Hostelworld.com

Fun Taipei @ Shilin Night Market

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 474 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 474 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
Fun Taipei @ Shilin Night Market Located at Wenlin Rd., Shilin District, Taipei.
Fun Taipei @ Shilin Night Market
Taiwan
Taipei 11167 Wenlin Rd., Shilin District
91% 474
25.0861673 121.5251451
Fun Taipei @ Shilin Night Market
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st May 2016
10.0

A really great hostel. Location is unbeatable. The Shilin night market is right outside the door. First walking up the stairs of the building the place looks really grungy but once you go inside the hostel, it's really nice inside. Staff are not around all the time because they have other locations to deal with but the staff sent me an email with information like the passcode for the door and such so I didn't have to wait to get in. Rose was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th May 2016
9.1

Fantastic hostel! Great location, very clean, nice showers and super comfortable beds. They have a shade you can pull down when you sleep nice for added privacy and ability to sleep even if the lights are on. During the week a great price (400) but a little pricey friday and saturday nights (550). very nice and relaxed atmosphere and staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th May 2016
8.3

Double glazed windows will be great..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2016
9.4

Super good location! Just directly above Shilin market! I head there every night without fail! Awesome place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2016
10.0

Fun Taipei @ Shilin Night Market is one of the best hostels I've stayed at in South East Asia. The location is PRIME. Walk out the front door of the building and you're in the night market but I wasn't disturbed by noise at all in my room. THE COMFIEST BEDS (and privacy screens, very nice). Good showers, toast, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, laundry, clean, nice staff. Overall a 10.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
4th May 2016
8.0

Excellent location, nice staff and good facilities. Free toast and coffee for breakfast is a plus. The fact that the front desk has limited hours is a bit annoying, though if you have a phone or wifi you can contact them.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Apr 2016
8.3

Decent hostel, especially for the price. In terms of Location, from the Subway it is amazing, and the market is kinda touristy compared to others in Taipei, but it still cool. Location in relation to other parts of Taipei, it was decent as well, but Ximending is the best location probably. Lastly, most of the people in this hostel were old, 30+ years. The hostel should consider an age limit, the age of the other guests really did not encourage them to mingle with others.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comment, but you meant people over 30 can't stay at our hostel? People over 30, can't have a right to stay at the hostel?

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Apr 2016
7.7

Will definitely visit again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Apr 2016
8.6

The location isvery good. From the hostel, visiting Yangmingshan, Palace Museum, Shilin market, etc. is easy. The facilities are good. The shared lift looks old and slightly scarely. A big problem is the absence of staff. When I checked in, I needed to phone the staff for instruction to get the room key. Without staff on duty most of the time means that no body takes care when rubbish bins are full or shower room floor is wet, etc. But in general the place is still Ok.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
7th Apr 2016
10.0

We absolutely loved our stay in this hostel, everything was perfect!! Amazing location, market just outside and Starbucks very close and metro across street! Staff super lovely and everything so clean. Lovely lovely living room with English channels and hot choc and teas whenever you want. Reeeeally good air con. So sad to have left, WE WANT TO COME BACK! Thank you we won't forget our stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.