X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Fun Taipei Backpackers Reviews

No.116, Chengde Rd., Sec4, Shilin District, Taipei, Taiwan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
554 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Room was bigger than expected for 2, seem to be able to accommodate 6 people comfortably. Definitely value for money if sharing with more people. Location is good too, walking distance to Shilin night market, but away from the noise. The secruity guard on duty on the day of our check in was very friendly and guided us to the location as there isn't a signboard outside the building. Check in staff was also very friendly. Thanks for the comfortable stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for visiting! We hope can see you soon next time^0^

100%

정말 좋습니다 정말 깨끗하고 위치도좋고 가격대비 최고의 숙소였습니다.

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

it was so nice time everything was so good


94%

Near metro station and night market but the other hostel for check in is closer to the metro. The staff is helpful and we can rest and drop our luggage while waiting for our room.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I would totally recommend Fun Taipei Backpackers, we really enjoyed our stay here. The room is nice and the toilet is also clean. The staffs are also very accomodating to all customers concern. Thank you for making our Taipei trip memorable! Keep up the good work guys! :)

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

FTB's was everything as advertised. Very nice room with insuite bathroom, TV, DVD player, Water Boiler & Refrigerator. Really can't ask for a better location, excellent fruit market and several small food places close by, ShiLin market 5 minutes away, bus to National park, and very convenient MRT station.


77%

The hosts Kevin and Vivian have been more than helpful in answering our queries and even helping us to book a taxi as we arrived around midnight in Taipei. The location was very convenient, near to shillin night market and the mrt. The room is clean and spacious, although it doesn't really look like the photos posted and the building is a bit old as well.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

booked an ensuite private room for 2 nearby Jiantan Metro Station, which is a few mins walk away. Loved the room decor, however there are wood splinters sticking out from a part of the wooden chair that was taped up in clear tape as a measure to prevent others from hurting themselves. was very pleased with the service and there's an OkMart and 7-eleven store nearby, very convenient. However, do not walk around alone as the streets along the apartment are pretty quiet.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Fun backpackers is a good one to stay in taipei. We booked it for two nights with two double beds in the room for a reasonable price. This hostel is located in a civilian building with a lift so don't worry if you are carrying a lot. It gets a little creepy at night though, so be careful if you have no male accompany. The shower is pretty nice with sufficient hot water. The bathroom overall condition is not bad. Chris, who let us in was a very nice host to talk to and gave us warm welcome.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi~thank you for the comments. Here in taipei city shilin district is a very safe place. Welcome to visit us:)

86%

The room was clean and rather big for four people. The location was excellent as well, which only took less than 5 min walk to Jiantan subway station. However, because it is local resident apartment, there is no security staff after 5pm, it kind of feel insecurity. On the whole, we enjoyed ourselves at Fun Taipei Backpacker.

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi~thank you for the comments. Actually one of our crew is on duty in this building during the time the security staff not there as mentioned. 24hours security is guarantee. Please do not hesitate to contact us any time if you need assistance:)

86%

Air conditioning leaked in one of the nights.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)




View all Taipei Hostels

Please give us your feedback