers and decent sized communal area, even a quiet room were pretty nice. The kitchen was great if you arrived just after cleaning, however, an hour later it becomes chaos as no one seems to clean up after themselves. Overall, good location and good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • shantelbryan
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
24th Apr 2017
7.1

This hostel was conveniently located near the art gallery, shopping, the sky tower and close to the harbour. I found the facilities to be clean and the kitchen is huge. There is a lot of fridge space so you can save money by cooking there. I found the only downside to be the street noise- as it's downtown the cars and people passing by were extremely loud. A lot of people staying there were long term, so the atmosphere for meeting people wasn't as open as I had hoped.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Apr 2017
5.4

Location is good, yet beds are dirty with dust, not washed at all with hairs, outside are car parks, noisy every single night with cars and drunk people noise.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2017
9.4

Great location. Nice staff good facilities and secure. Would stay again. Good showers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.