Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Funky Fes

  • 60, Arset Lamdelssi - Bab Jdid - Fes Medina, Fez, Morocco

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1411 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1411 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
12th Apr 2017
9.4

Great place on the outskirts of the medina. Great staff. Breakfast quite disappointing, very chaotic self serving and it didn't feel "fresh" (old toasted bread). Good facilities with a huge outdoor area. Had a great time there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Apr 2017
10.0

Really happy to have stayed at Funky Fes. The staff are like a family and the general atmosphere is so chilled out. We had dinner cooked at the hostel both nights which was actually the best food we have had on the holiday. Beds were comfy, and it was generally quiet enough to get some sleep when we needed to.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2017
7.1

I enjoyed my stay at Funky Fes. The staff will help you out if you are not sure of your plans & need to figure them out while having a closet to store your luggage. Its a social hostel, noisy at times. Great place to meet others, group dinners, tours etc. The location is a little hidden in a very eerie and quiet area.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Mar 2017
7.7

It is a very nice place but it can get a little bit loud in the common area in the evenings. The cooking classes are okay, but it's mostly about looking how the girl cooks, and not doing much, but you can ask everything and she would explain (although her english is not great). The walking tour that they offer is good if you want to walk around the medina without getting lost and it is also a good oportunity to get to know the people from the hostel. Don't expect a lot of cultural information.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Mar 2017
9.1

It was a great stay, beautiful hostel and full of amazing people!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • chrislemanski7487
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Mar 2017
9.7

Funky Fes is quite the establishment. Rock out with the guests on the guitars, smoke cigarettes on the terrace while admiring the view, enjoy a full meal for a fair price, and best of all, feel so comfortable that you may just miss your flight. If you're ever in Fes, FF can't be beat.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Mar 2017
9.4

As we only stayed here one night, can't say much about it but the staff was really helpful-- we checked in around midnight and they still cooked an AMAZING dinner for us (only €4). The bathrooms were very spacious and clean although when I used it they didn't have hot water...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Mar 2017
8.9

A nice hostel in a great location on the edge of the medina. Me and three other friends stayed here for 3 nights and although the first night was quite noisy and the shower was inconsistent, everything else was really good! Beautiful building, friendly staff, nice vibe and nice big dorms! Thank you for a lovely stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • tila
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Mar 2017
4.9

We chose funky fez because of the many good reviews. In fact it was really dirty there and far away from everything! There is a dog in the hostel that pooped and peed everywhere, even in the dorm rooms (!!!) that was really disgusting. The dorm was actually okay, we had our own big bathroom for 7people (although we booked a 6bed dorm?). The shower was cold and week. The only thing we liked about the hostel was the breakfast. Unfortunately it was the worst hostel in morocco we stayed it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • julianmolina89
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Mar 2017
8.3

I spend only a few days here, I remember one bad experience with my booking, but they could solve the problem the next day. The breakfast it's really good and the staff too

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.