X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Fun Taipei Backpackers Reviews

No.116, Chengde Rd., Sec4, Shilin District, Taipei, Taiwan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
478 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Good location and friendly staff

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The location of this hostel is very hard to find. Must call the staff before arriving. They will send you another confirmation email after the one from hostelworld. Read that one before you go there. We didn't know about this second confirmation email so we had trouble finding the location. But, Alice, the only hostel staff there, was very friendly and helpful. She tried her best to help us.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Ian, thanks for the comments. The following description catch from website for the others travellers who might not noticed. *Please email us if you do not receive personal confirmation letter with details and map (not mean fm booking system) upon your booking completed in two days. Without the email you will not find us as we located at different buildings nearby and No Signage.* However the room is near metro station and shilin night market. Hope to see you again in nearly future^^

83%

A very comfortable and cozy room. Enjoy my stay really alot. Staff is also friendly

  • 28th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The weather is too cold for an air cond, would appreciated if have a heater in the room.

  • 27th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

设施很齐全,有的房间甚至还有洗衣机,位置在士林夜市的正对面,非常近,房间是公寓楼里的单间,见不到别的住客,私密性好,安静,所以也没什么热闹的氛。临街的房子晚上有噪音,尤其是晚上机车党飞驰而过的时候😞


66%

I overall satisfied this hostel. But because i went to the hostel at winter, i was so cold and there was no heat system and bathroom is a little bit unclean. If mirror is added , it would be perfact.

  • 21st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Minji~thanks for comments. In this case, please don't hesitate to contact us during your stay. Thank you^^See you next time!

77%

Carpet is dusty and toilet is moldy. Location is the positive point.

  • 15th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brunei
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi~thanks for comments. In this case, please don't hesitate to contact us during your stay. Thank you^^See you next time!

100%

great location next to Shilin night market. Staff were nice and helpful, place was clean and moden.


97%

Excellent place to stay if you like to eat at night. Close to train station, easy to travel around. Definitely will visit again

  • 2nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Once we finally found the Hostel it was a great stay. Very confusing directions getting there though

  • 19th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Excellent location, walking distance to MRT and Shihlin Night Market. No common hall as our room located at a local residence flat. Staff just drop by to collect rental and left.


80%

The hostel has a very good location, close to the MRT and the Shilin Night Market. It's inside a normal residencial building though, it's not really a hostel like you might imagine it with common area and things like that. The double room was like shown in the pictures, clean, nice bed, they don't come and clean the room during your stay so you have to throw away your trash but I think it's ok when you're looking for a quiet stay.


71%

An awesome location for travellers looking for a simple, no-frills place to stay in Taipei. Facilities are not top-notch but they meet the basic requirements of a comfortable accommodation. The Shihlin Night Market and a 7-11 store are a mere one-minute walk away and it is especially convenient for filling your tummy if you get hungry after dinner time.


100%

This is my favorite hostel. It's tidy and clean. Thought near to the street, it's quiet. Hostel helpers are kind and sweet. Love it.


91%

Very friendly atmosphere and great service!


94%

IS quite a worthwhile place to stay. Nice location and place

  • 31st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Very limited facilities, and room smelled of smoke.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi~thanks for the comments. Our ensuites are all independent unit in the buildings without front desk at this moment except standard room type however our friendly staff is always around to help. Please dont hesitate to contact us if need assistance^^

51%

ホステルワールドで表示されていた住所とは全く別の場所でした。さんざん探し回った後、電話して迎えに来てもらったので無事に宿泊できましたが、迎えまでも30分くらい待たされ、探す時間も含めると相当の時間をロスしました。 また19時以降、翌日の午後までスタッフがいないようで、なんとなく不便でした。 場所は士林夜市に近く便利な反面、夜はうるさいです。 年末年始で高い料金を払ったこともありますか、総じて料金には見合わない宿泊場所だと思いました。


66%

This hostel is super convenient to any places near MRT, the room and toilet are quiet clean. However, The room is too small for 4 people, there is only a very narrow space for movement...it will be fine if you only bring a backpack but not for luggage(s).Better to change the 2 double beds into 2 double-deck beds. To be honest, It´s hard to find a 4-person room in Taiwan that we've got not many choices. Anyway, I won´t choose this one anymore.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi~thanks for the comments. For the room has more space, we recommend to reserve deluxe 4 beds family room ensuite in this case. Thanks a lot and hope to see you again^^

83%

The location was awesome, just a stone's throw away from the metro station and Shilin night market is just downstairs. However the room (ours was 4-bed) can be quite cramped, but once you get used to it, it's fine. I found the room toilet too small and the drainage got choked so I usually bathe in the outside toilets. I like that breakfast was provided ((: A good place for those who like to interact with other travellers cuz many guests will lounge around in the TV or living room.

  • 15th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(36 results)


View all Taipei Hostels

Please give us your feedback