X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Fun Taipei Backpackers @ Shilin Night Market Reviews

Jihe Rd. & Xiaoxi St. intersection, (MRT Jiantan Station), Shilin District, Taipei, Taiwan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
84 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

If you stay for a night, it would be value for money. Not for few nights. They got 2 hostel. If the main one then is good and nice but if another hostel it would be bad.


100%

Thank you very much for this nice hostel and hope to see you soon again.


89%

all in all, the only minus point of this hostel is that the noise cancellation is not amazing so during the stay some noises from outside may come in, but all in all, superb stay!

  • 17th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Your room is so pretty and we like it very much.


86%

Location: excellent, especially if you are going to visit the northern part of the city (e.g. Yang Ming Shan) Staff: very friendly and helpful. The security guard is also helpful and friendly as well. :) The only drawback: because of the poor design, the bathroom will be covered with water after every shower. The bathroom will become wet and a bit slippery for a very long time. ( I stayed in a family room for 3. )


94%

스린야시장도 바로앞이고 직원분도 엄청 친절하고 방도 너무 예쁘고 좋았어요! 경비아저씨도 되게 친절하시고 숙박 최고였습니다ㅎㅎ

  • 9th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

A very nice place! Highly recommended. Very near Shilin night market. 7-11 is just a block away. Only 5 min walk to the train station. Will definitely go back again.

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

The hostel is definitely not the same as the pictures posted on the website. I was quite shocked with the room condition. Its small for the 4 of us (2 adults & 2 teens). Initially we booked a family room but we wanted a washing machine too so they gave us this room with a washing machine in the bathroom. There is no space for us to put our suitcases or for us to walk in the room. The location is good. Just 5 mins walk to Shilin night market & less than 10 mins walk to Jiantan MRT station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for the comments. As the room details highlight on website, this private room is about 8 ping in this case i will recommend the deluxe room type has 2 queen size Double Bed. The space is bigger than basic 4 bed ensuite. The space is about 13 ping. Hope to see you again^^

63%

Facility poor because the shower's hot water will stop coming out after a few minutes of use. Cold water, not even lukewarm water, after that. Wait for 30 minutes, hot water comes out again, and then a few minutes later, cold water again. Other than that, everything is ok.

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comments. The heater in this room is brand new. We use this one because the hot water is really hot if not run out of it otherwise need to wait about 10 minutes. Actually its not easy to run out of hot water for the first person. Thank you again and hope to see you soon in nearly future^^

83%

The staffs are very nice and can provide us several services and suggestions. In addition, the location is very near Shilin Night Market where is one of famous shopping areas in Taipei, Taiwan.

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The location is fantastic; it is within walking distance to Shilin Night market and MRT station. The staff is really friendly. Each room looks different. Their furniture, flooring and bathroom differs for each room. My friends' room looked cleaner than my room, but I would say they have average cleanliness. Facilities are alright but would appreciate a mirror in the room. I only had a mirror in the bathroom. My friends' room had a dressing table mirror and a bathroom mirror.

  • 11th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The room is a bit run down but good enough for us who wanted to get good rest. One improvement that I could think of is the water heater. The water temperature is not stable and took a bit longer time to heat up. So, bathing in the early morning and late evening would be a bit cumbersome during cooler weather.

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The water heater in this room is adjustable. Please don't hesitate to contact us if it happened next time. Thank you for coming and hope to see you again soon!

91%

Great location- Night market across the street, short walk to MRT station. Staff was really helpful and replied to queries promptly.

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)




View all Taipei Hostels

Please give us your feedback