Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Frienz.com Backpackers Accommodation Auckland

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 510 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 510 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st May 2017
9.1

Good hostel, well located and clean. I stayed in the 14 bed dorm, it was full so it feels crowded but that is what I expected. Very friendly staff and everything is well organized and safe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • shantelbryan
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
24th Apr 2017
7.1

This hostel was conveniently located near the art gallery, shopping, the sky tower and close to the harbour. I found the facilities to be clean and the kitchen is huge. There is a lot of fridge space so you can save money by cooking there. I found the only downside to be the street noise- as it's downtown the cars and people passing by were extremely loud. A lot of people staying there were long term, so the atmosphere for meeting people wasn't as open as I had hoped.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Apr 2017
5.4

Location is good, yet beds are dirty with dust, not washed at all with hairs, outside are car parks, noisy every single night with cars and drunk people noise.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2017
9.4

Great location. Nice staff good facilities and secure. Would stay again. Good showers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
17th Apr 2017
8.0

Good location, clean, good security, helpful staff. The big downside for me was that wifi was ridiculously expensive (it's not free at most hostels in Auckland, but this was totally ridiculous pricing). Nicer than most Auckland hostels I've stayed in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
28th Mar 2017
7.1

Due to it's central location, don't bother trying to get a good night's sleep at the weekend. The drunken noise from the street is ridiculously loud. Otherwise an okay hostel and I'd stay there again but only during the week.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Mar 2017
7.4

No locks provided for lockers, towels $5 to rent and had to pay for WiFi. Good location and nice communal areas and rooftop seating.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
15th Mar 2017
6.6

A bit of a party hostel. Perfect for if you want to be right in the centre and go out drinking. Not great if you want to socialise and meet new people as most guests were travelling in groups and tended to be very young. Too impersonal for me so I moved a little out of the city to another hostel, but that's my taste.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
4.0

Wouldn't stay again. Very rundown. Dirty bed linen.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
3rd Mar 2017
6.9

It's clean but basic. Wouldn't stay again out of choice

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.