Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Frienz.com Backpackers Accommodation Auckland

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 371 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 371 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.2
Frienz.com Backpackers Accommodation Auckland Located at 27-31 Victoria Street East, Auckland, Auckland.
Frienz.com Backpackers Accommodation Auckland
New Zealand
Auckland 1010 27-31 Victoria Street East, Auckland
79% 371
-36.8495777 174.7667741
Frienz.com Backpackers Accommodation Auckland
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Dec 2016
7.7

This hostel is fine, not much more to say than that. It is full of passive aggressive signs saying that they will throw you out for minor infractions, but I would the staff to be lovely I liked being allocated a bed. The lockers are very small and big enough to put a very small backpack in. This wasn't the friendliest hostel as many guests were staying long term but was not unpleasant. It was very loud outside at night as it was a Friday night and it is right in the centre of the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Nov 2016
5.7

The room was dirty, the matrices were extremely thin and the sheets were not clean. There was a courtyard outside our room where the staff drank until late we asked then politely to turn the music down at about 10.30pm and they responded by turning it up. There were also very few plates in the kitchen.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Nov 2016
7.1

Very dirty and noisy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
7.7

Location was great. Staff didn't seem to know much about travel & transportation. The common area gave out a very cliquey atmosphere, but my roommates were very nice. The room had a smell but the bathroom was clean. The main downside of this hostel was that it was VERY noisy. You could hear the traffic at night and there were people fighting outside the hostel at 1:00 am for two consecutive nights. Overall it's okay for a short stay, but I wouldn't recommend for a long stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2016
6.6

There is no free WIFI. Room was fine. Beds old and squeak loudly when anyone moves. Bathrooms clean and adequate. Nice roof terrace. Right in city centre and easy access to supermarket. Lots of long term residents so feels quite unfriendly, no one says hello. Fortunately we only stayed 2 nights and we had each other. Wouldn't recommend to anyone travelling on their own as it would be quite lonely.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Nov 2016
9.7

This is the best hostel in Auckland for me, the staff is so nice, kitchen is very convenient, there are computers available at any time, all the rooms are cleaned every morning, the kitchen and tv/computers area are cleaned several times during the day, the people are very nice, I couldn't expect more, except free wifi maybe!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Nov 2016
5.7

Allright hostel. The first night we spend here some guy just of the street was going through a couple of rooms that weren't looked to see if he could staal something. Next day all codes got changed but still it was odd. Atmosphere wasn't all that, lot of long termers who didn't want to socialize. Allright for a night or two if you need to be in Auckland cbd and can't get anything better.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Oct 2016
8.0

Perfect location. It's 5 minutes walk from where the airport bus stops. Library, shops, everything you need is all close to the hostel. It's a big place and could be noisy sometimes, but it's fine enough to stay a few nights there. One thing though : if you want to use WiFi with broadband, you'll have to pay for it (and it's actually pretty expensive). So, if you need Wifi, just go to the library (5 mins walk) and you'll get it for free : )

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Oct 2016
10.0

I stayed here for 2 weeks when I first arrived in Auckland I really enjoyed it here, the staff are friendly and I made some great friends here. There were enough showers and toilets and the beds are typical or a hostel. Only thing I would change would be to be able to drink on the roof terrace for an extra hour. But I would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jun 2016
7.4

The place is clean with good security. Decent facilities. Decent location. The wifi is very expensive, but there is free computers you can use. Staff were helpful if i needed anything. Not a great atomsphere as the hostel is full of long termers, who have their own group(s). It was difficult for me to get conversation going with them. The beds are not very comfortable. The most uncomfortable in a long period of travelling. Overall good but not great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.