Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Frienz.com Backpackers Accommodation Auckland

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 438 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 438 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • mcampbell798
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Feb 2017
5.1

It really wasn't great location was okay, but it was super loud at night trying to sleep from the streets. And the beds were super uncomfortable.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
6.9

Secure hostel in a good location (stayed in a double room) but facilities weren't ideal. 2 showers per floor were limiting and the kitchen wasn't great at all - no bowls or spoons when we tried to have breakfast. It's quite a run down building but for a short stay did the job

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th Feb 2017
8.9

The worst parts about the hostel is its no AC (particularly brutal during these summer months) and no free wifi ($5/night). However, the location is perfect to see the best of Auckland and there is good security during the nighttimes. The bathrooms are clean and separated btwn male and females, which is a bonus. The rooms are usually quiet but the lounges very friendly, so you can be social if you wanted.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2017
8.0

Really friendly helpful staff. We stayed in a double room so felt safe with our belongings but there are no lockers, so wouldn't have felt quite so safe in a dorm room. Other people there seemed to have been there for quite a while and weren't very friendly/welcoming.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2017
7.1

I'm new to the hostel scene so I don't know how this compares but I stayed in a female only 6 bunk with mostly long term roommates. So it was pretty dirty and hot. The bed was clean but everything else felt pretty chaotic. The staff was very friendly but the signs around were a little critical and harsh. But if that was the only hostel I stayed at I probably would avoid hostels in general sooo not a fan really ;). It's very central which is nice if you like cities.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
8.3

Really good location, near the Albert park and on Victoria Street, so near of a lot of restaurants and not so far from the pier. You can do everything by walking. Dorm are okay, and the feeling of the place really depends on the people there, but the rooftop helps getting to know the people staying there. Depends on who is at reception, service can be awesome or really bad.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Feb 2017
6.3

Staff rude. Great location. Security annoyingly excessive rather than safe. Decent for 1 night but wouldn't go back

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
5.4

Too noisy. Avoid if u need a good night sleep. Was listening to the toilet door's sound whole night. Hairdryer in the toilet already broken. Location is central.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Feb 2017
9.1

Really good hostel close to the supermarket and the city centre. Beds are clean and comfy, you get your own locker which you have to provide the padlock for to keep your valuables safe. Really nice showers and toilets. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 75 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
9.4

I have quite mixed feelings about this hostel. In spite of some annoying rules and condescending notes throughout the hostel it has quite a friendly and homely feeling to it. It was very easy to meet people here. Good fun! It would be great if the rooftop terrace could stay open an hour later instead of closing down at 10pm.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.