Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Funky Mamaliga Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 161 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 161 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.3
Funky Mamaliga Hostel Located at str. Kogalniceanu 16, Chisinau, , Chisinau.
Funky Mamaliga Hostel
Moldova
Chisinau MD-2005 str. Kogalniceanu 16, Chisinau
79% 161
47.0141320 28.8339400
Funky Mamaliga Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
29th Oct 2016
2.0

The hostel was overbooked when I arrived there early that day i had booked. Met one guy who worked there, and he just said the hostel was full and closing, so and I had to leave. I told him that I have made a booking, and he just answered "it`s not possible" and walked away. He was really rude, and no service or help from him. Then he just looked the gate to the hostel. I asked why he didn´t helped coustemers when they made a mistake, and he just answers "I just work here". Really bad experience

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th Oct 2016
4.6

I and two other customers were suddenly asked to move to their other hostel, without giving you even 2 days to consider, because of a big group's check-in. Their other hostel is almost 30 minutes by walk. This system is run by the chief administrator. Not the three young staffs. This chief administrator, she said this would never happen again to me after the first time, but it happened again very soon. I asked for money refund. She told me to get it later at night. It was a very rainy night.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
14th Oct 2016
6.6

Cold shower, untidy toilets, a lot of noise: remember earplugs! Nice, but maybe tired staff. However some said it's one of the best hostels in Moldova, so i can't say what others are like. No breakfast, although it says here there is.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Oct 2016
5.4

the toilets were disgusting, they look like they were not cleaned in a while. the rooms stay unlocked all day. we booked a 6 bed room, but there was an additional 7th bed in there and it was already really small and crowded. location was alright, about a ``15 min walk to the center. staff was helpful but not very friendly and the general athmosphere was okay, not too exciting but I guess its expected since its not high season, the only really good thing was the heating, it was nice and warm

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
8th Oct 2016
6.6

The location and price is great and the staff are very nice and helpful but there were a few things that spoiled this for me. The staff were (or someone anyway) was playing music in the common room from about 7am. The the door to my dorm led straight into the common room and was just left constantly open so I might as well have just slept there. Also you have to climb over the gate if you come in past a certain time..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Oct 2016
5.7

Bah. There were ants in the bedroom, club beats blasting from the lounge at 8am, and a seventh bed in the already-cramped six-bed dormitory I had booked. Atmosphere was just off; a couple older guys creeping on the few female travelers was actually one reason I cut my stay in Moldova short.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Oct 2016
5.7

Average, the rooms have too many beds in them.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Sep 2016
7.1

Mostly a good place, location and atmosphere. However, it said breakfast included but it wasn't. I was a bit annoyed that I had to wait around for evening bus to Kiev, but he said I can't wait here. I know that is their right so nothing wrong with his request but 20 years of traveling and I can say most places would be ok with this. Still overall, good place to stay. Tip for hostel... get an iron for laundry.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st Aug 2016
9.7

Great and helpful staff, nice atmosphere, really good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Aug 2016
6.6

It's a nice enough hostel, parties Friday and Saturday night which where good, but no useful info and we had to climb the fence in the morning to leave, basically a bed. Pointing out points of interest on arrival and info of how to get places would improve the experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.