Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Fun Taipei Backpackers

  • Chengde Rd. Sec4 & Jiantan Rd. intersection, (MRT Jiantan Station), Shilin District, Taipei, Taiwan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 657 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 657 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
1st Apr 2017
8.6

For those looking for an actual hostel, this is not the place for you. This is an apartment with private rooms to rent. That being said, the room was spacious and clean and a great value for the money. The host was very accommodating and we were able to check in an hour earlier than the scheduled check in time. If you are arriving late at night, however, checking in gets tricky as there is no 24/7 staff and it's an apartment building. Be sure to arrive before 10pm.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Mar 2017
8.6

We had a great time staying in the place especially perfect location for shilin night market since its just across..Very near about 5 mins walk to mrt station..We will stay again in the place when we come back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Feb 2017
7.4

Great value for money but there is a reason why it's a tad cheaper than other similar rooms in Taipei: staff is not fulltime present, which appeared to be inconvenient. Nevertheless, the staff immediately replied when i contacted them through phone/mail...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2017
9.4

The staff are super friendly and helpful. The location is great - really close to the MRT station and also Shilin night market. The room was BIG, much larger than we were expecting, and really clean. Also, since it's back a bit from the main road, it's quiet and peaceful. It's a very secure location, we felt really safe there. Would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
8.9

We had a lovely time in our private studio apartment. Close to MRT, helpful staff and nice touches to the rooms (IKEA bedspread, big windows, wide selection of English TV shows)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Dec 2016
8.3

There are two "branches" of Fun Taipei Backpacker, one (The main branch with counter) is located at Shilin night market, and another one takes about 5-8 mins walking distance to Shilin night market. Both branches near to Jian Tan MRT station. We've booked two rooms ( 1 double bed & 1 family), both rooms are clean and comfy. The family room is big enough, everything is good except there are some ants in the room (on the table). Host are kind and friendly, and we enjoyed our stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Nov 2016
6.9

Hostel was very cheap and dainty.However,the bed was very noisy because of a plastic sheet. Overally, it was worth the money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi~thank you for the comments. The mattress was new and we forgot to take plastic package off. Hope to see you next time!!!:)

  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Nov 2016
9.7

Big and awesome room! Maria is friendly :) good location walking distance from mrt and shilin night market

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • stehlealexander4491
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
19th Nov 2016
7.7

Pros: good location just 3min to MRT station, which takes 5 stations to Taipei main station; many places for breakfast and dinner in surrounding, especially Shilin night market Cons: just a room or rooms in a normal house, with no reception and staff at location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Nov 2016
9.1

Everything is good but i think there is room for improvement. Example we can take extra towels. I stayed there with my boyfriend but only 2small towels for the entire week. We have been using the same towel for one whole week. Overall i am very satisfied.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.