Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Funky Monkey Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 191 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.6
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 191 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.6
Funky Monkey Hostel Located at Cerro Boludo #112, Boludo 112 Lomas de Mazatlan, Mazatlan.
Funky Monkey Hostel
Mexico
Mazatlan Sinaloa 82110 Cerro Boludo #112, Boludo 112 Lomas de Mazatlan
94% 191
23.2484142 -106.4453798
Funky Monkey Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
27th Oct 2016
9.4

Great pool and rooftop area to chill and meet new people. Rooms were spacious and beds very comfortable. The staff were so awesome, making everyone feel welcome, helping whenever they could and organising some nights out for everyone to get involved with. Definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Oct 2016
10.0

great staff, super clean, easy to meet people, nice pool, activities everyday book now.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Oct 2016
10.0

It is hard to find the right words to describe The Funky Monkey Hostel. I was originally going to stay for 4 nights and ended up staying for two weeks. The staff above all else is the key to the positive vibe that is always present there. The owner Salem and managers Zac and Tomek are so friendly. It is like an episode of Cheers, a place where everyone knows your name. The beds are soft and the pool is a relief from the hot summer days. I will definitely be returning to The Funky Monkey!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2016
9.1

IT'S A GREAT PLACE TO STAY IF YOU SPEAK ENGLISH AND MOST OF PEOPLE IT'S NICE, BUT I THINK THE CROWD SHOULD LEARN TO SPEAK SPANISH, COME ON GUYS YOU ARE IN MÉXICO! BUT BESIDES THAT I HAD A GREAT TIME, IT'S REALLY COOL PLACE!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review, we are glad you had a great time staying with us! You will have to give us some Spanish lessons next time you are here, come back soon..

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Sep 2016
6.3

The staff seemed more interested in enjoying themselves than helping out. Beds were good, wifi was great, air conditioning only on from 9pm until 6am which is horrible when it's 35 degrees. Has potential but would not recommend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

First of all we thank you for taking time to write us a review as it is one of the ways we continue to grow as Mazatlan’s number one rated hostel and Mexico's third on . I was looking back at what we were doing in the hostel around the time you were here and it looks like we took people out to an all you can eat wings restaurant as well as a movie/taco night. Our staff constantly invited you to different activities so we are unsure what you meant by our staff not wanting to help out. We take great pride on our staff and we search for the best people from all over the world. We believe that having a large live-in staff helps to provide a welcoming vibe which our guests love. We run our air-conditioning from 9pm-7am as this is one of the ways we can keep our prices low, as long as the window and door is kept closed then the rooms stay cool for a few hours after we turn it off anyway. We apologise that you did not enjoy your stay, please come back and see us again so we can show you why we are the first choice for backpackers in Mazatlan.

  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Aug 2016
10.0

Each and every one of the staff members are extremely kind and gentle. An atmosphere of tranquility and bonhomie prevails in every place here. The location is practically unbeatable in the golden zone of Mazatlan. With special relevance are "cleanliness and safety".

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us at The Funky Monkey. We know that our staff are amazing so thank you for acknowledging how awesome they are, the hostel would not be the same without each and every one of them! Come back and see is again!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
29th Jul 2016
9.1

This is a great hostel to meet people, stay cool in the hot weather by lounging around in the pool. The rooms are nice and cool at night with the aircon. The rooftop is fantastic. Definitely recommend a stay at Funky Monkey!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2016
10.0

Excelent! Staf is really friendly and ready to party. Ok, A/C is turned off early.. but you still have a pool to sink in and come back to live! Anywho.. if you travel you gotta wake up early. Private room is awesome! Location is cool. Breakfast varies which is needy. beds are comfortable and common areas are cool. Go to the terraza area and chill there... it has it's unique atmosphere. Definatelly going to stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • miriamfalloon1089
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Jul 2016
9.7

Great vibes and a relaxed stay in the most comfortable bed I slept in in Mexico, thanks guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
9.7

The staff were great, and the chill out areas are super cool! Our first day we arrived we went to a water park with other backpackers, was awesome! And other nights watched movies and chatted. Rooms are air conditioned at night with a fan and when you wake up it's a little hot from the AC being turned off. There's a pool! Always a good thing. And washing machine and dryer available :) It's a bit of a walk to the beach but there's 2 bicycles you can hire for free.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.