X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Fun Taipei Backpackers Reviews

No.116, Chengde Rd., Sec4, Shilin District, Taipei, Taiwan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
527 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

booked an ensuite private room for 2 nearby Jiantan Metro Station, which is a few mins walk away. Loved the room decor, however there are wood splinters sticking out from a part of the wooden chair that was taped up in clear tape as a measure to prevent others from hurting themselves. was very pleased with the service and there's an OkMart and 7-eleven store nearby, very convenient. However, do not walk around alone as the streets along the apartment are pretty quiet.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Fun backpackers is a good one to stay in taipei. We booked it for two nights with two double beds in the room for a reasonable price. This hostel is located in a civilian building with a lift so don't worry if you are carrying a lot. It gets a little creepy at night though, so be careful if you have no male accompany. The shower is pretty nice with sufficient hot water. The bathroom overall condition is not bad. Chris, who let us in was a very nice host to talk to and gave us warm welcome.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi~thank you for the comments. Here in taipei city shilin district is a very safe place. Welcome to visit us:)

86%

The room was clean and rather big for four people. The location was excellent as well, which only took less than 5 min walk to Jiantan subway station. However, because it is local resident apartment, there is no security staff after 5pm, it kind of feel insecurity. On the whole, we enjoyed ourselves at Fun Taipei Backpacker.

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi~thank you for the comments. Actually one of our crew is on duty in this building during the time the security staff not there as mentioned. 24hours security is guarantee. Please do not hesitate to contact us any time if you need assistance:)

86%

Air conditioning leaked in one of the nights.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Keep up the good work! I hope to return to Taipei soon :)

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

This hostel has different locations so before you arrive please call them to confirm the address. I had to rush to 7eleven to purchase sim card on the spot that could only be activated 1 hour later. Luckily we met fellow travelers and was able to find the place on our own without needing to wait under the blistering heat. We arrived in the morning at 9.30 am, and had to wait for 1 hour before the staff arrived to check in, Poor staff performance but convenient location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi~thank you for the comments. Fun Taipei can be found from different website and some of them put the wrong information and we are not allowed to correct it. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you didn't receive the further email sending from us but not from the system or the info from the others website. That will be easier to know how to find us and how to contact us.etc. Hope to see you again!

97%

Booked a double bed private room for 6 nights and was very satisfied with the room. Room was comfortable and security was good. One of the best hostels I have stayed in, and I've stayed in hostels across 5 different continents.


83%

Maria was nice during our stay. When we asked for her help when the wifi was not working, she called Kevin and had it fixed the next day. It would be nice though if she was more knowledgeable about the directions to this and that place because the first person to ask directions from is usually the staff in the place where you're staying but she wasn't able to help us then. Also, the sockets are already falling out of the wall and do not have power anymore. It would be nice if they have it fixed.

  • 11th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Overall the room is clean and very near Shi Lin night market

  • 6th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Has lift.....


77%

Refrigerator, air condition, Hairdryer, hangers, tissue toilet, Shampoo and shower cream free WIFI My friend had glass debris stick to the feet. Rest room, there are food smells from the kitchen of downstairs neighbors or restaurant. The morning to the smell of cooking rice. The evening will be frying the odor. If close rest room door that fine no odor come to room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear about that. Hope your friend are all right. We will put more effort on cleanliness. Please do not hesitate to contact us if it happened during the day you are staying with us.^^

86%

The room is quite clean but very very small. Not much space for luggages.

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Nice location, but no staff around in the evening. When I first arrived, the wifi is not working but only got the problem fixed the next afternoon.

  • 29th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi~thanks for the comments. One of our crew is live in next door as talked when check in but maybe you don't remember^^The wifi fixed the next day because of the system maintenance on the day of arrival and they can only came on the next day. However the alternative wifi account is available. Sorry for any incovenience caused and thanks again for the comments.

100%

I was really satisfied with the location and the staffs.


77%

Staff was very friendly, but the location to find this hostel was very difficult. There is no sign for this hostel, and you should ask someone to find that place. But, once you get into that hostel, it is clean, and well furnished.


83%

its good.staffs are very nice and the hostel is good,just like home.

  • 24th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very convenient location just next to Shilin Night Market. Clean and reasonably big room. I will stay here again if i am back travelling in Taipei.


83%

satisfying stay. Nice staff and room is clean and nice, ikea style. But know towel, a little unconviniet. The best thing is the location, which is next to jiantan metro station and Shilin market.

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the comments. The towel hire service is available upon requested. Please feel free to contact us for the service. See you again^^

40%

was taking the private double room. it was approx 500m away from the hostel to the counter. and feeling itchy while laying on bed. feeling quite an "unexpected HOSTEL Feeling". though it was just opposite shilin night market. and this might be the only advantages it has.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi~Thank you for the comments. The place in 5 minutes walking from here is not our counter but a place to meet the others travellers. Our ensuite rooms are all independent unit in the building, no common area, no front desk or on-site staff however our friendly staff is always around to help.

74%

Great location

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(31 results)


View all Taipei Hostels

Please give us your feedback