X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Fun Taipei Backpackers @ Shilin Night Market Reviews

Jihe Rd. & Xiaoxi St. intersection, (MRT Jiantan Station)Shilin District, Taipei, Taiwan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
67 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Location: excellent, especially if you are going to visit the northern part of the city (e.g. Yang Ming Shan) Staff: very friendly and helpful. The security guard is also helpful and friendly as well. :) The only drawback: because of the poor design, the bathroom will be covered with water after every shower. The bathroom will become wet and a bit slippery for a very long time. ( I stayed in a family room for 3. )


94%

스린야시장도 바로앞이고 직원분도 엄청 친절하고 방도 너무 예쁘고 좋았어요! 경비아저씨도 되게 친절하시고 숙박 최고였습니다ㅎㅎ

  • 9th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

A very nice place! Highly recommended. Very near Shilin night market. 7-11 is just a block away. Only 5 min walk to the train station. Will definitely go back again.

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

The hostel is definitely not the same as the pictures posted on the website. I was quite shocked with the room condition. Its small for the 4 of us (2 adults & 2 teens). Initially we booked a family room but we wanted a washing machine too so they gave us this room with a washing machine in the bathroom. There is no space for us to put our suitcases or for us to walk in the room. The location is good. Just 5 mins walk to Shilin night market & less than 10 mins walk to Jiantan MRT station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for the comments. As the room details highlight on website, this private room is about 8 ping in this case i will recommend the deluxe room type has 2 queen size Double Bed. The space is bigger than basic 4 bed ensuite. The space is about 13 ping. Hope to see you again^^

63%

Facility poor because the shower's hot water will stop coming out after a few minutes of use. Cold water, not even lukewarm water, after that. Wait for 30 minutes, hot water comes out again, and then a few minutes later, cold water again. Other than that, everything is ok.

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comments. The heater in this room is brand new. We use this one because the hot water is really hot if not run out of it otherwise need to wait about 10 minutes. Actually its not easy to run out of hot water for the first person. Thank you again and hope to see you soon in nearly future^^

83%

The staffs are very nice and can provide us several services and suggestions. In addition, the location is very near Shilin Night Market where is one of famous shopping areas in Taipei, Taiwan.

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The location is fantastic; it is within walking distance to Shilin Night market and MRT station. The staff is really friendly. Each room looks different. Their furniture, flooring and bathroom differs for each room. My friends' room looked cleaner than my room, but I would say they have average cleanliness. Facilities are alright but would appreciate a mirror in the room. I only had a mirror in the bathroom. My friends' room had a dressing table mirror and a bathroom mirror.

  • 11th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The room is a bit run down but good enough for us who wanted to get good rest. One improvement that I could think of is the water heater. The water temperature is not stable and took a bit longer time to heat up. So, bathing in the early morning and late evening would be a bit cumbersome during cooler weather.

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The water heater in this room is adjustable. Please don't hesitate to contact us if it happened next time. Thank you for coming and hope to see you again soon!

91%

Great location- Night market across the street, short walk to MRT station. Staff was really helpful and replied to queries promptly.

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

very good and near night market

  • 22nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Second time stay here. Last month was stay this hotel too. will continue stay here again for next time. Is value for money , Mrt is very near just 5 minutes walk. Shi Lin just less then 1 minutes walk because just in front of the hostel .


86%

We stayed in a basic double room. The room is cute, clean and bright with big windows. When we arrived at the entrance of the hostel, the security man made a phone call to one of the hostel staff. The staff is so nice and we did not have any trouble during our stay. The bath room is clean too. We could not ask for more. Easy walk from Jiantan station and close to the night market. There is a cafe and bakery on the 1st floor of the building, and a 7-11 nearby. Definitely great place to stay.

  • 8th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Facilities are quite old but clean enough. Location is perfect for traveling around northern Taipei. Staff who helped us with checking in late at night is very nice and helpful. We just want to thank her again!


71%

Friendly, helpful staff. Good location close to rail and Shilin night markets. 4pm check in! Could be earlier but let us leave our bags there on morning arrival and access to our room at 3pm.


86%

nice location. just infront of shilin night market! awesome!


83%

Good : 1. hostel just in front of shilin 2. Stuff are friendly 3. 7 11 is nearby 4. Basic facility is available Only the bad things is can't put my luggage at the reception Average is good . I will stay the same place if I stay taipei

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi~thank you for the comments. We have a place can put the luggages if you are coming before check in or after check out time. Please keep in touch and hope to see you again!



View all Taipei Hostels

Please give us your feedback