Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Frienz.com Backpackers Accommodation Auckland

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 469 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 469 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Mar 2017
7.4

No locks provided for lockers, towels $5 to rent and had to pay for WiFi. Good location and nice communal areas and rooftop seating.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Mar 2017
6.6

A bit of a party hostel. Perfect for if you want to be right in the centre and go out drinking. Not great if you want to socialise and meet new people as most guests were travelling in groups and tended to be very young. Too impersonal for me so I moved a little out of the city to another hostel, but that's my taste.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
4.0

Wouldn't stay again. Very rundown. Dirty bed linen.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
6.9

It's clean but basic. Wouldn't stay again out of choice

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Mar 2017
7.7

Stayed in a 12-person room for one night. Overall, Frienz was a great place to stay for what I needed. It has a full kitchen, 2 showers and 2 toilets on my floor and the bed sheets were clean. The wifi is not free, though, there are minimal wall outlets and all space is limited since it's right in the city. I didn't get the best vibe from the travelers and the facility isn't very comfortable. I would stay again, however, if I booked a less crowded room with more space.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Mar 2017
8.6

Good location just off of queen street so wasn't too noisy at night time. 12 bed dorms are very spacious. The hostel was cleaned regularly throughout and the kitchen twice a day which was great. Only downsides was not enough plug sockets in the rooms for everyone and the wifi was expensive.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Feb 2017
9.4

Stayed here twice whilst travelling! Was a little sceptical at first as no one knew about this hostel. However the beds and hostel in itself was very clean. Great location. They do tend to clean the kitchen at inappropriate times (e.g.- 6pm), however this may have been a one off. Security was great, there were lockers in the rooms and there are lovely showers and toilets. Overall a great hostel! However, you have to pay for the wifi and the computers but you make do with hotspots around town!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • EHE1412
  • Indonesia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
25th Feb 2017
8.0

Strategically located in the CBD and very close to nice cafes/restaurants. Staff are very nice and helpful. Although I found that all the signs and warnings on the door (or basically everywhere) was a bit too much.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • megan_andrew2842
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Feb 2017
5.7

Mattresses so thin you can feel the slats below you, passive aggressive notes stuck around the hostel, our food went missing on the 3rd day, always dirty dishes in the kitchen. Very dingy feeling to the place. However, very good location in centre of city.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
25th Feb 2017
4.3

Pro: Bathrooms decently clean, centrally located. Con: Noisy area, no AC or fans. Not enough air circulation for 12 people in one room as only small window could be opened, but then curtains had to stay open and brightly lit car park directly opposite. Dorms were filthy, one corner smelled like pee. Beds almost collapsing when climbing up, shaking when the guy below me moved a finger. No sockets or lights near bed. Common rooms uninviting. We tried to spend as little time as possible here

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.