Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Funky Mamaliga Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 148 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 148 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
Funky Mamaliga Hostel Located at str. Kogalniceanu 16, Chisinau, , Chisinau.
Funky Mamaliga Hostel
Moldova
Chisinau MD-2005 str. Kogalniceanu 16, Chisinau
90% 148
47.0141320 28.8339400
Funky Mamaliga Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Sep 2016
7.1

Mostly a good place, location and atmosphere. However, it said breakfast included but it wasn't. I was a bit annoyed that I had to wait around for evening bus to Kiev, but he said I can't wait here. I know that is their right so nothing wrong with his request but 20 years of traveling and I can say most places would be ok with this. Still overall, good place to stay. Tip for hostel... get an iron for laundry.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st Aug 2016
9.7

Great and helpful staff, nice atmosphere, really good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Aug 2016
6.6

It's a nice enough hostel, parties Friday and Saturday night which where good, but no useful info and we had to climb the fence in the morning to leave, basically a bed. Pointing out points of interest on arrival and info of how to get places would improve the experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Aug 2016
8.0

A bit of a walk from the central station, but ok. Nice outdoor area, and i really enjoyed the friendly people at the Baker Street Bar that i was recommended going to.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Aug 2016
8.9

This hostel is really nice. It's new and clean. There is a.nice garden in the entrance and a lovely terrace for staying up on hot summer evenings. But when it's hot during the day, the room (I stayed in the 4 bed dorm) gets unbearably hot at night. I could not sleep for most of the night I stayed in this hostel because of the heat. I think at least a ceiling fan is imperative

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2016
7.1

Could have been better. It is said that the breakfast is included, but there is no breakfast. When I asked one of the staff members about it, he replied "well, someone should probably change that". Also, they hold parties, which is great, but not if you want to sleep, 'cause you will have loud music, people chatting and laughing loudly just outside your dorm, and coming in and out constantly. Other than that, it is a good hostel (nice backyard), well located and with reasonable value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2016
8.9

The best thing here is atmosphere: the owner, who’s a great guy, hosts parties here with a good mix of locals and travelers. Even without parties this hostel is a perfect place to socialize! However, if here’s something to be improved, it’s the staff. I didn’t feel welcomed and taken care of. In such small and cozy places it’s a good practice to remember guests’ names and proactively socialize with them, but this is not the case here. However, it is still a great place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Aug 2016
10.0

New hostel, helpful and great staff. Rooms are clean and cozy. I would highly recommend the place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belarus, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2016
10.0

The staff here was very very nice and helpful, giving us lots of directions and tips to getting around the city. We had a private room which was very accommodating! The beds were pretty comfortable, the hostel was clean and easy to get to. We would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2016
10.0

Great Base for explore Chisinau, incredibly helpful team. Lovely breakfast and nice trattoria recommendations.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.