Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Fun Taipei @ Shilin Night Market

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 642 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 642 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2017
10.0

The staffs were very helpful , location is great and really value for money, noting to ask more. 😀

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2017
9.7

The location is fantastic! Literally walk out the door to stalls of tasty street food. The hostel is set up to encourage being social so it was very easy to meet people. I liked that breakfast was available 24/7. The staff members were lovely and very helpful. The beds were comfortable with the benefit of privacy screens, though the room was very cramped and hard to maneuver around when there were 4+ people. The air conditioning was very loud and a bit hard to sleep with

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Jun 2017
9.1

Overall it was very good value for the price, mattress was on the too soft end of the spectrum for me and the bunkbeds are rather squeaky and small, but I found the facilities and rooms fairly clean - especially compared to other hostels here. Location is super convenient close to MRT and busses, still takes a bit fro thereto get to Yangmingshan, but it is close to the first bus stop of some lines that go into the park, so one has a better shot at getting a seat for the long drive.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2017
9.7

Nice and cozy place that's conveniently located near the MRT station, really enjoyed my stay at the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2017
10.0

The place is just perfect for a short stay. It was clean, cute and accessible. Highly recommended for those who want to enjoy the night market in Shilin.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jun 2017
10.0

Well organized. I reckon, for this price, one of my top hostel ever. Modern design, hot water shower, hair dryer, free shampoo/body washer, all-day air conditioner, nice common room with great view.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • booker_t_bird7100
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Jun 2017
5.7

Clean & well located it may be but the staff exhibit varying degrees of incompetence. The address on Hostelworld is not the actual address, instead you're met near a public phone box and taken to a fourth floor abode that bares no business sign. Proper recepits are not given. If this doesn't raise eyebrows I don't know what should, best avoided.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Jun 2017
9.4

Fun Taipei is a very strategic, affordable hostel if you want a nice location accessible to most areas (it's less than 3 mins walk from the Jiantan MRT station [Red Line]). The Shilin Night Market directly below it makes the place always lively. It's a bit hassle that they won't really disclose their exact location upon booking and you have to call them first, but on hindsight I think that is good because at least there will be no random walk-ins and gives the place a bit of privacy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jun 2017
8.6

location is good , staff very friendly , will come back again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2017
10.0

Very nice place. Value for money and staff was very nice. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.