X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Fun Taipei Backpackers Reviews

No.116, Chengde Rd., Sec4, Shilin District, Taipei, Taiwan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
481 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

This hostel is super convenient to any places near MRT, the room and toilet are quiet clean. However, The room is too small for 4 people, there is only a very narrow space for movement...it will be fine if you only bring a backpack but not for luggage(s).Better to change the 2 double beds into 2 double-deck beds. To be honest, It´s hard to find a 4-person room in Taiwan that we've got not many choices. Anyway, I won´t choose this one anymore.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi~thanks for the comments. For the room has more space, we recommend to reserve deluxe 4 beds family room ensuite in this case. Thanks a lot and hope to see you again^^

83%

The location was awesome, just a stone's throw away from the metro station and Shilin night market is just downstairs. However the room (ours was 4-bed) can be quite cramped, but once you get used to it, it's fine. I found the room toilet too small and the drainage got choked so I usually bathe in the outside toilets. I like that breakfast was provided ((: A good place for those who like to interact with other travellers cuz many guests will lounge around in the TV or living room.

  • 15th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Basic ensuite that's great value for money. Pleasantly surprised at the Japanese modelled toilet seats and good size bathroom. Many channels on cable TV but no BBC news channel.. CNN is so yesterday .

  • 12th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

goood stay ^^ but room4 little noisy :) but other rooms and another were good

  • 8th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

we had to email kevin to get to informations about the map and facilities requests in advance because they have some addresses.we checked in as make contact with Kevin via mobaile phone.ensuite twin room was good but Showers are in the same space as the toilets with no particular separation. couldnt a sheet of paper flow in to toilet bowl.Kevin and guide was really kind.

  • 29th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

It is perfect location and very resonable price! but at night you feel cold. Because there was no temperature control.

  • 26th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

this hostel is fabulous... close to MRT, very clean, large room and near night market. but it's quite difficult to find this hostel you should call the owner or you never find it...!


77%

很靠近士林夜市,MRT.

  • 13th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Thank you Kevin and Alice for being very helpful even though we didn't get to see Kevin in person but the arrangement he made was good. =)


89%

Pretty Clean and closed to MRT(subway) and Night market. Gaurantee traveler's private.

  • 7th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The stay really was great. It felt like it was a real hotel rather than a hostel -- the decor was really very nice (like a bed and breakfast), and everything felt new. The refrigerator and AC worked with no problem, and the bathroom was clean. I would definitely stay there again.


91%

Not really a hostel, but more like private rooms in a highrise. Nonetheless, everything was spotless, our room had a washing machine (score!), plus it's own free highspeed wifi! The staff were really friendly and pleasant and the area was good. However, be warned that you need to pay a subsequent deposit through paypal after booking (which was a little inconvenient). Nevertheless, recommended.


100%

The location--across from Shilin Night Market and a short walk from the Metro-- was superb. The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms comfortable. We would definitely stay there again.!


100%

Convenient (very near Jiantan MRT station, and Shihlin night market), clean, enough shower facilities with shampoo and shower gel, enough power points for each occupant, friendly staff, and finally free water, bread and bananas all day. (:


83%

Great location next to the night market and close to the MRT. Decent WIFI. I would stay here again. Note they don't have staff available 24/7 (you're basically staying in an apartment building) so don't pick this hostel if you tend to rely heavily on the staff helping you out.


54%

The building and room is pretty old but overall the room is clean. There is bad smell at corridor before entering the room. The wireless internet is extremely unstable and slow. The security guard at the entrance who checked in and checked out for us is friendly. However when we check out we had to wait for about 20 mins for him to return. I could probably just leave the key at the counter (no one is there), but I just felt insecure of doing that.

  • 26th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


1 2 Next » last »
(36 results)


View all Taipei Hostels

Please give us your feedback