Hostelworld.com

Funky Fes

  • 60, Arset Lamdelssi - Bab Jdid - Fes Medina, Fez, Morocco
Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1,225 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1,225 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
Funky Fes Located at 60, Arset Lamdelssi - Bab Jdid - Fes Medina, , Fez.
Funky Fes
Morocco
Fez Morocco Morocco 60, Arset Lamdelssi - Bab Jdid - Fes Medina
82% 1225
34.0579749 -4.9742102
Funky Fes
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
4.9

The main owner was not warm or welcoming, the atmosphere is strange and sometimes felt like you were intruding in someones home. I read a sign the evening I arrived that said you can do your own laundry. I woke early the next day and put one load of washing on. I was greeted by this man who said ' Can you not read the sign' where it said laundry service available - I said I was confused and thought I had the option to do it myself, he continued to be condescending and grumpy..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Apr 2016
7.7

Overall beautiful and comfortable hostel with a great terrace though there are only two showers for 18 people. Breakfast is okay. Staff is attentive though not familial.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Apr 2016
9.4

Stayed for 2 nights in Funky Frz and it was great. Really clesn , spacious hostel, wonderful big bathroom with hot showers and a good breakfast. The staff were also really helpful, including helping us get to a local football game!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2016
9.1

Nice hostel with a good atmosphere, good place to meet other travellers, and nice reception area and terrace for hanging out. Helpful staff. Was very happy to stay here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2016
7.1

Pros: Lockers, nice beds, clean sheets, hot showers, basic breakfast, really nice building and terrace. Cons: extremely lacking guest kitchen (light wasn't even working), hostel offers services such as tours, hammam and food ranging from 2 to 5x what you should be paying. Main guy on staff is incredibly unhelpful, rude and generally disinterested -- better than being hassled, but certainly didn't make things easier.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sooyoung10215218
  • South Korea, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Mar 2016
8.3

It is a nice place to chill after getting lost in the busy small streets of fez. One thing we were a bit annoyed was the attitude of a staff. He was a little bit pushy to make us take the desert tour that they're providing with the contracted agency, almost gave us a feeling that he's getting a huge commission by doing it, insisting this is the best price we can get in entire Fez which turned out to be not true.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Mar 2016
6.3

Need more light, tv didn't work, good walking tour, food was reasonable, wifi could be improved.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Mar 2016
7.7

Extremely cool place, with amazing courtyard and rooftop terrace. They sell booze, coffee and I'm sure some other things... All the staff are really cool and helpful. In a great location two minute walk from the central square. My bad points: there are no lockers, but you can store a couple small valuables in the big safe. My room's door led right into the main reception areas, where a daft, lost American loved to play guitar badly. The bedsheets never got washed and the wc's and kitchen sucked.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
25th Mar 2016
9.1

Really cool read with an ideal location in Fes. The staff are very approachable and give good advice. The rooms are good size, quirky and the terrace is pretty sweet. Only issue we had was a mix up with our booking- got put in a 4 bed dorm instead of a 12bed dorm and had to pay the difference. When I approached staff about this they were a little reluctant to give me a refund but eventually took responsibility and paid me back the difference. I would definitely recommend this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Mar 2016
8.6

I had a great time in Funky Fes. Pros: good community atmosphere, beautiful terraces, great medina tour (the guide Abdul Ali was really helpful and didn't make us feel pressured to buy anything), mostly nice staff (Yahya - sp? - was extremely helpful to us in planning our desert tour), decent breakfast, comfy beds Cons: only one bathroom/shower for the 12 bed dorms is not really adequate, never managed to get a warm shower, we had drinks stolen out of the fridge. But overall, a nice place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.