Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Frienz.com Backpackers Accommodation Auckland

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 398 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 398 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.5
Frienz.com Backpackers Accommodation Auckland Located at 27-31 Victoria Street East, Auckland, Auckland.
Frienz.com Backpackers Accommodation Auckland
New Zealand
Auckland 1010 27-31 Victoria Street East, Auckland
79% 398
-36.8495777 174.7667741
Frienz.com Backpackers Accommodation Auckland
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Jan 2017
6.9

This hostel was fine, saw a lot of bad reviews for it but kind of unwarranted I think. Pretty clean, good location, alright kitchen and bathroom. I've stayed in a lot worse. Was out most of the time so not sure re atmosphere. It was noisy due to traffic, but it was so central that can't be helped.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
8.0

We were happy overall, we paid $88 for a private double room which I feel is a bit much for what it was, but you are paying for the location, and it is very well located. Pros: - location - security seems good - staff friendly in person - fairly clean Cons: - aggressive signs all over the place: "it's not our job to wake you up" etc., I know that's a weird thing to say but it gives me bad vibes - bit pricey for a private room

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels I have stayed in so far on my travels. Clean, reasonably priced, great people and good facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Dec 2016
8.0

No free internet, small dorm rooms

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Dec 2016
9.1

Best hostel in the city Centre in my opinion. Nice areas to hang out and a separate room to read, bathrooms cleaned frequently. Would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Dec 2016
4.9

- there were many people gathered outside the accommodation and making a lot of noise throughout the night till early morning. - beds were creaky and mattresses and pillows were very thin.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Dec 2016
7.7

This hostel is fine, not much more to say than that. It is full of passive aggressive signs saying that they will throw you out for minor infractions, but I would the staff to be lovely I liked being allocated a bed. The lockers are very small and big enough to put a very small backpack in. This wasn't the friendliest hostel as many guests were staying long term but was not unpleasant. It was very loud outside at night as it was a Friday night and it is right in the centre of the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
29th Nov 2016
5.7

The room was dirty, the matrices were extremely thin and the sheets were not clean. There was a courtyard outside our room where the staff drank until late we asked then politely to turn the music down at about 10.30pm and they responded by turning it up. There were also very few plates in the kitchen.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
27th Nov 2016
10.0

I stayed here for 2 nights and found it to be a good place to stay. Good location, facilities, and the long termers were talkative towards me. I'd stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Nov 2016
7.1

Very dirty and noisy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.